Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for DVDInfoPro

28 reviews, Showing 1 to 28 reviews


I have never ran this program before, so when I installed it and tried to run it, it said trial is expired. Somehow, how can a person test this program if you can't even run it. Needs a lot of work from what I can see so far.



Review by maonstad on Feb 14, 2013 Version: 7.105 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Do NOT pay for this junky software. Unstable & unreliable, and whatever "info" one can get with this thing can be gotten by other, better FREE software.

But these guys do have a sense of humor. If you go to their website you'll see a big banner saying "IF YOUR COPY KEEPS CRASHING, CLICK HERE." Click and the explanation you get is that in fact the program is perfect, it's just all the crackheads out there who are ruining it for everyone, so the authors of DIP(an appropriate acronym) make it crash INTENTIONALLY to ward off the Warez crowd.

LOL!!


Review by Mitchum22 on Feb 4, 2009 Version: 5.232 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Very Unstable, Crashes, Doesn't work at all, Does not support all drives, This should be free, no Reason to pay good money for this.

Review by hobbs on Jan 25, 2009 Version: 6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This tool is hyped through Doom9 and cdrinfo as "supporting almost all drives", but that's just talk. The author doesn't even have a list of supported drives on the tool's Official Homepage (www.dvdinfopro.com). The most recent I was able to Google was from 2005 (http://www.cdrinfo.com/forum/tm.asp?m=70296&mpage=1&key=%F0%91%8A%98)!

Make sure your drive is supported before buying(!!), otherwise it's useless - even though it may be a great tool. Sony/NEC Optiarc AD-7173A and Philips DVDR16LS are NOT supported, currently only Nero CD/DVD Speed can do quality testing with these drives.

The UI has all the charms of Linux, and the "free non-Adware" version is in fact a DVDInfo Pro Trial. Activation is required. It always says it's expired and update always fails, but if you hit the "Run trial" button it works.

Concerning the author Nic Wilson (who is NOT the XVID guy, to my knowledge), you might be interested in this: http://club.cdfreaks.com/f92/some-facts-about-nic-wilson-dvdinfo-pro-112692/


Review by mek07 on Dec 3, 2007 Version: 4.7.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




This latest version shows a timed out screen and will not install. Screw it!

Review by Slowburn on Nov 25, 2007 Version: 4700 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Apparently the "free" version of this program is technically no longer adware, it has graduated to being trialware. My last "free" version expired, and after installing the latest "free" version still says it's expired and to buy the software and refuses to run.

If you want to charge for your program, fine, but stop claiming there's a free version when there isn't. It's not paid for by ads on an ongoing basis, it's a 28-day one-time trial (and the web site also says 90 days). For a program I only used a couple times a year, looking at ads was fine, and even $20 is not that bad, but I hate to support the misleading advertising and false appearance of generosity.


Review by MrMoody on Oct 21, 2006 Version: 4.616 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 5/10




A great program
For people complaining about frequent version changes, it must be appreciated that the program does not install adware / spyware and therefore requires frquent version changes for new sponsors for their ads.


Review by ark on Sep 1, 2006 Version: 4.616 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I acknowledge the value of this program. I have *often* paid to purchase licenses for a wide range of Shareware that has proven its value. A principal EXCEPTION is when a program too frequently ANNOYS me. To the Developer: Please consider the following suggestions:

1. The program should not expire every couple of weeks (O.K., an exaggeration, but only slightly), forcing a reinstall of a later version, which MIGHT NOT EVEN TAKE. Either the ads are an acceptable tradeoff for payment, or they aren't. This particular self-destruct act does not endear you to the user.

2. If the program MUST expire, stop having Windows' Dr. Watson facility generate a COMPLETELY USELESS 20 meg. Dump Report. No one is going to interpret it; it serves no purpose. I would much rather see a nag screen, or a "Sorry, Can't vouch for the Results, because the program is out of date" notice.

Thanks for listening.


Review by Seeker47 on Nov 2, 2005 Version: 4.32 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




Nice program and continues to be improved. The PI/PO quality checker works on disks that Nero CD/DVD Speed chokes on. I made a good investment. **********

Review by gkar on Nov 2, 2005 Version: 4.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you all for your kind words. We are working with the optical storage companies, every day, to make DVDInfoPro the best it can be, for you..the end users! Your words keep us going!

We will continue to bring you the best we possibly can, with new features, tools and functions every month! We are even rolling out BD-RE and HD-DVD capabilities soon, for those lucky enough to own such hardware :)

Cheers.

zebra + NicW.


Review by zebrac on Aug 11, 2005 Version: 4.27 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i was searching on net for a good dvd media tester but only i found was nero cd dvd speed,i do tests for same disc but the resluts was not same so i searched agian and again and again then i realsie this tool,didi same tests and results was incredible,i like it,i think in the new version dvdinfopro 4.27 yhe producers added progresive color scanning really cool,i dont use nero,i use dvdinfopro
thank you nic wilson and zebra :)


Review by Unable on Aug 7, 2005 Version: 4.27 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent program.

