Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for multiAVCHD

34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews


I have handed the program both two HD *.mp4 files (edited with VideoReDo) to try to turn each into an AVC-HD disk. In each case, the program proceeded to produce an on-disk structure that looked like it might be a valid AVC-HD. I burned them to a DVD-RW in UDF format with Roxio Creator 10's "Burn Data Disc - Advanced" plugin, and the discs all failed to play on my Oppo BluRay player. I also tried an MPEG-2 *.mpg file, also edited with VideoRedo, and it just failed during transcoding. No success here.

Review by Rob Thurlow on Jun 7, 2020 Version: V4.1 build 771 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 4/10




please help another one that keeps crashing from 1 thing to another.
my dvd authoring soft does not crash
nero does not crash.
can't run TMPGEnc 6 as its not connected to net, and can't get it to activate.
my main system will never be connected to the net ,ever ,


Review by samstoned on May 19, 2020 Version: 4.1.771 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




Can confirm - DTS and all other high-end audio does not convert to AC3 even though the logging says it does. Repeat - HIGH END AUDIO REMAINS UNTOUCHED!

Easiest way to verify just to make yourself feel better is burn a bluray. Once done, load one stream from the bluray (navigate into the bluray disk to one of the streams in the 'Streams' folder) into MediaInfo and you'll see your beloved DTS [or other high-end audio track] in all of its 1500kb/s or whatever bitrate size. It maintains 48khz sampling rate at whatever bitrate (I just did one with 1508kb/s, for example) the original track has.

I've been using this for years and just tonight I noticed the live-logging say, "Converting A_DTS to AC3..." and freaked out. Googled a bunch and decided to verify a bunch of bluray disks I had already burned - low and behold, the audio tracks are untouched.

This tool is easily 10/10 once you learn to use it. It's complex, but because it does *so much*, that's a 10/10.

I can't thank Dean enough!


Review by buckyjay on Feb 6, 2018 Version: 4.1.771 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is truly a one of a kind program when it comes to authoring Blu-ray disks. I've been using it under Windows 7, 8, and 10 and since it first came out. It would be great if there was at least one more update to the "helper" programs to cope with the latest Matroska format, x264 and emerging audio codecs.

Review by mail2tom on Oct 17, 2017 Version: 4.1.771 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been trying to use this program version 770 for years and
just ended up wasting hours and hours with it.

In desperation I tried 771 today (I'd never seen it before)
and it worked first time.

I wasnt looking for anything clever - just to put an
existing MKV onto a bluray with a menu to play it.

Seriously - I'm not paying for complex software I only
use a bit of once every 3 years so this is great....

Thanks Dean for all your work.

jack


Review by jack616 on Oct 17, 2017 Version: 4.1(build 771) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 6/10




To SilverBlade: re re-encoding of your audio

On the main window of multiAVCHD, click on the Subtitles & Audio Tab

At the bottom of the page is the Audio Conversion Settings.The purpose of this menu is to downconvert TrueHD/DTS-HD/LPCM and other audios to AC3. To keep your High Def audio make sure NONE of items are CHECKED.

I have used this program for several years and NEVER had any of my BR audio downconverted by this program.

Read a couple of guides/How To's listed above. This is a complicated program that will do just about anything you want it to do but you do need to do a bit of studying. Once you get the basics down it's easy to use.

Thanks Dean for such a terrific program!! It's great that you have given us an update after such a long time.


Review by doc1368 on Oct 26, 2012 Version: v4.1 build 770 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The PROMISE is good, but the execution is bad. Every time I tried, it always converts my audio to ac3, *even when I specifically tell it NOT to*. This alone right there is an instant deal-breaker for me.

I give it a 1. I'll only take back my rating once this program doesn't force you to re-encode the audio to ac3.


Review by SilverBlade on Oct 13, 2012 Version: 4.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great stuff. Not for fools, tho. You need to learn a little, but then works very well.

Review by cmbzurz on Aug 13, 2012 Version: 4.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I agree that this is a great and unique program. I made several support donations hoping to keep the project alive and foster further development and some extra features, but sadly it didn't happen. None-the-less I use this program daily.

Review by mail2tom on Jul 10, 2012 Version: 4.1 b771 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Big thanks to DeanBG for the update after all this time. Very much appreciated. :)

Review by moontrash on Jul 10, 2012 Version: 771 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Works like a charm!

This is a brilliant bit of software, such a shame it's no longer being developed. If you want automated MKV -> BD/AVCHD disc authoring this will do the job, it gives you much more customization then I've seen in any paid for premium software.

