Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
SubRip is a program which allows you to rip DVD subtitles with their timing as a text file. Can also convert vobsub(sub and idx) to srt text subtitles(vobsub to srt / sub to srt / subtosrt / sub2srt ). Subrip 1.4+ can also rip subs from avi with burned in/hardcoded/permanent subtitles.

Free software
OS: Windows
File size: 1.3MB
Portable version
Old versions
Version history
8.5/10
11 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

SubRip screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


SubRip screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.57.1 (November 14, 2018)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download SubRip 1.57.1  1.3MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download SubRip old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


2018/11/14 SubRip 1.57.1 (c) Roy Damman

- fixed: processing of some files aborted immediately after Start (VobSub; New Character(s) Window doesn't pop up)
- added Traditional Chinese translation from Lee Shin Chun (for SubRip 1.17)

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to SubRip


DVDSubEdit



SubExtractor



Subtitle Edit



VobSub







Guides and How to's


DVD subtitles to srt text subtitles using DVDsubedit or subrip

- Read

How to convert DVD or sub/idx to text srt subtitles?

- Read

SubRip video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here


Download SubRip Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


The program alway crashe when I delete character in character matrix.

Review by BerthaTStock on Oct 13, 2015 Version: 1.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Hi SubRip team,

I was using SubRip 1.50 Beta 5 and then I saw you have Beta 7.

The Text and Outline Color does Not work, do not give the 3 Color Bar Choices. So, I tried Beta 6 version, same thing. But Beta 5 does give 3 color bars. To make sure is Not the file or me, I used Beta 7 again on another known Hard-subbed file which I already had extracted SRT From it using Beta 5 and same thing No Color Bars for Text or Outline.

Thanks!


Review by gonwk on Dec 5, 2014 Version: 1.50 Beta 7 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




SubRip 1.50 Beta 5
I can't delete character in character matrix. The program crashes.


Review by PBU on Feb 28, 2013 Version: 1.50 Beta 5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Indeed, it has the best letter/font recognition I've seen around. Thus it is the easiest way to rip bitmapped subtitles from DVDs. The downside is that it often outputs wrong timing and I have to re-sync almost all the subs afterwards. And it (still) doesn't support HD subtitles, so no ripping from BluRays - darn!


Review by pintcat on Apr 29, 2012 Version: 1.50 Beta 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 8/10




SubRip_1.50b5.zip might ask you for this
LIBGCC_S_SJLJ-1.DLL
and for
xvidcore.dll

I also got an error message:
OpenDMLSource("C:\movingpitchers\Inception(2010).avi", false) ConvertToRGB24()

It's kind of hard to use, i will look into all the guides, but it's not really a clear cut deal, AND it seems there's no other program like it out there, so ...




Review by KneeGrow on Apr 28, 2012 Version: 1.50b5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Works on
Windows XP x32,
Windows XP X64,
Windows XP IA-64 in compatibility mode
Windows 2000 x32
Windows Vista x32
Windows Vista x64
Windows Server 2003 (SXP)
Windows Server 2008 x32/x64 (SV)
Linux with Wine

PROs:
Rips DVD Subs, Image Subs, PNG Subs, and HARD-CODED SUBS!
Learns well when training.
Can be modified (using semi-source) by knowledgeable user to do non-Latin text.

CONS:
Hard to extend to non-latin text by average user
Slower than some rippers but more reliable.


Review by lostinlodos on Mar 21, 2009 Version: 1.5b4 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great subtitle tool.
It's very handy and you can't beat the price.

Too bad the last update listed is Nov 07, 2006. When working on my subs, it usually skips a letter or 2 without letting me input what it is and I have to go back afterwards and fill in the missing letters.


Review by somebodeez on Apr 7, 2008 Version: 1.50b4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very useful software for subtitle extraction (also the creation of srt files). OCR had difficulty reading the odd Sub file now and then.
Indispensable tool for foreign language films.

If you wish to uninstall it, just delete the directory. Be sure to save any char matrices if you think you'll need them later.

*If you installed using the installer from 1.20, remove from Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel.



Review by Captnhook on Mar 20, 2006 Version: 1.50b3 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have used the program for awhile now. It works great when used in conjunction with a character matrix file. Training it isn't difficult but time consuming.

Review by jmikeh on Sep 13, 2005 Version: 1.30 beta 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This wouldn't run on my XP Pro SP2 (would close immediately) until I set it to Win98 compatability mode. Works great otherwise. The time conversion is a little awkward for NTSCPAL or pulldown adjustments, would be nice to have frame rate adjustment in addition to time stretch.

Review by mrmoody on Nov 20, 2004 Version: 1.17.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




the 1.14 version works fine w/iauthor script but the recent versions from 1.15 to 1.17 have a problem w/colours
itīs a very nice tool to rip subs w/support for a lot formats


Review by 2man on Jun 11, 2003 Version: 1.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com