Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Media Player Classic looks just like Windows Media Player 6.4, but has many additional features. It has a built in DVD player with real-time zoom, support for AVI subtitles, QuickTime and RealVideo support (requires QuickTime and/or Real Player), built-in MPEG2/SVCD/DVD codec. No longer developed so use instead MPC-HC or MPC-BE.

8.9/10
53 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Media Player Classic screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

6.4.9.1 (February 14, 2010)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Media Player Classic 6.4.9.1  2MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download Media Player Classic old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


*106 Fixed wrong comment for Delay setting in DirectVobSub.
*105 Updated file formats list
*104 Updated copyright year
*103 libpng to version 1.2.37
*102 VSFilter: blacklisted Google Desktop(v2.39.5.2)
*101 VSFilter: change registry key name of Style to Style2 to prevent issues with old versions
*100 FLV Splitter: fix support for NELLYMOSER_8HZ_MONO
*99 Better match standard DirectShow behavior for selecting the source filter.
*98 Updated libpng to version 1.2.35
*97 Minor changes
*96 Updated libfaad to version 2.7
*95 Bump VSFilter version number and copyright year.(v2.39.5.1)
*94 Fixes to VFR support in Avisynth TextSub function, thanks to Conan Tantei.
*93 Have VSFilter.dll report a sane version number in the VERSIONINFO resource, instead of the useless numbers telling nothing about the actual version numbers everyone else uses (including the DShow filter's own About property page.)(v2.39.5.0)
*92 Add VFR capability to the Avisynth 2.5 VSFilter TextSub() and MaskSub() functions.
Also make both TextSub() and MaskSub() take named parameters instead of only positional ones.
*91 Updated libpng to version 1.2.34
*90 Matroska splitter: Theora support
*89 MP4 splitter: AC3 support
MP4 splitter: small bugfix
Matroska splitter: E-AC3 support
*88 Ogg splitter: Theora support
*87 Fixed buffer overrun in RealText subtitle parser (Released)

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Media Player Classic


BSPlayer



GOM Encoder



Kantaris Media Player



KMPlayer



MPC-BE



MPC-HC



PotPlayer



SMPlayer



VLC media player







Guides and How to's


YouTube, Google Video Download and DivX Conversion Guide

- Read

Media Player Classic video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

MPC



Download Media Player Classic Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




53 reviews, Showing 1 to 53 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Dreamer on Nov 2, 2018 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




MPC and MPC-HC are my favourite media players.
Using them about 6 years i think!

But this player may not be good for newbies, as sometimes some settings should be changed for proper playback!

(Yes i use other players too... at home MPC.)
(At work, college use VLC, KMP, GOM)


Review by kotuwa on May 26, 2012 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is exactly what I was looking for. I downloaded AVS, RealPlayer & Roxio before I found Media Player Classic. I highly recommend it.

Review by rshill5 on Jun 5, 2010 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




"Works better than mplayer2 but when you try and right click on a mpg and open with it cant find the file to play."

This is easy enough to fix.

- open Windows Explorer -> Tools -> Folder Options -> File Types.
- scroll down to MPG (or whatever file extension you want to open using MPC)
- click on Advanced -> New
- in the Acion field, enter: Media Player Classic
- in the Application... field, Browse to mplayerc.exe and select it
- add "%1" to the end, so that in the Application field, it reads like so:
"C:\Program Files\mplayer.exe" "%1"

The %1 represents the file you want to open (eg. movie.mpg), and the quotes around %1 is in case there are spaces in the path/filename (ie. to make it commandline-friendly).

When you right-click on an MPG file, it will now show "Media Player Classic" in the context menu.



"If only it was updated by the author."

You can use Media Player Classic Home Theatre, which is more or less a continuation of this project. MPC-HT is great. It even plays FLVs.


Review by obs on May 6, 2010 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Best video player - ever. Plays every sick and unknown video format. And can be configured to play anything else what can be played if necessary codec is provided. Gives you a lot of free time, because you won't ever need to get any other players.

Review by adijumi on Jun 6, 2009 Version: 1.2.991.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




YES. As you say, add ffdshow and it's the best combo ever with a very light footprint and no installation or registry crap. Microsoft lost the plot long ago with complex undecipherable hard-to-use bloatware (or saw that complexity ensured adding to its bottom line?) ... wish MS stood back and took stock and a leaf out of this crowd's book.

Review by halsboss on Mar 16, 2008 Version: latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best player ever! Add ffdshow, QT & Real alternative and you can play just about anything and have a light foot print on your PC, no bloated junk or a zillion codecs.