I've used Power Director 10, Roxio Creator 2012 Pro, Magix Video Pro X4, and Sony Vegas Pro 11. None of them could meet my needs; either because they were lacking, slow or buggy. multiAVCHD on the other hand meets all my requirements and best of all it's free!

Allow x264 to close when it pops up to say it's stopped responding, the enconding process should continue, this hasn't caused any issues for me.


Review by number1ontheweb on Jun 10, 2012 Version: v4.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best resolution from HD Camcorder, still pictures, add audio layers, old VOB
and more to Blu-ray disc. Thank you so much Dean!


Review by sathia on May 5, 2012 Version: 4.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love this program and still use it every day. Unfortunately it looks like the project may have been abandoned. I went to the forum, which I had not been to in some time, and was hoping for some news that there might be a new release upcoming with some enhanced features. Sadly I found the first 10 pages in the forum are nothing but SPAM postings.

Review by mail2tom on May 18, 2011 Version: 4.1b770 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After my first few uses of this program I was totally jazzed at how well it performed a task that no other program I had found could do, and it kept getting better. So I made my first donation towards development incentive. I continue to use this program every day, but unfortunately development has slowed down. Since I've used the program for over a year, and in that year the program has had some very nice features added and become pretty sophisticated, I made another donation in the hope that development will start up again.

Review by mail2tom on Nov 11, 2010 Version: 4.1(770) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is one of those apps (like PgcEdit) that deserves serious support. For the cost ($0), you get so much in this app its scary. Almost every kinda conversion for dvd and HD exist in it and it works every time. My personal favorite FAVC, crapped out on some audio recently with an mkv (high pitched squeal), so I thought I'd try AVStoDvd and had the same results. I thought, what else could I try...I hadn't tried Multiavchd in a while so I loaded up the mkv file and in 1hr and 20 minutes I had a perfect conversion. Everything worked and synced perfectly. I was amazed. How DeanBG gets this done right is a mystery to me. So many try and fail or work some time and not others. This one is a standout amongst all others.

Review by moontrash on Nov 6, 2010 Version: 4.1 build 770 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




One of the best programms I found when I was looking for overall conversions from BluRay/MKV to DVD!

There are only 2 little things I do not get and that is to get a nice menu which will work when you push on Play and how to crop....I do not see a difference in the adjustment if I try to crop to have full screen Video/Image!

But for me, this programm (together with BD-Rebuilder - HDC - AVStoDVD - Filmmachine/Audiotools) is my standard right now for my conversions!


Review by NZBPirates on Sep 10, 2010 Version: 4.1 build 770 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




The latest version has some problems with a Panasonic output. I've made a several trials with a latest version 4.0 /build 745/ and my Panasonic BD-60. To play properly BD-RE disc created by multiavchd program the option "Strict avchd folders" has to be checked both in sub menu and output format. When "Strict avchd folders" option was not checked and I had choosen a standard Blueray formata as a output the disc was properly played only on my computer.
My Panasonic blue-ray player recognizes a disc as a "AVCHD" disc but does not allow to play it. It plays it only when the static /basic/ menu is created.


Review by Artur6802 on Apr 8, 2010 Version: 745 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This app really does do a great job. Expect a learning curve as trying to get things the way you want them or "perfect" may take a few tries with all the settings there are but the results are damn good. It takes a bit of time to encode but the results are worth the wait. I've had issues with HcEnc trying to work but haven't gotten it to so far. Used QuEnc and it did very well, good results. Would be kinda cool if the author could get CCE to work with this.

The authors forum for this app is a bit odd as you just cant post questions unless a moderator or the app creator has read the post before letting it be seen by other users. Kind of a pain if your trying to troubleshoot an issue and the mod won't let the post be seen because he may think its redundant or not worth a post. I always thought any input regardless of what it pertains to on the topic being discussed was relevant and could help others with a similar problem.

As it stands, this app works good. Anyone should try it once and I'm betting you'll use it again :D


Review by Moontrash on Apr 5, 2010 Version: 744 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 735 doesn't work. I get an encode failure,it apparently can't find ffdshow,avisynth.and haali. Reverted to 734 and no more problems.

Review by wulf109 on Mar 8, 2010 Version: 735 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




My favorite SW with along VideoReDo TVSuite 4. It is so good and does so many things that it has a level of complexity that will take a few tries to get it the way you like. Then when you get it right you will kick yourself because it is so easy. Forums are active and helpful. This is wonderful free SW. Kudos to author & contributors.

