Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for BOX4

36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by hoserred on Aug 2, 2020 Version: BOX4.3000 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great and fast, quickly decodes my 5.1 to aac stereo files so I can play them on my TV.

Review by Toni on May 20, 2020 Version: BOX4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Another troll review below who says that program cannot do simple muxing, but only can do remuxing! Another with learning difficulties and low IQ. This Program is great.Period!

Review by Phil on May 17, 2020 Version: 3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm surprised that such a software doesn't even support simple muxing tasks. It does remuxing only.

Review by ilko on May 16, 2020 Version: 3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Frank on May 14, 2020 Version: 3.0.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Frank on May 14, 2020 Version: 3.0.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Pinto007 on May 3, 2020 Version: 3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Box4 is, by far, one of the best applications I've seen/used for batch de-muxing MP4 files, previously only applicable to MKVs. The dark interface is beautiful and the layout is functional and informative without using a lot of screen real estate. Drag and drop is particularly nice. I've never had any technical problems with the program at all. Kudos to the developer for this quality and beautiful program.

I have only a couple minor suggestions:

1. Allow resizing of the program window. I use a 4K monitor and the application only measures 3" x 4" on my screen without the ability to make it larger.

2. When dropping a folder into the window, files are detected only 1 level deep. It would be nice to have the program search through multiple levels of sub-directories to find applicable files.

Again, thank you to the dev for the great product. I hope you find the spare time to keep updates coming. You are very much appreciated!

Pete


Review by Peter Nunnallee on Feb 22, 2020 Version: 3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I don't understand why people give free software such low scores(especially value for money) when the software developer is devoting their free time to develop the software and are kind enough to share their hard work. I also don't understand why someone would complain that the software needs updating when they say they are using an old beta version.
I myself have not encountered any of issues the user below is complaining about and the software has saved me much time and effort on a regular basis.


Review by KiwiKid on Jan 25, 2020 Version: V3 Final OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Yeah - the responsible thing to do, despite it being a 'spare time' thing for the developer would be to update the website that allows you to download the installer with the meaningless and potentially Windows 10-64bit damaging words "Yamb-2.1.0.0 beta 2 with installer (recommended for most users)" would be to edit the words to say "NOT suitable for most users"

Fortunately I deleted all the files from the roaming profile and removed all references to this YAMB software before trying the uninstaller (which didn't appear in my Win 10-64bit 'Apps & Features' list). From what I just read, this would have deleted all my start menu icons.

Off to try something still maintained.


Review by Nommo on Jan 25, 2020 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. I had been using Redbox.Net for the last few years, and every few months would go looking for an alternative, mainly because Redbox.Net doesn't let you select multiple files at a time to add to the queue list, which would add so much time to the process of putting the files in the right container. I don't hate MKV, but a couple of my devices don't play MKV, so I have been switching all of my video files to MP4 for years now. I don't know why I didn't stumble across BOX4 before but this is the answer that I've been looking for for years! It's very similar to Redbox and doesn't lose quality, does the demuxing fast without recoding audio or video and most importantly lets you choose a folder of files to add to the queue! Thank you so much again! Well done!

Review by A.J. on Dec 29, 2019 Version: BOX4.3000 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This bit of software is just brilliant, simply brilliant. I hate mkv with a passion as so many older bits of kit won't play it, but mp4 no problems ever. This simply extracts the mp4 that I want from the mkv container that I don't and all with no recoding. Takes 30 seconds to a couple of minutes depending on the file size you are using. This has saved me so much time its unreal and just so easy.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!


Review by Ken on Dec 20, 2019 Version: Box4 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by StarCaller on Sep 27, 2019 Version: 3.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simple and elegant program that lets me convert various mp4 and mkv files to my preferred container and audio specification. While it can re-encode audio it automatically detects current audio and does not re-encode when not necessary. It does not re-encode video and this suites my needs perfectly. Since it primarily demux/remuxes to preferred container it is very fast and loses no video quality.

Review by drjtech on May 30, 2019 Version: V3 (Final) OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by drai on Apr 23, 2019 Version: 3.0.0.0 (final) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wolffy on Feb 16, 2019 Version: BOX4 Portable OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by sdho on Feb 12, 2019 Version: BOX4 3 Beta 3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wolffy on Feb 3, 2019 Version: Box4V3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I wish it would swap the atom to the beginning of the file for mp4's. Than I don't need to index swap every file i convert to mp4

Review by Zooyork on Dec 27, 2018 Version: 2.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by M.Nick on Oct 15, 2018 Version: BOX4 3 Beta 2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by sharer777 on Oct 8, 2018 Version: 3b2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wolffy on Oct 8, 2018 Version: Box4 v3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by PocketAppZ on Sep 7, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Absolutely love it. I have been a huge fan of rebox and used it for so many files. Always wished I could select multiple files at once, and so this now fixes that. By far the biggest boon for me though is the DAN feature, it is fantastic. Films like Mechanic resurrection for example have an audio track where you can barely hear the speaking bits, yet the background sound is really loud. Turn up the volume for the former and the latter is unbearable. I have tried so many times to find an easy fix but no joy, and then suddenly here it is, Box4. Thank you thank you thank you!!!

