Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for VideoHelp Bitrate calculator

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


A very useful tool for target file size control, without destroying video quality. Thanks much goes out to its author(s)/creator(s).

Review by hittz on Nov 21, 2009 Version: 2004.01.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Keeps me from punching numbers on a calculator.

Review by disturbed1 on Jun 2, 2009 Version: v2004.01.12 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Need to install Java to make bitrate calculator work.

Review by roma_turok on Mar 23, 2006 Version: v2004.01.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Fantastic tool, this !

I have used this tool ever since I started with video stuff and it's certainly a part of the "essentials" kit IMO for any enthusiast that doesn't have these numbers tattooed on the inside of their brains (sorry LS).

I normally allow about 50-100kbps for "author overhead" (aka a basic menu / chapter selection) and my trusty TMPGEnc Plus comes thru with the goods, every time.


@rabiddog:
If you hit the "Advanced Mode" button you can enter any custom size you want. Also, you could just add extra MBs to the ISO field to simulate any extras or whatever you want to add to the disc. Also, the max bitrate is the max you can go to while remaining inside DVD spec - it certainly isn't a recommendation for the max to use for CQ or n-pass VBR modes, and that's why there's no minimum. And anyway, a minimum of more than 0 doesn't affect average bitrate anyway.


Review by jimmalenko on Sep 5, 2005 Version: v2004.01.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a good and easy to use tool .. However it could use a little polishing up in that you should be able to either input your own disc size and/or your own extra size (author overhead). My biggest gripe is that it shows the average bitrate and the max bitrate (notice whats missing?) but NOT the minimum bitrate .. this is not always zero and will affect the average bitrate..

pls use a Tea acronym for naming..(java blah)


Review by rabiddog on Sep 3, 2005 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Why did I give an overall score of 9 instead of 10?
Silly java interface, need to have Java installed.
I do, but I don't like having to open the web page and wait for the screen to come up, also Java program is not small at all...
Pardon my ignorance, certaintly there are other overarching reasons for having Java, but besides that tiny detail, this tool is AWESOME.
Exactly what one would need, nothing you don't, and very intuitive and easy to use.

5 STARS!

PS ...AND FREE!!!...


Review by chipsndukes on Mar 26, 2005 Version: 2004.01.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I tried other calulators and didn't find them very useful. Then I found this calculator and I was floored! It is a great tool! I acually wrote the designer of this calculator to rave about it. Very accurate and easy to use.

Review by JoRodd on Jan 17, 2005 Version: 2004.01.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Easy to use. Straight to the point. Excellent tool!

Review by tmlim on Dec 6, 2004 Version: 2004.01.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Don't know exactly who made this tool, but whoever did, let me know when you're in town, will buy you beer. Awesome tool!

Review by Mickey79 on Dec 21, 2003 Version: 2003.06.09 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Accurate and invaluable tool, takes the guesswork out of it. Thanks guys!

Review by pummeler on Sep 16, 2003 Version: 2003.06.09 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you can use this tool, then you understand enough to never need another calculator again, Multi-audio not withstanding :)p

Review by gazorgan on Sep 13, 2003 Version: N/A OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




A tip for those who calculate an XVCD and the result is bigger than what the calculator said:
Demux the audio stream and the video stream and then remux them as Video-CD (non-standard) in TMPGEnc. This tells TMPGEnc that it is in fact an XVCD, which removes padding which is featured in standard VCDs which then cuts down the filesize.
Enjoy!


Review by Dhruv on Jul 8, 2003 Version: N/A OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




best damm bitrate calculator west of chicago

Review by BJ_M on Jun 18, 2003 Version: unknown OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com