Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.






Software Home »



All reviews for DVDFab Passkey

31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews


Rating by zooyi on May 18, 2021 Version: 9412 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Too much focus on DVDFab. The program is mediocre.

Review by hevron on Aug 14, 2020 Version: 0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I purchased this software so I could rip my DVDs to digital media and store on my home media server. It worked fine on most of my DVDs, but there were some that it would only decrypt part of the media. For example, the Hobbit - An Unexpected Journey all it decrypted was a 3 minute anti-smoking ad. There were others with similar issues. I reported it to the developers, provided the logs and so forth - that was 2 weeks ago, still no fix. I gave up and downloaded AnyDVD 8.3.9.0 and it worked on all the DVDs that DVDFab did not. Maybe they will get it fixed, maybe not.

Review by Beau on Jan 9, 2020 Version: 9.3.6.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




Van S, I'm not sure what you are doing wrong but I assure you that it is probably operator error. I've used Passkey for at least a dozen years and it has never let me down. Be sure to reboot your computer after installing. Follow their instructions exactly. It works and it works perfectly when you do.

Review by Gripweed on Mar 17, 2019 Version: 9.3.3.8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




worst piece of crap I have ever tried to use. will not open any discs, comes up with errors and says it cannot open. I have tried to reinstall, and setup but even though I paid them for 2 years service it will not allow me in or even send a new passcode

Review by Van S on Mar 16, 2019 Version: 9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I purchased a lifetime key for Passkey for DVD/Blu-ray at a pretty good discounted price. It performs just as good as AnyDVD HD for my needs, it was cheaper, and the purchasing process was quicker/easier than trying to purchase from RedFox. I purchased a lifetime key from SlySoft many years ago but it no longer works since SlySoft was shut down.

Highly recommended!


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Jan 5, 2017 Version: 9.1.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It is now PayWare. Blew away my free license once it went to version 9.

Review by mail2tom on Oct 28, 2016 Version: 9 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I uninstalled v9 as soon as found that it expired my free giveaway version in 30 days,never gonna use it again,was way slower than makemkv in extracting the blu-ray files.

Review by johns0 on Sep 6, 2016 Version: 9.0.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The free ride is over for those who got the giveaway keys which do not appear to with with version 9.0.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Sep 5, 2016 Version: 8.2.8.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




DVD shrink seems to not like these rips on DVD. Invalid data error message. Shrink still works on any other rip from dvdfabdecryptor. The RIP still works as a media file, no problem.

Review by beingfunny on Jun 23, 2016 Version: 8.2.7.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




DVDFab PassKey full version is being given away until Dec 7 2015
This is their description of what is included -
"Passkey installer includes Passkey for DVD, Passkey for Blu-ray and Passkey Lite (free version), and it is only for Windows platform;"
Here is the page where you enter your email address (I had to render the page style to 'no style' so I could see it) and submit it.
http://www.dvdfab.cn/promotion.htm?ad=newsletter151127
They will send an email with a download link, and an attached key.


Review by RobCr on Nov 27, 2015 Version: 8.2.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I've owned and used DVDFab Passkey (with a lifetime license) for about 3 weeks. I've listed all ratings in the middle of the range because when it works it works well, but I have had it fail to read four 2 to 3 year old BD's. At this time I wish I had gone with AnyDVD HD even though it costs more.

Review by Harpmaker45 on Sep 4, 2013 Version: 8.1.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Installed DVDFabPasskey8045 over a previous install. I have no key it was just to test trial mode for a dvd. After the install it requested a reboot which I did. When the system rebooted I got a protection error and it pointed to this program. I just closed the message box and continued and then got the blue screen of death "blah blah to protect your system". Upon a hard reboot I got the message saying window recovered from a serious error ...... again it blamed this program. This never happened with the previous versions but I was certainly a few versions out of date. Uninstalled it all, deleted temp files and cleaned my registry so don't have any further info.

btw) My ratings are meaningless


Review by gll99 on Jan 15, 2012 Version: 8045 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




I don't think it's better than AnyDVD, yet. It's still a working progress.

Review by Ally68 on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Hi everybody! I have been testing Pass key since the very first version. I have been sampling with DVD's only because I refuse to buy another blu-ray rom (it broke) and it's products because of the high cost involved and allot of people believe that blu-ray will eventually die as DVD lives on. I have been ripping with Nero 8,9 and (10) which is Multimedia suite. No problems now with older movies since this new version was released which is great.
I rated 9 for value of money and 8 as an over all score because I have no idea how Nero will respond with ripping & recoding blu-ray. I am waiting for higher quality Blu-ray burners to drop in price here in Canada although I do have my eye on HP's sexy slim line USB Blu-ray burner for notebooks.


