Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! Download free trial

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works(replaces TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress) is here. Among it features is support for many input and output formats, detailed parameter settings, fast and precise cut-editing, video format conversion, compression, material creation, and much more! Import, edit, enhance, and encode your videos with the easy-to-use interface preferred by users the world over. Add video clips in practically any format, cut-out unwanted scenes, correct and enhance your video and audio, then encode to the format of your choice using custom settings or templates for popular formats. CUDA hardware encoding.

Trialware $122
OS: Win
File size: 349MB
Version history
7.5/10
57 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot


TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works screenshot 3
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

7.0.14.16 (February 12, 2020)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 7.0.14.16  349MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $122)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 7.0.14.16 - February 12, 2020

New Newly added five different kinds of pre-installed assets.
Improved Improved: Enhanced bitrate selection values for the Opus audio output.
Improved: Occasionally some decoded video frames were duplicated when importing certain invalid H.264/AVC video streams recorded on Insta360 EVO.
CorrectionsFixed: The number of loop counts was not applied correctly to its duration when importing an animation GIF or PNG file.
Fixed: The data rate settings were not reflected correctly to an output file when using the Intel Indeo video 5 codec in the AVI output settings.
Fixed: The information of the audio duration was not described correctly into the container when outputting an MP4 file.
Fixed: Occasionally outputted images became coarse when outputting a BT.2020 HLG color profile video file in an SSE4.1 run environment.
Fixed: Did not covert the color space of a clip correctly when importing a clip of the BT.2020 HLG color profile into the working color space where it was set in BT.2020 PQ.
Fixed: A superfluous "TMPGEncVMW7OutProcess.exe" launched when opening a clip editing window in which the VST filter was added.
Other corrections.

View full changelog




All features


Encoding Made Simple.
Navigate Through Your Project with the Easy-to-Use Interface.

The Start-up Lancher window gives you the first option for your project. If you just need to convert one video, or link together several videos, choose the "Normal Mode". If you want to create a more sophisticated output with layered videos, or mix video with different audio sources, choose the "Timeline mode". Next, use the Format selector to choose the output format and continue to the Encode process. Voilà, video creation made simple!
Intuitive stages take you through your project with ease!


Tons of Input and Output Formats.
If you've got it, convert it.

Natively supporting a wide variety of the most recent formats such as FLV (H.264), WebM, and the MKV container, you practically don't need to install external CODECs. You can edit and output without needing any knowledge in these formats. Furthermore, it also includes AVCHD, Blu-ray disc importation and even HDV capture functions. It even includes the Editing Proxy function, allowing you to swiftly edit Full HD content.


Cut-Edit Your Video.
With an Improved Editing Window.

The Cut-editor window, while keeping its user interface simple for quick comprehension, has been enhanced with functions to support high-definition editing.
Drop Folder image

* Accelerated preview/fast navigation thanks to the Intuitive Draw Technology 3.0 IDT3.0 . The decoding stage can use CUDA or Intel Media SDK (for compatible formats only), making it easier for high definition video editing.
* You can use the mouse to move within an image when the preview image is larger than the display area, making it possible to edit regardless of the image resolution.
*Image with a resolution higher than 2048 pixels is resized.
* Clip Start/End points can now be set through sliders, allowing simplier cut-editing.
* Audio meter displays the channel number and peak level in real time. You can prevent audio distortion by using the audio filters.


Search Smarter, Not Harder.

Use the mouse's right button to quickly search in the scrolling thumbnail strip. Furthermore, by pressing the mouse's center wheel you activate the automatic scene change detection and jump to the next or previous scene change.


The Filter list.
Enhance Your Video with Filters.
Correct, Improve, and Enhance Video.

From filters aimed at improving the image quality of the source (like the Video denoise and Smart sharpness) to the newly added and creative Vintage picture and Speed filters, many types of filters are now available to you.


Encode Your Video.
Use Templates for Popular Devices and Formats.

Using the Output format template, you can safely and simply set-up the encoder, even you use it for the time, without having to verify the player device's limitations. The Output format template selector sets the encoder for you, so you do not need to have knowledge of the intricate requirements of DVD-Video, Blu-ray formats, or highly demanded formats for the iPhone, iPad, PSP and other mobile devices.


Advanced MPEG Tools.
Improved Tools

The MPEG tool, integrated in the Advanced tools window, is a powerfull tool that allows you to multiplex or demultiplex supported video and container formats. This product supports MP4 and MKV containers in addition to MPEG, and supports multistream. Outputted multistream file editing is also possible by selecting an arbitrary stream in the Clip properties. Other advanced tools are the Project checker, allowing you to verify if all files used in a project are available in the host machine, and the Proxy file creator, allowing you to create a ligther, Clip-editor friendly version of a source file that would be too large to process normally.


SpursEngine Plug-In Support.
Take Advantage of SpursEngine Hardware.

TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 can use the TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in SpursEngine, allowing access to the Toshiba made high-performance streaming media processor SpursEngine™.




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works


AVS Video Converter



bbMPEG



HC Encoder



TMPGEnc



TMPGEnc Plus



x264 Encoder







Guides and How to's


Asafs AVI TV Episodes to one DVD(6hr/DVD)

- Read

How To - AVI/MKV/OGM to DVD

- Read

TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert

AVI to AVI, AVI to DivX, AVI to DVD, AVI to MPG, AVI to VCD, AVI to SVCD, AVI to WMV, AVI to XviD, DivX to AVI, DivX to DivX, DivX to DVD, DivX to MPG, DivX to VCD, DivX to SVCD, DivX to WMV, DivX to XviD, DVB to AVI, DVB to DivX, DVB to DVD, DVB to MPG, DVB to VCD, DVB to SVCD, DVB to WMV, DVB to XviD, DVD to AVI, DVD to DivX, DVD to DVD, DVD to VCD, DVD to SVCD, DVD to WMV, DV to DVD, DV to MPG, DV to VCD, DV to SVCD, MOV to AVI, MOV to DivX, MOV to DVD, MOV to MPG, MOV to VCD, MOV to SVCD, MOV to WMV, MOV to XviD, MP4 to AVI, MP4 to DivX, MP4 to DVD, MP4 to MPG, MP4 to VCD, MP4 to SVCD, MP4 to WMV, MP4 to XviD, MPG to AVI, MPG to DivX, MPG to DVD, MPG to MPG, MPG to VCD, MPG to SVCD, MPG to WMV, MPG to XviD, VOB to AVI, VOB to DivX, VOB to DVD, VOB to MPG, VOB to VCD, VOB to SVCD, VOB to WMV, VOB to XviD, WMV to AVI, WMV to DivX, WMV to DVD, WMV to MPG, WMV to VCD, WMV to SVCD, WMV to WMV, WMV to XviD, XviD to AVI, XviD to DivX, XviD to DVD, XviD to MPG, XviD to VCD, XviD to SVCD, XviD to WMV, XviD to XviD




Acronyms / Also Known As

Tmpgenc Mastering Works, TMPGEnc Xpress, TMPGEnc 3.0 Xpress, TMPGEnc Express, TMPGEnc 3.0 Express, Tsunami Video Encoder XPress, TMPGEnc 4.0 Xpress, TVMW




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




62 reviews, Showing 1 to 62 reviews


I have to say that TVMW7 is a quantum improvement over the previous version. I use it to crunch down OTA/Cable HDTV recordings to be burned on Blu-Ray, and the speed increase for 1080i files is incredible. I also occasionally use it for 720p recordings like Formula 1 and Indycar races that don't need pulldown taken out, and the 1080i is now really close to that for rendering speed. A 45-minute episode now takes only 20 minutes or less to render, and that's including fade-outs and pulldown removal.

Unfortunately, the Commercial Detector still hangs up right before the end of an H.264 file; Pegasys still hasn't fixed that. And you still can't use the NVENC feature to encode Blu-Ray compatible files, but to be fair, it may be my particular generation of GeForce that has that limitation since it was 1st generation NVENC.


Review by cubdukat on Jun 15, 2019 Version: 7.0.9.10 Preview OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 7 dosn't support Dolby TrueHD the only English track you will find on a 4k bluray.
ok for normal bluray or DVD useless for 4k discs, if you speak English and live in Australia.


Review by isapc on Jun 15, 2019 Version: TMPGEnc Video Mastering 7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by craig on Nov 10, 2018 Version: 6.2.9.36 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by the ruppet on Aug 23, 2018 Version: 6.2.8.35 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




In a nutshell Bloatware just like Ahead Nero. Two great companies competing for the biggest installer size and over complicated features. The winner Ahead Nero! Both not worth the money nor the trial time.

Review by Vera on Apr 2, 2018 Version: 6.3.7.34 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




When downloading the retail version from their website the description says it is V6.2.4.31. However, when downloaded it's still V6.2.4.30.

Review by mail2tom on Aug 29, 2017 Version: 6.2.4.31? OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by hodgy on Aug 4, 2017 Version: 6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Please if it is possible, ad Time-stretching for Audio in this Good Application.
Then i think it is (for this Price class)Perfect.
Anyway I'm impressed for the Perfect and detailed Introduce in the Spec's area/Home Site
of the Developer.
My greeting's


Review by Royalstar on Apr 2, 2013 Version: 5.3.2.86 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




Er . . . did the previous poster (the one who asked if I'd read the full change log) actually bother to read either the full change log or even just his own post? If he bothers to look at the second line in his post "TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 Version 5.3.1.85 - September 25, 2012" . . . er . . . SEPTEMBER 25, 2012!!! All of that stuff that he copied and pasted from the change log relates to the version that came out 6 months ago! The only new stuff in this latest version appears to be the ability to get status updates by email or tweet! Like I said, they're taking the wee-wee, aren't they?

