Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for VideoInspector

15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews


Inferior and worthless! Yet to see anyone praising this or related software from same developer! Can I give zero!

Review by Bobby on Sep 26, 2020 Version: 2.15.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Tested because the author only posts when there's an update. Exactly as the others said, no .mp4 support and very little info. Just bad!

Review by lingyi on May 14, 2020 Version: 2.15.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Garbageware. Use MediaInfo instead.

Review by Sayeed on Apr 28, 2019 Version: 2.15.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've used mediainfo for many years but wanted another similar tool for comparison of a faulty (mp4) encoded file. Author has no desire to add support for mp4 files.

Review by depamode on Dec 25, 2018 Version: 2.15.0.144 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 4/10




This so called VideoInspector barely tells me anything about the video. It doesn't even list the bitrate used for video. Most videos I tried just say N/A (x264 and x265) No information on the colorspace, Framerate was also N/A. Some of the newer codecs like x265 requires a separate download for the program to read the codec.

I get more details about the video in Windows by right click -> Properties -> Details.

Mediainfo does all this plus allot more and better.


Review by Revan654 on May 11, 2018 Version: 2.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Extremely poor detections and functionality.
Better use MediaInfo


Review by cobalt on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 2.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




I was thoroughly unimpressed. The notes SPECIFICALLY mention MP4 files as being supported. That was SPECIFICALLY why I downloaded it. And all my MP4 files were SPECIFICALLY not listed. Also could not get the shell extension to work. Did I mention I was not impressed?

Review by awgie on Dec 29, 2009 Version: 2.2.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Argh... now it's adware not freeware.
Added RelevantKnowledge - optional, not required to install and used VideoInspector.


Review by Placio74 on Nov 15, 2008 Version: 2.0.1.114 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




This software is so flawed, I don't know where to start! Codec names are the only things right, for the other properties such as bitrates and what not, try it and you'll see. Encode a few minutes of your favorite video in various format DVD, VCD, SVCD, XVID, PAL, NTSC, etc.. then check each file with both GSpot and VideoInspector, you won't believe it. The language setting has pretty flags :-)

Review by dlovsky on Apr 27, 2008 Version: 1.12.0112 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




displays incorrect audio info (kbps)

Review by harterpc on Dec 6, 2007 Version: 1.11.2 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




VideoInspector is very easy to use and give a lot of information about a movie. I strongly recommend this software if you have any problems with your videos.

Review by Sinubux on Nov 3, 2006 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I only use this to give to those who has avi's but havent a clue about codecs or where to download the codecs from. It does the job for avi codec finding but i dont use this for anything else. Tends to come up blank for some non avi media.

Review by gremlyn on Sep 4, 2006 Version: 1.9.2.104 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Basic, and a little disappointing. It says it can handle mpeg-2, but it won't take DVD compliant elementary streams.

Review by guns1inger on May 18, 2005 Version: 1.4.2.81 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Gives erroneous bitrates for DV AVI files. Otherwise fairly easy to use.

Review by ggrussell on Jul 20, 2004 Version: 0.9.8.48 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




Simple interface, where your eyes catch the information easier than with GSpot or AviCodec. Also has additional features (codec downloading...).

But, as for version 0.9.3.43, it gives me wrong results in bitrates at times. And doesn't work in a "Send to..." way.


Review by CoralMan on Jun 7, 2004 Version: 0.9.3.43 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com