Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab DRM Removal and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for NotEnoughAV1Encodes

25 reviews, Showing 1 to 25 reviews


Rating by shawn on Feb 23, 2021 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was going to say that it didn't worked, but the Hotfix came out fast enough for me not to loose my mind.
It's an impressive piece of software which really sped up my encoding speed by nearly a factor of 5x compared to StaxRip.
The best improvement I saw so far was the implementation of scene based splitting (before 1.5 it was only equal chunking).
It does not have the polishing as HandBrake or StaxRip, which I don't mind as long it get it's job done.
I tried alternatives like av1an which did not work at all for me, as there were lots of dependencies which were either broken or required lot's of time to setup. NEAV1E on the other hand (nearly) worked out of the box.


Review by snusel on Dec 19, 2020 Version: 1.5 Hotfix OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by dana25 on Oct 2, 2020 Version: 1.3 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Was searching for such tool for months.
I tried encoding AV1 with ffmpeg, but the encoding time was disappointing. My cpu usage was below 15% with ffmpeg.
This piece of software, is like a holy grail for me.
I successfully encoded multiple videos with NotEnoughAV1Encodes in a fraction of the time while hitting my CPU at 100%.
I get roughly 250MB / 24min with AV1 (Animation), with x265 it is roughly 500MB / 24min.


There are also other tools like av1an/qencoder, but afaik it is not the best idea to target a vmaf value for each scene, if the encoder already does compress different scenes by different amounts to get a roughly constant quality across the movie. Additionally vmaf is not perfect, thus av1an/qencoder tend to completely overshoot / undershoot the bitrate, which results in a overall worse experience. - Yes, the filesize is alot smaller, BUT I can't stand blocking and video artefacts which is due to the target vmaf feature.

Overall NEAV1E gave me the best experience :)


Review by Qtaku on Oct 1, 2020 Version: v1.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




sophisticles's review is based on a false conjecture and is totally wrong.

"It's impossible, according to what Microsoft is saying, to have both this software and Staxrip installed on a Windows PC at the same time."

I can't believe anyone can write reviews of software programs that he/she's never used at all.

As a user of both, I posted a screenshot running both apps at the same time.

https://i.imgur.com/ekdb98m.jpg

As for the app itself, the only thing I find necessary to improve for now is the initial location of the window.
No matter where the window ends up at the time of closing, it always defaults to a specific position on the screen.

Anyway, thanks for the great input in developing this handy tool.


Review by JKyle on Sep 3, 2020 Version: 1.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks for the help with the new format.
If it weren't for that, I'd be forced to try ffmpeg + MParallel (https://github.com/lordmulder/MParallel).


Review by Bubb on Sep 1, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Bubb on Sep 1, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works. Dev also fixed an issue in a few minutes after I wrote to him.
sophisticles: Do you even use Windows? Because your comment regarding net framework does not make any sense. I am using different net applications with the latest framework. For me it seems like you have a personal issue with the dev, so it makes sense that mods deleted your reviews.


Review by Matz on Aug 21, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by FLP437 on Aug 20, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Since my other review was deleted by the mods, due to complaining by certain people, I decided to give a technical analysis that anyone should be able to understand.

According to this:

https://www.videohelp.com/software/NotEnoughAV1Encodes

This software requires .NET Framework 4.7.2 to work; according to Microsoft, there are 12 different variants of .NET Framework:

https://dotnet.microsoft.com/download/dotnet-framework/net472

According to Microsoft only 1 version of .NET 4 may be installed at any one time:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/framework/get-started/system-requirements

Staxip, a program also coded in C#, requires NET 4.6.1:

https://www.videohelp.com/software/StaxRip

So, since you can only have 1 version of .NET 4 installed on a Windows system at any given time and since both of these programs depend on a different version of .NET, then it's impossible, according to what Microsoft is saying, to have both this software and Starip installed on a Windows PC at the same time.