Review by OverBurn on Mar 16, 2008 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have looked for a free and simple software for playing video DVDs on my PC for a long time. Media player classic is perfect! Free, only a .exe (zipped, without installation effort) and works without problems. Thanks!

Review by mjh on Feb 22, 2008 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




If you are looking to play internet streaming music (open a url) than look somewhere else.


Review by GideonK on Sep 18, 2007 Version: 6.4.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I've just started using this little gem to play those tasty 4.3 or 7gb files with video content you seem to find a lot these days ;).

I use a wireless video transmitter to play them on my TV. With PowerDVD the sound was terrible and video playback seemed choppy as well.

MPC fixed these problems, so I'm quite happy now :)


Review by Phatrabbit on Jul 14, 2006 Version: 6.490 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Wonderful free player. It's my default player for all video files and mp3s. For me it beats WinDVD, WMP, VLC and PowerDVD. It can (hopefully) only get better.

Re: the previous poster's comment about it replaying mpeg files.
Go to options (last item in the View menu or simply press the 'O' key and select playback options. Click on the Play time(s) button and set value to 1.


Review by Keefkey on Feb 17, 2006 Version: 6.4.8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Nice easy to use video player, which I use a lot.
Excellent free DVD player as well.
The only grumble is that when playing an mpeg from my hard drive, it doesn't stop at the end of the file, it plays it from the beginning again.
Other than that, an excellent piece of freeware.


Review by Cole on Feb 17, 2006 Version: 6.4.8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It's a great player overall.

No have any problem for any files.

Light and robusted.

For Nero(Any)images use Daemon Tools,load Nero(any) image and player with MPC.Too easy.


Cauptain


Review by Cauptain on Feb 17, 2006 Version: 6.4.8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This ap will open an ISO and play the contents! I had no clue it could do that! Even Nero images play!

Review by otpw1 on Feb 16, 2006 Version: 6.485 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Best software MPEG-2 player I have used!

Review by mclark_au on Dec 10, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This doesn't play CDs properly. It cuts off the 1st second or so of each track. Doesn't have rewind either. Instead, the "rewind" knob is some weirdo "slow-motion" effect, which I never need to use!?

Weird multi-media player if you ask me!


Review by mattso on Dec 7, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




its a great free player
only slight gripe i have with the 6.4.8.6 is that it doesnt like ogm whereas 6.4.8.4 plays them fine


Review by hhhhbk on Nov 27, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool absolutely rocks, I have been using it a few weeks and it is my #1 player for video files. Great program!

And to the previous post, there is a way to save your settings. Look a little in the options dialog. You will find a check box that says "Save settings to ini file". Go there and all will be resolved.
Great Progam again!!!
Keep writen' man!


Review by Merlin7777 on Oct 31, 2005 Version: 6484 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This little program is great. I only started using it recently, but have made it my default media player since the first try. It's just so much quicker to load and load movies than WMP. Has played all formats so far as well.

I have only one small complaint and that is it doesn't retain certain settings after close or even when loading a new movie (such as locking in zoom, etc.). Not a problem, just a minor annoyance, but I can definately live with it. Terrific little player!


Review by jkleslie on Oct 31, 2005 Version: 6485 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Much faster than bloatware Windows MediaPlayer, this is simple and does exactly what is has to do with no frills, and even if something isn't supported just go find the codecs, as long as you have the right codecs it will play anything you throw at it, including xvid and divx 6. Even if its not supported it tells you exactly what data you need and tries to find it for you without the unhelpful crap Windoze player coughs up, or all the useless rubbish we don't need to 'make the player more intuitive'

Review by steptoe on Oct 29, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Uses very little HD space,very powerful tool that supports many files formats,extremely stable and fast loading.
Recommended to use with Quicktime Alternative and Real Alternative.Has a bonus feature of being able to play DVD's.Nice and simple interface.
What more could you want from a media player.
10\10 easily!


Review by laspis59 on Oct 29, 2005 Version: v6.4.8.4 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Ignore previous comment, Media Player Classic is one of the most powerfull software player. I've been using for several years and is the only player I need. Fast, easy to use, you can navigate precisely along the movie. Is the only player I know which can start a DVD with a double-click on VIDEO_TS.IFO file and this is an important feature if you work a lot with DVDs.

10/10 from me.


Review by kameleonoff on Oct 16, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.4 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I donno how about others, but I like MPC much more than VLC ;]
It's much easyer to configure and to use it..


