Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
TMPGEnc

NEW VERSION 2.525

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
Tmpgenc is a MPEG video encoder, convert to MPEG1(VCD) and MPEG2 (SVCD, DVD) with several settings and filters. Also basic MPEG1/MPGE2 joining, splitting, demultiplexing and multiplexing. Freeware MPEG1(VCD) encoding but MPEG2 encoding is trialware(buy TMPGEnc Plus).

8.1/10
27 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

TMPGEnc screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.525 (November 15, 2004)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download TMPGEnc 2.525  2MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download TMPGEnc old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Download TMPGEnc MPEG2 Plugin, open MPEG2 files directly in TMPGEnc.



Download TMPGEnc Batch list creator, it lets you open several video clips at once in TMPGEnc.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version: 2.525 -2008/08/08-

Added Compatibility with Windows Vista (SP1 included)

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to TMPGEnc


bbMPEG



HC Encoder



TMPGEnc Plus



TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works







Guides and How to's


Add permanent subtitles to VCD,SVCD,DVD,AVI with ffdshow or vobsub and convert with Tmpgenc

- Read

Audio Compilations on DVD Guide

- Read

AVI to DVD MPEG (using CCE or TMPGenc encoders)

- Read

AVI,DivX,XviD to DVD with switchable subs using DVD2SVCD(AVI2DVD)

- Read

Best Way To Convert a 320x240 Low Bitrate DivX to VCD

- Read

CDDA on DVD, aka creating "Audio DVD-Video"

- Read

Configuring TMPGEnc for high-quality, DVD-compliant MPEG-2

- Read

Convert NTSC AVI, DVD, (S)VCD to PAL DVD, (S)VCD

- Read

Converting SVCD PAL 25fps to SVCD NTSC 23.976fps

- Read

Create a still picture VideoCD with sound comments

- Read

Creating (S)VCD Stills with Audio

- Read

DivX to VCD MPEG All-In-One Guide

- Read

High Quality Capturing with Little Frame Loss in VirtualDub

- Read

How to convert AVI/DivX/XviD with AC3 to DVD with AC3

- Read

How to Convert OGM to DVD

- Read

How To Convert To Pal or NTSC With Dgpulldown

- Read

How to correct reversed field order in interlaced MPEG

- Read

How to fix gradual loss of sync once and for all

- Read

How to repair a VCD or a SVCD

- Read

Joining MPEGs to AVIs, AVIs to AVIs, etc. Using Frameserving

- Read

Make Award Winning slideshows with MemoriesOnTV and TMpgEnc

- Read

OGM to SVCD easy Guide

- Read

Optimizing TMPGEnc for quality AND speed

- Read

Perfect AV Sync: SVCD/VCD to DVD

- Read

Removing commercials from MPEG files using TMPGenc or Womble MPEG2VCR

- Read

SatStorm 's Advices: A 12 step NTSC to PAL conversion guide

- Read

Sefy's classical DVD to VCD ripping guide

- Read

Sefy's DVD Backup Guide v2.6

- Read

Tenders SVCD Cutting Guide

- Read

The newbies guide to fitting a movie on one CD using TMPGEnc

- Read

TMPGEnc common problems and tips

- Read

TMPGEnc Explained

- Read

Using a frameserver between Premiere and TMPGEnc

- Read

TMPGEnc video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

TMPG, tmpgenc mpeg2 plugin, Tsunami MPEGEncoder



Download TMPGEnc Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews


To the last comment read various guides on this site, this software was never meant to do TS streams, you to convert to mpg stream to convert

Review by hartless on Jul 15, 2011 Version: 2.52 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




Won't work with MPEG-TS

Review by calande on Jul 14, 2011 Version: 0,1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I have made a small batch files creator utility for TMPGEnc. It has been tested with 2.59.47.155 and 2.524.63.181.

Review by Badoni on Jan 24, 2006 Version: 2.524.63.181 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What can i say.....
Ease of use i guess is decided by your experiance.
But it is definately one of the best encoders if you understand all the aspects & options of it... :)


Review by noahtuck on Nov 4, 2005 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Overall a very good tool. Although, I was very disappointed with the batch converter. I really wanted to convert a whole folder of files all the same way, without opening each file individually. I tried using the converter tool listed above in the product description, but the output does not work with the current version of TMPGEnc. So, I created a new VB script that accomplishes the same goal. You can download it from here:
http://www.yorkspace.com/2005/07/26
Enjoy!


