Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for QuEnc

15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews


The 0.75 alpha version can be found in the latest stable AVStoDVD in the QuEnc folder. It adds multi-threading. I've found this an excellent tool for converting HD resolution mkv to standard DVD9. Once you have used AVStoDVD to set things up, QuEnc may be utilized on its own just by making a link to the exe in the AVStoDVD QuEnc folder.

To get proper resize info when sizing down to standard DVD I recommend another old tool, FitCD. I simply change the LanczosResize line produced by FitCD to BilinearResize since I'm sizing down. If FitCD DVD output is set to NTSC 16x9 anamorphic then the resize and border info should produce the correct aspect ratio in the DVD output. The multi-threading combined with one pass CBR at a high bit rate(typically 8500 kbit for a movie 2 hours or less) results in high quality video .m2v file in a short amount of time.

Once you have the .m2v file, apply pulldown if needed, then just use the original audio(if it's ac3 as example) from the .mkv file to author a DVD9 ready to burn with Imgburn. I typically get over 40 fps using this version of QuEnc on an AMD 5200+ dual core PC.

The strange thing is I find shrinking the DVD9 to DVD5 using DVD Shrink or ReJig rivals a 2 pass encoding using HC encode for DVD5. The HC may look a bit better using Best profile, but at a cost of more than double the processing time. I use many apps that use HC and use it with avs scripts via the HCgui, so I'm not rapping HC. It's just that if you are willing to encode to 8500 CBR DVD9 a 120 minute or less film can look awfully good awfully quick using this QuEnc alpha.

I hope the author pics up QuEnc development again because it's a very nice tool.


Review by MilesAhead on May 4, 2011 Version: 0.75 alpha OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The Author DVD feature in the Advanced Options (small experimental Authoring App) of this program is great. It converts mpg file into dvd files - no menu and no chapters, just a simple dvd. It does the job well and fast.

I've been searching for another simple dvd authoring program that I can use, until I got to know this feature of QuEnc from a post in one of the forums here. Kudos to the author of QuEnc.


Review by v-sharp on Nov 27, 2006 Version: 0.61 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This little app gets 10's across the board! Faster than TMPGEnc with same (or even better?) quality! QuEnc encodes look superb on my standalones. A simple one-line AviSynth script is enough to get started; the more the merrier. I do have to reiterate same issue about bitrate as others have posted. With 5000 kbps setting, resulting MPG file showed over 10,000 kbps including audio in GSpot. If your set-top player can handle, than no worries.

Review by kevo777 on Nov 3, 2006 Version: 0.71 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have used this tool extensively with Cuttermaran and to downsize mpeg2 video from 5000 720x480 to 3000 352x480 in order to fit 6 30 minute shows on one DVD. This tool is horrible. The output is just terrible. Every 10 to 20 frames has about 4 to 8 frames of very blocky images, even using 5000kbits/s. These you can clearly see while running. When I use this to augment Cuttermaran so I can cut on B and P frames, even in 2 pass mode in extreme mode, the output is all blocky. This tool is entirely useless because it cannot encode with any kind of quality. If you need a software encoder, this is not it.

Review by itabb on Jul 31, 2006 Version: 0.70 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I have used this tool. The output mpeg2 file plays well and reports correct time. However when I use Video only it gave a time of less than a third of the correct value. The Audio only output reports correctly.

Review by vcmohan on Jul 25, 2006 Version: 0.70 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




My AVIs encoded using HuffYUV and Lagarith always come out at 25 MBit MPEG2s and my multiplexers fall over.

Review by dvd3500 on Nov 8, 2005 Version: .61 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a great tool that produces very good quality mpegs. My only gripe is that it does not respect the Max Bitrate. This is only a problem for playback on some DVD players (mine doesn't mind - my brother's chokes). I'm hoping that a new revision fixes this (eagerly waiting for a new revision - Nic?).

Review by bucho on Nov 7, 2005 Version: 0.61 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




i dont know if any one has noticed that u can now input avi files in this program now i tried a divx file and a xvid file and they both worked! however u have to make sure that the input file complies
with the output u want but i still use avisynth great tool


Review by whizz0 on May 25, 2005 Version: 0.61 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This could be better if it include a calculator like XviD.

Review by MAU777 on Mar 29, 2005 Version: 0.59 beta2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent tool! Faster and (imo) better quality than my old favourite TMPGEnc. Using mostly for interlaced PAL DV source.
Only problem - does not keep the max bitrate. What good is a pristine picture quality if your standalone will choke on the stream? A workaround has been to choose ridiculously low max bitrate and keep my fingers crossed. NuEnc seems to be better in this aspect, but it's hard to make up my mind about it since nobody seems to be commenting on it.
And the use of avisynth script as input is only natural, when one needs to process the video before encoding there is no better tool. I would actually never use a video conversion tool that couldn't open avisynth scripts!


Review by prepil on Dec 28, 2004 Version: 2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I tried this encoder on a lark and I am really surprised at what a good job it does. I encoded some home movies from my DV cam and I think the end result looked just as good as my old standby Tmpgenc. Thumbs up on this piece of freeware.

Review by kupton on Dec 4, 2004 Version: 0.56 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is great for a free MPEG2 encoder! From my experience it encodes interlaced video much better than TMPGEnc - an encoder that costs $50! QuEnc's still in it's early stages, but it can only get better. If there were a few more options, built-in MP2 encoding and batch encoding it would we perfect!

One note for video newbies though - you'll need to know how to use AviSynth scripts to make inputs for this.


Review by zilog_jones on Sep 24, 2004 Version: 0.54 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




just superb!
And you don't need to know much about Avisynth to get this thingy to work, just some of the basic, that's all, and I think the quality is great!


Review by saffy_ on Aug 11, 2004 Version: v0.53 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This encode will be great if it can open avi files directly.

Review by chotoboto on May 5, 2004 Version: 0.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10


15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com