Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for WinDVD

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


Great Player! I've got an ATI Card and display on my CRT is just great!
The DVD-decoder is the fastest I have tried (you name it...), when I open DVD-files for testing purposes on the HDD.
Sound with small stereo-system, but nice sound-card (CMEDIA, not even the latest...) is amazing.
The picture is clear, crisp and all settings can be reached easily on the skin's menu. Although I had earlier versions runnning rather slow - start/end was often very sloow, reaction times of menus, etc. to change settings were slightly higher than one would like on as famous a player as this is - now, with v. 9 I get (on the same system!) lightning fast playback/start/reaction times.
Small drawback: formerly it was possible to set the mouse-wheel's function in the config of the player, that seems to be obsolete now - rather a pity!
Still - V. 9: highly recommended!


Review by nbarzgar on May 9, 2008 Version: 9 Plus OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been using the full version of WinDVD 8 Platinum for several months now, and for the most part I am quite happy with it, but I have noticed some problems with it:

1. First, whenever I put a new DVD in, it automatically sets up the audio for a 7.1 setup, even though I have a 5.1 setup. I change it back, but the settings are reset whenever I change movies.

2. The DTS decoder is completely borked. I did a test with it and found that it's not doing any kind of discrete processing. I tested it with "The Simpsons Movie" as well as my DTS copy of "Apollo 13" by turning down the center channel. Dialogue that should have been routed only to the center channel was coming out through the front speakers, and occasionally the surrounds.

3. It also annoys me that the box makes no mention that in order to get HD-DVD/Blu-Ray capability, I have to more or less buy the program all over again.

That's why I gave it an 8. If the DTS decoder wasn't screwed up, it'd get a perfect 10.


Review by cubdukat on Dec 25, 2007 Version: 8.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I can't use any function in Video Center and Audio Center when I am watching a video file. The buttons are disabled.

Review by mino_gb on Jul 12, 2006 Version: 7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




after having tried Power DVD I decided to give this a go; glad I did. The new look is nice and play back is great. I thought I wold try some DVD backups since it was reported that WinDVD would not play them; must be his configuration, all six of the backups I threw at it played just as sweet as the original.

Review by kip on Aug 18, 2005 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




Interesting program by Intervideo - It does everything but plays backup copies of DVDs. Running the program with a back-up copy will even "LOCKUP" your system.
On the good side; this is probably now one of the best looking and sounding players available for the PC.


Review by Video-drone on Aug 18, 2005 Version: WinDVD7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Excellent Player.

There have been some low marks given which seem unfair and frankly, unwarranted.

Give it a try. It runs silky smooth on my system with no problems and a very nice feature set.


Review by cincyreds on Feb 15, 2005 Version: 6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I upgrade to WinDVD 6 when it came out, from V5.

However, I ended up rolling back to 5, and uninstalling 6.

Reasons:

1> no time display when you attach the control panel to the video screen

2> will no longer work with my ATI Remote Wonder remote control. WinDVD 5 works well, with three custom programmed keys for 30 second skip, fast forward, and fast backward.

3> no percieved improvements over V5

I did send email to Intervideo's support staff, but never received a reply.


Review by rfielder on Sep 26, 2004 Version: V6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 7/10




Compataibility issues.
I heard back from a customer that a dvd I sent him would not play in his laptop. I played it in a number of common players, and on my PC and laptop. It plays in just about everything but WinDVD can't play it.
To me, this is a serious problem.


Review by JAMJTX on Sep 25, 2004 Version: 6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Version 6 of WinDVD is superb,I really do prefer it to PowerDVD.
Easy to use,has never crashed on me,brilliant picture quality,quick fast forward feature,definitely worth the money.
I think this software is too under rated so I gave it a 10.
What more can I say,superb DVD/VCD Player.


Review by laspis59 on Sep 24, 2004 Version: 6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Not particularly reliable.

Bundled versions are usually tragic crippleware (i.e. no high speed fast forward).

Full versions make you realise you wasted your money upgrading from the bundled version.

If it was freeware, such unreliable behaviour might be excusable. As it isn't AVOID and get PowerDVD instead.


Review by chuffster on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




WinDVD is a nice soft DVD player. You can basically view all kinds of MPEGs and VOBs....from DVD or from your HD.
However, till you get used to it, itīs kinda hard to find all the options to enjoy your movie if your language is not english.


Review by haznut on Oct 9, 2003 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com