No idea if this is the right place for comments on the HMI but here goes anyway:-

- I love the dark minimalistic interface, but I would have the start button in green, as even though I know what and where it is, I still have to 'find' it each time I use it. You could have it be the colour it is when you are not able to start, for example when changing settings, and then green when ready. A minor niggle, but I think it would be good.

- I would like to be able to change the default audio encoding to what I wanted, eg 192kbps instead of 128kbps, so that i don't have to do it manually on each file. Rebox defaulted to 192kbps, but this is now 128kbps.

- When inside a change box, it is not immediately apparent what you have to click to get out of that change box - Maybe have the exit button colour up red when inside it? Just a thought.

- When a job has completed, the info box that appears says 'Click to Close' and a lot of peoples natural instinct is to actually click on that message, but that is the only piece of that the entire info box that doesn't allow you to click on it and close it?

All that aside, simply a brilliant piece of software, and very very much appreciated :-)


Review by Ken on Jul 15, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Absolutely love it. I have been a huge fan of rebox and used it for so many files. Always wished I could select multiple files at once, and so this now fixes that. By far the biggest boon for me though is the DAN feature, it is fantastic. Films like Mechanic resurrection for example have an audio track where you can barely hear the speaking bits, yet the background sound is really loud. Turn up the volume for the former and the latter is unbearable. I have tried so many times to find an easy fix but no joy, and then suddenly here it is, Box4. Thank you thank you thank you!!!

No idea if this is the right place for comments on the HMI but here goes anyway:-

- I love the dark minimalistic interface, but I would have the start button in green, as even though I know what and where it is, I still have to 'find' it each time I use it. You could have it be the colour it is when you are not able to start, for example when changing settings, and then green when ready. A minor niggle, but I think it would be good.

- I would like to be able to change the default audio encoding to what I wanted, eg 192kbps instead of 128kbps, so that i don't have to do it manually on each file. Rebox defaulted to 192kbps, but this is now 128kbps.

- When inside a change box, it is not immediately apparent what you have to click to get out of that change box - Maybe have the exit button colour up red when inside it? Just a thought.

- When a job has completed, the info box that appears says 'Click to Close' and a lot of peoples natural instinct is to actually click on that message, but that is the only piece of that the entire info box that doesn't allow you to click on it and close it?

All that aside, simply a brilliant piece of software, and very very much appreciated :-)


Review by Ken on Jul 15, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Warning! Tries to modify firewall rules. Emsisoft picked that up fortunately.

Review by Ben on Apr 9, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Can the amount of files to be processed be increased....

Really is great software


Review by Feckie on Mar 26, 2018 Version: BOX4 2.0.0.0 64-bit OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you for updating rebox.NET

My only complaint is that the program freezes when I try to select output directory.


Review by PocketAppZ on Mar 18, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As a Plex on Apple TV 4K user, this application is almost perfect because want don't want Plex to transcode 4K movies. BOX4 changes the MKV container to MP4, encodes audio from DTS 7.1 to AAC 5.1. However, the only issue on Plex + Apple TV 4K is the vtag. BOX4 sets it to "hev1" where as Plex + Apple TV 4K needs "hvc1". This results in a Plex transcode.

Changing this needs me to run BOX4's MP4 file through FFMPEG to change the vtag which takes the same amount of time as BOX4's container change. I could use FFMPEG to both change container and vtag but using FFMPEG requires that look at the output of FFPROBE to pick tracks, subs, etc. I prefer the ease of use of BOX4.

So, it's an excellent app. Almost perfect for my needs.


Review by apollo on Mar 14, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by PocketAppZ on Feb 2, 2018 Version: 2.0 Beta 2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks to the author for a x64 update of their original rebox application - this version is really easy to use - and converts M4V to MP4 without encoding the video or audio streams (as per your settings)

i did have issues with no sound stream in the new file when the original mkv file used Digital Dolby Plus 5.1 format? ffmpeg does support this format but box4 was not able to remux the files using copy option... im still troubleshooting this - any suggestions welcome


Review by HD on Jan 12, 2018 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by BoOm on Oct 24, 2017 Version: 4 1.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




FATAL ERROR
BEWARE !! will add super annoying unremovable time mark as subtitle to some video
same to box.net software


Review by edward on Aug 23, 2017 Version: 1.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Dan-chii on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 1.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great converter,

Can the total amount of files be increased from 16 to 30


Review by Feckie on Jan 25, 2017 Version: 1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great tool! I've been looking for a tool for Win that is as full-featured as MP4Tools for the Mac. In fact, lack of such a tool and lack of a great tagger has what has kept me from migrating totally to the Windows platform. I've been using Box4 along with the now apparently unsupported MKVtoMP4. While neither has the speed of MP4tools, Box4 is close. I'll use it exclusively when it has the capability of creating secondary audio streams. I use the Apple TV as a media center and in order to use 5.1 surround sound, the .mp4 file must have a 2-channel AAC file before the ATV recognize the file and then use the AC3 6 Channel audio file and send it to the 5.1 amplifier. Box 4 is great for .mkv files that only have a 2-channel audio stream. I turn to the other tool at present if it has a 6 channel stream. Keep up the great work! MetaX has finally matured to the point it will do what Subler does for the Mac and just as fast. I'm almost there!

Review by MikeHaas on Dec 5, 2016 Version: 0.2.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10


36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com