Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Nero DiscSpeed

6 reviews, Showing 1 to 6 reviews


Nero DiscSpeed, 8-27-2012:
The version on this page, Help > About, is currently 7.0.2.100 and is copyright dated 2010. The DiscSpeed.exe file date is 11-29-2011. It appears to be the latest available.

Someone on a computer forum mentioned Nero DiscSpeed as a method to slow a DVD drive while playing a movie. Unfortunately, there is no such function. The forum poster mistook a test graphing option as a speed limiter. DiscSpeed is a small utility to measure the speed of an optical drive. It has many features and you can save your results.

Although the DiscSpeed.exe file is only 5.1 MB, this package also installs:
1) Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x86 Redistributable - 10.0.40219 11.1 MB
2) Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 x64 Redistributable - 10.0.40219 13.8 MB


Review by Cypherdude on Aug 27, 2012 Version: 7.0.2.100 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using 5.4.24.0 for some time, but wanted to check the latest version. 6.2.3.100 is mostly the same BUT when doing a Disc Quality scan of a DVD you can't limit the speed to 4x, as you could in past versions. At least on my system, the choices are either Maximum or 12x, which makes it hard to compare to scans made with earlier versions.

Also, a reminder: As with previous versions, if you want to do a Disc Quality scan with a Samsung drive (e.g., my SH-S203B) you must edit the registry value
HKCU\Soft\Nero\Nero 10\Nero Toolkit\Nero DiscSpeed\CD Quality\Blocked
and delete "SAMSUNG,TSST," from the start of the value


Review by jw113 on Aug 7, 2011 Version: 6.2.3.100 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Just download this as it's the only freeware that appeals to me and i've used before with good results, i've noticed the title says 5.4.24.0 well I download it from the official site http://www.nero.com/ena/tools-utilities.html and the properties report it was updated on november 2010 and it's version 6.2.3.100. To sum it up it's a great freeware.

Review by dylz on Feb 12, 2011 Version: 6.2.3.100 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Nero DiscSpeed 4 (4.11.2.0) is the last free version that works correctly. It works very well with my Lite-On burner.

My only complaint is regarding DL discs. The Quality scan may permanently freeze at the layer break, no way to recover except exit the software. Also the Jitter scan stops/aborts at the layer break, but I don't consider that very important.

The next released free version was 5.0.1.250 but when accessing the Options menu, an error message says a required .dll file is missing. I couldn't find any easy way to fix it.

It then became trialware (30 days) and was renamed "Opti Drive Control". I haven't tried these later versions.


Review by JohnnyBob on Jul 12, 2009 Version: 4.11.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a perfectly ideal freeware tool that can be used to test the quality of your CD-R,DVD+R,DVD-R and DL ect... burns to ensure that you are using good media,compatible with your CD/DVD Writer and that the speed at which you chose to write to the disc is an optimal choice.It has many other functions...
First test the disc using a Tranfer Rate Test (Hopefully you get a smooth reading curve which means,'excellent') and then scan for C1,C2 for CD-R and PIE,PIF,Jitter ect.. for DVD media.

Before using this tool,all you need to make sure of is that your CD/DVD drive is a reliable scanner!


Review by laspis59 on Feb 27, 2007 Version: 4.7.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool. It works in Vista, given that you have copied wnaspi32.dll first.

Review by ofbarea on Feb 26, 2007 Version: 4.7.0.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


6 reviews, Showing 1 to 6 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com