Review by TimA-C on Mar 16, 2013 Version: 5.3.2.86 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




Did the previous poster read the full change log.

TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 Version 5.3.1.85 - September 25, 2012
New Functions Now supports PlayStation® Vita and iPad® (3rd Gen) output templates in the Mobile/portable device MP4 file output format.
Supports FLAC audio file import and output (upon outputting, it is available only for MKV container).
Supports HE-AAC, HE-AAC v2 Audio output (available for the supported formats).
Improved MPEG-4 AVC (x264) encoder updated.
Optimized the preliminary process to initialize the exporter, therefore the preparation duration has become shorter.
For the Intel Media SDK encoding, removed the unsupported settings for MPEG-4 AVC output, and added the value of the Minimum bitrate according to the specification of the Intel Media SDK.
Made it possible to set the vertical size in multiples of 2 for MPEG-4 AVC output when the x264 encoder is used.
* Multiples of 4 are necessary for interlaced encoding.
Supports multiplexing MP2, MP3 and Dolby audio into a MP4 container.
* Some players could not play the multiplexed audio other than MPEG-4 AAC Low Complexity.
Enhanced the MPEG-2 transport output for the Blu-ray standard file output.
Added the audio formats ,e.g. multi-channel LPCM, to multiplex for MPEG-2 Transport (HDMV *for BDMV) file output.
Added the audio formats ,e.g. MPEG-2 AAC, to multiplex for MPEG-2 Transport (BDAV Common *for BDAV) file output.
Reduced the memory usage when decoding MPEG-4 AVC.
Improved the TS file importer. As a result of this, the clip naming method has been changed.
Improved the Blu-ray/AVCHD Reader, and changed the method of the distinction between playlist and clip.
Only displays clips when the content of the playlist and clips are identical.
Imports the time zone and recording time when the playlist contains them.
Does not display each m2ts file separately when a clip contains several m2ts files.
Improved the threading process speed of the 24fps deinterlace filter.
Improved the movement of the volume uniformization "Average" filter to get closer to a more average value. As the result of this, the prior version of the "Average" filter is displayed as "Average (legacy)"
Improved the picture series file reader so that it will not import them sequentially. The behavior can be changed from the Clip property window when such pictures are imported.
Improved the edit mode in the Timeline Layer mode. The following changes have been made:
The paste point from the clipboard became the current cursor position.
If possible, retains the positional relationship (Time/Layer/Transition) between each clip at the time of copying to the clipboard when pasting.
The Keyframe Tool can be used from the context menu by right-clicking with the mouse.
Corrected An error occurred on the Cut-edit window when using a specific driver version.
Other Changed the compatibility of the project file. Along with this correction, older versions cannot load the project files saved with this version or later. (This version can load the project files saved on previous versions without any problems.)
Other minor corrections


Review by isapc on Mar 15, 2013 Version: 5.3.3.86 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




"TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 Version 5.3.2.86 - March 14, 2013
New Functions Now compatible with TMPGEnc Status Messenger,..."

Really? That's it? First update in 6 months and the only "improvement" is the ability to get status updates by e-mail or tweet? REALLY? I've been a fan of TMPGenc software for a number of years now, despite the lousy support, but I can't help feeling that they're taking the wee-wee with this "update"!


Review by TimA-C on Mar 15, 2013 Version: 5.3.2.86 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I have been using TVMW5 since it was released, and I have to admit that I am not having anywhere near the issues others seem to be having with it, or that I had with its predecessor. The only thing that stopped me from making it my primary tool was the lack of an AVC template for Blu-Rays. I attempted to take my favorite Blu-Ray preset from MeGUI and try translating it to TVMW5, but I soon lost patience. Now that Pegasys has finally seen the light and decided to give us AVC options for Blu-Ray, it's back in my good graces.

I will be giving it a strenuous test in the near future, and if it passes, my time with MeGUI will be drawing to a close.


Review by cubdukat on Mar 16, 2012 Version: 5.1.1.52 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using this software for a month now and the CUDA encoding works fine on my Samsung i5 Laptop. After using StaxRip and Handbrake for encoding x264 videos TVMW5 is by far the worst when it comes to comparable outputs in terms of video quality to the other software I mentioned.

The deinterlace filters are not as good as the Yadif deinterlacer. I don't know why TMPGenMW5 continues to use their own version, all I get from dvd conversions are jaggy lines around sharp objects. When using Handbrake or Staxrip the edges are sharper and no jaggies at all.

Lastly the video quality is noisy with artifacts and overly soft. The files sizes are much larger than the other software products even when using the exact same compression settings.

This product needs help.


Review by ejai on Apr 4, 2011 Version: 5.05.32 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




Tried the updated version on some Hauppauge 1212 transport streams I captured in 1080i to convert to Matroska. Results were terrible. When I forwarded through the completed video using VLC there was very visible tearing and when played in normal speed the video was jerky making actor's motions look animated rather than fluid.

