Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Steeper

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


Junk. Doesn't work for shite. All I get is "can't copy file". Doesn't even attempt repair.

Review by RCaugh1 on Jan 29, 2020 Version: 1.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 1/10




Warning! The program automaticly overwrites the old file. I had an important 400MB 1 hour video file, where only 20 seconds around the 54 minute mark were damaged and could not be played. Everytime I tried to move or copy the file windows gave me an E/A reading error at 85% because of these missing data. But VLC could play the whole hour except for the 20 seconds, so 99% of the file was readable.
Then I used Steeper, selected that I want it to save it under another name in a different folder, but the program ignored that and saved it under the same name - overwriting the source file. And now I'm left with a 100 MB video with corrupted index data (no time, no skipping) and everthing after the first 15 minutes is lost forever. Definitely not recommendet!


Review by Chytharo on May 16, 2017 Version: 1.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Simple but also severely limited use. major drawback. No video preview.

Review by vidalien on Apr 6, 2010 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 1/10




It's too bad about the WMV videos all being the same. When it is all the same it works brilliant, but when they're not, you don't hear a squawk, you don't know until you play it - when the a/v goes out of synch and clips at the end get left off. My fault for lack of due diligence. Sometimes the script asks whether to replace a file in the DOS window. Not sure what that's about. And the location to save in seems to be prompted for asynchronously which is a little confusing. I understand this is a wrapper for some other freeware, maybe I'll try and dig through the code to figure out how this works - it might help me avoid problems.

For heterogeneous files in WMV I ended up using Windows Movie Maker, which took about an hour - blech.

altogether good value for money, does what it says on the tin, but needs some diagnostics/doco for ease of use.


Review by djelimon on Aug 11, 2008 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




A simply and easy to use usful program. However, my Zone Alarm detected that it wanted to access smss.exe (Session Manager Subsystem) when I was shutting down Steeper. Zone Alarm advised that this was a favorite way for for trojans to get into your system.

Review by criddle on Apr 22, 2007 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Just tried this. The only thing I have to complain about is that it cut off 9 seconds of a WMV I had, but the seek was perfect afterwards.

Review by State of Mind on Sep 25, 2005 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




I would have to agree with the comments posted below.Great little tool,reliable and does the job it claims to do.

Review by laspis59 on Feb 12, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does a superb job of repairing and joining wmv files

Review by mgh on Feb 12, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i needed this tool to fix a wmv (~20mb) seeker problem. fixed my file in less than a minute.

Review by pringles89 on Feb 6, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Perfect for me so far, this tool did exactly what I wanted. Very simple command line interface that acts like an everyday GUI. Used it to cut out parts of a WMV and join them. Nice free tool.

Review by LDinOR on Jan 15, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com