Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for TVDownloader

68 reviews, Showing 1 to 68 reviews


TVDownloader is extremely simple software for quick use without much detail, and this is very good, I believe that the implementation of batch download, in addition to the option to save the subtitles embedded in the video, including the option to choose the quality of the mp3 audio, could and does improve the program, however, it is an excellent GUI, for those looking for simplicity without many details or complications.

Review by Diego Souza on Oct 19, 2020 Version: 1.18 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s95VhNZmigw&t=682s

Inside the Lincoln Project's campaign against President Trump

when i try to download this video, it screw up tvdownloader v1.19
with script error, after that, no more working with any video
when i use another pc, tv downloader works, then i try download with links above, same problem
so 2 of my pc dont work with tvdownloader anymore


Review by DC on Oct 12, 2020 Version: 1.19 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




All is good, but I hope filename-option-create will be added.

Review by happyng on Sep 11, 2020 Version: 1.19 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent! This is the best software I've found all year.

Review by Axel Slingerland on Sep 8, 2020 Version: 1.19 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi, I was downloading Thuis from VRTnu. Some of the downloads were going great until yesterday. Today I got my download and it is keeping saying that the "codec" is missing. Can you fix that?

Thanks for the great programm.


Review by LittlePrincess on Aug 31, 2020 Version: 19 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




TVDownloader is an excellent program, its use, among the GUI'S available for youtube DL, is the most simple and direct to the point that there is. Just as a suggestion, it would be interesting to make available the option of just downloading the subtitles, because sometimes it is exhausting to download the video just to get its subtitles. In addition, I have nothing to talk about the program, just praise the developers, for the work done! Thank you!

Review by Diego Souza on Aug 16, 2020 Version: 1.18.5 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




How to make the program remember login credentials for sites like VRTNU etc? Very frustrating to always have to fill that in again and again...

Review by JC on Apr 28, 2020 Version: 1.18.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I get an error when I try downloading from VTM

[Medialaan] eff50f8a4-00f8-40da-b92d-5477b93b3817: Downloading webpage
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "__main__.py", line 19, in
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpjwbwqymm\build\youtube_dl\__init__.py", line 474, in main
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpjwbwqymm\build\youtube_dl\__init__.py", line 464, in _real_main
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpjwbwqymm\build\youtube_dl\YoutubeDL.py", line 2019, in download
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpjwbwqymm\build\youtube_dl\YoutubeDL.py", line 797, in extract_info
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpjwbwqymm\build\youtube_dl\extractor\common.py", line 530, in extract
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpjwbwqymm\build\youtube_dl\extractor\medialaan.py", line 169, in _real_extract
IndexError: list index out of range
Press any key to continue . . .


Review by iefbo on Apr 25, 2020 Version: 1.18.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by bill on Feb 27, 2020 Version: 1.18.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Software perfetto, registra anche le dirette, cosa volere di pił?


Review by hoby on Feb 16, 2020 Version: 1.18.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




[youtube] xkibCjoGZs4: Downloading webpage
[youtube] xkibCjoGZs4: Downloading video info webpage
[youtube] xkibCjoGZs4: Downloading js player vfl1GpCbm
ERROR: Signature extraction failed: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\extractor\youtube.py", line 1384, in _decrypt_signature
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\extractor\youtube.py", line 1297, in _extract_signature_function
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\extractor\youtube.py", line 1360, in
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\jsinterp.py", line 258, in resf
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\jsinterp.py", line 56, in interpret_statement
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\jsinterp.py", line 92, in interpret_expression
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\jsinterp.py", line 189, in interpret_expression
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\jsinterp.py", line 56, in interpret_statement
File "C:\Users\dst\AppData\Roaming\Build archive\youtube-dl\ytdl-org\tmpj4acy7ln\build\youtube_dl\jsinterp.py", line 211, in interpret_expression
youtube_dl.utils.ExtractorError: Unsupported JS expression '[1376500448,'; please report this issue on https://yt-dl.org/bug . Make sure you are using the latest version; type youtube-dl -U to update. Be sure to call youtube-dl with the --verbose flag and include its complete output.
(caused by ExtractorError("Unsupported JS expression '[1376500448,'; please report this issue on https://yt-dl.org/bug . Make sure you are using the latest version; type youtube-dl -U to update. Be sure to call youtube-dl with the --verbose flag and include its complete output.",)); please report this issue on https://yt-dl.org/bug . Make sure you are using the latest version; type youtube-dl -U to update. Be sure to call youtube-dl with the --verbose flag and include its complete output.