I normally use HDConvertToX to convert transport streams to Matroska with excellent results, and it looks like I'll continue with that program until TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works gets this problem sorted out.


Review by mail2tom on Feb 19, 2011 Version: 5.0.3.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




after trying TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 demo for a week, i finally decided to buy it. mainly for x264 support and the ease of editing.(light editing)
if you have dual vga setup ati+nvidia for cuda.cuda support will not work for now, hopefully will work in the future as version 4 works just fine.


Review by meshal on Feb 16, 2011 Version: 5.0.2.22 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




In continuation with last comment...
Further more, if you inspect inner frames, some frames get damaged as well while compressing it too much. Now most of the time I use Lagarith or HuffYUV.


Review by Bonie81 on Feb 16, 2011 Version: 5.0 OS: Other Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I upgraded from TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress to Mastering Works 5 since it is supposed to incorporate the x264 encoder and I'm very impressed with the x264 results. However, I am underwhelmed with the x264 output from Mastering Works 5. The output file becomes very pixelated and jerky when I forward through it.

As a comparison I encoded the same file with TMW5 and VirtualdubMod using x264vfw with the same bitrate and found x264vfw produced a smooth sharp output while TMW5 was considerably less impressive.


Review by mail2tom on Feb 16, 2011 Version: 5.0.2.22 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using the demo version for a little over a day now, and I can safely say that this is a quantum improvement over TE4XP. As soon as I get the chance, I'm going to upgrade to the full version.

My only issue is that they still only have an MPEG-2 Blu-Ray preset, but I suspect it shouldn't be too hard to translate one of MeGUI's H.264 Blu-Ray presets. Also, the CUDA encoding option is nice, but I'm still not sure about how Blu-Ray-friendly the settings are.

Other than that, it's definitely a keeper.


Review by CubDukat on Feb 5, 2011 Version: 5.0.22 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Easy to use, great results, accepts pretty much anything out there and can output 1080p WMV with 5.1 audio!

Review by bits on Apr 28, 2010 Version: 4.7.6.304 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good program and the color correction filter is the best I've found yet. Pretty bad that the new versions require crap framework. And there's no data available on which is the last version that does not.

Review by Skynet on Apr 28, 2010 Version: 4.2.3.193 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 10/10




This releases supports CUDA under G92 based video card fine (8800 GT are supported). Unfortunately G80 based card are not (8800GTS/GTX/Ultra). I think the developer used compute capability 1.1 leaving G80 cards out. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Nvidia ... Features_3

My video card is a 9800GX2 running ForceWare 178.24 under Vista x64. My CPU is an Intel quad Q6700. The mobo uses Intel IP35 chipset.

CUDA support could be useful for some filters but not for every situation out there. For example when I enable the hardware video decoder, decoding 720x480 MPEG2 videos is slower.

Some filter combinations are faster when using CUDA, so you need to try what´s faster depending on what you are doing and the hardware you have.

My 9800GX2 is great for games, but for CUDA it is only marginal better than a 8800 GT


Review by ofbarea on Nov 3, 2008 Version: 4.6.2.266 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Well, as it turns out, you must use the latest CUDA-enabled video driver (178.08), which you can get from nVidia. Also, You must have either a 98xx or 2xx series nVidia card for the CUDA options to work with this build of TMPGEnc 4.0 Xpress. That rules out a lot of people with 88xx cards.

Review by jabloomf1230 on Oct 31, 2008 Version: CUDA OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Previous versions worked flawlessly. If you activate CUDA with the most recent nVidia drivers (180.42), it crashes non-stop on any type of encode.

Review by jabloomf1230 on Oct 30, 2008 Version: 4.6 CUDA OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




been using tmpeg products sense mpeg-1 was the de-facto. and the reason i STILL use thire products is it give excellent results, does auto aspect conversion and my videos to this day and version always had proper a/v sync

Review by dannyboy48888 on Jul 6, 2008 Version: 4.x OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




it is the fantastic video converter with editing functions but it need codecs to be installed for opening many video files like mkv,rm,mov,avi etc so it will be better if it will have all codecs built in to open all kind of video files

Review by parag19 on Jun 29, 2008 Version: 4.5.1.254 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is one of the best programs i tested. Only reason i give it a bit low numbers is the conversion for psp do not work so well. The file will not play on my psp.
Only way it could play was with mpeg but i wanted to use AVC which has superior quality.
I tested "mp4 converter" from http://www.mp4converter.net/ and it works like a charm for psp conversion. Funny thing is the file created with mp4 converter plays perfect on psp but not my mediaplayer classic :) (plays fine in windows media player but without sound)

I'm getting a bit dizzy with all new programs and works halfway.

My suggestion is to use TMPGEnc for normal encoding and mp4 converter for psp purpose.



