Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! Download free trial

Software Home »



All reviews for HuffYUV

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


Run these commands to install BOTH 32bit and 64bit on the same Windows 64bit machine:

32bit huffyuv:
rundll32 C:\Windows\SysWOW64\setupapi.dll,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 0 C:\huffyuv-2.1.1\huffyuv.inf

64bit huffyuv:
rundll32 C:\Windows\System32\setupapi.dll,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 0 C:\huffyuv64\huffyuv.inf

Ensure paths point to correct huffyuv version. Now both VirtualDub (32bit) and Premiere CS6 (64bit) works for me.

Hope that helps someone.


Review by Bassquake on May 28, 2016 Version: 2.1.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Just an update on my previous post. I've experienced the same thing with Lagarith. So maybe it's a Sony Vegas issue? More tests needed...

Review by rgs_uk on Apr 23, 2011 Version: 2.1.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm a huge fan of HuffyUV and have been using it for years for capturing and editing. I did some tests in Sony Vegas, encoding the test image provided here:

http://www.adamwilt.com/pix-gens.html#DVtest1

I encoded a five second clip. Loaded the resulting file into Vegas and added a caption 'copy01' - so Vegas was forced to re-encode rather than it doing a 'no recompression' save. I then encoded that, loaded it back in, changed the caption to 'copy02' so I could keep track and so on...

Using the convert to YUY option I found there was slight quality loss on each additional encode with the chroma moving to the left slightly (one pixel?).

In the other modes - predict left, predict median and so on - there was no loss whatsoever. I went up to eight re-encodes using predict left/predict left and stopped, because it was obvious there was no loss. I don't know how anyone could see increased grain or a change of colour in this mode.

Convert to YUY gives a file that is about half the size but it seems you take a small quality hit right from the first capture/encode, compared to the other compression options.

I'm not sure why other people reckon that Convert to YUY is 'lossless'. Maybe they are just cutting the video and resaving which, as I already mentioned, results in a no recompression frame-for-frame save in some software? As soon as you add filters or effects you are reencoding.


Review by rgs_uk on Feb 18, 2011 Version: 2.1.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The issue of HuffYUV's losslessness has be settled:
http://forum.videohelp.com/topic361833.html#1929839
It's lossless unless you use the RGB->YUY2 option.


Review by jagabo on Mar 26, 2009 Version: 2.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The author says the output is bit for bit identical to the input (unless you use the lossy compression), so who are you going to believe him - or someone here?

Its the best non lossy solution i have seen so far.


Review by branch on Mar 23, 2009 Version: 2.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Using huff for 4 years now, no problems at all. Caution: there's no such thing as a truly "lossless" AVI compressor other than plain uncompressed AVI. However, if you do any cleanup of the huff-compressed original and/or take multiple steps to compress/recompress the video, the grain and noise levels increase noticeably -- apparently no detail gets lost, but salt-and-pepper "simmer" on subsquent compressions is easy to see, especially in darker areas of the image. Not perfect, but it still seems to be the AVI compressor of choice. Only thing better is uncompressed AVI.

Review by sanlyn on Jul 25, 2007 Version: 2.1.1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Disappointing.

This version offers the promise of vastly improved disk utilization (3 times smaller file sizes). However, every file I've created ends up crashing Adobe Premiere (6.0, 6.5), VirtualDub, TMPGEnc, and other processing programs when I load the file.

One can encode, but not use the file. This makes the encoder (beta) worthless.

This has happened on multiple machines as well.

Stick with 2.1.1. :-(


Review by thermie on May 22, 2005 Version: 2.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I'm using it with iuVCR for captures, using the fastest compression settings (with a BT878 chip, which should be YUY2), field threshold of 288 lines (PAL) and no other boxes ticked. I'm getting 704x675 captures perfectly, and in sync.

You need a fast processor - despite being very quick and mainly for throughput, it will still eat processor cycles - it should be under 50% usage to capture without frame drop (I'm using an XP2500). I advise you use a fast drive with a clean partition for best performance, otherwise you can get some frame drop. Optimizing Windows also helps - kill background tasks that might access the drives.

I have found it's not a good editing codec. I've found it won't always stitch together, and I've also had no luck recompressing. Maybe some of the other lossless codecs out there may be better for editing/reprocessing, but they are all slower, so not good for capturing.


Review by FokeyJoe on Nov 7, 2004 Version: 2.2.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Some of you seem to have problems which I con not confirm. Either with VirtualDubMod or with Virtual VCR it works perfectly well. The quality of the files is amazing. I use it to record tv-programs and sometimes wonder why everting seems to be so easy.

Review by Taurus50 on May 9, 2004 Version: 2.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This codec is the best for speed and quality.It is completely lossless,unlike PIC Video MJEG(Which I would recommend using if you dont have much space on your hard drive and have a slow PC with little RAM)
Oh by the way I am talking about Huffyuv version 2.1.1 .The newer version is no good as far as I'm concerned,when I tried to open the outputted AVI,Windows Explorer would crash.I tried 'Always suggest RGB as the output format'option but it made no difference.
STICK TO HUFFYUV 2.1.1


Review by laspis59 on Apr 26, 2004 Version: 2.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I downloaded the latest codec the other day, without noticing all the problems listed here. I was converting some divx .avi's to huffyuv for editing and for later conversion to MPEG2. Anyway, Virtualdub had no problem encoding the files, but when I would go into Windows Explorer, and JUST HIGHLIGHT the file, Explorer would immediately crash.

I was just trying to check the file out to make sure everything was in sync. It will not play in Windows Media player (v9) and would still crash Explorer. It took me a while to figure out that it was the codec. I installed an earlier version and now I don't have any problems. It is always possible that "always suggest RGB format for ouptut" would work as suggested by dreze, but I'm going to stick with the previous setting.


Review by ccraman on Apr 6, 2004 Version: 2.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




Hi,
I had, I think, the same problem as the one reported by migf1.
I solved it by forcing "always suggest RGB format for ouptut", as described in
http://www.neuron2.net/www.math.berkeley.edu/benrg/huffyuv.html

Now, I can use video captured with VirtualVCR without problems in Adobe premiere pro.

Hope this can help.


Review by dreze on Mar 10, 2004 Version: 2.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Before I went to hardware mpeg2 captures I used HuffyUV with VirtualDub to capture AVI's. It cut my AVI's sizes in half with no loss in quality. Saved me alot of harddisk space.

Review by gkar on Dec 22, 2003 Version: 2.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com