Review by Kilogauss on Jul 20, 2005 Version: 2.524.63.181-Free OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




We've been looking for a replacement to Media Cleaner Pro, which is a buggy orphan of a tool these days, for producing MPEG-1 for CD-ROM based presentations. The quality of video produced is fantastic, it is only the batch list functionality that I am having any issues with.

Having downloaded the Batch list maker tool, I have had to do some manual tweaking of the outputted files to generate batch lists that apply *all* of the settings in a given template, not all seem to carry over, in particular cropping and resizing template options are lost. These can be reapplied in a text editor. This is a litle tough as the allowed values for each option are not documented anywhere. The template (mcf) files are a help, but has anyone got a pointer?


Review by highbrow on May 12, 2005 Version: 2.524 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Brilliant MPEG 1/2 enocoder which is especially good for producing VCD's. Can also produce DVD format files but this functionality is removed when the trial ends (you must pay a fee after that). However, it'll work forever to create MPEG 1 video and produces the best quality of any encoder for this. There's also a lot of options for advanced users such as the ability to alter GOP structures and the like. Excellent!




Review by AwesomeDude on Feb 2, 2005 Version: 2.524 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very easy to use. No problems so far. Excellent freeware program!

Review by tmlim on Dec 8, 2004 Version: 2.524 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I really love this encoder. It may not be the fastest, but it is the best in my opinion. It has a sizeable learning curve for newbies and it took a lot of trial and error for me to figure it out fully. However, I find it is a breeze for me to use now thanks to the numerous guides out there. :)

This new version has a template for 8.5Gb DVD's. I just can't wait until the 2.5 Plus version incorporates this template as I prefer 2.5 over Xpress (AKA 3.0) for my uses. Your mileage may vary though.

Mythos


Review by Mythos2002 on Nov 28, 2004 Version: 2.524 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great video encoder. Have been using it to encoder avi/divx/xvid videos to mpegs for vcds. So far all that I have encoded works fine w/ my player. Haven't encounter any probs yet since I had it few months back till now. Great tool and no complains cos it's free~! :-D

Review by animanga234 on Nov 9, 2004 Version: 2.521 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This product has been around for some time. It's a shame the Author hasn't corrected the problems that result in non-compliant MPEG files. Some people have equipment that requires standards compliant files. Everytime I run across one of these files it's nothing but headaches. Read about it and consider the alternatives seen here;
[url]http://videosystems.primediabusiness.com/ar/video_mpeg_encoder_shootout/[/url]
[i]TMPGEnc: The muscular low-cost encoder has many bells and whistles, but two judging teams had trouble creating technically legal files. Hmm. Thus, we could only partially evaluate this product while wondering what went wrong.[/i]


Review by Tugboat on Sep 14, 2004 Version: any OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a great encoder! It can convert almost any type of video format. Great functionality, great quality. Gives you ultimate control when encoding a video. Highly recommend!

Review by likeachild on May 12, 2004 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Although TMPGenc is without doubt one of the best encoders there is, it does NOT produce 100% complient MPEG streams. If your player is tolerant you will be ok but you will have particular problems with the cheap VCD players which do require 100% complience. Use BBMpeg if you want a free encoder or one of the other quality encoders like CCE or Mainconcept if you want to buy an encoder.

My old DVD player also wouldn't play TMPGenc MPEG2s properly either. It would produce a horizontal line, above the line would be correct, below would judder.

I had a thread going at

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=869947

but never really got to the bottom of the fault.


Review by panash on May 5, 2004 Version: 2.521 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




the MOTHER of all VIDEO ENCODERS!!!


Review by vcdforme on May 3, 2004 Version: 2.5 plus OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Have you tried the "Merge and Cut" option on the "MPEG Tools" section? That might help you avoid the re-rendering issue altogether.

Review by desertnocal on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 2.521 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm using the shareware version for now, but I've never had a program crash more than this one. Also, there doesn't seem to be any pass-through options...to remove 10seconds from a two hour movie, it recompresses the entire thing.

Otherwise, very versatile and VERY advanced features. It can do just about anything with MPEG-1, and I can only imagine with MPEG-2 as well.


