Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try PlayON and record all your Netflix, HBO, Hulu, Amazon series and movies and watch it offline. Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for youtube-dl

47 reviews, Showing 1 to 47 reviews


One of the best downloaders

Review by ChezBompaLawijt on Sep 13, 2020 Version: 2020.09.14 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is absolutely beautiful software that can capture video from numerous websites. The only issue I have for this is it does not currently support all the sites it claims to (totally understandable since sites are constantly updating their security). Most specifically, the Turner networks (TNT, TBS...). There is an issue with the audio on their sites. This message pops up a few minutes into every download "non-monotonous DTS in output stream 0:0 this may result in incorrect time stamps in the output file". It appears the entire video is collected properly (run it through ffmpeg post download and the video is all there), but a significant amount of the audio is missed making the file useless. Apart from that, it's an absolutely amazing product. And for those of you who are simply complaining, please remember this software comes from a group of people donating their talents and time to a product we are provided free of charge, so to the negative commenters, how about you resolve the issues you are having yourself and post the solutions up here yourself? Thank you again to the developers and maintainers for all your hard work! Please keep it up, you are very much appreciated!

Review by olpdog on Jun 11, 2020 Version: 2020.06.06 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks a lot Gripweed for the help!

Never knew about TubeDigger before but its great!


Review by Virablatira on Jun 6, 2020 Version: 2020-05-29 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Virablatira,
You are correct. I tried 3 programs (youtube-dl-gui, VSO Downloader 5, and TVDownloader) that use youtube-dl as their core and they did not work on watch.pokemon.com. Get Tubedigger. It had no problem downloading Pokemon. I've actually never had it fail on any video site I've used it on.


Review by Gripweed on Jun 5, 2020 Version: 2020.05.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi

I see that Pokemon is still a supported site. But Pokemon.com changed the page with the TV episodes in 2019 and after that Youtube dl doesnt seem to work.

I have tried a command line like this but with no success.
youtube-dl.exe --format best https://watch.pokemon.com/sv-se/player.html?id=360e38974b0045ce9d31d0280b294c8f

Like I said it worked great before. If someone have any hints or help I would be very happy.

Regards
Hans


Review by Virablatira on Jun 5, 2020 Version: 2020.05.29 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Purple&Gold on Apr 11, 2020 Version: 2020.03.24 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by hangar0 on Feb 13, 2020 Version: 2020.01.24 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




make a folder for youtube-dl and ffmpeg,
and append the folder name to your system PATH variable(google for how to add a path to your PATH environment variable).
now you can run youtube-dl in any directory where you launch the command prompt window.
by default, youtube-dl saves your file in the directory where it is run.

youtube-dl's config file is located here;
c:\Users\YourUserName\youtube-dl.conf

put your youtube-dl commandline options in this plain text file like below so you don't have to write them everytime;
--no-mtime
--continue
--ignore-errors
--no-overwrites
--console-title
--output "%(title)s %(width)sx%(height)s@%(fps)s by %(uploader)s.%(ext)s"
--write-thumbnail

now, you open a command prompt window, go to the output folder you want and run a command like this;
youtube-dl -f 140 WAbSRTYndVw

youtube has two audio only tracks for normal stereo audio sources, one is aac in m4a, the other is opus in weba(audio only webm).
aac's format number is 140 and opus is 251.

hope this is helpful


Review by yonta on Feb 12, 2020 Version: latest OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




need help please..

Hi

So just to start i have downloaded both avcon and FFmpeg so that shouldnt be a problem
However, what im trying to do is to download only the audio file from video (preferrably mp3 since m4a sometimes shows up only under my video files/ albums and wont play when connected to the bluetooth in my car) but extract that audio file from videos I get from places like Youtube, Soundcloud, and Vimeo...

From the research ive done I have come up with this to type in the terminal

youtube-dl --output "%(title)s.%(ext)s" --extract-audio --audio-format mp3 --audio-quality 0 --add-metadata --write-thumbnail "Video URL"
Now i dont know I am most likely totally off but im not to familiar with these languages or working with the terminal so ill be proud if im even close lol..

But essentially what i would ultimately want or like to have is for it to download the audio only (mp3 prefferably or a format that will always work when connecting my iphone to the bluetooth in my car) the title of the song, artist, thumbnail, and I think possibly the metadata even though im not to sure what that would be used for other than to help identify things like the album and artist and what not.. but maybe im wrong.. so who knows maybe i dont need or want that part after all..


Also and i hope its not to mch to ask i would also like to be able to save these audio files in a place besides the home directory where it automatically saves..

From doing my research ive come across this as the way to do it

mkdir -p ~/.config/youtube-dl/

echo "-o ~/Downloads/%(title)s-%(id)s.%(ext)s" > ~/.config/youtube-dl/config
Now other than the mkdir standing for make a directory i have no idea what that stuff even means.. when i have worked with the terminal in the past i did things like chmod +x and then cd and then would drag the folder directly in the terminal and it would auto generate the path for me..

