Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
DVDFab Passkey, works as a DVD Decrypter, Blu-ray decrypter, is a simple combination of Passkey for DVD and Passkey for Blu-ray. Compared with registered version, this Passkey Lite has its own limitation on dealing with certain protections on some DVD/Blu-ray movies. In other words, Passkey Lite cannot help you backup movies with certain protections, but, you can still freely watch them. To movies without those certain protections, you can use other software to access unprotected contents with the help of Passkey Lite. Full version costs from $40.

Freeware Trialware
OS: Win
File size: 15.6MB
Old versions
Version history
7.6/10
28 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

DVDFab Passkey screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


DVDFab Passkey screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

9.3.5.8 (September 26, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download DVDFab Passkey 9.3.5.8  15.6MB  Win




Download old versions


Download DVDFab Passkey old versions



Software License

Freeware/Trialware (Free download but some features are limited to pro/premium version )



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


September 26, 2019
Passkey 9.3.5.8 Updated!
New: Added the support for some new Java protections.

View full changelog




All features


Overview of Passkey for Blu-ray ($60)

DVDFab Passkey for Blu-ray is powerful in decryption. Any copy protections and region code are in no mean any barriers in front of it. With its fast reading process and strong decrypting ability, you can watch your protected Blu-ray in no time.
If you are not content with just watching them, then you can use other compatible software to edit them, such as copy, clone, burning, etc.
And, it's the most easy-to-use software you've ever met in fact. You can finish all the process intuitively, even no need to click or tap when it's running. You will be impressed!


Overview of Passkey for DVD ($40)

DVDFab Passkey for DVD is a great DVD decrypter, which can remove all the DVD protections on the go and let you get rid of region code troubles to help you freely watch any DVD without any limit and without any wait.
Not enough! Besides the "freely enjoy any DVD" feature, it can also work with numerous software to let you access the unprotected DVD content then copy, burn, clone, rip, convert them or do any editing you wish.
Passkey for DVD is really easy to operate. Almost everything is finished automatically, you don't even need to do any clicking. The reading speed is very fast, all decryption work can be done within seconds.


Overview of Passkey Lite (free)

Passkey Lite is a free and a simple two-in-one version of Passkey for DVD and Passkey for Blu-ray, and supports part of the functions they have.
It can still decrypt protected DVD and Blu-ray, but not for all of them. For example, it can't remove AACS V12+, BD+, BDAV, and AVCREC for Blu-ray, so you are not allowed to watch movies with those protections. It doesn't support CPRM for DVD, and PathPlayer is not enabled, so ARccOS, RipGuard, FluxDVD, and CORE X2 can't be removed. As a result, you can't copy those still protected DVDs , but you are able to freely watch them.
What adds punch to Passkey Lite is it can work with all the software that Passkey for DVD and Passkey for Blu-ray works with. You are enabled to use these apps to play/copy/rip the unprotected DVD/Blu-ray discs.




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to DVDFab Passkey


AnyDVD HD







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

DVDFabPasskey, DVDFab Passkey lite, DVDFab Fly, DVDFab Passkey DVD, DVDFab Passkey Blu-ray, DVDFab Passkey Bluray




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




28 reviews, Showing 1 to 28 reviews


Van S, I'm not sure what you are doing wrong but I assure you that it is probably operator error. I've used Passkey for at least a dozen years and it has never let me down. Be sure to reboot your computer after installing. Follow their instructions exactly. It works and it works perfectly when you do.

Review by Gripweed on Mar 17, 2019 Version: 9.3.3.8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10





worst piece of crap I have ever tried to use. will not open any discs, comes up with errors and says it cannot open. I have tried to reinstall, and setup but even though I paid them for 2 years service it will not allow me in or even send a new passcode


Review by Van S on Mar 16, 2019 Version: 9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I purchased a lifetime key for Passkey for DVD/Blu-ray at a pretty good discounted price. It performs just as good as AnyDVD HD for my needs, it was cheaper, and the purchasing process was quicker/easier than trying to purchase from RedFox. I purchased a lifetime key from SlySoft many years ago but it no longer works since SlySoft was shut down.