Review by Thalys on Jan 31, 2020 Version: 1.18.3 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi guys good morning!

Yesterday I made use of TVDownloader, and when I made the first use, it did not download youtube videos at all, as it presented an error which I do not remember now. However, I remembered that the program uses youtube-dl as a source for its features, so what I did right here by videohelp, I downloaded youtube-dl via this link: https://www.videohelp.com/ software / youtube-dl
So I copied the youtube-dl .exe file, and pasted it into the installation folder of tvdownloader, replacing the version that came with the installer, and unbelievably solved the problem (it's a problem solving for those who have this same problem, I say , until December 12, 2019, date which has not yet been updated tvdownloader).

Now, in relation to its use and, I found it (I mean in relation to the interface) in a very simplified way, simpler than it already is, I believe it is not possible. But I found it a little slow compared to converting to mp3, because it downloads a file in .webm to later convert, and it takes a while, but the result is excellent (even with the variable bitrate), speaking of video, it downloads in a good quality, and even downloads all the excellent inserted in the video, and that's very good. As a tip, it would be interesting to filter the choices, such as downloading subtitles only, without having to download the video, and putting the option to download mp3 only in CBR, and choosing bitrate, moreover, is functional (but I had to " guess "that you should download the latest version of youtube-dl).


Review by Diego Souza on Dec 12, 2019 Version: 1.18.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




unfortunately no longer downloads from youtube anymore & BBC iPlayer BBC Four however alternative of Reel Downloader functions perfectly.

Review by alex 11 on Jan 11, 2019 Version: 1.18 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Hello,

Your software is excellent, I want to know if it is possible to launch several links at the same time. (mass links download)


Review by sheryo on Dec 15, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hello, this program is in dire need of a bugfix: it's not possible anymore to download from e.g. vrtnu.be.
All you get is an .m3u8 file when you try to download.
There's no download row available like for Gemistdownloader either.
Too bad! It used to work decently though...


Review by mundungu on Nov 26, 2018 Version: 1.17.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




YoutubeVideoDownloader 1.17.1

Link not available its YoutubeVideoDownloader 1.17 only

kindly fix it

hotstar video not working asking for update

LINK FOR THE DOWNLOAD AND SCREENSHOT BELOW

https://www.hotstar.com/tv/kya-haal-mr-paanchal/s-1179/kunti-suspects-her-bahus/1000193478


https://i.imgur.com/nFUuEba.jpg


Review by SAMNhaNc3 on Sep 23, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software. I just wish I could change the default download folder and make it stick. Every time I start the program it reverts back to the default download folder and I have to change it manually.

Review by adrian44 on Jul 30, 2018 Version: 1.17.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After install the latest version nothing works. There must be something wrong with this version.

Review by pedro1946 on Jul 21, 2018 Version: YoutubeVideoDownloader 1.17 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Problems with VTM (Medialaan)

Review by birre on Jul 3, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Vtm : index out of range ...... any key to continue....;

Review by Patrick on Jun 25, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by re on Jun 8, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great software, too bad the problem with Medialaan continues, vtm.be still says: "IndexError: list index out of range"

Review by MaRo on May 29, 2018 Version: TV Downloader 1.17 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Super software. Many thanks for distributing it.
However, so do I have the same error message as #samvanneste.

Isolating the issue.
When downloading from www.Q2.be, PROBLEMS all other sites work well.
Tried to uninstall-reinstall, a lower version of tvdownloader but nothing works.

Does anybody found a solution for it or did I miss the solution?

Many thanks in advanced



Review by fonske on May 29, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




getting this error by downloading from VTM:

[Medialaan] 178394: Downloading webpage
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "__main__.py", line 19, in
File "youtube_dl\__init__.pyo", line 465, in main
File "youtube_dl\__init__.pyo", line 455, in _real_main
File "youtube_dl\YoutubeDL.pyo", line 1958, in download
File "youtube_dl\YoutubeDL.pyo", line 776, in extract_info
File "youtube_dl\extractor\common.pyo", line 434, in extract
File "youtube_dl\extractor\medialaan.pyo", line 168, in _real_extract
IndexError: list index out of range

overall: 10/10, FAST updates and very easy to use, keep going the good work guys!


Review by samvanneste on May 26, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sorry, I meant error "list index out of range"

Review by me2m8 on May 26, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you for the new version.

However, when I try to download from vtm.be, I get the following error "List data out o range"


Review by me2m8 on May 26, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent piece of software !

