Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
VCDEasy

NEW VERSION 3.1.0

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
VCDEasy is a VideoCDs (VCD/SVCD) authoring tool that allows you to play/watch your videos your pictures (from digital camera, scanner,...) and your audio files directly on most of the home DVD players, without having to buy a DVD Writer and DVD discs.

Trialware $30
OS: Windows
File size: 8.5MB
Old versions
Version history
7.4/10
29 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

VCDEasy screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

3.1.0 (September 15, 2005)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download VCDEasy 3.1.0  8.5MB  Win




Download old versions


Download VCDEasy old versions



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $30)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Download the old VCDEasy 1.1.5.2 freeware here(10MB).



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


The changes between the versions 3.1.0 and 3.0.1 are:
* New: The MPEG Stills encoder can now auto-rotate images according to the "Orientation" EXIF information (you can turn ON/OFF this option in the "General" settings page)
* Updated: The "Supported CD writers" list has been updated (84 CD writers added)
* Improved: Better support of the MPEG audio files
* Improved: Double clicking the MPEG files list now opens the Add Files dialog
* Improved: There are now two separate multiple select buttons for the timeout in the "Interactivity" page: one for the timeout duration and one for the timeout file. Before that, it was not possible to change the duration for several items in one step without overwriting the timeout file at the same time...
* Improved: The default timeout duration in the "Interactivity" page is a preference in the "Options" page.
* Improved: Some compliance tests for the MPEG files have been added.
* Fixed: The Access violation at address 0226246D has been fixed (this happened for a few users having "Stadocks Object Desktop")
* Fixed: Other minor problems have also been fixed.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's


Create a still picture VideoCD with sound comments

- Read

Creating (S)VCD Stills with Audio

- Read

DivX to VCD MPEG All-In-One Guide

- Read

How to create a pictures VideoCD with transitions and continuous background music

- Read

How to create VCD menus and chapters with VCDEasy

- Read

How to make a still picture VCD with VCDEasy

- Read

How to make a still pictures VideoCD with VCDEasy

- Read

How to start with VCDEasy

- Read

Sefy's classical DVD to VCD ripping guide

- Read

Sefy's DVD Backup Guide v2.6

- Read

Sefy's DVDx DVD to VCD ripping guide

- Read

Sefy's Original Official guides AVI to VCD

- Read

SVCD to DVD±R with DVD-Lab (directly from CD's)

- Read

VCDEasy video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




29 reviews, Showing 1 to 29 reviews


Couldn't use it. :( Under Windows 7 Home Edition it keeps telling me to install the Windows Media Player, well THAT IS installed and working just fine on my system, tried using the other option in the software to install an older version, got the same dad-blasted error. So if I can't run it, I can't use it and I sure wouldn't upgrade to the paid version before I could see if I could even use this software, which I can not do because it wants something installed that's already INSTALLED and WORKING on my system. So that's why the 1 star rating I gave it. Completely useless software, even for free, this wasn't worth the download, time or aggravation that I had to go and try and find a fix to make it work, looked, found nothing. Goodbye VCD-Easy, turned out to be VCD ZERO in my book!

Review by Cataptra on Dec 26, 2018 Version: 1.1.5.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




If anyone is interested I found old version 1.1.1.4 at the site below. The link is a third party down loader assist tool similar Cnet and SourceForge and it downloads "VCDEasy_v1.1.4_Setup.exe" 8.93 MB (9,370,115 bytes). Installed on Win7 64bit but asking for WMP which I do have installed. Works fine on my XP VMware.

2003-01-21 - VCDEasy v1.1.4
http://www.soft-ware.net/vcdeasy-free


Review by FerociousVCD on Jan 23, 2016 Version: 1.1.1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




While the software is great, the authors changing it from "always being free", to having to pay was, at the least, dishonest. I am currently making my own open sourced (BSD licensed) "VCD equivlent of Adobe Encore".