Highly recommended!


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Jan 5, 2017 Version: 9.1.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It is now PayWare. Blew away my free license once it went to version 9.

Review by mail2tom on Oct 28, 2016 Version: 9 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I uninstalled v9 as soon as found that it expired my free giveaway version in 30 days,never gonna use it again,was way slower than makemkv in extracting the blu-ray files.

Review by johns0 on Sep 6, 2016 Version: 9.0.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The free ride is over for those who got the giveaway keys which do not appear to with with version 9.0.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Sep 5, 2016 Version: 8.2.8.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




DVD shrink seems to not like these rips on DVD. Invalid data error message. Shrink still works on any other rip from dvdfabdecryptor. The RIP still works as a media file, no problem.

Review by beingfunny on Jun 23, 2016 Version: 8.2.7.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




DVDFab PassKey full version is being given away until Dec 7 2015
This is their description of what is included -
"Passkey installer includes Passkey for DVD, Passkey for Blu-ray and Passkey Lite (free version), and it is only for Windows platform;"
Here is the page where you enter your email address (I had to render the page style to 'no style' so I could see it) and submit it.
http://www.dvdfab.cn/promotion.htm?ad=newsletter151127
They will send an email with a download link, and an attached key.


Review by RobCr on Nov 27, 2015 Version: 8.2.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I've owned and used DVDFab Passkey (with a lifetime license) for about 3 weeks. I've listed all ratings in the middle of the range because when it works it works well, but I have had it fail to read four 2 to 3 year old BD's. At this time I wish I had gone with AnyDVD HD even though it costs more.

Review by Harpmaker45 on Sep 4, 2013 Version: 8.1.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Installed DVDFabPasskey8045 over a previous install. I have no key it was just to test trial mode for a dvd. After the install it requested a reboot which I did. When the system rebooted I got a protection error and it pointed to this program. I just closed the message box and continued and then got the blue screen of death "blah blah to protect your system". Upon a hard reboot I got the message saying window recovered from a serious error ...... again it blamed this program. This never happened with the previous versions but I was certainly a few versions out of date. Uninstalled it all, deleted temp files and cleaned my registry so don't have any further info.

btw) My ratings are meaningless


Review by gll99 on Jan 15, 2012 Version: 8045 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




I don't think it's better than AnyDVD, yet. It's still a working progress.

Review by Ally68 on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Hi everybody! I have been testing Pass key since the very first version. I have been sampling with DVD's only because I refuse to buy another blu-ray rom (it broke) and it's products because of the high cost involved and allot of people believe that blu-ray will eventually die as DVD lives on. I have been ripping with Nero 8,9 and (10) which is Multimedia suite. No problems now with older movies since this new version was released which is great.
I rated 9 for value of money and 8 as an over all score because I have no idea how Nero will respond with ripping & recoding blu-ray. I am waiting for higher quality Blu-ray burners to drop in price here in Canada although I do have my eye on HP's sexy slim line USB Blu-ray burner for notebooks.


Review by dvdsham on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi Backpain, why don't you point out the problem in detail?

Hi mail2tom, for your problem, it's same for AnyDVD, and you can exclude the drive which will do burning from Passkey to solve it.


Review by fengtao on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I guess the programmers are patting them self's on the back for bad software. I am glad that some one else has problems with it.

Review by Backpain on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




I gave DVDFab Passkey Beta/Lite a try and had a interesting problem come up that may or may not be associated with the program. Up until the time I installed Passkey I had no problem burning and verifying Blu-Ray compilations I had created with MultiAVCHD and burned with ImgBurn. Once I installed Passkey all my burns would fail verification. After I uninstalled Passkey all my disks would pass verification. The disks I used before and after were all from the same package of disks, and I would find it strange that 5 disks, consecutively packed, would be bad. Coincidence?

