Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Restream

12 reviews, Showing 1 to 12 reviews


Despite this piece of software being from 2003, it is the only way to remove the extra 'pan & scan' info (or sequence display extension, SDE) that can cause some players (the nvidia shield tv, for example) to mis-display the aspect ratio. The SDE info in't really relevant for mpeg2 inside a MKV for streaming.

I'm guessing this software still works because of the inherent nature of the DVD standard not really changing. I'd pay for this software if it was updated.


Review by Afullmark on Jul 17, 2017 Version: 0.9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi friend katipo.
Like you mention it Womble is ok.
But…. There is a an very important disadvantage .
You can not convert to Mpeg-2 by keeping the Framecount.
Why this is an problem? Simple…
To keep the source duration by changing from 23.976 FPS NTSC
To 25 FPS PAL it creates doubled Frames.(Logic).
The result is an jumping Video, especially when it moves horizontal.
So do not by hurry to mention that this application is not worth.
In opposite my opinion is, that womble shut be include all the possibility’s
that this application offer, in his Video Wizard.
The Audio can simply taken from the Source or reconvert (for example with Audacity)
to the resulting Duration of the Video without doubled Frames and jumping and stuttering of the Video.
So very much people, like me, are very grateful to the person who give us this Application.
Thank you Creator!!!!


Review by Royalstar on Nov 12, 2015 Version: 0.9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Only useful if you demux the mpeg streams first. However, as mentioned here, this often introduces A/V sync issues. This is exactly what happened to me on my very first test.

I recommend the Womble MPEG Video Wizard product instead (30 day trial). Womble worked immediately first time (see Export/Video/Expert settings). It is a more complex program to learn, but is worth it. I've had it for ages but only found out today you could also change the aspect ratio. (I have no affiliation with Womble)


Review by katipo on Dec 18, 2014 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




This is a specialty tool for adjusting key parameters of MPEG-2 elementary streams, with some unique functions and a clean Windows GUI.

I have used it to reset the aspect ratio of elementary streams received from satellite, which contained conflicting display dimensions and AR, and caused unwanted scaling in some players but not others. Another handy function is to mark PAL videos as progressive to make players use the apropriate chroma upsampling method (fixes pixellized red detail). Setting the actual average bitrate fixes seeking and time display in some players.

As another commenter pointed out, the video stream must be demuxed before it can be loaded, which is inconvenient, and adds risk to create an audio delay or lose subtitles upon remuxing (tool can't work on DVD files directly).


Review by j7n on Aug 10, 2014 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Works great, fixed some MPEG2 streams I was having trouble with by removing sequence display extensions that were causing havoc with my media players, it's related to Pan & Scan data I believe and completely irrelevent outside of a DVD. It's never failed me yet I wish someone would come up with something similar for H264 streams.

To those who have half a brain and know how to demux a video stream, use the tool and remux, its great. To the idiots who want to be spoon fed everything on a plate and moan and whine when they don't get exactly what they want... go and buy some uber expensive software that will cater to your every whim.

That is all.


Review by Chug a Bug on Jun 29, 2012 Version: 0.9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Depends on what you want it for I guess. If you just want to change aspect ratio its not that great, it can't work on a 'normal' file, ie one with sound and picture - you have to multiplex first using another program to separate video and sound, and then run this and then mulitplex them back again - takes forever and requires a lot of space.

Review by branch on Dec 21, 2009 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




This is an absolute 10 for what I use it for, which is to put the 16:9 aspect ratio back into my video file after my DVD Recorder records over-the-air widescreen in 4:3 mode. Does it quickly and painlessly. Saves time re-encoding (2 hours vs. 2 mins). Nice little tool.

Review by DVWannaB on Jan 29, 2007 Version: 0.9.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a slick little tool. I use it mostly to correct timecode when two MPEGs have been joined. Works great. Very fast.

Review by rixware on Jan 26, 2007 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent tool!! Considering it's free, it's a must have!!!

Review by uzi on Oct 1, 2006 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had recently gotten a progressive DVD player - in progressive mode my home grown DVD menu backgrounds looked horrible (in interlaced everything was fine). Using restream I was easily able to correct them so it looked the same in progressive and interlaced mode. Thanks.

Review by tacitus on Jun 29, 2006 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I edited some video and burned it to DVD (720x576 PAL). It played back fine on the PC but playback was jerky on my domestic DVD player. I loaded the m2v file into ReStream and selected top field first in the picture encoding extension frame and lowered the bitrate from 6000kbps to 5000kbps. I burned another DVD with the modified file and it played fine. Thanks for a useful piece of software.

Review by Marvel 2 on Jun 26, 2005 Version: 0.9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Restream is great! I used Restream to repair interlace info from a mpeg2 capture that didn't look right when I burned it to DVD.
The file was converted to NTSC DVD format with avi2bbmpeg2 which interlaces from top field first. The captured file looked OK on computer monitor, but appeared blurry with a weird "drunken" effect on the final DVD when viewed on TV.
After demultiplexing and correcting m2v file with Restream (removing top field first interlacing), I multiplexed new fixed m2v and old mp2 audio files together. When burned to DVD quality was excellent with no blurry effect! You can't beat the price either, Thank you shh!


Review by felixoc on Jan 4, 2005 Version: 0.9 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


12 reviews, Showing 1 to 12 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com