Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
VideoInspector is a tool to retrieve all interesting details about a video file(AVI, MKV, MPG, MPEG2, MOV, MP4). This can be used to solve codec related problems. Also Windows Shell Integration, right click on a video file and select open with VideoInspector. Former known as VideoToolBox.

Freeware
OS: Windows
File size: 2.7MB
Portable version
Version history
5.3/10
13 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

VideoInspector screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.15.2 (May 19, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download VideoInspector 2.15.2  2.7MB  Win




Download Beta, Portable and other versions

Download VideoInspector latest Beta/Nightly Portable  ca 2.7MB  Win  Portable



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


VideoInspector - 2.15.2

Released 2019-05-19
0005434: [Refactoring] bcrypt.dll is missing error on Windows XP (Kyle_Katarn)
0005488: [Refactoring] Remove link with "codecsdb.com" which seem to be out of order (Permanent Error 500) (Kyle_Katarn)

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to VideoInspector


AVI2Clipboard



GSpot



MediaInfo







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

VideoToolBox



Download VideoInspector Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


Garbageware. Use MediaInfo instead.

Review by Sayeed on Apr 28, 2019 Version: 2.15.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've used mediainfo for many years but wanted another similar tool for comparison of a faulty (mp4) encoded file. Author has no desire to add support for mp4 files.

Review by depamode on Dec 25, 2018 Version: 2.15.0.144 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 4/10




This so called VideoInspector barely tells me anything about the video. It doesn't even list the bitrate used for video. Most videos I tried just say N/A (x264 and x265) No information on the colorspace, Framerate was also N/A. Some of the newer codecs like x265 requires a separate download for the program to read the codec.

I get more details about the video in Windows by right click -> Properties -> Details.

Mediainfo does all this plus allot more and better.


Review by Revan654 on May 11, 2018 Version: 2.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Extremely poor detections and functionality.
Better use MediaInfo


Review by cobalt on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 2.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




I was thoroughly unimpressed. The notes SPECIFICALLY mention MP4 files as being supported. That was SPECIFICALLY why I downloaded it. And all my MP4 files were SPECIFICALLY not listed. Also could not get the shell extension to work. Did I mention I was not impressed?

Review by awgie on Dec 29, 2009 Version: 2.2.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Argh... now it's adware not freeware.
Added RelevantKnowledge - optional, not required to install and used VideoInspector.


Review by Placio74 on Nov 15, 2008 Version: 2.0.1.114 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




This software is so flawed, I don't know where to start! Codec names are the only things right, for the other properties such as bitrates and what not, try it and you'll see. Encode a few minutes of your favorite video in various format DVD, VCD, SVCD, XVID, PAL, NTSC, etc.. then check each file with both GSpot and VideoInspector, you won't believe it. The language setting has pretty flags :-)

Review by dlovsky on Apr 27, 2008 Version: 1.12.0112 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




displays incorrect audio info (kbps)

Review by harterpc on Dec 6, 2007 Version: 1.11.2 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




VideoInspector is very easy to use and give a lot of information about a movie. I strongly recommend this software if you have any problems with your videos.

Review by Sinubux on Nov 3, 2006 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I only use this to give to those who has avi's but havent a clue about codecs or where to download the codecs from. It does the job for avi codec finding but i dont use this for anything else. Tends to come up blank for some non avi media.

Review by gremlyn on Sep 4, 2006 Version: 1.9.2.104 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Basic, and a little disappointing. It says it can handle mpeg-2, but it won't take DVD compliant elementary streams.

Review by guns1inger on May 18, 2005 Version: 1.4.2.81 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Gives erroneous bitrates for DV AVI files. Otherwise fairly easy to use.

Review by ggrussell on Jul 20, 2004 Version: 0.9.8.48 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




Simple interface, where your eyes catch the information easier than with GSpot or AviCodec. Also has additional features (codec downloading...).

But, as for version 0.9.3.43, it gives me wrong results in bitrates at times. And doesn't work in a "Send to..." way.


Review by CoralMan on Jun 7, 2004 Version: 0.9.3.43 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com