Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for x265 Encoder

26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews


This is designed for lower bitrates(outclasses H264 easily) or streaming. H264 and H265 at high bitrates will give similar quality, with H264 holding a slight edge for archiving. Now what is classed at high bitrates? That said low bitrates will look better using hevc compared to other codecs, but may still look bloody awful visually, just less awful than the others. All down to what you deem as quality for your eyes. I prefer h264 for archiving at 1080p. 4k is a waste of time for my old eyes and I don't have the best hardware to utilize this h265 codec at the moment.

Review by Roger on Nov 22, 2022 Version: 3.50 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To be fair there are genuine gripes about how 'slower' this codec is, but that depends on the user's rig and compatibility issues. I use very modern hardware and still notice choppy decoding and encoding of hevc needs some setting to maximize its benefits. I know dozen of folks who have had major issues with h265 in Win10 so whingers and fan boys aside(he winks!) let's not get to hung up on things.

We had moans when Xvid was phased out and now h264 is apparently facing the same chop depending on whom you listen to, but nonetheless a great codec and one which I prefer to still use for simplicity.


Review by Peter on Mar 9, 2021 Version: 3.5 RC1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




to Not Gaz:

You are totally right.
As long as there's always rippers use x265 and no av1/vp9 shit bdrips in my hard disk, I'm totally fine with it.

I'm never a "silly fanboy", just need to say something 'cause of some UNFAIR reviews here.


Review by steve on Mar 9, 2021 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AV1 or V9 is sinking this into the dust along with its silly kiddy fanboys.

Review by Not Gaz on Mar 9, 2021 Version: 3.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




to Gaz:

>A royal pain to set up or even decode for simple playback on a PC or tablet unless you like to see video frame freeze every micro second and the audio jump or go silent. You must have top spec hardware to take advantage of this codec.

Who the hell still don't have a device that can decode a HEVC video in 2020? Even my 3-years-old iGPU can decode 8K 60FPS HEVC video!


Review by steve on Mar 9, 2021 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I didn't know click on ratings can't let me write reviews previously, sorry for that.

I saw some critics, they are just rookies in my opinion.

Royalty fees are not the reason to blame a encoder, it just those IT giants' excuse for their stinginess, check the Wikipedia, software decoders are free and usage in non-physical contents are free, and arn't they supposed to pay the fees themselves instead of let our customers to pay?

And for speed and quality, x265 slow preset can beat x264 veryslow preset with same speed in terms of compress ratio. Ahh, rookies...


Review by Simon on Jan 24, 2021 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Simon on Jan 24, 2021 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Royalties to use it commercially are a mega pain. Using open source version is no advantage as it takes forever to encode even on fastest CPU computers. Try doing a 2 pass! Battery drainage on devices playing hevc big big problem. Roll on AV1 or V9 codecs to sink this into the dust in the 4k/8K streaming wars.

For the home consumer H264 is still around and reliably good. Forgot that 4k nonsense. To get the 'true' benefits you must be 9inches from screen to notice differences from a regular 2k TV. 8k is even bigger overkill nonsense mixed up with this hevc compression craze.


Review by William on Jan 1, 2021 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Strange one to grade, as it is either 1/10 or 10/10. Maximum marks for quality and over 50% bitrate savings over H264 at lower bitrates, giving H265 superior quality e.g 500kbps H265 should look better than 1000kbps down with H264. At higher bitrates for archival purposes above 5000kbps both codecs should equal out in quality and I dare say at lower bitrates 2000kbps might even subjectively appear the same apart from scene by scene examination of rain in film scenes or where H265 will retain detail better and not be a blur regarding edges.

But is it worth it to use H265? No, when it could be 10x slower at CPU speeds at high quality settings to achieve these bitrate savings at lower bitrates. The wealth of H265 on the download scene at higher bitrates are little better visualwise(Media Info will show often you the quick and 'dirty' encode settings than carefully planned H264 encodes 1 pass crf or 2 pass ones. Ergo it still gets 1/10 from me!


Review by A.Philips on Jun 3, 2020 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




If you check the media info of any online x265 download for test purposes you will mostly see 1 pass abr type encodes. I've yet to ever see a 2 pass. Excellent quality, but snailpace encodes which choke up about pretty much any hardware out on the average user's computer or tablet. A royal pain to set up or even decode for simple playback on a PC or tablet unless you like to see video frame freeze every micro second and the audio jump or go silent. You must have top spec hardware to take advantage of this codec. H264 is still king!

Review by Gaz on May 30, 2020 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I'm not seeing a great range of hardware even in high spec computers that can utilise as yet hevc codec/h265 in 2020 nor being able to give fast encoding speeds and take full advantage of its compression abilities. Maybe some NASA super computer or commercial outlet rather than Joe Blogs can use it?