Note that the adware version of this release (3.48) will not run after Dec. 30, 2004...set your computer's clock back to run it if the program's writer has not issued a new version that fixes this issue.


Review by that bastid on Jan 1, 2005 Version: 3,48 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I'd just like to remind people who use this, before you downgrade it make sure you have a proper ASPI layer installed or it won't work right!

Review by gkar on Jun 30, 2004 Version: 2.55 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works very well on my Memorex CD writer/reader.
I really like the user interface and presentation of data.

Does not work with my Sony DRU-500AX DVD writer/reader for DVD-R media which contains data file backups. Symptom is "no media installed".

DonP


Review by hidefdon on Jun 30, 2004 Version: 2.54 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Downloaded a copy at the end of April 2004. Reinstalled that copy today to check the media type of one writable DVD, only to find that the program would close itself after starting because it's "out of date" and had to download a new version. Combination adware and trialware.

If you're just looking to occasionally ID a writable DVD or two, try DVD Identifier first and see if that works for you.


Review by lincolnhawk on Jun 5, 2004 Version: 2.43 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




Actually you can own this for a $10 donation (I did) thru PayPal, not the $14 shown. It is worth it just to know exactly who actually made your media.

Review by gkar on May 26, 2004 Version: 2.51 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My only adverse comment is after using it for a certain time, it times itself out and you have to download it and re-store it again.

Review by Sam Ontario on Mar 17, 2004 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Don't understand why this little program always has to be updated? I use the ad version, but it is always out of date and a new has to be downloaded.

Kal


Review by younso on Mar 4, 2004 Version: 2.xx OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




Excellent tool, works great and very handy with the information it provides. My thanks to Nic for this tool and great design.

Review by golfnut on Dec 22, 2003 Version: Dvdinfo Pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best at what it does hands down. Ads are painless.

Review by gkar on Dec 22, 2003 Version: 2.26 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool, and it works well. It's also helped me learn a lot about my drives and media. The ads on the free version are very unobtrusive.

Review by donfr on Nov 10, 2003 Version: 0.5.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Now you can get the ADVERT-FREE version for $10 donation!!!

www.dvdinfopro.com


Review by tompika on Aug 28, 2003 Version: PRO 0.5.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




DVDInfo PRO is awesome and improving day by day.

- complete media and drive info
- extended bitsetting!!!
- best at erasing/formatting
- speed, error test
- copy to clipboard/snapshot
......

What else would you want for free?
Not even paywares can beat this!



Review by tompika on Aug 27, 2003 Version: PRO 0.5.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Nicw:

I am brand new to dvd authoring and found your tool VERY helpful in determining why my memorex dvd-r 4x, first, will only burn at 2x and, second, why i have made numerous coasters. Great tool- please keep up the good work. I develop software for a living and i try not to let BONE HEADS ruin a good thing and push me too far. It would be a shame to lose this useful tool.

Bone Headed Detractors:

It never ceases to amaze me that people want everything for free. I would suggest going out and building your own tool if you don't like the one you are downloading FOR FREE! Then, see if you still want to complain about someone getting a little compensation from their hard work to offset their time spent. Building software is not easy and ingrates make the job even more intolerable.


Review by davemt on Aug 26, 2003 Version: V2.00-RC5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Peter_Mann,

I value your opinion but think you are being totally unfair. The ads were done too not be too obstrusive or annoying and they help fund this project.

Do you have any idea how long it takes to write such an application and make it work across multiple burners?

It folk like you that make me want to just give up and remove the application totally and I may just do that.

regards
Nicw


Review by nicw on Aug 26, 2003 Version: V0.56 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




***WARNING***
The so called freeware version is CLEARLY indicated to be an ADWARE VERSION with or without the $10.00 donation.
Check out the site at:
http://www.dvdinfopro.com/index.php
Only the $20.00 version is AD-Free.

What a bummer.
I say; Boycott ADWARE


Review by Peter_Mann on Aug 26, 2003 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




V2 is even better than V1. Keep up the great work.

FYI: Minimum DONATION is $10. But you DO NOT have to donate! They refuse lower amounts is all. Software still free. Download link right there on the page, says "FREE" big as day.


Review by lordsmurf on Jul 27, 2003 Version: 2.00 RC3 OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Free and gives accurate results. This program does everything it promises, though I mainly use it to ID the media codes and write-strategies of my DVD-R and DVD-RW discs. Something no DVD person should be without.

Review by lordsmurf on Jun 16, 2003 Version: 1.00 OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


28 reviews, Showing 1 to 28 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com