Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for MPlayer

9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews


Finaly they fixed that bug so I can drop -nofontconfig option in the command line. Besides that an excelent program that produces and read edl files so I can cut the commercials out of my tv captures by making an edl file which I copy into mkvmerge. Keep on the gooed work and thank you for this marvelous piece of software.

Review by Bonnevue on Jan 9, 2016 Version: 37594 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I still recommend the PURE (command-line only) Mplayer above any of the available GUIs, if one prefers/needs performance to a (not always) easier-to-use interface. In the beginning, I relied on MPUI, but I had to leave it behind when it became as slow as the ever-bloated SMplayer. Just find some time and patience to study the HUGE documentation ^_^

P.S.: The Redxii builds (unfortunately) do not include the helpful docs folder, BUT you still can get it from Sherpya's builds at Sourceforge or elsewhere.


Review by El Heggunte on Jan 24, 2013 Version: r35738 by Redxii OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Another open source player that plays almost anything. Works fine but if you have Windows why bother. There are about 10 different compiled Windows version on the homepage. Each one may have tweaks or the functions you need removed. Also the version numbering system is quite confusing. Used it only because vlc would not play a specific type of audio. Only needed if you have a very unusual file. I would recommend using ffmpeg first if only due to the lower number of compiled versions.

Review by loster on Aug 15, 2012 Version: svn-34401 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I found this tool to be quite effective in my setup. I use MythTV to record programs and encode them to DVD complaint MPEG2's or XviD AVI's. I have been using it for more than a year consistantly without any problem.

The previous poster's message that it takes hours to compile does not happen on my computer. On my computer it takes only 5-7 minutes to compile.

I like this program.


Review by pappukanghi on Jun 18, 2006 Version: Latest SVN (everyday) OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A decent player IF you can compile it, and that's a huge IF! Too many oddball dependencies, and many of the optional features are not available even with the proper dependencies. Last time I compiled it successfully, was an older version under Fedora Core 2 and with the GUI. It took 9 hours straight. That is not a misprint, and not just the compile time either - half of it was debugging it's cryptic errors. This latest version doesn't seem to want to compile at all - I gave up after 3 hours on FC4 and settled on compiling the commandline-only version. By the way, the current version is not compatible at all under FC5, though I suppose it will eventually be supported - no commandline OR GUI version!

On top of it all, the GUI interface is minimal at best and (at least the older version) doesn't seem to support playlists, or at least making multiple selections.

It's one strong suit is that it works with many codecs - but, supposedly, so do other players.

Personally, I consider MPlayer a last resort to be used only if you can't get one of the other players to work and if you MUST have multimedia capability on Linux.


Review by CrayonEater on May 17, 2006 Version: v1.0pre7try2 OS: Linux Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




MPlayer will play just about anything you throw at it -- but it takes a little getting used to, especially if you've never worked with a command line before. Once installed and set up (which entails getting the font right for subtitles and getting various playback options set in a prefs file) I found I could control playback of files and DVDs very precisely. It'll do exactly what you want -- once you get into the groove of it.

Review by joemadeus on Dec 18, 2005 Version: 1.0pre7 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




I was able to save a .rm file that I could get with any other tool. See [url]http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1421324#1421324[/url].

Review by tluxon on Dec 7, 2005 Version: win32-050928 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Download windows gui from here
http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
file
http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer/gui/mplayer-gui-rtm-cvs-20051031.zip
Plays mp4 files like a dream (among other things)


Review by mgh on Nov 7, 2005 Version: mplayer-gui-rtm-cvs-20051031 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




the BEST, i use it exclusively for playing oggs, encoding mpg's etc...

Review by count inn on Aug 12, 2005 Version: dev-CVS-050514-10:43 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com