Review by DVWannaB on Feb 28, 2010 Version: 4 Build 734 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Loved this program allready, but now it added motion and audio to menu its got to be the
best one of them all.
once you have learned how to use all of its functions,and there are many its tops 10/10
nice one dean.....thanks and respect is due


Review by obewon on Feb 17, 2010 Version: 4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the best tool so far that I've seen lately.
MultiAVCHD allows me to turn a bunch of different formats of
video files into a blu-ray disc.
It encodes avi files into avchd better quality than anybody else, vob
files stay the same quality, no change (that is the best).
I give functionality 8 because I've tried to put 38 avi files into
blu-ray format, it is stalled in the 18th file.
But , still this is the one that I really like so much. Thanks !



Review by sathia on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 3.718 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love this tool, and the auto update feature makes it one less application to track down for updates. It reminds me of when I created an SVCD, but now it's on a DVD in High Def. Both AVCHD and Blu-Ray outputs work great on my JVC XV-BP1 Blu-Ray player.

I gave it a 6 on "Ease of use" (even though there is a "Tutorial/Guide") because it took me a couple of days to figure out which setting got what result (and I'm still working on them). Guess I need a simple step-by-step guide.

I found this to be a tool that makes supporting the author a "no brainer."


Review by mail2tom on Nov 28, 2009 Version: 3.x OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I wish the author would include the build number as part of the file name. I have 4 fairly recent versions all called 3.0 and can only guess what version they are. It's true that users can rename the file themselves after the d/l but until you install the build you can't be sure you have downloaded the latest version.

Review by gll99 on Nov 7, 2009 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




multiAVCHD runs nice under Crossover in MacOS, so you can give it a try.

Review by multiAVCHD on Oct 16, 2009 Version: 3.0.708 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is absolutely brilliant. It would be a 10 out of 10 if it worked on the Mac! I recently made the switch for the Mac, if this tool was available on OSX it would be heaven!

Review by plainview on Oct 1, 2009 Version: 3.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




For Panasonic AVCHD DVD compatability ALWAYS check to see if source file is AVCHD 16x9 or 4x3 compliant (I use "mediainfo"). If not, just use the (included) tool "uncropMKV.exe" to re-crop your video file:
"uncropMKV - get your video files to AVCHD/BD compliant resolution/level/ref frames"
- Dean Kasabow (programmer)

I am having excellent results with these tools. Actively updated and getting easier to use. Read the Tutorial and Forums. High Def from camcorders, backup your BluRay, put on USB, SD cards, DVD, BD-R ...MANY uses.


Review by cmbzurz on May 21, 2009 Version: 600 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




work on the Panasonic BD-35 with SDHC and AVCHD for DVD, but for output in SDHC there is the limitation of one title output and no folder in Panasonic SDHC.


Review by giuseppegagliardi on Apr 26, 2009 Version: 2.6 543 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




A good software to convert MKV to AVCHD. Play good on the Sony PS3 80GB, but fail to work on the Panasonic BD-60.

Review by benchmarkjoe on Apr 25, 2009 Version: v1.9.9 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 7/10




Very nice tool. one of the best.
A nice improvement would be to have the menu a bit more dynamic and segmented.
like changing episode with the up-down arrow on the remote.
and removing the chapters from the main menu and accessing the chapter list with the right arrow on the remote.


Review by lbouchard on Mar 10, 2009 Version: 2.5 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




This has the potential to be just awesome for me. I just can't the thumbnails to work. I'm sure its mplayer but I have everything I'm supposed to have installed...avisynth, haali media splitter, ffdshow, etc... Let me know if anyone has a solution.

Review by jayman13 on Mar 5, 2009 Version: 2.5 build 435 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Works good when using create multiBD but produces non compliant files that dont play when using create multiAVCHD,also when using static menus the screen stayed at the intro menu and wouldnt advance to the text menu.

Using the 2d menu options worked and played the files with no problems.


Review by johns0 on Feb 1, 2009 Version: 2.0 build 301 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a great tool, It's dirt simple to use and works great............

It does produce very generic static or motion menus, but it can be used to mix multiple resolution and frame rates on the same DVD-5/DVD-9 disk without any re-encoding of compliant AVC streams. I used it to compile a Blu-Ray compatible disk with my 1280x720p / 59.94 fps clips mixed with my SlideShows 1920x1080p / 23.976 clips on the same disk without any re-encoding in less than 5 min. That's sweet!!!!!!!


Review by racer-x on Jan 16, 2009 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com