Review by dvdsham on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi Backpain, why don't you point out the problem in detail?

Hi mail2tom, for your problem, it's same for AnyDVD, and you can exclude the drive which will do burning from Passkey to solve it.


Review by fengtao on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I guess the programmers are patting them self's on the back for bad software. I am glad that some one else has problems with it.

Review by Backpain on Nov 13, 2010 Version: 8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




I gave DVDFab Passkey Beta/Lite a try and had a interesting problem come up that may or may not be associated with the program. Up until the time I installed Passkey I had no problem burning and verifying Blu-Ray compilations I had created with MultiAVCHD and burned with ImgBurn. Once I installed Passkey all my burns would fail verification. After I uninstalled Passkey all my disks would pass verification. The disks I used before and after were all from the same package of disks, and I would find it strange that 5 disks, consecutively packed, would be bad. Coincidence?

Review by mail2tom on Nov 12, 2010 Version: 7.0.5.7beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Hi Backpain,

We are developers of Passkey.

In our testing, Passkey outperforms AnyDVD in many areas. Please read our blog:

http://blog.dvdfab.com/dvdfab-passkey-always-gets ... ience.html

And the most important thing, in my option, is Passkey need less resources than AnyDVD. As a program always running in the background, I think it's the critical issue.

Let me compare both for you:

Setup File Size DVDFab(1.9MB) AnyDVD(6.2MB)
Memory Usage DVDFab(~2MB) AnyDVD(~8MB)

It's tested on my Windows 7 64-bit OS.

Best Regards,
Fengtao


Review by fengtao on Nov 12, 2010 Version: 8.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Caused Windows 7 to have many issues with other programs and did not work as stated by the programmers. Have been using AnyDVD from the very beginning. I will stick with AnyDVD and will stop using this poor functioning software.

Review by Backpain on Nov 11, 2010 Version: 6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




So far, Passkey is working great. While still free I would use it in place of AnyDVD even though Passkey seems to require twice the memory as AnyDVD (12MB as opposed to 6MB for AnyDVD on my laptop). Unless the memory footprint decreases, I would continue to use AnyDVD as soon as Passkey is out of beta and payment is required, though. But Passkey still seems to be a great piece of software, except for the memory footprint.

Review by akageekster on Jul 25, 2010 Version: 7.0.3.2 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been critical in the past of DVDFab and DVDFabHDDecrypter for various reasons. Now I'd like to make amends. PassKey is IMO every bit as good as AnyDVDHD. I haven't yet found a Blu-Ray disc it can't handle, some of the discs tested having recent protections. When it becomes payware, if it is priced sensibly (i.e. less than AnyDVDHD), this will be the better choice.

Review by fritzi93 on Jun 8, 2010 Version: 7.0.2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Passkey works great with all transcoders or if you want to drag and drop.
Passkey(beta) is a free alternative to the expensive AnyDVD, I'm sure Fengtao will eventually make a pay version but I will gladly pay for it.


Review by MOVIEGEEK on May 2, 2010 Version: 7.0.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried an earlier version with DVD Shrink but it wouldn't work. There were no operating instructions for it that I could find.

Then I tried to rip a recently released DVD movie with DVDFab6 which caused an error, but there was no error when DVD Passkey 7.0.1.0 was activated. So it looks like they're concentrating on DVD Passkey to handle the latest protections.


Review by JohnnyBob on Mar 25, 2010 Version: 7.0.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




very promising tool used with dvdfab 6 have made back up bluyray discs both direct copies & movie only used TotalMedia Theatre 3 to play discs and hard drive movie folders

Review by dessieclive on Mar 18, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.8 Beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Works great and is compatible with CloneDVD2 for ripping.

Review by RhoTrux on Mar 13, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks for the tip kip!

Review by GKar on Mar 13, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




PassKey will work with DVDShrink, however, you need to disable PathPlayer in the settings. you will get a couple of messages that you can disregard when using Shrink. I would recommend you allow PathPlayer when not using Shrink.

Review by kip on Mar 12, 2010 Version: 7006 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried it out on a tough movie only rip (Surrogates) and it worked. DVDShrink wouldn't work with it but Ripit4me (DVDDecrypter) worked fine as the ripping tool. I think the authors are moving in the right direction.

Review by GKar on Mar 8, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Using it for several days now and it is working fine. It will mature and be a big competitor for Slysoft before long. But for now it does have a way to go to get there.

Review by kip on Mar 7, 2010 Version: 7.002 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works similar to anydvd. I used this in conjunction with the old free dvd decrypter to remove the protection from a recent commercial dvd and rip it to my hard drive. Also let me play my commercial dvd with vlc. Works as expected. Free right now while it's in beta.

Review by freebird73717 on Mar 7, 2010 Version: 7.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com