Review by reza666 on Dec 28, 2007 Version: 4.4.1.237 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




actually was using "super" before this and quality comparison is a total joke with "super". tmpgenc xpress4 encoded an hd uncompressed avi to wmv8 and the quality is sharp and very clean.

I have yet to try other conversions but have been impressed with TMPGEnc all across the board. There are so many to choose from but always come back to this company's software.


Review by jawtab on Jun 22, 2007 Version: 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I use version 3.0 and I have to say that this is the best encoding software that I have ever used, I don't like version 4.0 because I had a lot of problems with Lame MP3 audio codec. But overall this is really the best I recommend it to everybody.

Review by shorto on Apr 10, 2007 Version: 3.0 Xpress OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have used TMPG 2.5 for a very long time and decided to try out XPress 3.0 when it came out. I was very happy with it for speed and very decent quality. After a few updates it was even able to handle my raw HDTV transport streams! I even bought the AC3 pluggin that works very well because I was so happy with it. The only real flaw I found was that I would have to remux the audio because it would be out of sync after encode. I think its just a matter of an update to have the program compensate for the audio delay. So I would demux the audio before encode and use the cute little delay box they provide to set the delay Example: (-765). It works great! XPress 3.0 doesn't have as many options as TMPGenc 2.5 and isn't as clean an encode but for a good fast encode it is well within reasonable parameters. And when I say fast I mean 3X's faster than 2.5!

But this "comment" is supposed to be about TMPG XPress 4.0. When I decided to upgrade to XPress 4.0 I thought I would see more/faster/better rather than less/slower/worse. 4.0 no longer accepts Raw HDTV transport streams. It crashes every time. A real disappointment. I have tried to contact their technical support on the problem several times and have not received any response. It's been a month and 6 technical support e-mails on the form they provide and to direct e-mails to previous technical support responses. I am sure it is fine with dvd encodes using non-HD sources but that's not the direction I was going...

Either way, I am back to using XPress 3.0 for the "fast" encode and TMPGEnc 2.5 with Virtual Dub and Avisynth if I really want to do it right!


Review by eclipse28 on Jul 10, 2006 Version: TMPG XPress 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




The best feature for me is the video fade filter. Both sharpen filters are useless compared to TMPGEnc 3.0 XPress. I am still in the learning stage but 4 seems a lot slower than 3 with the same basic settings. Not sure why. Nice interface and layout with smooth manual file scanning. I hope the manufacturer replaces the sharpen filter with the previous version.

Review by twinegar on Jul 1, 2006 Version: 410179 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Got the trial yesterday. Haven't had 1 file that would play after encoding .mp4 or Quicktime using Tmpgenc express 4.0. I have the latest Quicktime pro.

Review by kkmike on Jun 16, 2006 Version: 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




Now does include AC3 2 channels out of the Box
Still NO support for more than 2 audio channels

To decode quick time you will need Quick time 7.x or later. I need to validate if I need to upgrade to this version of Quick time to be able to decode ACC audio. Embedded DivX codec seems promising.

At least all features of the version 3.0 are still supported. I cannot comment on rendering quality yet, but so far so good. I have tested some of the filters and there are a few new good quality options, but virtualdub is still the king in this area. The new filters are very useful for simple corrections though.

MPEG Tools are still the same as the old one found in version 3.0

The killer feature for me was MP4 and ACC support. I will test all these features over the weekend.


Review by ofbarea on Jun 15, 2006 Version: 4.1.0.179 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I purchased this not too long ago after trying it out, but I only recently started getting into it a lot more.

I'd been fighting with TMPEnc Plus for doing downconversions from ATSC to DVD. Somehow, despite using most of the tricks out there to tweak the output, it still didn't look as good as I'd hoped. Now, with Express, I finally have a way to preserve most if not all of the original HD goodness without tweaking things.

My first project with Express was this week's episode of "24," and I have to say that if it looks as good on an actual TV as it does on my computer monitor, I'll be uninstalling 2.5 Plus very soon.

For me the lack of 5.1 AC3 handling is not an issue, since I demux and render the unedited MPEG-2 stream first, then mux it with the corrected audio, then editing in DVD Author (unless I need titles and transitions; then I take it into MediaStudio Pro 7.5). It would be nice to have 5.1 support so that I could do cuts-only editing with audio for commercials, but I have a workaround for that too (edit the original TS in FusionHDTV's cut mode and fine-tune in DVD Editor or MSP 7.5).


Review by cubdukat on Feb 2, 2006 Version: 3.0.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




BIG disappointmet. After using TMPgenc 2.5,on trial, and reading that XPress was based on their "Famous" original encoder I bought the Xpress, not the Orignal. MISTAKE!
It is NOT like their original, even they admitted to me it's a different "engine". Quality output is typically 12--15% lower than TMPGENC 2.5. I bought the TMPGenc original for 37 bucks,and extremely happy with it.(give that one a 10+ )
Express useful for making/compiling titles.