Suggestions :

- if feasible (?) when typing an output folder that doesn't exist yet, it would be nice if the tool would propose to create it (without having to go via Select Folder, which is a longer way).
- save the last used output folder and account


PS : you got yourself a coffee today, have a look ;-) thank you for the good work!


Review by MatMaxa on May 25, 2018 Version: 1.16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great Software!

Review by xplorr on May 19, 2018 Version: 1.17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great downloader, straight forward without bloats and most importantly, it works!

1) I see charturbate is supported, how about cam4, flirt4free or livejasmin? :-), I can really buy you coffee or beers, lol.

2) It will be great if an ini file can be created to make the download folder sticks, rather than having to specify the download folder every time! (very minor issue, no big deal!)



Review by tigerb on Feb 8, 2018 Version: 1.16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Sorry, posting probleem ligt aan HTML tags. Hierbij de pure tekst:

[VRT] 1.946189: Downloading webpage
[VRT] 946189: Downloading m3u8 information
[VRT] 946189: Downloading m3u8 information
WARNING: Failed to download m3u8 information:
[VRT] 946189: Downloading f4m manifest
WARNING: Unable to download f4m manifest: urlopen error [Errno 10060] Een verbindingspoging is mislukt omdat de verbonden party niet correct heeft geantwoord na een bepaalde tijd, of de gemaakte verbinding is mislukt omdat de verbonden host niet heeft geantwoord
[VRT] 946189: Downloading MPD manifest
WARNING: Failed to download MPD manifest: urlopen error [Errno 10060] Een verbindingspoging is mislukt omdat de verbonden party niet correct heeft geantwoord na een bepaalde tijd, of de gemaakte verbinding is mislukt omdat de verbonden host niet heeft geantwoord
ERROR: unable to download video data: urlopen error [Errno 10060] Een verbindingspoging is mislukt omdat de verbonden party niet correct heeft geantwoord na een bepaalde tijd, of de gemaakte verbinding is mislukt omdat de verbonden host niet heeft geantwoord


Review by Dirk on Dec 20, 2017 Version: 2.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Blijkbaar werd de foutmelding in mijn laatste post afgeknipt. Nieuwe poging:

[VRT] 1.946189: Downloading webpage
[VRT] 946189: Downloading m3u8 information
[VRT] 946189: Downloading m3u8 information
WARNING: Failed to download m3u8 information:
[VRT] 946189: Downloading f4m manifest
WARNING: Unable to download f4m manifest:
[VRT] 946189: Downloading MPD manifest
WARNING: Failed to download MPD manifest:
ERROR: unable to download video data:


Review by Dirk on Dec 20, 2017 Version: 2.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Werkt perfect voor VTM Nieuws. Werkt helaas niet (meer) voor De Redactie:

[VRT] 1.946189: Downloading webpage
[VRT] 946189: Downloading m3u8 information
[VRT] 946189: Downloading m3u8 information
WARNING: Failed to download m3u8 information:
[VRT] 946189: Downloading f4m manifest
WARNING: Unable to download f4m manifest:
[VRT] 946189: Downloading MPD manifest
WARNING: Failed to download MPD manifest:
ERROR: unable to download video data:


Review by Dirk on Dec 20, 2017 Version: 1.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




As with every new version of this program, I want to try. And as with every program I download, I checked it with the VirusTotal website.

I really don't know what to say. I download and check lots of programs. Of course, some are marked as dangerous, and I don't use them.

This program, however, is ALWAYS flagged; it's usually only by three virus engines, but this time it was four, including Trend-Micro, which is a pretty dependable online virus scanner.

Here's a screen shot of the results:
http://edu-net.net/images/VirusTotal-TVDownloader.jpg

I don't understand why this always happens with this program and why the author can't do anything about it.

Anyway, my "ratings" are NOT based on having used the program; they're just "neutral" - one the VideoHelp website, you can't review a program without rating it.

I'd really like to try this program, but I won't do it till VirusTotal comes up 100% clean.


Review by jgg on Nov 12, 2017 Version: 1.16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Simple and useful.

Review by NickDW on Nov 11, 2017 Version: 1.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just what I was looking for.

Review by JLax on Nov 11, 2017 Version: 1.15 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Same problem as before :(

Review by L1987 on Oct 25, 2017 Version: 1.15.3 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




[VrtNU] Logging in
[VrtNU] Requesting a token
[VrtNU] dagelijkse-kost-d20171017: Downloading webpage
[VrtNU] dagelijkse-kost-d20171017: Downloading JSON metadata
ERROR: Unable to download JSON metadata: HTTP Error 404: Not Found (caused by HTTPError()); please report this issue on https://yt-dl.org/bug . Make sure you are using the latest version; type youtube-dl -U to update. Be sure to call youtube-dl with the --verbose flag and include its complete output.
Press any key to continue . . .


