Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Lagarith Lossless Video Codec

9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews


I am so glad that shehk included this codec in VirtualDub2, as the others I have tried produced video files that could not be read (green screen) in MovieMaker and Freemake Video Converter.

Lagarith is fast, too.

Thanks so much to the author!


Review by clemenzina on Dec 5, 2018 Version: None stated OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Other than speed of encoding, are there any VISUAL differences between lossless codecs? Most notably this, huffy and h264 lossless...

Review by mojo on May 28, 2011 Version: 1.3.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thanks to author for updates.

Review by Bonie81 on Feb 16, 2011 Version: 1.3.22 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




OOPs, tripped on some bugs.
YUY2 encoding of existing 720x480 clips gives green output.
YV12 encoding crashes.
Captures and RGB encoding work fine.

The author is working on the problem.
Version 1.3.12 is working and stable.


Review by grannyGeek on Jun 29, 2007 Version: 1.3.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Some nice optimizations since 1.3.9.
I can now use Lagarith to CAPTURE with no frame drop/inserts (3.2 ghz dual processors)

I think Lagarith YUY2 and RGB possibly require dual processors, I got 90-105% cpu usage.
But YV12 used cpu 65-85%, so might be usable for single-core with a fast cpu.

Kudos to the author! Happy to be able to capture YV12 with a reliable codec.


Review by grannyGeek on Jun 25, 2007 Version: 1.3.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This lossless codec is fast, compresses VERY well, and is stable. Huffy is probably a bit faster, but Lagarith compresses much better. You want this.

Review by soopafresh on Jul 31, 2005 Version: 1.36 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This version now works perfect with Vegas 6.0, no more 99% cpu usage.
Very good codec... the BEST for compression with alpha channel. It compress a lot!
A Must-Have for FX editors.


Review by Dermetzel on Jun 12, 2005 Version: 1.3.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Vegas 6 uses 99% of CPU when I import a video with alpha channel using this codec.
But, it compress a lot!!


Review by Dermetzel on May 8, 2005 Version: 1.3.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Very nice codec! I used it with VirtualDub after tansfering my DV video. Great for editing DV in one program and exporting it, so you can use a differnt DVD encoder without loosing quality. Definitly a keeper.

Review by J. Baker on Mar 30, 2005 Version: 1.3.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com