Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for MKV2AC3

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


Rating by EuricoB on Jul 16, 2020 Version: 1.03.04 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks to the developers for the tool. It does major its job perfectly. BTW, from the user point of view there is missing one critical feature for me. It's progress bar or time indicator. I'm using it hevily last days and missing of any information how long should I wait before the job finished making me crazy :) Anyway it is really nice tool.

Review by Mikhus on Dec 13, 2012 Version: 1.03.04 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




yes, I don't know how, but I've missed 64bit version link here - thanks for pointing that!

of course it works now @Win7 64 without a problem.

(only quirk is removing audio channel name - some players might have problem with that)


Review by ndade7 on May 1, 2012 Version: 1,03,03 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Quick, simple and effective way to downmix all my DTS to AC3.
Those who say this tool doesn't work in Win7 64-bit are mistaken, because it works perfectly for me - it definitely works in Win7 64-bit.
Unfortunately, it seems like the web site for this tool has completely disappeared. Regardless, it still works fantastic.
My only complaints are the usability of the interface (not being able to save output directory options and not being able to set default option for normalizing). Those are minor complaints. The tool is a freeware gem.


Review by cincyreds on Apr 27, 2012 Version: 1.03.03 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




ndade7: This program has worked perfectly for me for a long time BUT I have not tried it in Win7 or a 64 bit system..There is a 64 bit program download in here in case you missed it.I have emailed the author a few times in the past and he was very helpful and got back to me very quickly here is his email if you want to write him >> leite_transmontano@hotmail.com

Review by RappinRod on Mar 19, 2012 Version: 1.03.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool but big drawback - doesn't work in Win7 64bit
(no matter what compatibility setting)

After adding MKV - error "an attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format
Exception from HRESULT:0x8007000B)"

pity as it replaces a lot of demuxing/converting/muxing jobs


Review by ndade7 on Mar 18, 2012 Version: 1.03.03 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Awesome software to convert your audio DTS to AC3.

Review by maicololiveira on Sep 12, 2011 Version: 1.03.03 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Except for the fact that it required sufficient space to demux/ reencode and remux the video file I would say it is an absolute godsend.

I have a low power dual core Atom mini-itx pc which is on 24/7 and is used essentially downloading. It always had problems playing high definition MKVs above 2 mbps bit rate. Using this software I chanced upon 2 solutions simultaneously.

I always convert DTS audio to AC3 to reduce disk space. I used to go about in very lengthy way. Convert it to AC3 @ 384 kbps, then increase volume using Avidemux and then convert the whole shibang using Handbrake 0.9.5 to reduce the video size making the final file smaller and more compatible to more standalone media players.

Just to try I changed the setting for audio to 640 kbps in stead of 384 kbps. Lo and behold two inherent problems got solved in a single shot. The volume levels were at par with the DTS levels (otherwise a big problem for AC3 users) and VLC on my Atom pc could now play even 5 mbps files without any glitch! Of course the file was a bit larger by a few hundred MB but the sound was definitely better.

I recommend this to absolutely every one who needs to convert their audio.


Review by pmshah on Aug 25, 2011 Version: 1.03.03 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool. Many thanks to the builders. My PS3 recently fried and since I don't have time for games anymore I picked up a WDTV Media Player. This solves all of Western Digital's AAC and DTS issues. I know how to convert everything manually, but this makes life a lot easier. Keep up the good work.

Review by cldocx on Aug 13, 2011 Version: 1.03.03 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




At times I really wonder at the ignorance of some of the people here.

I have been using version 1.02.02 and it DOES have the option of encoding the subtitles except not by default. You DO have to click on the + (plus sign) and check mark the option. Ir works flawlessly. I am pretty sure version 1.03.03 will be a further improvement.

In fact it is a fantastic solution for me. I will just give you an example of my needs and what it does.

First of all I am hearing impaired ( perforated drums in both my ears). So I need louder and normalized audio track. I can't tell the difference in sound quality between DTS and AC#. AC3 saves me a lot of disk space and my media player plays these files flawlessly.

Suprisingly it is not limited to DTS audio only. It can also be used on mkv files with AC3 tracks. Many of my mp4/mkv files use H264 AVC (mp4 part 10)codec which are not recognized by Avidemux - my preferred ripping tool. In this case what I do is first use MKV2DTS to either convert DTS with normalize and loud option or simply use normalize and loud option to get a new mkv file with original subtitles intact and in perfect synch. I repeat the latter process if the results are not at the level I want.

Once this is done I use Handbrake to make whatever changes I want in the video selecting AC3 passthru option as also the subtitle option.

The output I get is absolutely the exact thing I want. It does involve extra steps but then I am retired and have 2 PCs running simultaneously. While the ripping process is going on I work on something else !


Review by pmshah on Feb 17, 2011 Version: 1.o2.o2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is very helpful but unfortunately just like when the dishwasher was first invented and you had to practically wash the dish before you could put it in with this you have to mux everything back in (other than the actual converted audio track and the original video track) after it finishes which on some of the larger files can take a long time and unfortunately it just happens to be that the kind of file most likely to be a candidate for this kind of conversion is probably gonna be upwards of several gig. What's the point of the program automatically remuxing the audio it converts back into an mkv to save time if you're just gonna have to turn around and remux it anyway. If anything all's that does is add to the time. I can't imagine that it would've been to hard to add the feature of it remuxing not just the original video and converted audio into an mkv but also anything else that was in the original mkv such as subtitles, fonts and chapters. Another a lot less important feature that could possibly be added in the future would be either the option to add the file title yourself or have the program carry over the File Title from the original mkv if one is present. If this program ever adds the feature of carry over all the original tracks, attachments and chapters from the original mkv it will make it a truly epic program not to mention a must have for many videophiles that are either looking to save room on their hard drive or just wanting to make their videos have a compatible audio format for their home media player like the WD TV HD Media Player which doesn't downmix DTS and won't play DTS audio unless you output the audio to a proper amplifier that can decode it.

Review by DudeeBalls on Sep 17, 2010 Version: 1.02.02 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Works perfectly, I recently converted large library of files with DTS (about 0,8 TB), and had no problems.
What I like i the new version is that it allows you to keep subtitles, without necessity of keeping DTS stream as well.
What is good for me is that you simple click, convert, and after reasonable amount of time I can receive file which works for me (my lacking DTS .mkv player). As a lot of my friends had the same problem (we all have the same type of .mkv standalone player) this is great solution for us.


Review by warhol_pl on Mar 16, 2010 Version: 1.02.02 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Please, please, don't say that you get and error saying :

Error: An attempt was made to load a program with a incorrect format.....

don't say me that you downloaded 32bits version for your 64 bits system

foolish mistake


Review by Delta2 on Mar 15, 2010 Version: 1.02.02 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have yet to get this program to recognize any MKV file. Keep getting an invalid file error. So I have to go back to Popcorn MKV AudioConverter which works like a charm.

Review by mail2tom on Mar 15, 2010 Version: 1.02.2 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Who said that you can't keep original subtitles ? did you select the option "keep original streams" ?? I bet not. Anyway they are not selectable it just copies them all to the new resulting mkv, that should be done in the next version

Review by Delta2 on Mar 12, 2010 Version: 1.02.01 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is useless if mkv contains subtitle(s) as it does not remux them in a new, recoded one.

This is a huge bug completely eliminating it's click-and-forget principle.

So anyone with a subtitle need keep the old way: mkvextract-eac3to-mkvmerge


Review by krbo on Mar 12, 2010 Version: 1.21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com