Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for SimpleDivX

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


Totally poor to be polite, just crashes all the time and never encodes properly. Avoid!

Review by azmoth on Apr 26, 2010 Version: last version 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I downloaded this program to give it a try because hey, it simply sounds to good to be true.

unfortunately, that is true.

I used it once to convert a red dwarf dvd, it worked fine for one, but 'menconder' crashed on every other attempt.

i'm not giving up yet, i'm going to try and find something to address this issue, but yeah, thought i might as well give my two cents.

Once all the bugs have been worked out this program will be awesome.

:)


Review by deceased on Jul 10, 2008 Version: 1.40.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




This little tool worked just fine without the need for specialized codecs like GK and AutoGK want you to install. The only issue I had was the program reporting the length of the movie incorrectly. I could still set it manually though to get an accurate quality vs file size estimate.

Review by Poppa_Meth on May 7, 2006 Version: 1.40.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




have to take back my previous comment.
My advice, stay away from this buggy unstable programm
Btw, i tried 1.40.11, 140.19 and the latest.
pfffffffffff


Review by Bonnevue on Apr 15, 2006 Version: 1.40.11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Excellent app that I now use regularly. It is fast and produces good results BUT its not perfect. Some (not all) of the resulting Xvid AVIs do not play in MPC and you may have to frig around with settings to get others to play. Thankfully all play in XboxMediaCenter. Lots of tweaks possible (to audio and video, cropping, peak volume normalise and so on). A few of my VOBs also refused to convert but hey this is FREE and it works fine 90% of time. With the continuing development this is gonna be a regular on my PCs.

Review by Methanoid on Feb 9, 2006 Version: 1.40.11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




It's not a perfect tool but it's good value for a freebie and better than a lot of the non-free offerings around. I had problems with stand-alone (pioneer) dvd-recorder written discs - dunno why. With commercial dvds it worked great for me most of the time and the transcoding of two hour dvds was relatively fast at between 1 to 2 hours to complete a very good (IMO) conversion. It might pay to do a test on a bit of a movie first - abort a session after a few minutes and check the result. You might need to use VideoLan to see it - MediaPlayer might refuse to play the incomplete avi. I had a problem with a couple of short clips on a dvd - SimpleDivx wouldn't or couldn't transcode them to xvid although it managed to convert them to divx. This is my first choice tool and if it can't do something then and only then do I use AutoGK instead.

Review by pyst on Jan 4, 2006 Version: 1.40 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Great Tool!
Very simple interface, no mistakes, great results.
take almost 2 hours. (go shopping, go wash your car, whatever...)
i recommend.


Review by Electro_Fixx on Jan 3, 2006 Version: 1.70 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Only mp3 audio no 5.1 so no ga for me

Review by dvdevil on Sep 24, 2005 Version: 1.40 .11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




This is a great tool. Over the past few years i used Dr. Divx, AutoGK and now SimpleDivx. Beside the excelent quality of the final avi the thing i like the most about this tool is the easy way you can contol the resolution, the bitrate and size of your avi. These thing are so much more difficult to set in AutoGK en Dr. Divx. So far I did not experience any sync problems, it also took less time than other all in one encoders.
I use this app mainly for converting my tv-rips which i captured with the Hauppage 250 PVR in standard DVD quality. After capturing I use U-Lead moviefacory II to covert the MPEG II file to VOB incl. IFO which i save to my hd.
Works great for me. Give it a try.


Review by bonnevue on Sep 24, 2005 Version: 1.40 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Pretty simple to use once you get it setup. Does a good job with Xvid codec.

Review by jmikeh on Aug 29, 2005 Version: SimpleDivX 1.40 Preview 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Not that simple, to much of do it yourself kit over it.

Review by branch on Aug 28, 2005 Version: 1.40 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've had problems producing any workable output. I followed the guide in the Guide section and no luck. So far I've gotten out of sync, choppy video with slow speed audio or no output at all - a wasted few hours. I'm using the Divx 5.1.1 codex with mp3 audio. It takes about many hours for a movie. The menus are all laid out nice, and setup is straigh forward. This just needs a little tweaking and I'm sure it will be an outstanding program.

Review by Doksoul on Jun 7, 2004 Version: 1.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




This Is a great program. It takes me Ave. 4.5 hrs to convert a DVD to MPEG format and with size range 800MB-1G. I Tried previously to change to AVI files, this Involved 5 programs and 26hrs!!! and the resultant file did not fit a CD-R. The SimpleDivx Has 9 tabs with looks a lot, but most of the options are automatically selected or preset. MP3 audio extraction did not work for me but I used the AC3-2Ch and it worked fine. You can Specify the output file size, Leave a lttle bit of grace(aprox.75MB), the output files are generally bigger.you will need to rip the movie to the hard drive before you can you use the simpleDivx and all the Divx has to be pre-installed.

It Took 6hrs to convert a 1.5hrs long movie, great quality at 900kbps bitrate, 2PASS divX

Finally SimpleDivx is FREE, Who does not like a great Freebee.

Processor: Intel 2.6 HT
Ram: 512MB 3200pc400
MB: Intel 865 GBF
HD: Maxtor 60GB
Video: ATI AIW 7500


Review by smikail on Jun 5, 2004 Version: 1.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com