So can anybody please help me out?

This is really confusing for me and ive been working on it all day

Literally..

Thanks!


Review by BabyJay on Feb 11, 2020 Version: 2020.01.24 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wakaku on Mar 12, 2019 Version: 2019.3.9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Why with other downloaders I am able to get real 4K from YT while with youtube-dl I obtain only 720p for the same video?? Unacceptable!

Review by anuswara on Nov 8, 2018 Version: Windows OS: Vista Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




@tigerb
By the way, Internet Download Manager can download the video on that http://en.atleticodemadrid.com/ page and will offer you 4 resolutions from 360p > 1080p.


Review by mike20021969 on Nov 4, 2018 Version: 2018.11.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




@tigerb

You cant use "https://player.vimeo.com/" to download with this software.
I thknk you need to watch the video on vimeo itself and get a "https://vimeo.com/video/" type URL to give youtube dl otherwise you get a message like this:

ERROR: Cannot download embed-only video without embedding URL. Please call youtu
be-dl with the URL of the page that embeds this video.


Review by mike20021969 on Nov 4, 2018 Version: 2018.11.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




@mike20021969, the new video is available on the site now!

Site:
http://en.atleticodemadrid.com/

Video:
https://player.vimeo.com/video/298745567?autoplay=1&color=f11310&title=0&byline=0&portrait=0



Review by tigerb on Nov 4, 2018 Version: 2018.11.03 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




@TuNk
Downloading audio only works here.

e.g. (your own path here) -f 140 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjUCyFZ5iic


Review by mike20021969 on Nov 1, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Downloading audio only does not work with youtube-dl 2018.10.29 for Windows.
But, youtube-dl 2018.10.05 works with audio only (--extract-audio --audio-quality 0)


Review by TuNk on Nov 1, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@mike20021969, the video is now no longer available, they usually list the video only for a few days after the match.

@pintcat, thanks, will try "youtube-dl http://en.atleticodemadrid.com/ -F" for the next video/match.



Review by tigerb on Oct 31, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




@tigerb:

Just call this: "youtube-dl http://en.atleticodemadrid.com/ -F" You will get a list of available formats for every embedded video found on this side while every video is considered as part of a playlist. Now choose your desired one by using the --playlist-start and --playlist-end commands.


Review by pintcat on Oct 30, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: Linux Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




@tigerb

Are you sure the video is still available?
If it is, wWatch the video on Vimeo itself then use that page URL.

I cant see it using https://vimeo.com/297511002 - "Sorry, we couldn’t find that page" - so it's either not available or hidden or private...?


Review by mike20021969 on Oct 30, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




@mike20021969,thanks!

https://player.vimeo.com/video/297511002, I got it from http://en.atleticodemadrid.com/, how should I code it?


Review by tigerb on Oct 29, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




@tigerb

RE: https://player.vimeo.com/video/297511002

ERROR: Cannot download embed-only video without embedding URL. Please call youtu
be-dl with the URL of the page that embeds this video.


Review by mike20021969 on Oct 29, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




@Noitidart

[info] Available formats for Pb4fb3zeudE:
format code extension resolution note
249 webm audio only DASH audio 54k , opus @ 50k, 1.22MiB
250 webm audio only DASH audio 72k , opus @ 70k, 1.62MiB
171 webm audio only DASH audio 141k , vorbis@128k, 3.22MiB
251 webm audio only DASH audio 144k , opus @160k, 3.24MiB
140 m4a audio only DASH audio 146k , m4a_dash container, mp4a.4
0.2@128k, 3.03MiB

So try something like this (add your own path where * is):
* -f 140 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb4fb3zeudE


Review by mike20021969 on Oct 29, 2018 Version: 2018.10.29 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




https://player.vimeo.com/video/297511002?autoplay=1&color=f11310&title=0&byline=0&portrait=0

Using:
youtube-dl https://player.vimeo.com/video/297511002 -o "P:/Kodi DN/%(title)s-%(id)s.%(ext)s"

NOT working?


Review by tigerb on Oct 29, 2018 Version: 1018.10.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Not working on - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb4fb3zeudE

Using command - youtube-dl.exe -x --audio-format mp3 -f bestaudio "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pb4fb3zeudE"

Have ffmpeg 4.0.2


Review by Noitidart on Sep 15, 2018 Version: 2018.09.10 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




The current version is unable to download videos from Twitter.
An "official" bug report will be required — even though that page seems to indicate that the author does not want to read bug reports at all :-/


Review by Marsia Mariner on Jun 1, 2018 Version: 2018.06.02 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Is not downloading Twitter videos.
Error: Video format

Did not have problem 2 weeks ago.


Review by ConverterCrazy on Jun 1, 2018 Version: 2018.05.30 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Iget this description:

Unable to download JSON metadata: HTTP error 400: bad request


Review by L1008 on May 18, 2018 Version: 2018.05.18 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




awesome software that just keeps getting better. Soon as I think I had a issue like no subtitles etc, a quick update usually fixes it. Worth learning the CLI and paring it with ffmpeg as it will automux the streams for you.