Review by VCDdave on Nov 4, 2008 Version: 1.x OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




Oops, I meant to say that I'm using version 1.1.4 in my previous review. Its freeware and works great with Win 98 SE instead of 1.1.5.2 which causes problems and won't convert jpgeg or bmp to mpeg.

Review by cinnamon on Feb 21, 2006 Version: 1.1.4 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




People using last freeware 1.1.5.2 (? did I get that right?) version of VDC Easy under Win 98 SE and running into the "[mpeg2enc] Could not read YUV4MPEG2 header : system error (failed read/write)!" problem may want to use older freeware version 1.1.1.4 (?) of the program instead. It is fully compatible with Win 98 SE, and requires no modification. It took a little digging but I did find it on the net. That solved the YUV4MPEG2 header problem i.e. it didn't happen. I was surprised at how difficult it was to find older freeware versions of this program.

Since I've got the older program I've been able to convert jpeg to mpeg and make SVCDs.

The tutorials here and at the VDC Easy website are essential to understanding how to use this program, particularly if you want to make SVCDs with playback control menus. Otherwise, I found the program a little obtuse without any directions, particularly with regard to the program settings. I also had to set my cd burner under the options in the program to a generic driver to get it to work consistantly, but that may just be my Que! CDRW.

I was able to convert jpeg and bmp to mpeg stills, and make SVCDs! Neat, maybe I'll upgrade to the full version but only if its fully compatible with my old laptop. Freeware is Good!


Review by cinnamon on Feb 20, 2006 Version: 1.1.1.4 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




An update to my previous comment on this tool.
I am now using the fully registered version and am 100% happy with it.Its much better than the OLD freeware version,for the very small fee that the author asks.
There is no doubt about it in my mind that its the best tool for creating VCD's.
BTW customer support is awesome too.


Review by laspis59 on Feb 5, 2006 Version: 3.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The free version is still available here. The site is German. The software is English:

http://www.pc-magazin.de/datatip/common/dtt/download.php?areaid=66&fileid=2245


Review by RayH on Apr 30, 2004 Version: V 1.15 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I am currently using the old freeware version,its a shame it is now trialware,but is 100% worth the money.
Very quick and easy to use.Basically the program is superb!


Review by laspis59 on Apr 27, 2004 Version: 1.1.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is also awesome.

Review by janken on Jan 17, 2004 Version: 1.1.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used this program since v 1.1.2 and it's one of the best if you want to make a VCD or SVCD. The program is very powerful, however if you want to make a VCD with a menu, it's not very easy the first time. But there are some great guides for that at the homepage. Once you have learned how the program works, then the rest is easy.

It's no longer freeware, but I think that this great program is worth the 15 € it costs for the commercial version. I truley recommend this program to whoever wants to make their own picture CD:s or (S)VCD.


Review by Znooky on Jan 6, 2004 Version: 1.1.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As a trial version only lets you use a max size file of 400mb - be warned. You're gonna have to buy it to find out more !

Ratings only added to let me post here.


Review by scrums on Dec 22, 2003 Version: 1.1.7.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I used this when it was free and bought it when it became trialware.

Review by stsurbrook on Sep 25, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




VCDEasy is truly that, easy. I discovered this via this site recently, and it has provided exactly what I wanted from the program: a easy was to burn VCD's with chapters and some editing features. One conversion through TMPEGenc and I'm ready.

As a side note, I just can't understand why people are complaining about $20. Maybe you should come out of your parent's basement and get a job. Even minimum wage is good for $20/week.


Review by vernbone on Aug 10, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




VCDEasy remains the best and most comprehensive S/VCD authoring suite to date. With the latest versions, the functionality of save/load projects was finally incorporated and was much needed. IMHO, the only thing that needs to be added is better integration of the stills production. At present, it still remains essentially a separate module rather than part of the authoring process.

