Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for MediaPortal

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


Rating by sandraodj on Feb 9, 2020 Version: 1.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just love it.
It is very easy to install, it download the file I need and install if I dont have it.
That is alot of nice plugin and other that make it so easy to use it.

Well yes that have happend that is not so easy to understand but the forum they have is very good and people is very nice to help.

If you going to use it to recording TV, then I like to give you a tip For The Record that you can find here http://www.4therecord.eu/


Review by Cazz on Jun 10, 2009 Version: 1.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As a free tool you need to google around and use the forums to get the most from this tool but evetually you can get it all setup. Find it stable now and very flexible if you spend the time to set it up. Now the family have a great UI. I use Imon remote that came with silverstone case. lcd and remote work well with media portal app.

Review by nightsurf on Aug 25, 2006 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Previous review is unfair; this is a work in progress and it's free.

It looks a great deal better than BeyondTV, Showshifter, MCE, MyTheatre, iMedian, GBPVR, Meedio, and the others.

I've found that GBPVR has very bad stuttering when playing back live TV - this doesn't happen with MediaPortal or Showshifter.

Media Portal supports multiple DVB-T cards, plus analog MPEG2 capture cards + devices - BeyondTV still does not support DVB-T cards, and Meedio does not *officially* support more than one DVB-T card at a time. GBPVR supports multiple DVB-T cards and analog cards, but I think you have to specifically assign which channels you want to view against each DVB card which is painful.

However, GBPVR does allow you to have Media MVP devices around the house that can receive video from the central GBPVR - I don't think this is possible with Media Portal just yet.

Certainly, Media Portal has it's irritations; it still occasionally causes a BSOD when performing DVD playback for example.

But its potential (its source code is open, it's free, but it doesn't suffer the from hardware support strangling that occurs in Linux) makes it worth sticking with - and there are some really neat plugins such as being able to view lots and lots of movie trailers (assuming your Media PC has a connection to the internet), plus it's reasonably easy to get it to function with the myriad of remote controls out there.

The Lady of The House likes it, despite the fact it crashes occasionally (much less now it's reaching an official 0.2.0 release). She likes the cute little chap with the Popcorn when playing DVD's, and how he changes depending on what functionality is being used.

And believe me that's more important than the occasional instability if you want to have your Media Centre accepted underneath the TV.


Review by creaker on Mar 10, 2006 Version: 0.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The reviews I read tell of a different software than I installed. Lots of bugs, lots of errors. Not very smart programing at all.

The music selection is poor. I have a directory of ogg files, which the program scanned in, read the id3 tags, and added to it's database. Which is another problem with this program, the database just isn't there, it's more of a directory listing. When you attempt to play an ogg file, it passes it off as an mp3 file to Windows media player. WMP errors out and doesn't play the file.

Movie selection shows a default icon without a video preview.

It has potential, but Media Portal needs a database and catalog program. In it's current state, it is nothing more than using windows explorer with a background. Not an HTPC app in it's current state.

To be honest Google's Picasa or ACDSee is a better HTPC app than this program.


Review by disturbed1 on Feb 23, 2006 Version: 0.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 4/10




Runs rings around its commercial alternatives. Tried all the pvr's to date (both free and pay-for) and nothing comes close to mediaportal for functionality. Personally I love its xmltv integration - very intuitive design in being able to search your tv listings including by genre, episode.

Only other pvr i considered was showshifter, simply because it was the fastest at changing channels on my machine, but again it didnt have half the features.

Mediaportal all the way. Big Thanks go to Frodo and all responsible!


Review by boaby on Jan 12, 2006 Version: 1.3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Best HTPC i've ever seen. Using it for 8 month now and it is improving nearly every day.

Review by hwahrmann on Apr 21, 2005 Version: 0.1.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This happens to be the best piece of HTPC software on the planet!
Forget the rest this clearly is the best and it getting better every week - what piece of software do you know provides you with a weekly build with great new features and functionality superior to the competition???


Review by DMAN_LFC on Feb 22, 2005 Version: 0.1.0.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This software ran so slow on my 2 GHz/512MB box that I uninstalled it. The 3rd party support lags other products like Meedio (myHTPC). Maybe in a couple years this will mature into something.

Review by kitty on Aug 26, 2004 Version: 0.0.0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 3/10




I've been using Media Portal for about 3 or 4 days now and it has been the best noncommecial HTPC software I've found. Almost everything I've tried has worked on it and setup couldn't have been to much easier. They seem to be working on improving this all the time. It's already gone up a version in the last couple of days since I began using it. If you are looking for a great piece of software for your HTPC then go download this and give it a try. I don't think you'll be dissapointed.

Review by Static_ac on Aug 9, 2004 Version: 0.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com