Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Advanced Codecs

32 reviews, Showing 1 to 32 reviews


Would give it zero out of zero if I could! Install this if you want to destroy your PC environment and cause massive conflicts. Good luck in uninstalling it too!

Review by A.Y on Jun 29, 2020 Version: 13.6.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Codecs are evil especially this pack!

Review by Bob on Jun 14, 2020 Version: 13.5.8 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by FaroukMeb on Apr 29, 2019 Version: 11.44 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by fiona on Aug 14, 2018 Version: 10.4.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




4 pages of instructions for bug fixes. Not a single word about how to uninstall. Concise comprehensive and ... BROKEN. Claim to fame is deleting your codecs? "Clean" codecs can be uninstalled but not Advanced Codecs. Software that can't be uninstalled are typically Viruses. Even Microsoft lets you uninstall windows software.

Stay off my computer. Send this broken software to the russians. And no, you are not getting any donations from me.


Review by Dan richardson on Apr 1, 2018 Version: 1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Too many updates based on micro-updates usually MPC BE nightlies
Suggest make a base update based on main components and do incremental smaller updates :)


Review by teodz1984 on Dec 11, 2017 Version: Advanced Codecs 8.5.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




This uses LAV filters 0.70.2.79 which does not solve the problem of the LAV SPLITTER (which was broken since 0.70.2.00-- manifested by glitching video problems with loading ordered chapters in MKVs and there is a media swich)

If you insist using it, go to LAV SPLITTER SETTINGS and uncheck the "Unload Matroska Segments" from external files..


Review by teodz1984 on Oct 3, 2017 Version: 8.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




C/program files/shark007/advanced/tools/settings32.exe a variant of generik.FGVRSNL TROJAN

Review by NOD 32 on Aug 14, 2017 Version: Advanced Codecs 8.0.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




The 7zip stuff is not nonsense. Right click on it select 7zip, extract, and low and behold no more junk in program..

Review by DKruskie on Aug 31, 2015 Version: 5.41 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This product installs 3rd party programs on your computer, without your consent.

There is no way to turn it off, there are no options and this nonsense about 7zip is exactly that, nonsense.

It is very poor form to install programs on a users computer without their consent.

I will actively post on the internet in the future in opposition of this software, whenever I see anyone asking about codecs.

You should know better, you are just creating a name for yourself that is coiled in hatred and irritation, and you are creating an army of individuals who will do nothing but deride your software at every opportunity. I am now going to email MajorGeeks asking them to remove your software from their site, as it is damaging their good reputation.

Bundle your rubbish software by all means, but give me the option to say to no.


Review by Dravinian on Dec 25, 2014 Version: 500 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Then I guess VideoHelp and other sites which distribute these installers should add a big fat link links to that thread. Otherwise, most people won't know about it.
Shark007 also need to add that information to their site, too. (Will they? I doubt about it!)


Review by l4n9th4n9 on Oct 24, 2013 Version: 4.2.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




As mentioned in previous comments, there is a support forum for this software, which is where I learned the 7Zip trick - http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-malware-in?highlight=7zip

Review by V1de0Luvr on Oct 24, 2013 Version: 4.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It's not that the difficulty is the problem. The problem is that other than your comments here, is there anywhere tell people to extract the provided installer to get the installer that doesn't install adwares? So most people don't know about that. Do you ever think about that before you blindly defend this codec packs? Also, yeah, this is NOT the only "excellent and free" codec packs out there. Anyway, the problem have nothing to do with me, because I don't use codec packs.

Review by l4n9th4n9 on Oct 23, 2013 Version: 4.2.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




The downloaded installer is not supposed to install adware without your consent. If it did, please report it to Shark007 on the official support site. Yes, it is an annoyance to use the 7Zip extract procedure before installing, but I don't mind doing it to use this excellent codec pack for free and eliminate the possibility of installing adware. If this is too difficult, then by all means use a different codec pack. I like this one.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Oct 23, 2013 Version: 4.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




How many people do you expect to extract the installer with 7-Zip instead of using the installer? Especially, most of people who using codec packs are just average computer users. There's no excuse like the installer downloads adwares itself. Why the heck the programmer don't know about that? Doesn't that mean they are irresponsible with their software?

Review by l4n9th4n9 on Oct 22, 2013 Version: 4.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I don't know if this is true that adware is installed without consent by the downloaded installer, because I always extract Shark007's installer using 7Zip, which does NOT install adware. Did you even bother to read the previous comments?

