Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for QuickTime Alternative

12 reviews, Showing 1 to 12 reviews


Under Windows XP, QT 7.4 require SP2 and can't install if WinXP not have installed SP2.

QTA based on on QT 7.4 can install on Windows XP without SP2, but then probably not work correctly.


Review by Placio74 on Apr 9, 2008 Version: 2.5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Not really an alternative.
They force the browser plugins on me, which I do not like, though I deselected the plugins on install.

Had to do the same stunts as for the apple crap to get rid of it.


Review by mcr42 on Feb 23, 2006 Version: 1.68 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Warning: This version does not work with "MyDVD" by Sonic

Review by snakebite on Nov 15, 2005 Version: 1.65 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 1/10




It works well for what it does. I do have a problem with it though since it's been updated to quicktime 7 components. It totally hijacks Firefox. No matter what I set the QT plugin to play or what I set anything else on my system to play, media in Firefox always opens via QTA. I like to click an MP3 and have it open in WMP, but now no matter what I try it opens in another browser window using the QT plugin instead, even though QTA is set to NOT play MP3. If this could be fixed it would work fine. In the meantime I'm sticking with 1.47

Review by Poppa_Meth on Nov 3, 2005 Version: 1.63 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I'll agree with the post below that 1.61 wasn't too good, but the 1.63 version is nice indeed. It now includes a beneficial little popup when you're playing a quicktime file on a web page - you're prompted to play or save the file to your hard drive. The option to download is especially handy for h264 HD movieclips - I doubt most people have the bandwidth and CPU power to play a 1080p movie preview straight over the wire.

Review by soopafresh on Nov 3, 2005 Version: 1.63 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Oh my god!! For craps sake DON'T install the latest QT alternate!

What have they done!! It's as much bloater ware as the official Quicktime. Sheesh!!!

Yhis is no longer an 'alternate'.... just stick with the older 1.48 (I think), Version 1.61 is a 30Mb pile of bloaterware rubbish!


Review by Fluffbutt on Sep 10, 2005 Version: 161 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Forget Quicktime Player,just download these codecs along with Real Alternative and save your hard drive from bloatware.
The codecs work great,thankyou to the authors of these codecs.


Review by laspis59 on Dec 9, 2004 Version: 1.39 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have also given this tool a 10!!!!!
(re: my 'realplayer alternative' post earlier)

Having seen this tool and the 'RP alt' some time ago, never did consider trying them out until today and WOW, should have converted over a very long time ago!

BYE BYE! Apple QT, & a huge thanks to the developers of these neat litte utils, fantastic work.

Nothing found here regarding un-functionality after removing QT, All QT formats play fine, embedded content works the same, with all the orig QT options avail!

The media player classic included is also another total gem included in these packages, great little addon and very functional also, great stuff.

Thanks


Review by peterbuilt on Nov 9, 2004 Version: 1.39 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works fine for me. It even allows .mov files to play in Windows Media Player 9 and 10 which is a surprise to me. I only use it for watching movie trailers. Canopus Procoder 2.0 requires that quicktime be installed in order to run and the Quicktime Alt codec was a better alternative that satisfied its requirements.

Review by muppet meat on Sep 12, 2004 Version: 1.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




QT 130 seems to be not working with the latest Media Player Classic - here at least.

I get audio, but the video window is non functional - and it's not just not showing the video (with Mpc logo in the window), it shows whatever was over the window when I started the mov file (eg, the windows explorer window that had the mov file in it, double ckicked the mov, then mpc pops up with the video window full of the explorer window, and sound playing.)

Wierd.


Review by Fluffbutt on Mar 19, 2004 Version: QT 130 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is great, a brilliant alternative to the intrusive bloatware that is QT - why would you try it though if you were happy to have Apple's nonsense on your pc ? *rolleyes*

Anyone reading this should keep an eye out for the 'Real' alternative, thankgod for these progs ! :D


Review by no_good_boyo on Jan 22, 2004 Version: RC7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I DL-ed this and installed. Worked ok, but it royally messed up my regular Quicktime installation. Every time I used regular QT, I always got linked to a spam-vertizing website and then couldn't open a movie file in that window, I was forced to spawn a new QT window.

Then when I removed QT-Alt, my regular QT install was non-functioning. I had to re-install it before things got back to normal.


Review by CrustyCurmudgeon on Jan 18, 2004 Version: 2.0.2.2 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 5/10


12 reviews, Showing 1 to 12 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com