Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for AVCutty

12 reviews, Showing 1 to 12 reviews


Firstly, if you want software thatís great, expect to pay for it. I tried it for a while then made a £20 donation and was sent the software key.
I had plenty of one to two hour Hi8 tapes to capture on to my laptop. Not a difficult task these days but how do you work with an 18gb file and make any sense out of what is on it. I needed something to cut it up into what I decided were the scenes and save the individual files. This software will not only do the capture for you but also enable you to do exactly that. I looked at lots of other software on offer including Adobe Premier (too expensive for just cutting up files) and Solveigmm Video Splitter (crashed, raised it on the forum, sent files, they agreed it was an issue, still waiting for fix + it would cost about £50).

It can automatically cut a file up or you can do it manually using a slider to go to a split point and click a button. When you first use the slider bar on a long video it moves to fast/far but once you learn that the left and right keys move one frame it becomes really precise. Once you have marked the file you can delete or name the segments. The save function has 11 options to add to the file name in any order/position like Start Frame or Time, Scene Number, Duration etc before you save the files. You can even choose to save all the scenes as one file which obviously would be smaller without the deleted scenes. You can then save the Project to come back to later should you wish to change or split the sections further.

I canít fault the software, it works very fast and accurately. The help section is written in German with a link to Google English translation, if anything could be improved it would be this but one you have worked out how to use the software it I doubt you would be back into the help very often


Review by Peter on Feb 20, 2021 Version: 3.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This isn't donationware, it's NAGWARE.

Start it up.... nag with a random timed button. Do anything with it ... nag with a random timed button. Nag nag nag nag niggle niggle nag. It might do something useful, but it's hardly worth finding out there are nag-free alternatives.

Uninstalled.


Review by Captain_Wibble on Oct 25, 2017 Version: 3.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The UI is a basic but it does what it says it does well.

Would be better if could pay for software in a method other than sending cash


Review by gb5757870 on Sep 1, 2013 Version: 2.513 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I don't know what the other users are talking about. I think this software is fantastic. It does exactly what it says it will do. I had a large number of AVI videos that were over an hour long each. I used the software to cut the videos into scenes and then save each scene has its own file.

I own several other video software utilities. But the other software forces me to trim each video, deleting the extra scenes, and then saving each section separately. It was taking many hours to do what AVcutty does very quickly.

AVcutty scans my files and lists each of the scenes. I then have the option of merging the scenes into a single scene and then saving the scene as a single AVI. I can work with each scene separately or I can process an entire AVI full of different scenes as different AVI files all at 1 time in a batch mode.

As for the nagware, the software will continue to process even if you do not press the buttons. However, the okay buttons must be pressed periodically in order to continue to access the software interface screen. I did not find this too troublesome and processed several hours of AVI files before I decided that the software was worth a donation. I sent a donation to the programmer using Pay Pal and within a few hours he had sent me the registration key. When I am done with my AVI files I will have processed about 60 hours worth of files when I am done. I think this is great software. It is easy to use and not complicated with a clean user interface.

Great software! Well worth a donation.


Review by stewdouglas on Oct 18, 2012 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This has the potential of being good software but it shouldn't be called donateware; it should be called nag, nag, nag ware. A pop up appears with a nagware notice soon after the user starts. This makes the user click on one of 3 random buttons in order for the program to continue to work. Then the popup goes off more and more often until the program stops functioning. Finally, every time one clicks a button to continue, another nagware notice pops up and the program no longer functions. This happened to me even before I could finish my first complete task. Except for the nags, the software seemed to have the potential to work well. I quickly uninstalled this software.

Review by oldsalt on Nov 2, 2010 Version: 3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




This is particularly nasty nagware. During operation
every couple of minutes it suspends operation, and
pops-up window with the request for "donation" and
three buttons with delayed "clue" which button to
press before you are allowed to proceed.

Quoted from "DONATION request" window:

---------------------------------------------------------
AVCutty is based on the principle of donation. It is
'Donationware'. This means, that if you use this software,
you have to send a small amount to the developer of this
software (that's me :-). It's your part to decide, how
much you will send.
---------------------------------------------------------

First of all, this soft is advertised as a FREEWARE, so
it goes into false claims. Second, quoting sentence from
above "(...)if you use this software, you _have_to_ send
a small amount (...)" - no, you don't - donation is
a __voluntary__ contribution, so you may,_if_you_want_to_
gratify developer for his effort, without being restricted
by any means in using his soft (FREEware, right?).

What a joke...


Review by domu on Jun 14, 2009 Version: 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Non Starter.

Whilst AVCutty did a quick and credible job of dividing an input AVI into scenes, it repeatedly failed to save those scenes as seperate files - always hanging during the creation of the second file and creating a fatal system 'please notify MS' error box.

Simply does not work.


Review by tempvh on Nov 11, 2006 Version: 2.4d OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I couldnt get the program to open or recognize any Divx files.

Review by HeadHunter2003 on Oct 20, 2006 Version: 2.4d OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Hello,
I can't understand the problems in the last two postings. I am using this tool for some years now, never having problems with it. I seperate the scenes of my selfmade videos with it, including basic trimming of the scenes. And I am also sometimes cutting advertisements from captured tv recordings. No problem...
But note that this tool ist only for AVIs. You can't cut Mpeg2 with it!


Review by video4all on Aug 25, 2005 Version: 2.4b OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Having been used to using Womble to edit Mpeg's, this AVI tool, which I thought would be the same sort of thing, seems abnormally clunky and non-intuitive. My first use was to try and cut out a funny ad from a video segment obtained with VirtualDub capture. Trying to mark the beginning of the segment was a horror story, as there seemed to be no slow reverse or any reverse at all. In the meantime I had to fight the nag screen, so this not really freeware, it's totally annoying nagware.
I finally got the file segment marked after numerous attempts trying to manipulate the scene pointer with the mouse.
Wasn't sure which icons to click on, I found I had to hover for a long time over each one to see what function it had.
This took me a long time to do what Womble would have done for an Mpeg in 30 seconds.
I wrote the file to CDRW and tried playing it on a Phillips DVP-642 player, and it didn't. Not sure what the issue was with that. Possibly on a CDR it would have worked, but I am dumping this so-called editor ASAP anyway. They actually want money for it. *laugh* *choke* I personally wouldn't ask for money till the thing became slightly marketable.


Review by thegumshoe on Jul 2, 2005 Version: 2.4b OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Ran this tool once. On the second attempt at splitting an AVI file into shorter sequences the tool froze and my PC just hung. No chance of recovery except to reboot. Not happy with this at all.
On the use I did get out of it, Ease of use is low because it wasn't intuitive at all and the information provided on button rollover wasn't very helpfull.


Review by MoonUnit on May 21, 2005 Version: 2.4a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a great little tool for editing/cutting up big avi files. I have used it to edit my dv footage and it works with 50GB+ files no problem at all.

Looking forward to the new version which supports dv capture - thus saving the need for yet another tool.


Review by ChrissyBoy on May 17, 2005 Version: 2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


12 reviews, Showing 1 to 12 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com