Review by Resolution on Jan 27, 2006 Version: 3.3.7.1.16 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Don't bother...

NO AC3 support without BUYING the plugin
NO support for more than 2 audio channels

I'd like to be able to say what a great piece of software this is, because Pegasys usually make some of the best around. This time they just seem to have become greedy and careless. Why on earth would I want to PAY MORE to encode my video in AC3 when my equipment recorded it in AC3 in the first place and plenty of other programs seem more than able to handle it?

Shame on you Pegasys, take this piece of chalk and write on the blackboard 200 times "I must not BITE the hand that FEEDS me"


Review by chuffster on Jan 8, 2006 Version: 3.3.7.116 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




The reasonable way to handle the xvid problem, is either to frameserve via virtaul dub or make an avs-script for avisynth. If you have enough hard drive space (like I do), you can also encode the xvid source to uncompressed avi. TMPGXpress reads that fine and without jerkiness.
What I love about TMPGXpress is its ability to transfer any framerate into another without much compication. I have tried that a lot of times and never had any sync problems. Of course this is not a hq transfer but does suffice.


Review by boon23 on May 12, 2005 Version: xpress 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




TMPGenc 3.0 XPress frame rate problem with XviD source

This comment pertains to TMPGEnc 3.0 XPress, not TMPGEnc or TMPGEnc Plus

When attempting to encode 23.976 fps XviD sources (as verified by GSpot 2.21) into DVD-compatible MPEG2, TMPGenc 3.0 XPress incorrectly detects the source frame rate as 30 fps, resulting in jerky MPEG2 output.

These XviD sources play perfectly in a variety of players, and encode properly in NeroVision Express 3.

There appears to be no way to override the incorrectly detected source frame rate in TMPGenc 3.0 XPress, and there doesn't appear to be any reasonable work-around.

This problem exists in version 3.0.4.24 (original release) and version 3.1.5.82 (latest version as of this writing) of TMPGenc 3.0 XPress.

Codecs: XviD-1.0.3-20122004 _Final Release_
XviD-1.1.0-Beta2-04042005 _Beta Release_
Platform: Windows XP SP2 on a 2 GHz Mobile Pentium 4


Review by JNavas on May 11, 2005 Version: 3.1.5.82 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




Recent versions of TmpGENC 3 Xpress will convert from the dvr-ms format used by the video recording module of MS Windows XP Media Center. This is a plus I hadn't looked for when I originally bought TmpGENC, but it became important when I moved to a new computer with the Media Center pre-installed. I think it actually makes up for the annoying online activation/re-activation routine.

(By the way, I had no problem re-installing TmpGENC Xpress on the new computer.)


Review by oldamateur on Apr 5, 2005 Version: 3.1.5.nn OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 3.1.5.82 labels VOBs extracted from DVDs differently now. Instead of filenames that end in .MPG, they now end in .DATA. So, if you're using another editing program to cut (like Womble MPEG Video Wizard), just be aware that, even though the filenames end in .DATA, they're still MPPEG-2 files. No harm, no foul.

Although -- why would TMPGEnc do this?

Duh.


Review by robguy on Mar 24, 2005 Version: 3.1.5.82 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




The tool is nice to work with and appears to have lots of options. However, the primary function of this software is encoding, and I do not like the final results for MPEG2. For example, a smooth-scrolling text became jerky after encoding. The overall quality of the output is at best average. The NTSC->PAL conversion produced very poor results.

Review by janekfr on Jan 21, 2005 Version: 3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




I am adding my comment NOT because I have fully looked in to this tool - and am rating based on that (I gave 8 across the board because I did not want ot scew too much, but to me the lack of AC3 although annoying is not a deal breaker)

The reason I am commenting is because I found something in this version that give is a LOT of new value added for me but have not seen it in any comments or reviews.
Tmpgenc Express - now allows conversion to WMV files using WMV9 (even though the pegasus web site says wmv8)
It has much more flexibility than Windows Media Encoder. -
So to me I see it as close the what I had in 2.5 and the WMV stuff - to me it looks like a nice product.
Just my 2 cents.


Review by akrasna on Nov 29, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Having used the original version of TMPGenc for a long time, I initially I hated the new interface which came with version 3 of the software. However, having got used to it, which did not take long, the new version seems provide the same functionality, via what I now believe to be a much "nicer" interface.

Not only is the new interface a little more "polished", but it seems to me that the new version of this software does in fact (as Pegasys claim) work better than the older 2.n versions. This definately appears to be the case with respect to speed, but my initial impressions are that the quality could be better as well.

