Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Audiograbber

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


Wow, what can't you do with this feature packed CD ripper. I use it as a general audio converter too, extracting my audio to wave 16 bit pcm 48khz using Pazera Extractor, so I can see any errors in the log as it extracts in real time.

Then I pre normalize the wav in Audiograbber and finally pressing the make mp3 option using an external encoderencoder(fdk.end) to mp4a. I get transparency using the command line below which is approx 160vbr and higher. The 16 bit wave 44khz is only suitable for the mp3 internal encoder like Lame 3.100 and the program will give useful messages to warn advise the user. I cannot recommend this software enough. Truly Magnifico freeware!

%s %d -m 4


Review by R.D on Nov 4, 2019 Version: 1.83.01 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Worked it out very easily. Enter one of the command lines below in audiograbber 'Predefined arguments:' box, for generating He-aacV1 & He-aacV2 audio. p29 = He-aacv2 by the way.

Files come out fully normalised with no clipping using peak level set to 90 setting! Really tiny files, but perceptual much better quality than Lc-aac or Nero generated ones imho.

%s %d -p 5 -b 64

%s %d -p 29 -b 32
%s %d -p 29 -b 40






Review by Nic on Oct 27, 2019 Version: 1.83 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Quote "4. Enter the 'Predefined arguments' and find 'FAAC 128kbits/s
In the 'Arguments' box below change the bitrate 128 to %s % d-b160"

It is better to space the end of the argument d-b 160
Also operation 5. Click on the Grab to rip your CD. Great guide nonetheless.

Also not sure if the command line can be manipulated for HE-AAC encoding in audiograbber as the profile argument is based on FAAC. All other encoders as external will not work in audiograbber e.g Nero, FAAC 1.29.2 etc. Only this fdk.end appears suitable as a plugin for xp onwards to encode to mp4a. The audio is fully transparent at 192kpbs(or 160kbps depending on your ears!) and artifact free. I also encoded to as low as 32kbps and ran it through MagiX Audio suite to check for artifacts,clicking etc. None registered. Check audio frequencies with free spek tool. Extremely useful. Audiograbber full of useful options. Superb suite. Command lines for fdk, link below to play with in audiograbber. Maybe some genius can successfully get he-accV2 to work if not me!

https://www.mankier.com/1/fdkaac#Examples

http://spek.cc/


Review by Jan on Oct 27, 2019 Version: 1.83 installer OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Most free CD Rippers(excepting modern ezcd which is commercial) won't allow a rip to aac/mp4, but audiograbber one can using the external encoder option hack.

Go to the link below and scroll down to Fraunhofer FDK section and click on the 0.63_libfdk file to download the encoder. Place it in the audiograbber folder.

1.Make sure the MP3 icon is clicked on the gui. *Also ensure 'Rip all tracks before encoding' is ticked, otherwise you only keep getting one temp file overwritten every time from a CD rip.

2. Go to 'External Encoder' and click it on.
3. Use 'Browse' to find the fdkaac.exe
4. Enter the 'Predefined arguments' and find 'FAAC 128kbits/s
In the 'Arguments' box below change the bitrate 128 to %s % d-b160

Voila you can rip to aac with mp4a extension. By renaming the aacgain.exe 1.9(useful tool found here at VideoHelp to Mp3gain.exe which can then be normalised/checked for clipping etc in Mp3Gain gui or normalised in the audiograbber program itself beforehand. You could probably track down the latest faac 1.29 and do the same again instead of the fdk encoder, but this method works perfectly for ripping CD's to mp4a. Have fun!

http://www.aimp.ru/forum/index.php?topic=34387.msg221403#msg221403


Review by Frank on Oct 25, 2019 Version: 1.83 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




You can also just drop in the portable folder updated dll's of vorbis or Lame and they work fine. The libvorbis files at the top of the page link are compatible with Audiograbber. The portable works like a dream. Thanks for that!

http://www.rarewares.org/ogg-libraries.php


Review by Eren on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 1.83.01 portable OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For those in Win10 etc who may have problems using this there's an excellent portable version with Lame 3.98 and all others codec dll's already in folder. The installer misses the BladeEncoder and Lame or sometimes is bundled with crapware. Superb software. Fairstars CD Ripper 2.0 is comparable to this.

https://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABLE-SOFTWARE/CD-DVD-Tools/Windows-Portable-Applications-Portable-Audiograbber.shtml


Review by Phil D on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 1.83.01(portable) OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Descriptions like 'beautiful software' don't come too often and are usually fake or clichéd. Regarding this one totally true. Magnificent software which I've had working vrom XP to Win10 with ease, yet it is old now, but coded beautifully. Made me fall in love again with mp3. I still love mp4a still!😉

p.s just drop in latest Lame 3.100 and it works perfectly!


Review by Steve on Oct 23, 2019 Version: 1.83.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I started using AudioGrabber years back and the free version (1.83) still works fine on Windows 10 with no special settings.
I just visited the official website (at audiograbber.org) to get some info on importing track lists as I have a new CD that doesn't appear in freedb. But the site is looking a bit tired and when I clicked the download button for the free version (just curious - the free version hasn't changed for many years) it offered me a download which was rejected by the Win10 built-in virus checker. Be careful out there.


Review by Snozzwangler on Nov 30, 2018 Version: 1.83 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm glad to see I'm not the only one still using this program. Another nice feature is the conversion to .wma. A .wma at 192 from the same source sounds just as good to me as an .mp3 at 320. Plus it runs on Windows 7. I just use compatibility mode as XP SP2. A nice software!!

The only reason for the 9 is it takes a bit of fiddling around to figure out how to do the conversions. The results are excellent though.



Review by MilesAhead on Jul 19, 2010 Version: 1.83 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Although it is old, Audiograbber is the best CD-Ripper I've ever used. It's simple and all that you need to create Mp3-Files from your Audio-CD's. Modify the ID3-Tag of the Mp3-Files with Mp3tag. By the way, it also supports the newest Version of LAME, some other CD-Rippers don't ...

Review by flashandpan007 on Jul 19, 2010 Version: 1.83 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com