As for those people complaining that it is no longer freeware, your comments are not only unfair but really quite ridiculous. You "would have paid" if not for the switch to shareware? Please. That is so incredibly LAME.

It should be noted that everyone who donated to help the development of VCDEasy (less than 1 in 100,000 downloads) was offered a free upgrade to the commercial version, no matter how much they donated (could have been 10 cents!)

Furthermore, if you prefer to use freeware, the full functionality of version 1.1.5 has been maintained in version 1.1.5.2. This talk of date change hacks is further evidence of the immense idiocy out there. YOU CAN GET THE FULL FUNCTION OF 1.1.5 WITHOUT LIMITATION IN VERSION 1.1.5.2 which was developed for you people how can't live without your free lunch.


Review by vitualis on Aug 9, 2003 Version: 1.1.5/6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




VCDEasy is still a good tool even though it's no longer free. One functionality I noticed in this new version 1.1.6, is that it will not accept a large file (i.e. 900MB file for example), while older versions don't complain. To add big file, I have to go back to older version. I create lots of 90min & 99min VCD, and this new "large file checking" functionality really bugs me.

Review by viper10000 on Aug 1, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Sam from Ontario

Go into the settings and change the write spped for CDRDAO to 32x or whatever - the software come pre-configured to run at 4x for some odd reason. I can write at any sped up to the limit of my LieOn (40x) or 12x for CDRW.

You should also check that it has loaded the correct driver - I have to use MMC - the MMC-RAW one should work with my drive, but does not. This is a CDRDAO problem, not VCDEasy.

Incidentally, I am one of the few who contributed to VCDEasy before the timebomb - why? Because it is great software and I wanted the author to be able to buy the development tools he needs to make it into something outstanding.


Review by corkey on Aug 1, 2003 Version: 1.1.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Easy to use and very good start SVCD making for new newbie and version 1.1.5.2 is still available on the internet for free. If the function is not adequate for you, you can upgrade to version 1.1.6 for a mere $15.

My only adverse comment is that I can only burn 4x speed instead of 48x with my LG 48x24x48x CD writer. If newer version will fully enable to utilise the 48x speed writing, I will sure buy the upgrade.


Review by Sam Ontario on Jul 30, 2003 Version: 1.1.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




What a bunch of whiny little girls! The guy creates a program that you say you us all the time and you're such a bunch of leeches that you can't send the guy a few bucks.

Boo-hoo, there's a time bomb. Boo-hoo it should be free. Boo-hoo...

I donated 10 bucks a while ago because it was THE RIGHT THING TO DO! and out of the blue the guy emails me the commercial version. Just like that, he could've asked for an "upgrade" charge but he didn't.

If you whiny freeloaders had sent him even FIVE stinking dollars, this wouldn't have happened and even IF he had to charge, you would have gotten the commerical version for free.

Get a job, you bums.


Review by vizcom on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I would love to have the new version if it hadn't gone shareware :( why did it have to go to shaware it was a sweet freeware vcd author prog.

Review by andybno1 on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 1.1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Don't bother with all of the workarounds for the time-bomb, just download version 1.1.5.2 which is identical to 1.1.5 but with the time bomb removed. You might also want to read the author's reasons for including a hidden time-bomb. It was primarily to catch unauthorized vendors who were including his code in "packages" they were selling - in direct contravention of the license and with no compensation going to him.

I appear to be one of the few people who donated money to the author because I used VCDEasy so much. The donation rate was about one donation for every 176000 downloads. I am not suggesting that everyone can or should donate - just that when someone creates a good tool for us to use, we need to give them some encouragement and not just leech off of them.


Review by Neil Herber on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 1.1.5.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This version is almost identical to v1.1.5, but this version add mpg files much faster than 1.1.5.

v1.1.5 allows you to save project for later reuse, and also save information about mpg files so from now on 1.1.5 run faster.

But how many times do you repeatedly create a bin file of the same movie?

