Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for PS3 Media Server

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


PS3 media server just has a series of problems, the main author Shagrath has left the project.
The other main developer SubJunk has also left the project. Seems like no new features are being added.

The interface is very difficult to use, DNLA support is very flimsy compared to other server as this use too many encoders. On Bravia the navigation is so painfully slow, the best this about it has Uninstall option.

If you want to use one capable and best DNLA server, use Serviio


Review by aziztt on Dec 18, 2012 Version: 1.72 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




The only Media Server you will ever need. And with lots of customizations.

Review by Khalua on Mar 19, 2012 Version: 1.51 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm not sure why it's called PS3 Media Server. I'm streaming a 1080p MKV to an XBOX 360 right now. Using only the default settings! This thing blows TVersity out of the water. I installed this and was streaming to the XBOX withing minutes. Super simple to use. I haven't posted on this site in years, but I had to comment on this superb server.

Review by CaseyComb on Aug 10, 2010 Version: 1.10.51 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




this is by far the best media server for the PS3 and DSM 520 media lounge. I have used Nero media home 4 and Tversity. now that i can actually install the PS3 Media server service it boots automatically. its awsome.

Review by bryant70b on Feb 16, 2010 Version: 1.20.397 Beta OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is awsome it does everything i expected and more. It will even stream media to my Dlink DSM-520 including thoes formats that it would not play before. thanks

Review by bryant70b on Dec 20, 2009 Version: 1.11.369 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The only reason I wouldn't give this 10/10 on all ratings is that it still uses a bunch of memory even if it's running in the background not transcoding anything (after it had transcoded a few movies though). However, the overall functionality is great and I haven't come across a file it couldn't play either through normal means, or through the transcoding option. I just wish my computer was fast enough to play 1080p movies (not encoded correctly for ps3) without having to pause every few minutes to fill up the buffer. Having tried tversity, I can say this program is clearly better and works with minimal configuration. If this software had a price on it, it would be worth every penny.

Review by bmo on Jan 19, 2009 Version: 1.03 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been waiting so long for something like this to come along. This software works incredibly well. It is lightweight and fully functional. Good night TVersity, we had a good run.

Every video that comes up as corrupt is easily played by choosing the transcode option right from the PS3. This is so refreshing after battling with TVersity for over a year trying to get it to understand when it needs to transcode and when it doesn't. When this happened with TVersity, I would have to set it to transcode all, and then restart the media server. Then when I was done watching the movie I would have to set it back and restart again to avoid transcoding videos that the PS3 can play natively. Subtitles are automatically loaded from .srt files (can be turned off if you want). This software also shows thumbnail previews for almost all videos, including flv movies, making it much easier to find what you are looking for if you have folders full of obscure file names that have nothing to do with the content of the video. Good Stuff!


Review by dopesheet on Jan 13, 2009 Version: 1.02.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent piece of software, userfriendly and works as expected.
All software should be programmed like this.


Review by ulapines on Jan 10, 2009 Version: 1.02.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Okay so I am still testing this myself to see if it is really good.

The first thing I have seen is how easy it was to set-up and share folders, my PS3 picked everything up first time. The second big thing for me is the difference between t-versity and this software’s; how it uses very little RAM – I find t-versirty is very greedy on RAM.

I had have streamed movies*(iso, divx), music and even photos to my PS3 all are picked up and all play. I will be intrigued to know how this software develops and will keep an eye on it.


Review by Mikesta on Jan 10, 2009 Version: 1.02.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




wow its the best PS3 Media Server ever i found better than TVersity

Review by The1One on Jan 7, 2009 Version: 1.02.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just a head's up on this new release (1.02.1) - it overwrites the PMS.conf file, and will kill all your settings - folde4rs, transcoding settings etc. A small oversight on the part of the programmer, but annoying if you have complex media storage needs.

Otherwise all my previous comments stand.


Review by guns1inger on Jan 6, 2009 Version: 1.02.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This has quickly replaced TVersity on my system for streaming to the PS3. It holds a solid connection to the PS3 over wireless, something TVersity could not do, and streams a wider range of files than TVersity does. It also happily streams 720p/5.1 AC3 .m2ts files over wireless without stuttering, and 1080p m2ts trailers as well. And it supports external subtitles. Not bad for a Java application (finally - a real world application for Java that works).

The interface is a little clumsy compared to TVersity, and looks more like a conversion app than a media centre, but as it works behind the scenes, looks aren't the most important thing. I would like to see better logging of the actual files served, but that is a minor gripe.

Yes, it only serves to the PS3, so if you live in a multi-console house it might not be the answer for you. However you can serve on a different port and have it co exist with another media server. So long as they aren't transcoding at the same time, all should be well.

In short - simple, and it works. What more could you ask for ?


Review by guns1inger on Dec 30, 2008 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




What an excellent media server. I was previously using Tversity however I will be switching over to this tool. Extract, run and I'm serving media to my PS3! It could not be simpler. It also plays VOB files, no IFO/menu's though but that's a minor detail.


Review by D_Knife on Dec 28, 2008 Version: 1.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com