Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
TSSniper is a transport stream(ts,m2ts) editor. This software is not yet completely finished but cutting of transport streams containing H-264 or MPEG2 video should work without problems. The following audio/video formats are supported: Transport streams(.ts, .mts, .m2ts, AVCHD) with one video track containing either H.264 or MPEG2 video (with or without PAT/PMT) together with the following audio track formats: MPEG1, MPEG2, AC-3, AAC, AAC-HE. Transport streams containing multiple programs (transponder dumps) can only be processed if the qualifying desciption elements (PAT/PMT) also exist in the dump. Teletext und subtitle tracks are not yet supported. Cuts are placed on I/IDR-frames.

7.7/10
22 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

TSSniper screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

0.80.0.600 test (May 24, 2009)



Download


Download TSSniper 0.80.0.600 test  4MB  Portable




Download old versions


Download TSSniper old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Install ffdshow and Haali media splitter if you get DirectShow problems.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 0.80.0.600

* Added capability to Import M2TS files

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to TSSniper


H264info



H264TS_Cutter



Smart Cutter Ps/Ts



Transport Stream Packet Editor



VideoReDo TVSuite







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

SpiritON Sniper



Download TSSniper Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




23 reviews, Showing 1 to 23 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Aino on Sep 11, 2017 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by C Morris on May 15, 2017 Version: 0.80.0.600 test OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The previous poster maybe is not familiar with this kind of software, which has more than 1 big "START" button. The "idiotic ridiculous way" is just like old mark style...
The picture denotes that knn have not even looked at the settings: on Extras > Settings... >General tab, under Generic behavior you can set the "Default mode for new projects": Cut mode - Cut areas are defined, or Scene mode - Scenes are defined.
For me - I use it ONLY to cut DVB-T ts records - this program is very good, despite it's simplicity. Also, it seems to be reliable, it can cut without problems and without crashes, even if the ts files are partially damaged. And how can somebody rating "value for money 5 of 10", for a FREE software? If you don't like it, or if you are unable to make it working, just move on to other software, that's so simple. I must say thank you to the author of this software, because he has spent time and work to give me (or us) for free this piece of software, even if it is so simple and not completely finished...


Review by nicksson on Oct 19, 2012 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Doesn't work.

1) Whatever splitter I select (Haali, MPC, MAD VR, LAV) it gives me an error "You will not be able to select audio streams". Only Haali Media Splitter AR works.
2) Due to this error selecting/marking is not possible (= the ruler snaps always back to 0:0:00), but that isn't told anywhere.
3) Utterly idiotic ridiculous way to mark/select. I have never seen anything as bizarre and unnecessary and unintuitive as that. Actually I think it's a bug.
Just look at this picture...

http://i.imgbox.com/adiHpSgv.jpg

...and ask yourself: If I press "save" what part will it save?
4) No keyboard navigation.
5) The output file name is not based on the input file name, but is ALWAYS "new sniper project". That means if you save several scenes from 1 file you will always have to type in the name anew.
6) Doesn't honor default output paths (at least sometimes).
7) No commandline.
8) Takes way too long to start up. Mind you, it doesn't accept command line parameters, thus the start up is for the naked program without any file loading.
9) Organizes its work in "Projects", instead of working with files directly. So you have to
* start up the program
* make new empty project
* add a file to the project

* instead of simply "Open file".

I wish it would work like mpeg2cut2.


Review by knn on Jul 31, 2012 Version: :0.80.0.600 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




This is THE tool for cutting TS streams. It's simple and it works. Now on to the nit-picky stuff:

1. TSSniper's interface is wonky and takes some getting used to. There is no documentation, and various elements of the program do not operate as one might expect. However, click around enough and you will figure it out -- at which point it becomes quite useable.

2. TSSniper does not like Nero's software. It may give you an error message about proper codecs. I have found differing opinions on what this message means and whether it's a problem, but for me I simply uninstalled Nero -- a foolproof solution, especially considering that CDBurnerXP is good enough for most people.

3. TSSniper cannot always splice two streams. I am videotaping on a Canon Vixia HF M300, whose .MTS files, when spliced, result in a corrupted output stream. However, other tools exist to concatenate video files -- my tool of choice is TSMuxer.

Bottom line: use TSSniper because A) it's fairly good and B) if you want something free, you don't have a better choice anyway.


Review by The Realms of Gold on Apr 29, 2011 Version: 0.80 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




It basically works, but when cutting TS AVCHD files with AC3 audio (removing commercials), I noticed the audio lagging noticeably near the end (after numerous cuts). Playing back the original did not have any such lag. So apparently this tool is not quite cutting the audio by the same amount as the video each time a cut is made.

Review by bobkart on Jan 25, 2011 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




this is a excellent program, the problem that im having is that once i've cut my video i have audio playback on my pc but when i copy the video to my ps3 theres no audio hany suggestions? thanks

Review by TechnoDon on Jan 9, 2011 Version: 0.80 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried many free ts editors to cut out commercials - this is the only one taht works BUT if it gives a directshow 'filtergraph' error then you do need to update codecs on your machine. I used Satsuki.Decoder.Pack.4.3.0.8.exe
after which I had no problem

Wish list

'frame by frame' movement to get accurate cutting - could be that I am just not expert enough yet

Well worth a try. Thanks for your efforts in producing this


Review by slowman on Dec 3, 2010 Version: 0.80 test version OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




BEST Freeware tool. Nothing compares to it.!!!