So 1.1.4 is just fine for me. I think tucows will fading the v1.1.4, so get it while you can.


Review by qvcd on Jun 22, 2003 Version: 1.1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Here's a link to the old 1.14 that still works, no time bombs or any crap like that (just be sure to turn off the update check)

http://tucows.nyi.net/files/VCDEasy_v1.1.4_Setup.exe

Get it while you still can. And pardon my generous use of french here, but a big FUCK YOU goes out to VCDEasy.org. Shame on you for what you did, stealth timebombing a perfectly good, working version of the program, stating in the expiry message "you'll never have to pay for it, it'll always be free" so you could start collecting on it. If you wanted your crap shareware you should have made it that way in the first place, asshole! I will NEVER, EVER pay for your fucking program now that you've went and pulled this shit. I hope you get as much of a backlash as you deserve, as I will be handing out VCDEasy 1.14 to as many people as I can in protest of your nefarious methods.


Review by glassvial on Jun 22, 2003 Version: 1.16 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Had this been version 1.1.5, I would have rated it all ten's. I was perfectly happy with version 1.1.5, when 1.1.6 got rammed down our throats via a time-bomb within the program. Then you are forced to download a commercial version that you have to pay for or a feature-limited nagware (which doesn't allow MPEG's larger than 400MB.) Nice that their readme file doesn't even explain what the limitations are. You have to use the program in order to find out.

In fact, the time-bomb message in 1.1.5 says:
"This test version has expired.

Please download a newer version at www.vcdeasy.org
VCDEasy has always been free, you should never pay to have it."

Ha!

Until the developer changes his/her mind regarding the software, I honestly can't reccomend it to other users. VCDEasy has lost one user (unless someone figures out how to bypass the time-bomb in 1.1.5).


Review by victoryhighway on Jun 22, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Really just wanted to point out that as of VCDEasy 1.1.6, it is
*NOT* Shareware ... it's NAGWARE. The nag screen/timer at the
end pushes it into that category (with unneeded help from the
time-bomb on 1.1.5).

Personally, I'm going back to 1.1.2 (the latest pre-1.1.5 version
I could find). I might have considered the $15 (US), until I
saw the nag screen.

Btw, if I were rating 1.1.2, the scores above would be much
higher (though I've yet to figure out how to get menus working
with VCDEasy...).



Review by spooky130u on Jun 21, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




the past new versions are not much of an improvement to the oldest versions who are just guis for scripts of linux tools.
the suddenly change from freeware to shareware is not very honorable thing to do. I know i am not buyibg it since thankfully the old version dont have any gay time limits.
for exmple 1.1.4 is still there in tucows websites. where version 1.1.6 still not in most the tucows servers.
I hope that the author changes his mind for the next version and finds another way to work it out.
I would be not that harse with the change if things like their motto "you should never pay to have it" and asurances that there aren't any spyware in it.
It's nice program and all but most of the props goto vcdimager and cdrdao.
Anyway that's my 2cents.
Have a nice summer!!


Review by zante on Jun 21, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 6/10




VCDEasy it's no longer freeware. Starting with version 1.1.6 it is a shareware.

The old slogan "you should never pay to have it" is not true anymore.

But Just like TMPGenc Pro the $15 are worth it.

Otto.


Review by ofbarea on Jun 21, 2003 Version: 1.1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Because of its continuous functional upgrade, and lots of good guide, VCDEasy is "easy" to use. Besides, how you cannot like a good freeware?!!

Review by viper10000 on Jun 20, 2003 Version: 1.1.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The best GUI for VCDImager.

Review by Baldrick on Jun 18, 2003 Version: 1.1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Freeware!
VCD authoring is as simple as drag&drop click go. Ur VCD is done!
Included chapters, menus interactivity etc..


Review by nufdude on Jun 13, 2003 Version: 1.1.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


29 reviews, Showing 1 to 29 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com