Review by V1de0Luvr on Oct 22, 2013 Version: 4.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




AVOID NEW VERSIONS!
This is packed with several nasty adwares which install without your consent.
It completely froze up my system (Win8 64 bit) after installation and I had trouble even to boot up the system again.
I suggest that admins remove it completely from the download section.


Review by Jeremiah58 on Oct 22, 2013 Version: 4.2.8. OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I'm sorry if you got adware installed (even with the option unchecked?). This is not Shark007's intention. The adware is not part of the installer he writes, which you can easily extract using 7Zip as the post immediatly before said. I always extract the real installer with ZZip. This extra step is a small price to pay for using this great codec package for free.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Sep 26, 2013 Version: 4.2.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Installer still installs adware with you knowing. Shame on the programer. Took me so many hours to remove the bullshit impossible to avoid during install. There are other options to make $$ instead of destroying so many PCs with this adware collection! Sorry for my Bad English.


Review by houze on Sep 26, 2013 Version: 4.2.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




@backpain, download 7zip and right click on the setup file and it'll extract an adware free version.

Review by Yousef09 on Feb 16, 2013 Version: 4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Installer still installs adware with you knowing. Shame on the programer.

Review by Backpain on Feb 15, 2013 Version: 4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




In reply to the spyware/adware/malware claims, read this:

http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-BetterInternet-BrowserProtect-Warning-3-9-4

Basicly the installer installed adware even though it was unticked.


Review by Phlexor on Jan 5, 2013 Version: 3.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Stop putting spyware and blotware with the codec's.

Review by Backpain on Jan 5, 2013 Version: 3.8.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




"3.8.5
- update Settings Application to fix WMP crash on Win8"


But this codec pack is not for windows 7???

Why fix for windows 8???


Review by mx101 on Nov 4, 2012 Version: 3.8.5 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 5/10




LAVFilters is better

Review by dessieclive on Oct 3, 2011 Version: 3.0.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The best codecs package out there. It contains only the necessary codecs, all tried and true from open source, and does not change or interfere with Windows or any other app. You can get any video player to play anything using this. The developer Shark007 regularly updates it and cares about the users, he personally tries to help anybody with questions or problems on his forum.

Tip: Before installing Win7codecs, disconnect from the internet and it won't be able to install any of the extra toolbar stuff like Bing, ask.com and whatnot. It will do a clean install. But I don't blame Shark007 for including this optional stuff to try to make some extra money, he's providing an excellent piece of software for free.


Review by Peppino on Jul 23, 2011 Version: x86 2.9.2 x64 2.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Update from my side. In the newest Version you have the possibilty to choose between ask.com toolbar installation or not. Thumbs.

Review by picard47 on Apr 29, 2011 Version: 2.85 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Good tool, but I've tried it a few times and it definitely installed the ask.com toolbar without asking. That's a No Go.

Review by picard47 on Apr 21, 2011 Version: 2.81 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I couldn't get WMP to play MKV files with this codec pack, doesn't mean it won't do it, but I didn't feel like mucking about the myriad of settings. The price (free) is good as it gets. You may have better results than I did. The version I tried was 2.7.9

Review by sum_guy on Apr 6, 2011 Version: 2.7.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




The author's site has a Forum with a sticky for AV false positives:

http://shark007.net/forum/Thread-False-Positive-Fixes

I have been using Shark007 for some time now. It is definitely not a CODEC mega-pak; it is a stripped down combination of the bare minumum required to play the majority of files.


Review by drjtech on Apr 5, 2011 Version: 2.7.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm sure baldrick wouldn't upload a exe with a trojan iin it he's not stupid, it's probably a false positve and if you had a proper antvivirus instead of some immune crap then you would know it's fine. If your scared about false positives then download it from filehippo.com or afterdawn.com there 100% clean and if it still shows up change antivirus because it's making you paranoid!.

Review by dylz on Apr 5, 2011 Version: x OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I used the direct download link to download the Windows7 codecs by Shark007, and I scanned it with Immunet Protect (Google's Antivirus software), and only upon expanding the exe file was there a Win32 Trojan that had popped up (during install). It was successfully quarantined with the name W32.Trojan.cf5d, and the install path it was trying to take hold on was C:\Program Files (x86)\Win7codecs\Tools\Settings32.exe.


Always scan your downloads, no matter where they come from or how much you trust the source!


Review by hmntr on Apr 5, 2011 Version: 2.7.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10


32 reviews, Showing 1 to 32 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com