Review by mail2tom on Nov 12, 2010 Version: 7.0.5.7beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Hi Backpain,

We are developers of Passkey.

In our testing, Passkey outperforms AnyDVD in many areas. Please read our blog:

http://blog.dvdfab.com/dvdfab-passkey-always-gets ... ience.html

And the most important thing, in my option, is Passkey need less resources than AnyDVD. As a program always running in the background, I think it's the critical issue.

Let me compare both for you:

Setup File Size DVDFab(1.9MB) AnyDVD(6.2MB)
Memory Usage DVDFab(~2MB) AnyDVD(~8MB)

It's tested on my Windows 7 64-bit OS.

Best Regards,
Fengtao


Review by fengtao on Nov 12, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Caused Windows 7 to have many issues with other programs and did not work as stated by the programmers. Have been using AnyDVD from the very beginning. I will stick with AnyDVD and will stop using this poor functioning software.

Review by Backpain on Nov 11, 2010 Version: 6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




So far, Passkey is working great. While still free I would use it in place of AnyDVD even though Passkey seems to require twice the memory as AnyDVD (12MB as opposed to 6MB for AnyDVD on my laptop). Unless the memory footprint decreases, I would continue to use AnyDVD as soon as Passkey is out of beta and payment is required, though. But Passkey still seems to be a great piece of software, except for the memory footprint.

Review by akageekster on Jul 25, 2010 Version: 7.0.3.2 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been critical in the past of DVDFab and DVDFabHDDecrypter for various reasons. Now I'd like to make amends. PassKey is IMO every bit as good as AnyDVDHD. I haven't yet found a Blu-Ray disc it can't handle, some of the discs tested having recent protections. When it becomes payware, if it is priced sensibly (i.e. less than AnyDVDHD), this will be the better choice.

Review by fritzi93 on Jun 8, 2010 Version: 7.0.2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Passkey works great with all transcoders or if you want to drag and drop.
Passkey(beta) is a free alternative to the expensive AnyDVD, I'm sure Fengtao will eventually make a pay version but I will gladly pay for it.


Review by MOVIEGEEK on May 2, 2010 Version: 7.0.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried an earlier version with DVD Shrink but it wouldn't work. There were no operating instructions for it that I could find.

Then I tried to rip a recently released DVD movie with DVDFab6 which caused an error, but there was no error when DVD Passkey 7.0.1.0 was activated. So it looks like they're concentrating on DVD Passkey to handle the latest protections.


Review by JohnnyBob on Mar 25, 2010 Version: 7.0.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




very promising tool used with dvdfab 6 have made back up bluyray discs both direct copies & movie only used TotalMedia Theatre 3 to play discs and hard drive movie folders

Review by dessieclive on Mar 18, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.8 Beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Works great and is compatible with CloneDVD2 for ripping.

Review by RhoTrux on Mar 13, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks for the tip kip!

Review by GKar on Mar 13, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




PassKey will work with DVDShrink, however, you need to disable PathPlayer in the settings. you will get a couple of messages that you can disregard when using Shrink. I would recommend you allow PathPlayer when not using Shrink.

Review by kip on Mar 12, 2010 Version: 7006 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried it out on a tough movie only rip (Surrogates) and it worked. DVDShrink wouldn't work with it but Ripit4me (DVDDecrypter) worked fine as the ripping tool. I think the authors are moving in the right direction.

Review by GKar on Mar 8, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Using it for several days now and it is working fine. It will mature and be a big competitor for Slysoft before long. But for now it does have a way to go to get there.

Review by kip on Mar 7, 2010 Version: 7.002 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works similar to anydvd. I used this in conjunction with the old free dvd decrypter to remove the protection from a recent commercial dvd and rip it to my hard drive. Also let me play my commercial dvd with vlc. Works as expected. Free right now while it's in beta.

Review by freebird73717 on Mar 7, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


28 reviews, Showing 1 to 28 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com