Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Dr. DivX

40 reviews, Showing 1 to 40 reviews


Dr. DivX refused to run on my system because I didn't have the latest DivX codec. I checked and I have version 7 which I just downloaded and installed. I think Dr. DivX is bugged to not work with DivX 7 and assumed I didn't have the latest version. Rated down for this

Review by impmon2 on Nov 5, 2009 Version: 2.0.1-b7 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




DivX is dead. It simply can not compete with h264.

Review by direstrates on Jun 29, 2009 Version: 2.0.1 Beta 7 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 2/10




Good in theory, but it crashes way too much and fails on a lot of different formats (is this using mplayer? Seem to have some of its conversion problems)

Review by branch on Jun 29, 2009 Version: 2.0.1.b7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




Probably best to pass on Dr. DivX. After an interminable period in beta, Dr. DivX appears to no longer be in development. Neither is there any active support community.

DivX is moving towards an AVC H.264 MPEG-4 profile in a Matroska container which is not supported by Dr. DivX. That AVC H.264 DivX encoder is now at alpha release.

The choice between an MPEG-4 ASP codec ten years old with a beta encoder, or an alpha encoder for a beta codec shouldn't prove difficult.


Review by overflonium on Dec 4, 2008 Version: 2.2.0.1 beta 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I tried to convert a flash (.FLV) video using this tool. The video was using nellymoser audio and I have had difficulty converting it or extracting it in the past with other tools (flvExtract) but at least flvExtract told me it did not support nellymoser.

With Dr. Divx the audio conversion apparently crashed without any warning message and I had to click on continue to allow encoding to resume. I ended up with a video without any audio. It would be nice if the tool supported nellymoser audio.


Review by nojoke67 on Oct 4, 2007 Version: 2.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




works great on .flv to divx, flawless conversion

however, a large size VOB such as a 73MB turns into an almost empty data file of size 66KB or so each time.. yes, I mean 66Kilo-bytes. why is this? what can be done to make it legit with the video?


Review by texas1 on Jul 25, 2007 Version: 2.0.1 b4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Dr.Divx 1.06 is much better. Don't use 2.0. Dr.divx106 is working with virtualdub filters.

Review by colossian on Jul 6, 2007 Version: 2.0.1 Beta 4 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Now it can process avisynth files. IMO the best tool for converting youtube flvs to divx if you use the noise filter at extreme setting.

Review by mgh on Feb 11, 2007 Version: 2.01 b3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I like the idea of the program. Unfortunately, even after uninstalling previous versions, I have only been able to get it working exactly once. It crashes several minutes into every encode. If not for this, I would have rated it much higher. Perhaps as high as a 9 with a little interface tweaking. If this can be resolved, I will reconsider my current rating altogether.

The interface is a little clumsy, though not unacceptable. I would like to be able to customize some of the settings when I need Dr Divx to create a file of a certain size. I wanted it to convert an mpeg video into an AVI that would fit onto a CD, but it wouldn't let me adjust the settings to handle motion very well. So every time the video camera panned, there was a stutter I found pretty distracting. A little work here would be a great improvement as well.

Program has potential. Will try to keep an eye out for improvements on these issues. If you want it for transcoding FLV video, but have the same problem with crashing, you might try WinFF in the meantime.


Review by isaacj on Dec 8, 2006 Version: 2.0.1 b2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Works great, love the "Watch" folder

Review by videomaniac on Aug 15, 2006 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




yes, it does support/convert flv, just because it doesnt work with you doesnt mean it doesnt support it

Review by ricardouk on Aug 15, 2006 Version: 2.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




!WARNING! THIS PROGRAM DOES NOT SUPPORT *.FLV FORMAT!

Review by Stealthbat on Aug 15, 2006 Version: 2.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Works much better than previous versions. Combined with codec 6.2 and it gets the job done quickly and with good quality.

Review by bits on Aug 1, 2006 Version: RC2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




T the previous poster about rc1 crashing

You must uninstall the previous build (beta 10 or earlier) of Dr. DivX. Do a "Dr.DivX Reset" after installing. If you have old job files, you need to lose them. The new build will crash if you try to use the old job files with it.


Review by ricardouk on Jun 7, 2006 Version: RC1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I used b10 and it converted vob to divx mp3 with audio always 160 no matter what I selected for bitrate. I could not keep the ac3 even when I selected it. I removed b10 and installed rc1 but it crashed on open consistently. I never got to try it. I uninstallled and reinstalled b10 and now when I select ac3 it keeps it. Go figure??? I had not tried batch encoding before but after the reinstalls and the final install of b10 I tried 4 vob to divx tasks with ac3 audio. As soon as it finishes the first file in the batch job it crashed although the processed file is ok. When I restart the program the jobs are still in the queue so then I start the next file and it too on completion crashes the prog although the output is fine. I will see if I have accidently activated some post processing plugin option which doesn't work or it can't find.

I like where this is heading and would love it if we could have simple menus. I have a lot of video related software on my system so I realise the crashes in RC1 are likely due to some conflict on my system but I am posting this in case someone else has the same problem with version RC1 and it turns out to be a program flaw.