Review by HaxLi on Aug 12, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




this app worked flawlessly. The one nice thing about this application is that it did not need to be installed. you can just copy the .exe to your desktop and run it from there to watch a movie. Why is this a good thing? well in a corporate environment most machines are locked down to prevent users from installing un-authorized software. No need to worry with this app. NOTE: i've only tried it on winXP sp2.

Review by zamboni_t on Mar 24, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This little gem just keeps getting better, only been using for less than 12 months but its my only & default player for all popular formats and more.

4 x 10 ratings from me again, and a big thanks to the developers.




Review by peterbuilt on Mar 22, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The Best! FINALLY they fixed the volume normalization bug that I had with the first version I started with! It took them sooo long... 2 years? MPC RULES!!!!

Review by State of Mind on Mar 22, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 10/10




Stick with v6482. This unofficial v6483 is very, very buggy. I disabled both the internal MPEG & AVI audio filters as instructed and still couldn't get it to close without generating errors. Starts up much slower, is slower to start playing the video and generally feels bloated compared to 6482.

Not a good release. Stay away from it and stick with 6482 instead.


Review by DRP on Feb 5, 2005 Version: mpc2kxp6483 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




This is my default player for DVD's (for AVI files I use BSPlayer mostly). IMO this player has a better picture with DVD's than PowerDVD, and it's freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. No contest.

Review by Zisguy1 on Jan 24, 2005 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




My default player for EVERYTHING. No fancy skins, just plays files like it should. Ditch all your video players and use this one.

Review by OverBurn on Dec 31, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If only it was updated by the author. I hear he took off on his own forums and went to work on a DirectX plugin for a PS2 emulator or something of that sort. I would LOVE for this program to be updated. if only he knew how many users he would relieve by doing so...

Review by State of Mind on Nov 14, 2004 Version: Latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




Excelent player! I'm using for more than 1 year and is the best! Can play everything, including DVD's (for DVD from HDD just select VIDEO_TS.IFO) and RealTime/QuickTime. A little complicate for navigation menu of DVD's, but this is a small problem. Congratiulations for the author!

Review by kameleonoff on Nov 14, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Must agree also with previous poster, Never had used this great little player, until finally installing the real & quicktime alternatives.
My fav player now, all the others have been deleted from my system.
Huge thumbs up to the developers.
Thanks




Review by peterbuilt on Nov 13, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




loves it :)
far better than WMP real player and quicktime
glad i was recommended it
once you go classic you dont go back


Review by hhhhbk on Nov 13, 2004 Version: 6.482 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




great product, except Keep Aspect Ratio has errors sometimes
with it on:
a 320:240 with a ASPECT RATIO of 4:3 enbedded in it will apply the 4:3 ratio to the 320:240 file... making it a 16:9
with it off: (to fix above problem)
svcd does not apply the ratio, and movie looks messed up


Review by herman_gill on Aug 27, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have made this comment before but I would like to make users aware of it again. The louder the volume gets in a video, the lower the volume will go down to "normalize" it with the rest of the audio. After the loudness goes down, the volume will not automatically return to the previous audio level. I think you will find that if you watch a movie and simply click the timeline at the current duration you are at, you will notice the volume increases. MPC has had this problem for several versions and needs to be fixed.

Review by State of Mind on Aug 3, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




Works better than mplayer2 but when you try and right click on a mpg and open with it cant find the file to play.

Review by johns0 on Aug 2, 2004 Version: MPC 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Fantastic player that plays VIDEO_TS folders, M2v, Mpv with no problems. Excellent for DVD authorers looking to preview thier DVDs before burning them. I noticed my xvid movies with ac3 soundtracks played just fine. The ac3 decoding is built into this player so there is no need to install a ac3 filter into your system.

Review by muppet meat on Jul 23, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AWESOME is the best word. It brings all the abilities of WMP, realplayer, quicktime into a package that is as friendly as WMP 6.4 and eats about as much resources as well. This things plays just about everything perfectly. Only reason I still even have WMP9 installed is that MPC doesnt have brightness controls for nonmpeg videos. If it gets that, goodbye WMP9.

To the developers, GREAT WORK guys!


Review by devinemi83 on Jun 27, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.1 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thank God! and these people. WMP9 is a bloated newbie player. I didn't want to take the time to strip XP from my new 2.8 ghz laptop but WMP9 was one of my main gripes. I had a .mpg1 that I ripped to use in a Powerpoint presentation that kept hanging at certain points when played back. Media Player classic didn't have that problem. Now if I could just get 'Web View" back in my folders.......

Review by wadebbie on Jun 17, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




not a bad player...plays a good number of codecs...HOWEVER, you must have these codecs already installed...not like videolan player which has built in codecs...