Having messed around for ages attempting to convert my old PAL DVDs to NTSC with various combinations of program (in a vain attempt to find a solution that would consistantly keep the audio and video in sync). I was absolutely delighted to discover that TMPGenc Xpress in combination with the TMPGenc AC3 codec, could be pointed directly at the source DVD (after ripping with DVD Decryptor) and would use the VOB files as the source for the conversion. By this I mean that it allows you to set the source for the conversion to be a specific VTS/Audio combinationd from a DVD. Effectively it will do everything for you, you point it at the DVD that you want to be the source, it allows you to select the VTS/Audio sets that you want to use as the source for the conversion and then (after giving you the option of caching the relevant VOB files to disk), it will convert straight from the DVD. Instead of using a whole bunch of utilities, I am now using TMPGenc3XP and the TMPG AC3 Codec to do my PAL DVD => NTSC conversions, and so far I have not encountered any problems. In my opinion, the price of the upgrade can be justified by the convenience of this new piece of functionality.

People have complained that the TMPGGenc AC3 codec only supports 2 channels, but in my opinion I am quite happy to put up with this limitation, simply for the convenience of the one step conversion of both Audio and Video streams straight from the DVD.


Review by amg on Nov 17, 2004 Version: 3.1.3.0.70 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Not a bad tool. Periodical license activation is an annoyance. 2ch AC3 plug-in DOES leave a lot to be desired. The ignorant poster below me really knows nothing about home users. A lot of enthusiast home users DO need 5.1ch AC3 support. Paying serious $$$ for a studio class AC3 5.1 encoder is NOT an option for aspiring home users on a budget. 'Nuff said.


Review by Elrik on Nov 11, 2004 Version: 3.1.3.70 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 7/10




This software is stable and works as designed. Very easy to use, compared to the 2.5 version. What more can one ask of it? I updated to this new version earlier today, and encoded several files with the Dolby AC-3 plugin. It works, just like the last version, flawless. Two channel AC-3 is enough for me. I'm using it to encode all my personal VHS home movies. No home user needs 5.1 AC-3. Go be honest, and buy the DVD version of the 5.1ch VHS movie, you are trying to copy. Stop illegal copying. For those people who don't like the product activation, TOUGH LUCK! Support developers instead of always asking for a free hand out, or illegally copying their software.

If you are an amateur filmmaker, and really must have 5.1ch, then be ready to pay a couple hundred $$$ for an AC-3 enocder, because of Dolby License fees.


Review by Wile_E on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 3.1.3.70 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Terrible ac3 support. The improvements for 3.1 are impressive, but with still no 5.1 audio support it's still not ready for Prime Time. Why Tmpgenc 2.5 can support it and not this is beyond me.

Review by jaxt on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




would be nice if you visited the site to download the latest version and find that the site actually had it to download... The version currntly available to download either as a trial, retail or update is ver 3.0.4??

Review by gazzaaa on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




Afetr a long time using TMPGenc 2.5 and 3.0, I like the 2.5 better. The 3.0 might be more user friendly, but the results of the output is better on the 2.5

Review by danravit on Sep 16, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




There is no doubt that this is one of the most user friendly tools on the market. Especially when u have gone through the guides on this website.

But let me alert you to its one great failing(that i know of). It will NOT encode any avi file you have that has the sound channel stored greater than 2 AC3 channels. In fact it wont even handle 2 channel AC3 if you dont purchase the AC3 plug-in. Yet even with the plugin it cannot handle AC3 5 or 6(etc) channel sound formats....

So judge for yourself whether that is any sort of failing. My collection has quite a few of the AC35,6 channel so it really let me down. Back to good old v2.5 for me....


Review by bobban on Sep 14, 2004 Version: TMpgEnc Express (v3.0) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I think the program works well when you know how to use it. As for those who complain about not being able to shut-down background processes while encoding, how much time do you save anyway? The program is very similar to 2.5 with some upgrades, to make D2VtoAVI work you must adjust your priorities under preferences. I have had no problems reading D2V files. These programs are very complex and require time to begin to understand how all of this works, it took me a good six months to understand all of the processes that need to be undertaken to produce a good DVD. Now with the upgrade there will be another learning curve.

My only real complaint is that the producers of the software seem to have rushed the product to market without complete documentation of the product. As of yet, there is very little information in the help files beyond the basics and no explanations of preference buttons at all. I have contacted support about providing guides on what all these switches do, I will let you know how long it takes to respond.


Review by paintmodel on Jul 2, 2004 Version: 3.0.4.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I have not had any problems with this software. I had been using
TMPG 2.5 to frameserve to CCE using VFAPI, which works great but i still had to convert the audio to AC3 using Vegas 4. Now that I'm using TMPG XPress with the AC3 plug-in everything is done at the same time and in less time than my previous method of encoding the video and audio separately. The GUI is very nice and easy to use. It's also easy to create custom templates if you don't like the default one. I'm still testing it but so far it looks like a winner to me.


Review by bf6239 on Jun 28, 2004 Version: 3.0.4.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




well, I am a newbie, and have realised that using, as I am, very good vhs recordings to copy to DVD, I used too many filters, and was trying to improve it too much.