Review by Encephalo on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 2.55.38.142 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Wow, does exactly what it says it will do, and it does it well. Great that it gives you 2 weeks to try different things before buying. Teamed it with Studio 8 to capture and edit, Goldwave to edit audio and use TMPFEnc to encode and Author. Great results with this combination.

Review by jjnwcar on Dec 30, 2003 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Didn't work. Tried several AVI files captured via WinDV and had various errors.

One attempt it got to 50% and died with an obtuse error.
Second attempt it got to 50% and then simply ended.
Third attempt it exploded bringing up the XP "send report" dialog.
Final attempt it got to 100% and said 2 seconds were left and then just sat their doing nothing.

I have a 2.8ghz PC with 512MB ram. The AVI's I tried work perfectly with Movie Maker 2 so I'm reasonably sure it isn't the file or my PC.

If you accept the rave reviews here, at least do yourself a favor and try the demo first. I've wasted several hours on this and as soon as I hit the submit on this review I'm uninstalling this mess.


Review by ambrose on Dec 29, 2003 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Simply stunning, for me, for the price, the best encoder out there.

Review by Will Hay on Jul 3, 2003 Version: 2.57.41 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is by far the best encoder around. A bit slower than a few others out there, but not by much. It has an EXCELLENT selection of filters, better than ANY OTHER program I've used or tested, and comes in handy for restoring video. Just remember that this is a VIDEO program, and it has known audio conversion issues, so do not convert your audio with it. The CUT/JOIN tools are great, and it gives you full control of almost every single aspect of the encoding process. Excellent MPEG2 or MPEG1 encoder. Just be sure to have your settings tweaked properly, as most templates are not very good.

Review by lordsmurf on Jun 14, 2003 Version: 2.57 PLUS OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




An absolutely amazing MPEG encoder. This is my first choice tool for transcoding to DVD.

Review by aybesea on Jun 13, 2003 Version: 2.59.47.155 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




TMPGENC (or "Tent Peg" as I like to call it) is basically the bee's knees, the wasp's nipples, the mutt's... well its good anyway. If you want to encode MPEG 1 or 2, look no further. With possibly only one exception, the quality that can be achieved with this software can only be matched by professional level equipment.

There is a downside. For the newbie, it may not seem to be terribly friendly. The user interface itself is fine and its not difficult to use, but there are so many settings and options, that its overwhelming. But persevere. Here on DVDHelp.com there are more guides than you can safely shake a stick at. Try reading the guides about TMPG itself, they'll tell you what all the options mean. Then when you read the guides that tell you how to convert x into y, you'll understand what's going on.

It's other downside is that its slow. But, its a software encoder, and it is going to take time to do its work. But when its done, the results that can be achieved are worth it. I'm happy to set it up, set it going and go to bed, or go to work. I use an XP2100+, and it'll encode 2 hours of video in around 20 to 30 hours.

The mp2 audio encoding isn't the best either, but you can use other tools such as Toolame for better results.

Extra features are included too: tools to mux, demux, join and so on. There's also a selection of basic filters too: clip, resize, noise reduction, colour correction and more. There's a batch facility so you can queue up all your encodes and leave it to it.

Support is great too. New versions come out reasonably often, not just fixing this and that, but adding functionality and support for new CPU features.

This is definitely the de-rigueur MPEG encoding tool. I use this for DVD creation and I wouldn't be without it. Put it this way, it's so good, I went and bought it!

Enjoy.


Review by ijm on Jun 13, 2003 Version: plus 2.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




TMPGEnc will clip those annoying border lines from captures,resize a 16:9 to 4:3 and vice-versa,mux.,demux. and merge multiple mpegs and more.........

An awesome video tool that you must have.


Review by MOVIEGEEK on Jun 11, 2003 Version: Any OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




great tool, beautiful output. Takes a little getting used to, and a little digging for some features, but overall, the quality can't be beat.

And even beyond encoding, as a general mpeg editing software it's a critical tool in the toolbox.

others may be faster, but few are better.


Review by housepig on Jun 11, 2003 Version: 2.59.47.155 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




The BEEEEEEST!

Review by test on Jun 11, 2003 Version: 2.59.47.155 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




ooooooh im second post ya.good software. strong.

Review by dtuck on Jun 11, 2003 Version: any OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One of the best VCD,SVCD and DVD Encoders with lots of feaaaatures!

Review by Baldrick on Jun 11, 2003 Version: 2.59.47.155 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10


27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

9 Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com