Review by sctele on May 3, 2004 Version: 6.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 4/10




The only problem I have with this program is an audio issue. For example, if I am watching DV footage that isn't too loud and then someone claps near the camera, the volume level goes down and doesn't go back up and I have to browse on the timeline just after the clapping to regain the volume level. This does not happen with Zoom Player but I prefer MPC. Can someone suggest a solution to this problem for me?

Review by State of Mind on Apr 15, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




march 16, 2004 change log

Changes:
Mpeg video decoder: implemented frame-dropping (b-frames only) when running late and added a new sse2 idct (intel's code, AP-945), now high-definition clips should keep the sync at least :)
Mpeg splitter: plays discontinuous/joint files to the end but seeking still broken with those, also recognizes aac streams and misdetects others as lpcm less frequently
New aac decoder based on libfaad, coreaac didn't handle mpeg's aac very well for some reason (he-aac, stereo downmixing supported)
Volume normalizer can be "boosted" a bit in case you find the level still low, look for the slider next to the normalize checkbox
Added a /nofocus command line switch. Guess what it does! Through the web interface browse.html also accepts a focus=no GET parameter with the same effect
More fine tuning of the internal splitters' packet buffering.
Fixed the "higher than normal" priority option, it was not applied after reopening the player.
New option to launch files in fullscreen (checkbox at options/player)
7th internal logo by Steve Smith (looks very nice), if you made any in the past contact me again and I'll add your name to the logo chooser page, next to your logo. For now with the exception of the new one, only an "Author unknown" text will be displayed there because I can't remember which one came from who
Fixed the file browser not displaying anything on cd drives under xp, when the recording feature of the operating system is enabled
Almost 200KB increase in file size! No, it's not (just) the logo (~50k compressed), but libfaad was also huge :)
For those who can recompile the sources: running filters.bat is no longer needed. After adding the lib of the new aac decoder onto the list VC couldn't link it anymore (it crashed...), so I had to add each lib separately to the additional dependecies of mpc to overcome this problem.


Review by BJ_M on Mar 16, 2004 Version: 6.4.8.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Ooops... of course it needs codecs. What I wanted to say below was that MPC doesn't need a separate mpeg2 decoder (it has it built-in).

Review by migf1 on Feb 23, 2004 Version: 6.4.7.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just brilliant! No need for codecs, no installation, no fancy system overload bs, no hassles!

Plain, easy, effective, all-in-one player.

A must!


Review by migf1 on Feb 22, 2004 Version: 6.4.7.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




An excellent program which I have used since the very earliest versions. My only gripe is that updates get released a little *too* frequently, with barely a week going by without seeing a new decimal point increment in circulation.

Unfortunately 6.4.7.8 (the most recent update @ time of writing) breaks .ASX playlist support. I had to revert to 6.4.7.7 to play my existing .ASX files. Shame :(


Review by acanthis on Feb 19, 2004 Version: 6.4.7.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




YES!!! Image Capture from video implemented. This makes MPC even better! A++. Notice how I rated "Value for money" as 1. Basically, I feel this should always be freeware. Awesome program!

Review by State of Mind on Feb 17, 2004 Version: 6.4.7.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 10/10




This is brilliant.

I have noticed tho, it sometimes chokes and locks up when playing ac3 sound files.

A reboot USUALLY fixes this, so maybe it's not a MPC 6471 fault?


Review by Fluffbutt on Dec 6, 2003 Version: 6471 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The only problem I have with this program is that when I watch some movies, the video stops part way through and starts over. I don't know whether this is something DivX AntiFreeze can fix, though. I'll have to try.

Review by State of Mind on Dec 5, 2003 Version: 6.4.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 9/10




Fantastic little player - forget bloatware Win Media player this runs rings around it

Review by D_Knife on Sep 23, 2003 Version: 4.6.6.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best video player.

Review by test on Sep 8, 2003 Version: 6461 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




the very best version ever made of media player ...



Review by BJ_M on Jul 14, 2003 Version: unknown OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The most recent version allows one to specify which Directshow filters that will be used for playing back the video file. This is tremendous. If you download lots of video programs, you will get tons of video filters installed on your system, with no control over which one is used by Windows Media Player to play back a given format. This program allows the control and allows you to understand which filters are being used, which filters clash, and which work best. It supports DVD and (S)VCD playback as well. It allows me to play back WMV 9 perfectly, when Windows Media Player itself screws up playing back that (its own!) format (which about the only reason for using the most recent version of Windows Media Player in the first place.)

Review by David K on Jul 1, 2003 Version: 6.4.5.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


53 reviews, Showing 1 to 53 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com