Review by MauriceC on Oct 18, 2017 Version: 1.15.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi, When trying to download the european qualifying matches it is showing the comment

ERROR: Unable to download JSON metadata: HTTP Error 500: Internal Server Error (caused by HTTPError()); please report this issue on https://yt-dl.org/bug . Make sure you are using the latest version; type youtube-dl -U to update. Be sure to call youtube-dl with the --verbose flag and include its complete output.
Press any key to continue . . .
when I download an other video, it works perfect. You know what the problem is?

greets and thank you



Review by L1987 on Sep 29, 2017 Version: 1.15.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




-

Review by 0 on Sep 11, 2017 Version: 1.15.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




When i tested it in my F-secure.
First it dident say anything.
But when i started to install it my F-secure stoped the program.
So for the moment i wont install it.
Before i get more info if it is a safe program to use.


Review by glimmerman on Sep 6, 2017 Version: TVDownloader 1.15.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've given medium (neutral) ratings because, as much as I'd like to, I haven't tried it yet due to fears about malware.

Just now, I downloaded the zip of the latest version, extracted the .exe and tested the latter on VirusTotal. This is the result:
http://edu-net.net/images/VirusTotal_-_2017-09-06_23.52.01.jpg

I know it's only 3 negatives out of 64 - and it's 3 "small fish" in the anti-virus world - but I still can't understand why the file is being tagged.





Review by jgg on Sep 6, 2017 Version: 1.15.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Works fine so far for the sites I visit. Thanks for your programming efforts!

Review by xplorr on Sep 6, 2017 Version: 1.15 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




needs batch feature to download many videos in a queue 1 after another automatically so i can walk away after pressing download

wish it didnt open so many windows.

wish it could automatically retry and confirm download good when error happens

otherwise very good


Review by GetWald on Sep 4, 2017 Version: 1.15.1 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




YoutubeVideoDownloader 1.4 works perfectly when downloading from BBC iPlayer however TVDownloader does not & is very buggy please view a copy of the result as follows ERROR:Could not write header for output file#0 (incorrect codec parameters ?):Invalid argument
Press any key to continue . . .
Codec not supported:
VLC could not decode the format "avc3" (No description for this codec)


Review by alex on Sep 2, 2017 Version: 1.15.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 1/10




Many thanks you for adding support for bvn.tv!

Review by TomDrappy12 on Sep 2, 2017 Version: 1.15 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Love the new option! Downloads all I feed it. What a beast.:-)

Review by Bernard on Sep 2, 2017 Version: 1.15 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent ! the new version added the "worst" option ! that's awesome !

Review by azog963 on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.15 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Fails to download from BBC iPlayer

Review by alex on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 1/10




YoutubeVideoDownloader is a great and efficient software ! Thank to Xplorr for this program !

Review by azog963 on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I use TVDownloader 1.14 now for 5 days. It downloads almost everything. Way better than most other downloaders I have tested, and believe me I have tested many.

Review by Marc Newman on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm a big fan of this downloader. Used it for several months. Never had a problem. Clean.

Review by Bintou on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks for the update man! Love it!

Review by Timmy68 on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sorry for the double posting, but I made a mistake in my original message.

I meant to write ...

Four of the 59 search engines that the site uses flagged the zip file. You can see a screenshot of the results here.
http://edu-net.net/images/VirusTotal.jpg


Review by jgg on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Because of the discussion about the virus issue, I haven't tried the software yet and, honestly, I'm still afraid to.

I downloaded the zip distribution and tested it with my Norton Internet Security. It came up clean.

However, in "problematic" cases like this one, I always check with the "virustotal.com" website, and there the results were less comforting.

Four of the 59 search engines that the site uses flagged the. You can see a screenshot of the results here.
http://edu-net.net/images/VirusTotal.jpg

I'd like to see a bit more discussion before I take the jump.



Review by jgg on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I can confirm that version 1.14 is 100% clean.
The old version 1.9 contained a version of youtube-dl that was deliberately tampered with.
The developer detected the rogue code, reported the origin and immediately replaced the tampered youtube-dl with a clean version based on the official youtube-dl release. The tampered version contained code to delete dll's from the programs folder, visited rogue websites, but did not contain any virus or worm.