Great tool keep it up guys!!


Review by gll99 on Jun 7, 2006 Version: b10 and RC1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Just to clear up what the previous commentator said about jail, pirate, not legal, no source code and good software... Well he nearly made a complete fool of himself but saved the day with the "Good software" comment.

This software is open source:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/drdivx

It source code is available:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/drdivx

As is the drffmpeg.dll:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/drdivx

A lot of hard work goes into software of this complexity....

GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT BEFORE YOU POST SLANDER


Review by ChrissyBoy on Mar 29, 2006 Version: 2b8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Claims to be open source, but it is not. Dr. Divx is a dirived product of drffmpeg.dll. But drffmpeg.dll is not open source. In fact it is not even legal to use, since no source code is made available it can not be used under the GPL license. Hense Dr. Divx is pirated software.

Good software, but not worth going to jail over...


Review by docbill on Dec 27, 2005 Version: 2.0 beta 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Quite a leap forward. No memory leaks and crashes at random points.
However, to my use, doesn't make any improvements over AutoGK or Avi.Net


Review by mats.hogberg on Dec 12, 2005 Version: 2.0.0 Beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The reported problems with 2.0.0 Beta IS with the necessary separate DLL's installed according to FAQ. The app starts fine, and starts working, but pretty soon dies.

Review by mats.hogberg on Dec 5, 2005 Version: 2.0.0 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




To the previous posters: You've got to read the FAQ before using Dr. DivX --- there are two other files you have to download separately to get the program to work. After you do this, it works fine. Go to the DivX.com forums and read further if you do not understand this!

Review by Timoleon on Dec 3, 2005 Version: 2.0 Beta 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I agree. this is sh...
it doesn't work at all.
much better things to encode...


Review by demoile on Dec 3, 2005 Version: dr divx OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




I must agree with previous post, not worth bothering with.
wait for a version that actually works


Review by peterbuilt on Dec 3, 2005 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




100% non functional.
Tried 4 different VOB's (riped DVD as single vob with DVDDecrypter) with AC3 audio.
4 times out of four, the app crashes after a few minutes, having eaten up all system resources, leaving the computer almost catatonic.
Not many settings available yet.
Conclusion: Leave this alone. Hopefully later versions will at least work to [b]some[/b] degree.
After all hype, a real dissapointment.


Review by mats.hogberg on Dec 3, 2005 Version: 2.0 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just a quick note to clarify here

Dr. DivX has never nor will ever install Adware. The DivX codec (older versions) used to have a free version that came with adware. That is also no longer the case. the latest 5.2 version is free, no adware.

Please send me feedback on Dr. DivX, what you love, hate, use, don't use etc.

send feedback over the Dr. DivX forum at DivX.com

thanks

thekid...


Review by thedivxkid on Jul 15, 2004 Version: 1.0.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been using this product since it was in Beta, and it works well for me.

I have encoded movies ripped from one of my DVD's - it handled the vob file directly, and gave me a very, very good movie to watch.

I use it to shrink TV shows captured but not yet watched. Capture is with ATI MMC, to mpeg2 format. Dr DivX lets me batch several files and then encodes them overnight. You can control the parameters and destination directory for each file seperately.

All in all, a very useful tool, well worth the month.

Having said that - I strongly suggest downloading the demo version, to ensure that it does work on your system. It works fine on three of my PCs, but YMMV!


Review by rfielder on Jul 15, 2004 Version: Latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This programs constantly crashes and can yet to reencode any piece of video I have thrown at it. They say on the website that if Windows Media Player can play it they can reencode it. NOT TRUE. Please dont waste your money on this CRAP.

Review by gatortail80 on Jul 15, 2004 Version: 1.0.4 Build 63 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I only have two problems with Dr. DivX. 1: It doesn't support MP3 audio inputting without having to re-encode it with whatever encoder it uses or uses lame_enc.dll, and 2: the VDM filters I try and use with it it crashes.

Review by JoNty on May 7, 2004 Version: 1.0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




dr divx freezes when attempting to open my video files.
on their known issues page it describes my problem but says if you exit the program and restart it will be OK. it isn't.


Review by jakeWA on May 6, 2004 Version: 1.0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




If you want to convert to DIVX this is the tool to use.
It has converted everything I have ever thrown at it.
The best thing about it is the settings it picks are almost always good.
It has a batch mode so you can queue up files to convert over night.
The capture mode works but the quality is not as good as if you capture to Mpeg-2 and then convert to DIVX later (using ATI AIW 8500 P4 1.8Ghz).
Version 1.04 is a lot faster than version 1.03.


Review by wdosch2001 on Apr 20, 2004 Version: 1.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




I like this program for conversion to divx. It crops great it converts everything I throw at it! It is my Xvid problem solver! I have had no problems with conversions, my only hope is that they incorporate a feature to encode a movie back to back. This way I could set several movies up at 1 time, go to work and come home to divx movies! 1.0.4 version is Great program!