Let's be honest at high bitrates H264 and H265 are more or less the same and for me h265 still washes out fine details in videos. It is only the lower nitrates which h265 excels at for streaming, much like the same when they said h264 was superior to xvid at lower bitrates when it(h264 etc) first dominated and still does the downloading scene formats.


Review by Al on Feb 18, 2020 Version: 3.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Excellent software from a compression point of view, but torturous to set up and like Chinese water torture to encode. This is commercial application only. H264 is enough for me. It has been around for a bit now and the lack of H265 encoding out there shows this might never take off. Most users hardware can't cope with it even after all this time. That said it is the future, but when? For TV streaming only.

Review by Wesley on Jun 18, 2019 Version: 3.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Superb quality output, but mega mega slow and a pain to use/set up.

Review by Paulo on Oct 7, 2018 Version: 2.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




I'd guess most will have no idea how to use this at all! You need the hardware and power to use it well. Try playing this on a tablet etc and watch your battery drain superfast. Decoder cant keep up with h265 encoded video frames. Might be ready in 5 years!!

Review by Paulo on Jul 5, 2018 Version: 2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Most won't have a clue how to use it and will need a GUI. This codec is only worth using if you need small bit rates as it excels and you only need to use half as h264. Quality of h264/h265 is same at higher bit rate so they say, but h265 still washes out detail. Who wants to use low bit rate these days or has the CPU power to decode it on a PC or tablet as yet?

Long way to go before any compatible hardware addresses the huge power needs of this codec. Also enclosing takes ages with this codec. H264 is still the daddy!


Review by Tony on May 25, 2018 Version: 2.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Post #5 by D88M
x265 is a command line software.
x265 is used in several free video converters like Handbrake, StaxRip, MEGUI, etc.
Apparently you ability is limited to Encoder GUIs
Try learning CLI, it's simple
I give 10/10 for x265, superb encoder...obviously


Review by M99 on Feb 9, 2018 Version: 2.6+37 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by aQQ on Aug 9, 2017 Version: 2.5+6-d11482e5fedb OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'll second that, it has some time to go before it unseats x264. I'm sure it will be fine a couple years down the line when hardware has been adapted to it but at the moment the code just drains CPU power, and any video encoded in x265 is a massive decoding nightmare to process it. MX player on android plays it but not smoothly and powers seeps away from the tablet battery same as in any Windows based laptop even with a fast processor. I tried encoding a file in x265 and it was so SLOoooW! Chinese(no offense!) water torture springs to mind. X264vfw is still the tops for me!!!

Review by Tony on Jul 1, 2017 Version: stable & nightly OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Long way to go yet as h264 is still the king, but this pretender to the throne keeps getting better and better. Maybe somebody can develop a great GUI like Fairuse Wizard/AutoGK to work with it?

Review by Steve G on Jun 24, 2017 Version: latest revision OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Let's make this clear h265 is nowhere near as good as h264 in terms of hardware compatibility, visually at high bitrates h264 is still superior and at low bitrates h265 oversmooths/washes out detail. Yes, it might be the codec of the future for 4k/TV presentations etc, but try processing this on your PC even with a super fast cpu and it takes hours for Joe bloggs! Plus you have go know what you are doing using this, most 99.9% are clueless and noobs not fan boys who are having an orgasm over every new build. Many years to go yet before it unseats h264!!!

Review by Tim on Jun 23, 2017 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Excellent encoder with really good compression efficiency, even with 8 bit. I have used x264 as well and finding x265 is improving and closing gap with big brother x264.

Job well done.


Review by Hawk on Jun 2, 2017 Version: x265 v2.4+28-f850cdbe381c OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




this doesnt work AT ALL, you dowload it, you execute it, and then a black screen opens and close in a fraction of second

Review by D88M on May 7, 2017 Version: 2.153 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments

Review by Baldrick on Mar 30, 2017 Version: 2.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Xvid style encoder were every preset is pleasing for the eye in contrast to x264 were only Placebo prevents eye cancer but there is one huge problem as it looks artificial as there is a film over it (others called it washed out)

Review by Zero11s on Oct 23, 2015 Version: 1.7.0.374 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I have been using the stable version non stop with excellent results. Far more superior than x264 and this is only the beginning. A big thank you to the developers for this amazing encoder.

Review by Ally68 on Oct 10, 2015 Version: 1.8.31 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Can't believe I'm the first to review such a great program here. The compression of this encoder is unreal and getting cleaner and faster as time goes on. By my own tests, 1.7 is about 33% faster than 1.6 which is amazing and hope further optimizations happen. x264 had to start somewhere and x265 will be no different.

Over the past month I have been encoding with it on high bitrate x264 files that I don't care to keep at their current file size, so I encode them with this with avisynth to retain most of the detail at a fraction of the size. I'm also doing this just to get a handle on this new HEVC beast.

All I need now is a HEVC TV Player...


Review by KarMa on Jul 10, 2015 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com