Media Coder on the other hand, a vastly more capable piece of software than either of these 2, does not have any such dependencies and will not prevent you from installing or using any other software.

The author of this software, and Staxrip as well, should seriously consider rewriting their software to eliminate such dependencies that result in a user losing functionality and freedom of their OS.


Review by sophisticles on Aug 20, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




sophisticles hates this program so much he voted twice. lul
https://i.imgur.com/p9j87Rp.png
https://i.imgur.com/LlR0NTd.png

The program is great. Works with Win 10 and Win 7. I'm not one to openly berate someone for making free software and encouraging AV1 adoption, specifically AOMENC. Great addition to the other GUIs already out there, along with the regular updates.


Review by KarMa on Aug 14, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works great tbh. So far I never touched av1 because of the poor performance of the encoder other people reported. I am testing this software since version 1.0 and can tell that it a) helps alot with all the confusing settings in the encoder b) does give an actual decent encoding speed boost, because of this parallel encoding thingy. (parallel encoding resuled in 4fps vs the low 0.6fps I got when running only with 1 worker) Even tho this software is not on par with other GUIs like StaxRip, I don't mind using this one at all, because it gives everything I personally need. I also contacted the creator of the application on discord a few times and have to say that he seems to be a great guy to talk to about av1.

Review by ditopai on Aug 13, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by DPG on Aug 12, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Great software, here is a main advantages:
1) Written on the .NET Framework, flexible, easy, high performance, backed by a large company language
2) Nice gui, where you can adjust a lot of settings, like in handbrake
3) Developer is actively working on program, also he knows AV1 good, after doing a lot of tests, which he posted in internet
4) Doesn't work on Linux, because linux users don't need gui, entering 20+ arguments in console is much more comfortable than selecting needed options by mouse.

One downside that it is not supporting Target VMAF, so this tool is suitable to Bitrate encoding mainly


Review by megapro17 on Aug 12, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Have used it for a few days now. No Bugs so far. If I understand it correctly than this GUI is chunking the video into parts and encoding it parallel. I tested the speed difference: With parallel Encoding it took nearly 3h to finish 24mins. Without parallel encoding it took more than 10h, because it seems that aomenc does not use alot of cpu. Cropping also works fine. Only the trimming preview was a bit slow, but not really important. I would have never been able to programm it myself, so I am quite happy that people are embracing AV1.

Review by ZhePfuenzle on Aug 11, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




as answer to sophisticles:
Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable x64 is required for the encoders like aomenc and Microsoft .NET Framework 4.7.2 is requiered because this program is in C#


Review by j-mas on Aug 11, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I consider this software worthless; I fail to see why something so simplistic requires both Microsoft .NET Framework 4.7.2 and Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable x64. Even though I use Linux as my primary OS and this can't possibly be ported to Linux, I also would never install it on my Windows laptop, it's really lazy programming to requires both of these just to run this class of software.

Review by sophisticles on Aug 10, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Overall good experience. The Program installed the dependencies itself. The UI is pretty intuitive. I was impressed how big the encoding time difference is when using multiple workers.

Review by Tom on Aug 10, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Ready for daily Use. For me best encode of AV1.

Review by j-mas on Aug 7, 2020 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Lastrosade on Aug 6, 2020 Version: 0.9 (Appveyor 1.0.91) OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Eli on Aug 6, 2020 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Too bad the fail to tell you where to put the encoders if you use the portable versions. It errors and tells you where to put ffmeg but no error and no instructions for the other encoder folder to use.

Review by dmagic1 on Aug 6, 2020 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




Rating by Alkl on Jul 21, 2020 Version: v0.9-beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Works great. For the people whose programs are crashing, did you download the dependencies? If not, the program will crash without warning.

Review by blud7 on May 29, 2020 Version: 0.8 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I select a file to encode and the application immediately crashes.

Review by Zero-11 on May 18, 2020 Version: 0.6 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


25 reviews, Showing 1 to 25 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com