Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for mpv

17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews


MPV's a neat program-- it operates as a slightly obtuse CLI video player by default, but if you delve into it you'll see that it also serves as a nearly-complete ffmpeg frontend (including encoding) that can also play/preview the stuff you put through it.


Regarding the player's video quality: if you open the player's OSD, you'll see that the last step before output bilinear scaling; a lot of people seem to interpret this as some kind of smoothing filter. It's actually a no-op; ie, bilinear scaling from a resolution like (1920x1080) to itself (1920x1080 --> 1920x1080) won't actually do anything. Same for any of the "interpolatory" filters, if you feel like Googling something. Comparing unfiltered output from MPV to the unfiltered output of madVR (IE, with no enhancements in either and equivalent settings in both) shows them being fairly similar, as well. They also both more or less align with ImageMagick, which is a good thing since IM is sort of a reference for correct image rendering.


MPV is, however, configured to just use bilinear up/down/chroma scaling by default, which absolutely is rather blurry if you need to watch a video at something other than its native resolution. This brings me to my first problem with the software: while the documentation for mpv is actually astonishingly detailed, in its default configuration it barely has any advantages over anything, and you'll need to rely on the manual (or someone else's interpretation of it) to whip the program into shape.


My *other* criticism, and the reason I don't use mpv on a regular basis, is that it's extremely prone to dropping or mis-timing frames compared to madVR or even the EVR render in MPC-- at least on Windows. (It might be different on Linux, but madVR doesn't even exist to be compared to it there ...) This is unfortunately a deal-breaker for me, and a much bigger issue than simple still-image quality.


Review by joe on Sep 16, 2020 Version: 20200913 Nightly OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




MPV is surely the only original video player project born in these years and potentially it can be the most advanced video player. In some area it is superior to the trio MPC-HC + LAV + madVR: color management, better use of DXVA hardware acceleration, better online streaming video support, much better seeking, use of scripts to extend the functions, under constant development. The visual quality is not generally yet at the same level of the trio above, as September 2020.

Review by Ziggy1978 on Sep 13, 2020 Version: 0.32 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Omicron on Apr 23, 2020 Version: 0.32.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The best video player I've ever used.

Review by BlackstarFallen on Feb 13, 2020 Version: mpv media player 0.32.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One of the best media player I've ever use. It is very slim on resources and customizable in my opinion. I have it set as my default media player. I love it.

Review by goodysmarts on Feb 12, 2020 Version: mpv media player 0.32.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating it only.

Review by Alexunc on Feb 12, 2020 Version: 0.32 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on Feb 4, 2020 Version: Nigthly OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by leishz0r on Nov 3, 2019 Version: 0.30.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Nero on Nov 3, 2019 Version: 0.30.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




MPV is a cross platform player, probably the most advanced for functionality and processing capabilities. There are a lot of options to customize the video and audio quality, good quality video scalers. MPC-HC + LAV + madVR deliver yet a better visual quality, but MPV is no slouch either.
My only regret: when there is a video at display native resolution, MPV apply bilinear scaling when there should be no scaling at all.


Review by Ziggy1978 on Nov 2, 2019 Version: 0.30 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by stax76 on Oct 27, 2019 Version: 0.30 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by krishna on Mar 12, 2019 Version: 0.29.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by SIMJEDI on Jun 24, 2018 Version: 0.28.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Try mpc-qt as a GUI, It's almost exact duplicate of mpc-hc, except uses mpv as engine!

Review by Gerry on Nov 8, 2017 Version: 0.27.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by jmr on Apr 24, 2017 Version: 025.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm really liking this media player. Once you learn the keyboard commands, you're all set. Simply drag your media file into the mpv window, sit back, and enjoy. Below are a few of the key controls I use frequently.

Volume Up = 0
Volume Down = 9
Full Screen = f
Exit Full Screen = ESC
Original Video Size = ALT+1
Double Video Size = ALT+2
Enable OSD = DEL
Disable OSD = DEL
Quit and Close mpv = q

All key controls are listed at the link below.

https://mpv.io/manual/stable/

Definitely give mpv a try. It'll be even better when more Windows frontends are available for it.


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Dec 27, 2016 Version: 0.23.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I liked, simple, fast, lightweight, all you need is this

Review by remanyao on Apr 12, 2016 Version: mpv 0.17.0 portable OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com