Review by thundercrush on Apr 19, 2004 Version: 1.0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Very easy to use, working fine and stable for me ( 1.04 ), good quality, even works from live source as tv tuner.
If it doesn't work for somebody, the problem could be an unstable operating system.


Review by antist@r on Jan 15, 2004 Version: 1.0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




This piece of software is really horrible!
It does not work
DO NOT BUY IT!
It constantly crashes, and even if you do encode some video there are problems with sync and video quality.
This is more like a Late stage ALPHA
not a RETAIL piece of software.
If you have already paid for this software (like I did)
try and get a refund because you just got shafted by the folks at DivX!

Read the Forum at http://forums.divx.com/viewforum.php?forum=24
that explains all the mess !!

Or Read the "known Issues" at http://www.divx.com/divx/drdivx/knownissues.php
and you will know what's wrong !

:-( )-:

Use VurtualDubMod instead !
It works - and it's free


Review by Dirk2003 on Jan 8, 2004 Version: 1.0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




this tools outstanding i have been using divx codec 5.05.....
now im using a beta codec latest beta divx 2....
it is the best way to make a divx avi movie on ur pc....

download the beta codec i works with no problem's

anyone that cant use this progame will never make an avi on any progame known to man .. its easy ... if ur a pro its got all you need too


Review by magroune on Sep 17, 2003 Version: latest 9/17/03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simply stating, encoding an take for ever, there is no telling.
Great change you will get no audio.
Inconsistent.
Does NOT work with Divx's newest version, Divc 5.1.

It is nowhere ready to be released, Wait until at least 1.03, when Dr Divx "claims" that they really will make bug fixes.

How do oyu rate a product that does not work


Review by jolo on Sep 14, 2003 Version: 1.02p OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




rev. 1.0.2 has problems with the auto-crop.
You have to control it manually in the advanced-settings.


Review by weissgold on Aug 6, 2003 Version: 1.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




I been messing about with Dr Divx for the past week now and I have to say once you discover its limitations and bugs it really is a good encoder.
Dr Divx has a problem reading info vobs, as long as you don’t try to encode them it shouldn’t crash.. eg, vts_01_0. vob. Just follow the string after eg vts_01_1.vob, vts_01_2.vob…etc.
As for the logo, I think its quite cool and only last a couple of seconds at the start of the file.
Price? I’m still using the trial version which has done a very good job so far, but I did see the retail version posted on the net!!!!!!! Ummm
A fast encoder with excellent quality. Would be nice if it supported other codec’s but cannot see that happening.


Review by charlie_nutmeg on Jul 28, 2003 Version: 1.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 7/10




This piece of software is horrible! It does not work DO NOT BUY IT! It constantly crashes, and even if you do encode some video there are problems with sync and video quality. This is more like a Late stage ALPHA not a RETAIL piece of software. I would rate this a ZERO if the rating went that low! If you have already paid for this software try and get a refund because you just got shafted by the folks at DivX!

Review by SidSoft on Jul 27, 2003 Version: 1.0.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This software is huge - wizard based, yet with all advanced settings, filters, plug-ins, live recording...
Just choose what you need, e.g. for pocketpc, 10MB size.
Using max quality it compressed my MPEG2 movies over 10 times smaller! and with no noticeable degradation.
I found no spyware installed and I am using both adaware and spybot.
Now the interesting part - the previous posts mentioned a DivX logo and a messed up beginning, but this is not true! It does look like it at first, but if you click stop and then play again then it plays perfectly and with no logo!So the video files themselves were compressed perfectly, and that's what Dr DivX does.
It seems that the DivX decoder adds that small logo on the first play + when playing some intense max size max quality videos it tends to interfere with the beginning of the play (for the first DivX play) - I am guessing that it's PC-performance based. In any case, it's a really small issue and I'm sure they'll fix it soon. Maybe I'll check for a DivX upgrade (still using whatever came with DrDivX 1.0.1).


Review by burgul on Jul 20, 2003 Version: 1.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have to say (although I am noobie) I found this tool excellent for beginners use - it is all built in and works a treat. I have noticed a glitch in both divx I have created that the first 5 seconds are repeated 2-3 times, having said that the quality is ace after that.

As for the mention of adware - I paniced when I read the first comment and ran my happy spyware killer which found nothing - on further reading DivxPro free version using Gator to cover costs so I think that is what the author is refering to ?

not a bad produce for a 1 application does all tool.


Review by b166er on Jul 5, 2003 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Good points:
1. The program is very easy to use and can encode many file types.
2. Gives enough settng/options to customize your conversion.
3. All-in-one converter, seems like the easest way to do it. No secondary software needed.

Bad points:
1. Installs GAIN adware. My Norton Internet security can block it. If you disable the GAIN_trickle program it won't let you encode.
2. Shows a DivX logo in the bottom right for the first few seconds then disappears.
3. Not Free, $49.
4. Quality is questionable.

The DivX logo thing and the retarded GAIN adware this program installs is a huge negative for me. But it sure is easy to use.


Review by machineman on Jul 3, 2003 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10


40 reviews, Showing 1 to 40 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com