Review by dannyboy48888 on Apr 24, 2018 Version: 2018.4.25 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by dannyboy48888 on Apr 24, 2018 Version: 2018.4.25 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Ease of use rating is because it's a command line program.

Note that youtube-dl is also supported on macOS (which has Python installed by default). Downloads available from "https://yt-dl.org/downloads/latest/youtube-dl" work on macOS.

Also, there are a number of ytdl GUIs specifically for macOS.. Others are available which are OS agnostic.


Review by MacYTDL on Mar 10, 2018 Version: 2018.10.3 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by WinSpirit on Jan 30, 2018 Version: 2018.01.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Dr. TaaDow on Jul 25, 2017 Version: 2017.07.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




youtube-dl.exe --write-auto-sub --sub-lang de https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cu0V7tdj6Ak

it is not downloading the captions, it says it can not find caption

it was working yesterday, but it is not working today and keepvid's subtitle download was also vanished in their selections, but i dont know keepvid for sure


Review by sommers on Jun 22, 2017 Version: 2017.06.18 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is an excellent video download manager for web sites that it supports. I've downloaded many videos that my default download manager Internet Download Manager (IDM) has failed to detect and download.

But youtube dl has a MAJOR limitation, it ONLY downloads from sites that are LISTED IN ITS DATABASE. Although there are hundreds of web sites listed within the database, it is not comprehensive. For any web sites that are not listed, youtube dl will not recognize the site and will not download! I've found several web sites so far where youtube dl has failed to download videos (because the sites are not listed within the database).

So I'm still looking for the (near perfect) video download manager that will download videos from ANY web site!


Review by meeshu on Apr 15, 2017 Version: 2017.03.07 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




It was a bit hard to learn the advanced options but I'm well statisfied with this program. Previously I used Complete YT DL plugin for Firefox but it became buggy and unusable in the last couple months so I finally switched to this one. Plus awesome it supports many sites.

Review by lpmaskman on Mar 11, 2017 Version: newest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




you need msvcr100.dll(32bit) to run this tool on Win10 x64.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=5555


Review by yonta on Feb 11, 2017 Version: up-to-date OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a fantastic tool! Being able to download the highest quality audio/video possible from many different sites is great! All you need in one folder is the executable that has python already integrated, an ffmpeg executable, and then open a command window from the folder.

Awesome app!


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Jan 16, 2017 Version: 2017.01.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




can not start on my windows 10 64bit. "the application was unable to start correctly 0xc00007b"

Review by linglung on Oct 27, 2016 Version: 2016.10.26 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




Overall Awesome tool that gets the job done, after a quick glace at the help file one can use the -f and -F functions to download pretty much any video format available in a batch file. Yes, it's a CLI but but it's nature it makes it faster to use/implment than any gui i can see being made

Review by dannyboy48888 on Apr 30, 2016 Version: 2016.04.24 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program works well and is frequently updated. with that said, I wish the author(s) would provide an easy-to-read updated changelog so one can see the differences in versions. FYI, I went to that master website and I could not easily determine the changes between versions; however, I did find the linux version website and it was much more organized than the master website. I encourage the author(s)develop a readable changelog and either link to it from here or upload it for viewing. Thank you.

Review by railroadartwork on Mar 25, 2016 Version: 2016.03.25 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This new version cut my download time by 33%. I don't know if that was your direct intention but thanks for the update.

Review by railroadartwork on Mar 6, 2016 Version: 2016.03.06 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The minor annoyance I reported in Post #5 seems to be fixed in version 2016.02.27. My thanks to the author for his quick response to my concern.

Review by railroadartwork on Feb 28, 2016 Version: 2016.02.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks to the author for this great program. However, I actually prefer the previous version because the new version creates a bunch of visible segmented temp files during the download whereas the previous version just gave you a "downloading segment" progress report. Now, the temp files do disappear after the download but I don't why they have to be visible during the download. I would rather just see the segment report messages.

Review by railroadartwork on Feb 23, 2016 Version: 2016.02.22 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tiny executable is great and very powerful! I love it! Keep up the great work!

Review by Dr. TaaDow on Apr 20, 2015 Version: 2015.04.17 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works 100% for me with https://mrs0m30n3.github.io/youtube-dl-gui/

Review by fredthompson on Apr 3, 2015 Version: 2015.04.03 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




5 out 10 times it cannot grab a Youtube movie.
Any thoughts why?


Review by BartVanRoem on Mar 25, 2015 Version: 2015.03.24 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




simple, fast, excellent

example in windows:

########################################
@echo off

"C:\Program Files\YOUTUBE_dl\youtube-dl.exe" -o "C:\Program Files\YOUTUBE_dl\file.mp4" --maxquality FORMAT --console-title "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=(copy code chosen)"

pause

########################################

enjoy



Review by remanyao on Jan 3, 2015 Version: youtube dl OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


47 reviews, Showing 1 to 47 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com