Review by xplorr on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Ignore my rating it was for V1.9 which I'm happy to say has been removed from the previous versions download list along with a few other problem versions. While I'd appreciate a properly working version of this gui, I haven't tried the new updated versions yet until I'm sure the problem has been truly fixed and proper corrective measures put in place to prevent a repeat.

@xplorr ref your comment #9

Your description of the problem as "a corrupt youtube-dl file" is much too generous. There was a virus which appears to use a Script among other things to delete all DLL files in the program directory including anti virus programs, it usurps your internet browser and crashes the system to complete the task of deleting and corrupting new installs. I manually stopped suspected programs from loading, renamed and deleted a few questionable files and finally had to run a disc boot version of Avast which removed the remaining hidden self propagating versions of the virus which were preventing re-installing new virus checkers and other software. That does not repair the damage though. Good thing I had a backup copy of the full program directory which was only a few weeks old and was able to easily copy the files back.

Whoever did this may try again so it makes one wonder how such a virus got past the program testing through 3 or 4 versions before being posted for download at VH and only a few users caught it with V1.9, 1.10 and 1.11 in the past week or so?

Does your gui use scripts to run adware or does youtube-dl do that? If either program does that then this program should be listed as adware supported. If this is this case I would also suggest ads be restricted to within the program gui and not sent to the user's browser something which I find highly invasive by those programs that do it.


Review by gll99 on Aug 31, 2017 Version: v1.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Makes life so easy with this jewel!

Review by steveschumi on Aug 30, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Version 1.14 works fine again! Clean!

Review by xplorr on Aug 30, 2017 Version: 1.14 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software to download video from all sorts of sites.
I can confirm version 1.12 is 100% clean!


Review by xplorr on Aug 28, 2017 Version: 1.12 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Version 1.12 runs super and clean.
There was a problem with version 1.11 due to a corrupt youtube-dl file.
The author acknowledged that and corrected the problem.
Great software!


Review by xplorr on Aug 28, 2017 Version: 1.12 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by xplorr on Aug 28, 2017 Version: 1.12 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I gave it low scores even though it did download the files I requested from Youtube. The program opened 2 poker gambling ad pages in my browser and then rebooted my computer twice. On reboot it tried to load some conversion related files but it had error messages about certain missing DLL. I had to manually clean up a bit of a mess. This program should be listed as adware with a strict warning about what it is installing. Serious caution is in order. Do your homework. I didn't and won't try this again unless I know more about what it runs behind the scene.

Review by gll99 on Aug 26, 2017 Version: 1.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 2/10




It happend to me as well. It will shut down your computer and reboot it and disable your antivirus program, even windows mail wont work.

This software is dangerous!!!


Review by deeyeej on Aug 26, 2017 Version: 1.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I installed this a few days ago and it worked good for a few days and then yesterday I went to download a video and the command window opened and ran a long list of file deletions, rebooted my system then all antivirus was disabled and something strange was running so I manually shut down and booted rescue media and restored a backup! I use Malwarebytes pro and windows defender and neither show a virus in the install file but BEWARE, I'm not putting it back on my system. I'll stick with IDM instead.

Review by 1.10 on Aug 26, 2017 Version: 1.10 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Frustrated Geezer on Aug 12, 2017 Version: 1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




Highly recommended !!

Review by deeyeej on Jul 28, 2017 Version: Version 1.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




10/10 - This worked for me when all others failed.

Only very minor issue for me was when entering a really long link into the URL box, the screen scrolled over to the left without being able to see the buttons (had to double click into the text box then scroll left to see them again, probably a quick fix)

Highly recommended


Review by notoriousrfp on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This could be a great program IF it's clean. Below is the report from VirusTotal. I have no idea if these 11 out of 60 reports are true or false. Maybe someone can shed some light on this to confirm the report.

Antivirus Result Update
--------- ------

AegisLab Troj.Gen!c 20170312
Antiy-AVL Trojan[Downloader]/VBS.Agent 20170312
AVware Trojan.Win32.Generic.pak!cobra 20170312
Endgame malicious (high confidence) 20170222
Jiangmin Hoax.RegClnr.a 20170312
K7AntiVirus Riskware ( 0040eff71 ) 20170312
K7GW Riskware ( 0040eff71 ) 20170311
McAfee Artemis!A9C726741712 20170312
McAfee-GW-Edition Artemis 20170312
VBA32 Trojan.Swrort 20170310
VIPRE Trojan.Win32.Generic.pak!cobra 20170312


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Mar 18, 2017 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10


68 reviews, Showing 1 to 68 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com