Also a very odd thing, windows movie maker is giving me best capture!, but then I am using a Canopus advc300, so all this to say, Tmpgenc express works fine for me, but I suspect it may be overkill.

Advice I was given was that it gives best encoding for best dvd compatability.


Review by victoriabears on Jun 27, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Very, VERY buggy. Shame on you Pegasys, releasing a product that hasn't been debugged properly.

Forget about the license activation, this baby has much more serious problems. Avi files not recognized (that are recognized just fine in 2.5), crashes, mysterious vfapi transmission errors, you name it, I got it. And, no, I'm not a newbie.

I'd say I managed to encode 3 out of 10 files at any given time, and I'm going back to 2.5 until Pegasys releases an update. On the plus side, the new version is VERY user friendly - although the help texts still sound like they've been put together by a foreign exchange student :)


Review by joedotcom on Jun 26, 2004 Version: 3.0.4.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Just downloaded the 10-day trial from the official site.
Couldn't even start the program...says my trial period has expired.

This is on a fresh install of Win XP Pro SP2 RC2 (b.2149)
Windows OS install is less than a week old!
But my 10 day trial has already expired...go figure.

No help from pegasys support until I buy the product and register!


Review by mizkitty on Jun 22, 2004 Version: trial OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




If you've used TEMPGEnc 3.0 Express for any length of time you'll know that you don't have to be connected to the internet to use it.
I've been using it for a month now and after the initial on-line license verification after installation, I've always disconnected my cable connection and turned off all background processes (including firewall) while coding from .avi to MPEG-2 and have yet to see any attempted access to the internet by TEMPGEnc 3.0 Express.

This version is a great improvement over ver. 2.5 in terms of user-friendliness and speed... great for editing those huge captured .avi files before ever coding to MPEG-2.:)







Review by Harold7 on Jun 2, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This debate about an internet connection is really much ado about nothing. I routinely run TMPGEnc XPress without an internet connection to remove the load of the network on my PC, and it starts and runs fine. I upgraded to TMPGEncXPress to be able to encode MPEG2 and AC3 in one pass (I was doing it in multiple passes with TMPGEnc Plus and the AC3 plug-in before), and like the AC3 plug-in it just uses the internet to check its license periodically after a random number of uses.

Review by penguinvideo on Jun 2, 2004 Version: 3.04.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Connect online while I leave the computer unattended to encode? Slow the CPU usage and make more software run (firewall) so it slows down the already-not-the-fastest encoder? Lose a lot of the functionality of the old TMPGENC PLUS?

Surveys says ... XXX ... sorry, your lose your turn.

Either stick to an older version of start migrating to Canopus Procoder. If you need filters, stick with older versions or learn to use VirtualDub filters.

What a crock! Even Microsoft isn't this stupid.


Review by lordsmurf on Jun 2, 2004 Version: xpress OS: WinME Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




1 step forward and 3 steps back. What are they ever thinking? Connect to the net while you use SW. Now how @$$ backwards is that insanity? Shouldnt we have a choice in the matter? TMPG users and would-bes...... forget about it. Sticking with Plus 2.5.

Review by dvwannab on Jun 1, 2004 Version: 3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 1/10




They almost had me for an Upgrade until I read the part about a MANDATORY internet connection so it can periodically verify your registration key.

Review by dchannam on May 21, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




TMPGEnc Xpress will not read my DVD2AVI d2v files. The AC3 plug-in must be purchased in order to read sound from VOB files. With the AC3 plug-in, this would be a great program. It greatly simplifies the creation of MPG files, and it will encode DIVX and Windows Media Files with far less hassle than similar tools. But it does not appear to offer superior options to TMPEnc 2.5 in terms of the fine tuning MPEG output.

Review by adcvideo on May 20, 2004 Version: 3.04.24 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




To be able to try out this new software, you can download a Trial Version, but must have an Internet connection in order to use the functions.
Consider these three points:
(1) In most cases you will have to disable your Firewall !!!
(2) I want to install TMPGEnc Xpress on a different computer which is not connected to the Internet. Why? My video capture computer has NEVER been connected to the Internet, and that is why it is still virus free !!!!
(3) If and when you want to rebuild or re-install Windows, you'd better hope that Pegasys is still in business, online on the Internet, in order to reinstall Xpress.

Sorry Pegasys...After purchasing TMPGenc Plus, DVD Source Creator, and TMPGEnc DVD Author.....You've lost me !!!


Review by zenzen1 on May 19, 2004 Version: Express OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




This software supports windows 2000 and XP. Just encoded a short clip. It worked great, easy to use. I would recommend it.

Review by atvideohelp on May 19, 2004 Version: 3.0.4.24 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Shame it's Windows XP only, so no use to me.

Review by KBeee on May 19, 2004 Version: 3 OS: Win98 Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10


62 reviews, Showing 1 to 62 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com