Review by Videozilla on Jul 13, 2010 Version: 0.80 test version OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This probably the best free tool for cutting of h264 content in a ts or m2ts.

However it does have issues; the resulting files seems okay but isn't compliant enough to be transcended or played by some hardware players. I cut some files and transcoded them with ffmpeg 15625 the file seems to have an audio drift problem increasing in severity over time. I tried a file in the xbox 360 (it will play .ts files from local media NOT over the network). The file played but failed to play the last part of the file which happened to be the last cut segment. I tried the file through Media player classic and DXVA by ATI and had varying success.


Review by bigstusexy on Jun 24, 2010 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Dear all,
I tested many shareware and freeware tools for AVCHD cut and this is the best one and among the few reasonable tools for simple trimming and cutting. Used Canon HF100 AVCHD 1080i50/PAL footage for testing:
Preview: good
Reliability: very stable
Performance: very fast (no re-encoding)
Quality: very good, no block artefacts, no stutter
Limitations:
1) No m2ts, just ts output files (can be converted with TSMuxer)
2) Just I/IDR frame cut points
3) Sometimes audio and video tracks may have slightly different length which may cause a/v async. Can be fixed with Audacity. As Canon HF100 creates GOPs of 12 video frames (video frame of 40 ms and AC3 frame of 32 ms) I/IDR cuts should work accurately.

Highly recommended. I hope this tool will be maintained.
Best regards,
Harald 1234



Review by Harald1234 on Jun 20, 2010 Version: Version 0.80.0.600 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Running Windows7 64bit, the program boots up, but whatever stream I load in, I get a filtergraph error.
Installed ffdshow (32 and 64 bit) and latest Haali media splitter, but still get DirectShow problems.

The program is something I really would like to use, but it's not working for me (right now).


Review by MACKerMD on Mar 30, 2010 Version: 0.80 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




This is the one and only tool that can cut and join H264 TS-files with precise accuracy. Ideal for removing commercials. It's extremely user friendly and way better/faster then any commercial alternatives. Most other tools are either not accurate, very slow or they screw up your TS file and leave you with stuttering video or bad audio.

I have only one recommendation, in the options select CoreAVC codec as H264 video decoder (you need to install CoreAVC first of course, it's a commercial codec but worth it's price). If you don't do that and set it to automatic it uses something else like FFDshow and cutting won't be accurate! So this is highly recommended!


Review by marvell on Feb 9, 2010 Version: 0.0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best h.264 freeware cutter I found so far.
Cutting works fine so far.
My wishes: command line interface, sometimes setting cut marks is a bit irritating.


Review by ttca on Nov 2, 2009 Version: 0.80 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




WOW, Nice job, I really hope you continue to develop this product. Very Nice...

Review by RJG on Oct 22, 2009 Version: .80 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Perfect...
Open all TS files under K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 4.45.



Review by B64 on Sep 28, 2009 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Doesn't work! Can't open any .TS HD files with this version. Always error message

Review by palomino3000 on Sep 17, 2009 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Vista Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 2/10




This is the only freeware h.264 editor that works reasonably well, among the half-dozen or so I've tried. (Accepts Hauppage HD-PVR captures).

Cuts could be more accurate, but no doubt this software will get better. Now, if it incorporated an automatic advert detector, and would mark scene changes, it would be a highly desirable improvement. That would make it as good as HDTVtoMPEG2, a program I loved. But since moving on from MPEG2, I've discovered a scarcity of useful freeware HD (h.264 primarily) tools.

Thanks to the creator of this nice tool and here's hoping it's developed further.


Review by fritzi93 on Aug 25, 2009 Version: 0.80 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




worked very well for me on some HD-PVR 1212 1080i ts files. It took about 10 min to identify and mark the commercials for the first half of a football game and another 5 mins for tssniper to finish the job..."Not Bad". Running on stock clocked quad core(q6600) with for gigs of ram.

Review by eservant on Aug 16, 2009 Version: 0.80.0.600 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Be careful of using it... I just wanted to open TS file and I got a bluescreen. (Tested on vista)
Long time ago that I have seen one ... so thank for remembering me of that nice blue. (Thanks to Microsoft at that place)
And @all others out there... if you want to try it within a virtual machine or somewhere else which is not a relevant PC of yours.


Review by HDTV Bubble on Jun 5, 2009 Version: 0.8 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




For all those suckers out there who report this tool not to be working:

I guess you are pissed because this tool comes as freeware while YOU are trying to charge for YOUR NONSENSE ... LOL !

From the bug reports processed until now there was only one real issue which has already been fixed so you are out of luck with your posts.




Review by Nukster on May 16, 2009 Version: 0.80.0.540 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have only use this app for a few files but it seems to work quite nicely. The only reason I did not score Functionality higher is because I have not fully tested the app and the author does warn than some things may not work. Given the difficult task of creating software that cuts h264 I am duly impressed.

Review by bits on May 16, 2009 Version: 0.80 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Doesn't seem to work! Can't open any .TS files with this version. Error message "Can only assign audio stream descriptors to an existing audio stream discriptor" for every .TS file I try to open.

Review by mf455 on May 16, 2009 Version: 0.80.540 OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10


23 reviews, Showing 1 to 23 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com