Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for OBS Studio

19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by TheDon on Jun 25, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by TheDon on Jun 25, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Kentrigo on Jun 14, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by claudebeaule on May 5, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This has great potential but I have never got it to work completely. It wouldn't even start up in the days of Vista, no matter what I did. On Windows 7 64-bit it's usable but with several elements not working.

For example I can only play video clips that are encoded as 24-bit with the HuffyUV codec. Anything else is a black screen and this is despite me using numerous other pieces of video software for capture and editing successfully with various codecs. There are many cries for help online regarding this exact problem but apparently it's never resolved with updates. Window capture doesn't work on my system either. It simply shows the OBS Studio window all the time.

Other than that, it IS possible to mix and record a good video (various codecs do work for recording), incorporating stills, video, audio and web pages and also stream live successfully to YouTube or Facebook.





Review by RG on May 3, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




I have one simple task: to record from my Logitech c930e webcam. Experience has shown it's not so straightforward, and you can corroborate this by a bit of web searching.

I've tried a whole string of paid and free programs, and the results have been less than spectacular. A common problem is that the videos and sound are out of sync. This was also the case with the previous version of OBS.

I just happened to see that there's a new version (25.0.8). I had a bit of time, so I decided to give the portable version (Win7 Pro x64) a quick try.

To make a long story, it worked fine, and the sound and video were synced perfectly.

Your mileage may vary.


Review by jgg on Apr 28, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by jgg on Apr 28, 2020 Version: 25.0.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




so many times I tried to install this software. but it always showing the windows visual c++ installer file missing. I installed the mentioned file then also it is not completing the installation. it is just wastage of time.

Review by chandrakiran on Feb 3, 2020 Version: 24.0.33 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Absolutely awful could not get it to work to try (black screen) Cyberlink & Bandicam Screen recorders simplistic with excellent resolution settings compared to this & many other inferior screen recorders.

Review by alex 11 on Dec 24, 2019 Version: 24.0.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




When I did some testing with software that captured video or screen capture, OBS Studio was one of the first options, and I simply found it torture for something so simple. The interface of the program is very bad, and does not give you the coordinates in a simple way to make a good screenshot. A simple task of making a video capture, I could not do it at all, simply because I could not demarcate the screen for the capture. Well I believe the proposal of the program is good, so here is a tip, so that developers can simplify things, because the program he gains not only for effectiveness, but especially for simplicity, because it helps to make things faster.

Review by Diego Souza on Oct 21, 2019 Version: 24.0.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




Need Easy Option in OBS Studio to simply, play & Crossfade all saved M3U & M3U8 Video playlists?

Tried submitting this feedback on OBS /Github, but always fails to post, no reason given.
Great program with much potential indeed, like all the ongoing improvements. 
Even with latest version update, checked thru FAQs, forum etc, have also downloaded latest VLC Player.
I realize this player is mostly for Gamers etc, but why still cannot get OBS Studio to simply, operate as a normal video player, Like most Music video clips lovers, just want a way, to simply play  all my saved M3U & M3U8 Video playlists from my connected USB Drive on my Windows 10 64bit PC, with a constant crossfade transition effect, after play of each video?) or have video or Audio fade out transitions in between videos on  playlist?
Suprisingly OBS , still cannot open any of my standard saved M3U & M3U8 Video playlists from my connected USB Drive. Any way to do or add this standard
Option and make more easier and user friendly in OBS? (Rated Online 2.7 out of 5 stars)


Review by breezy100 on Sep 17, 2019 Version: 23.2.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by cab88 on Oct 14, 2018 Version: 22.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rock solid so far for live camera streaming to a server over the Internet.
I was previously had to use Adobe products that required me to keep a copy of Windows but OBS has let me remove it completely without any loss of streaming functionality.


Review by betwixt on Sep 5, 2018 Version: 22.0.2 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I don't know why but after the latest update from August, the recording process became unreliable as games and windows begin to crash, despite not having such an issue before.

Review by Sharif on Sep 5, 2018 Version: 22.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by BT2020 on Aug 12, 2018 Version: 21.1.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by raffriff42 on Aug 25, 2017 Version: 20.0.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One of the superior optimize streaming software, MUCH MORE better for hardware then - Xsplit and simply aswell Adobe Encoder and etc... Also the best of the best FREE out there and everywhere.

Amazingly easy to set up. Watched a 5 min tutorial and was up and running.


Review by e7d_ on Feb 28, 2015 Version: 0.64b OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Quiet day so wanted to test this just for the halibut. My rating means nothing since it should make it very clear that it won't work on XP. It just says "Windows" This program needs Vista sp2 and above with DX10.

Review by gll99 on Jun 21, 2014 Version: 0_625b OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




I know it's still in beta, but my experience wasn't particularly happy. I'm certainly not a "video ace", but I have a bit of experience.

I looked at the download choices and selected the portable version: I unzipped the 64-bit version in a folder and with a click, the program started just fine.

This, however, was the end of the fun. I found the interface anything but intuitive, but after LOTS of clicking around and looking at the online help >(for some reason the built-in help file was blank), I was sort of able to make a movie of myself with my webcam.

The result was lousy, though I have to confess I didn't try to modify any of the settings. One problem was that the resolution of my monitor (2560x1440) is much higher than that of my webcam, so the movie didn't fill the entire image window. Also, my graphics card (Matrox M9128) isn't particularly designed for video, so the film was choppy - although when I take movies with my digicams, the results are super. Finally, the sound - taken with the mike of my Logitech C910 webcam - was badly out of sync and started with me sounding like Frankenstein but ended with me sounding like Mickey Mouse. Weird.

Anyway, I just tried it because I had nothing to do, but it's not a program I'll look at again. Sorry. Maybe someone with more experience will have better results.


Review by jgg on May 26, 2014 Version: 0.624 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10


19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com