Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Gordian Knot

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


I have used this for DVD to AVI for a looong time. Only complaint is that the project went dead and isn't updated anymore.

Review by 8bitpir8 on Sep 27, 2009 Version: OLD OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




superb tool best for dvd to xvid tried alot of tools this is the best!!!!!!!!!!

Review by zookeeper525 on Jan 5, 2008 Version: 0.35.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have serious problems with GK 0.35.0 in combination with XviD > 1.0.3. With XviD 1.1.0, I need to switch to "bitrate" instead of "final size" whereas with SviD version 1.2 I can't set the bitrate at all. Therefore, it's virtually useless with multiprocessor systems.
Unfortunately, there are no updates to this and I couldn't find a working fix.
But for me it's the most complete and comfortable solution to get an MPEG-2 to some variant of MPEG-4 in any common container like AVI, MKV of MPEG-4.


Review by striker9 on May 12, 2006 Version: 0.35.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




freebird1963,

please D/L the latest update of this porgram (codec & rippack). XviD was not the problem. It was in fact DIVX that was the problem. As an agreement for Gordian Knot developers to use the DIVX codec for free, DIVX demanded that the spyware/adware be added. In the latest version, DIVX is now on a 30-day trial basis and then you have to pay I believe $20 to keep using it. So no more adware/spyware oftware is included in the updated version.


Review by dvwannab on Jul 22, 2005 Version: latest OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I haven't gotten around to using this. I d/l the rip pack 0.28.7
and afterwards found GAIN on my system. Appears Xvid puts it on when that part installs.
I personally think it should be mentioned that adware/spyware is part of the suite of stuff.
FYI


Review by freebird1963 on Jul 17, 2005 Version: 0.28.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




An absolutely superb divX encoding suite that's completely free. I was amazed when I first saw what this program can do. I backed up Kill Bill: Volume 1 to divX 3 (a movie that has TONNES of motion, if you didn't already know) to 1 CD and I managed excellent, near DVD quality with absolutely no noise or artifacts whatsoever (I think the resolution was something like 512 x 256).In my opinion, THE ONLY way to do divX encoding and the best free program the world has ever seen. Utterly astonishing (No, I'm not a member of the GordianKnot team!)



Review by AwesomeDude on Jan 31, 2005 Version: 0.33.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Operates for me in WinXP and Win2K.

Very nice tool to have in your belt. Official use says DVD to XviD & DivX, but I also use it for DVD to DVD, as I often use GK just to rip and create an *.avs script. I the use the *.avs script to encode to on DVD-R or even use the script to encode WMV.

My lone compliant (minor one) is the encoding od DivX/XviD done by GK. I have not been able to configure to encode to the filesize/bitrate I want. So I just use VirtualdubMod (comes packaged with GK) to encode XviD and DivX.

Highly recommended!!


Review by dvwannab on Dec 22, 2004 Version: 0.32 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply the best!If you want to make good Divx this is your program.It easy to use(just read a few of guide before :o) ,it has many and many settings to make Divx in the better way.

Review by THEMATRIX on Mar 3, 2004 Version: 0.28.6.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What can I say? It supports everything I could need for DivX encoding, and it's free! Hence, 10 for value for money.

All those settings are hard to get to grips with, but there' plenty of guides to help you. I'm a control freak, and so I get along just fine with it. I also like the fact that it supports up to seven passes, and although this probably doesn't yield too much more quality it is nice to be able to do more than just two for ultimate quality.

GK is capable of hitting a target filesize very accurately - it has been consistently 1MB below what I set. The compressibility check and total user control over resolution is brilliant, and the ability to see figures that indicate the quality at a set resolution is fantastic.

Overall, the best DivX tool out there for intermediate to advanced users. Novice users might be better off with AutoGK. It certainly puts Dr DivX in his place! :)


Review by CobraDMX on Jan 12, 2004 Version: 0.28.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I really like Gordian Knot. At first it seemed a little complicated however, once you actually start playing with it, it's not that bad. Just a lot of steps. Maybe AutoGordianKnot version 0.8 is easier to use. I haven't tried it yet (stable just came out).
I wrote a how to (instructions) text file for some friends in case anyone wants to read it if they want to try using this application at http://www.gauntlet.net/gknot/howto.txt
Just click on the text file. It's not great but it's a start for new users.


Review by Axel- on Jan 12, 2004 Version: 0.28.7 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com