Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for foobar2000

26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Gioantonnello43 on Sep 25, 2020 Version: foobar2000 1.6.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Foobar is great with lots of functions, but I find its replaygain option non effective or buggy. With aac there's no change in playback after adding gain and none of my external media players seems to recognise the metadata too with ogg files after using the replaygain as they become unrecognisable.

Review by Zack on Aug 18, 2020 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments. Rating it only.



Review by Hitomi on Aug 17, 2020 Version: 1:6 bETA 12 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by TGB on Jan 1, 2020 Version: 1.5.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Nero on Nov 8, 2019 Version: 1.4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software, but I hope they fix the replay gain or at least test it for code integrity in a beta version. Any vorbis file I run replay gain on using Foobar is not recognised in my external media player and android boxes I tested on. The files refuses to play let alone be detected. Strange issue, could it be the meta tags screwing them up causing incompatibilities? They play okay on the computer using Media Player Home Cinema.

Review by Dave on Oct 23, 2019 Version: 1.4.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Foobar is excellent software, but don't use the replaygain option on your files. It screws up vorbis files making them unplayable on TV media players and has zero effect on the db level of aac/mp4a files, despite the operation stating done. You scan for gain update the tag, but it is the metadata tag which messes up the playback okay on a PC but screwed for a media player attached to your TV.

Review by TeX on Apr 10, 2019 Version: 1.4.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by KPW on Sep 23, 2018 Version: foobar 2000 1.4 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I used many audio programs, but this program is easy y work good. Only want ear music.

Review by Gioantonnello on Sep 3, 2018 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by WinSpirit on Mar 6, 2018 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best audio player indeed. And you can download skins, plugins, and a lot of cool stuff for it.

Review by iohanntachy on Oct 29, 2015 Version: 1.3.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The performance issues from the older 1.x versions have been fixed, DVD-Audio playback is smooth again. The MP4 demuxer and the AAC decoder apparently were improved as well.

Review by El Heggunte on Jul 22, 2013 Version: 1.2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Slight setup required, but after that it is the best at ripping CD's managing audio (play, gain, convert,etc) and is highly customizable through plugins. Now go and download and enjoy your music

Review by dannyboy48888 on Jul 10, 2013 Version: 1.2.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




"I've had real, actual training. Going back 25 years. Including Unix and C programming."

Well, YAY for you! I too have been around computers for a long time, way back to my first one, an old VIC-20. C-64, Amiga, Mac, C-128D

I also have training in BASIC, CP/M, DOS, COBALT, AS/400.

Foobar has an interface that is much easier to use than many programs out there which cost $100+
So if you are such a guru BOB, then MAKE YOUR OWN!

I'll stick with Foobar as I have the past 3 years!


Review by JPIShadow on Mar 18, 2013 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




"The cognitive abilities and patience of a spoiled child"?

Well, as long as we're getting personal, here goes ...

I've been using computers for over 30 years. Starting with CP/M.

I've had real, actual training. Going back 25 years. Including Unix and C programming.

I actually know what proper interface design and documentation standards are. And, despite the fact that I use foobar and feel it is the best freeware program of its type, it has neither.

And while I find this type of site useful for learning things, I don't like getting flames by poseur know-nothing pseudo geeks.


Review by Hoser Rob on Feb 4, 2012 Version: 1.1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Foobar2000 only has a "learning curve" for its standard feature set, and the features of the more popular plugins, if you have the cognitive abilities and patience of a spoiled child.

Review by Inspector.Gadget on Oct 15, 2011 Version: 1.1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Downgraded ease of use because the learning curve for configuring it is just silly, even by open source standards, and the documentation stinks. But ... as a category in general, audio players seem to stink, and this one is the best I've found.

It works very well once you've installed some plugins for organization like foo plorg. It has a light footprint and it's fast.

Unlike other ones I've tried, and very quickly uninstalled, it doesn't try to hijack all your file associations. Plus it's the most highly recommended Windows player by Benchmark Media. That means more to me than 100 comments by pseudo geek posers and paid shills the other players foster.

However, if VLC had ASIO/WASAPI support I'd probably use it for music as well as video.


Review by Hoser Rob on Oct 15, 2011 Version: 1.1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This was, is and will always be my favourite CD-Ripper and Audio-Player. The tags of Mp3-files can be edited with my favourite Tag-Editor - Mp3tag. Thank you so much.

Review by flashandpan007 on Jan 4, 2011 Version: 1.1.2 beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best audio player/converter of all time, I love the interface, easy, friendly and clean. It consume very low resources. The perfect player to handle thousands of files. The new beta works incredibly stable.

Review by TGB on Nov 20, 2009 Version: 1.0 beta 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The finest audio player in existence. Excellent add-on components that cover just about all audio needs. Highly customizable interface. (I recommend Facets.) Low resource usage. Updated regularly.

Review by OAKside on Sep 3, 2009 Version: 0.9.6.9 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




great program but the interface is almost completely useless and hurts functionality to a great deal

Review by loster on Apr 11, 2009 Version: 0.9.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool/player - I mainly use it for converting my FLAC files into ipod-compatible copies for iTunes. It works great for that - the conversion, tagging etc is first rate.

Review by imol on Feb 9, 2008 Version: 0.9.5 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Top of the food chain. The tabbed playlists and support for VST plugins make it a standout product. I've tried many different players over the years- this is by far my favorite.

Review by Soopafresh on Oct 14, 2007 Version: 0.9.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've tried many mp3 players. This is one of my favorite. I don't use the Library function so I don't know how that function compares with others.

Review by danzeb on Apr 21, 2007 Version: 0.9.4.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




GREAT tool! easily organises your music library and has a ton of features for those who care about their audio and quality. Its easy to convert a cd to a variety of different codecs with tons of options. The collumns_ui addon is also great, looks just like itunes or any other music library. I definitely recomend this for anyone who wants a quality player and quality rips.

Review by jhotmann on Aug 14, 2006 Version: 0.9.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




hands down the best audio i have ever used, also, it great encoder, if ytou ever need it.

Review by dragon_1 on Aug 10, 2006 Version: 0.9.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com