Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab Video Downloader and download streaming video from 1000 sites! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer

30 reviews, Showing 1 to 30 reviews


My line of work involves a lot of video editing, and the ability to edit without re-encoding is vital for time and quality purposes. I used programs such as Solveig and VideoRedo for some time, but while both are good they still had various issues with stability, functionality, and quality of the produced video. I then discovered TMPGEnc Smart Renderer 5, initially tried the free month of version 5.0.22.27 then when I purchased .28 version was out. The interface is more intuitive and easier to use, the fully controllable designation of clips as master smart and rescue is unmatched, and I've yet to produce a single clip that has issues with freezing or duplicated or unwanted frames. Minimal encoding is sometimes necessary at cutting and joining points, and when I extracted the individual encoded frames and compared them to the extracted original frames I found the decrease in quality to be minimal, sometimes even imperceptible. The thing I appreciate most though is its ability to smoothly work with high resolution videos on less powerful machines. Solveig and VideoRedo would struggle and be very slow to navigate and move through the frames of a given HD clip, but on the exact same machine TMPGEnc Smart Renderer 5 would work through it extremely smoothly. Highly recommended.

Review by adrian44 on Jun 2, 2020 Version: 5.0.22.28 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's ok. Does a good job of smart rendering video but it is a bit clumsy to use (lots of dialogues to do a simple task). My major gripe is that I wanted to use it to edit TV recordings but it strips out subtitles which I need (unlike Videoredo). When I contacted them to ask about this, I got a very dismissive response so I can't recommend their support. Clearly they don't give a toss about people with hearing problems.

Review by Matt on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 5.0.21.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




It does everything described and does it well. It has just one failing. It does not process any embeded Subtitle Text. If you have just one subtitle text or for several languages, they all get dropped from the output. As long as you do not need Subtitles, I can highly recommend this program. But if you need subtitles, look elsewhere.

Review by NaPurHab on Apr 19, 2019 Version: 5.0.20.26 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Easy to use and nice user interface, unfortunately the core functionality is fundamental lacking.
The Split Point Function lacks of "split left of" and "split right of" the chosen frame and always splits left of, which means the chosen frame lands into the wrong clip 50% of the time. Further the tool lacks of an convenient add start-end range to batch list function, like for example Smartcutter offers. Those two issues makes cutting and splitting big videos into clips for joining them very bothersome and because those issues are in the core function, the tool is not worth the price for me till has been fixed.


Review by Nirantali on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 5.0.17.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Nirantali on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 5.0.17.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




Admittedly, the previous v4 version was a bit sluggish. This new Smart Renderer has been completely overhauled internally and it a pleasure to use. Beware, it's only for 64-bit versions of Windows.

I totally recommend this - it now supports a lot of new file types (including 10-bit H264). The only drawback is that it still does not support DVD/BD subtitles.

They have removed the "Add title" limit functionality and we can now add as many as we want into a title/project. Let's hope the next version (couple of years I guess) full subtitle import is added. As it stands, is is a superb Smart Rendering application.


Review by Greathelp on Jun 8, 2016 Version: 5.0.5.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




For me this product would have been great and would deserve a '10' on its overall score if it would have supported subtitles on BD and DVD. Lack of subtitle-support is really a major omission.

Review by vhwul62 on Sep 21, 2014 Version: 4.2.3.67 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I had problems with the 4.1.2.57 update. Previously, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer had performed well, but the latest update wouldn't open without an error message. I had to go back to the last update that I had downloaded, 4.0.15.50, to get the program to run.

Review by Mike48 on Jun 16, 2013 Version: 4.1.2.57 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer can add pin point chapter marks to mkv video the only prog that can do this. well worth the money

Review by dessieclive on Feb 26, 2013 Version: 40 13 42 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Smart Renderer 4 works exactly as advertised, and it works flawlessly. It's not an encoder, nor an editing application. For simple video cutting/splitting/joining without extra reencoding, it's ideal. There are plenty of transitions, which can be added in between clips or cuts. Worked fine on my .mts files. Highly recommended, just make sure it's what you are looking for.

Review by Greathelp on Feb 25, 2013 Version: 0.86.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It won't import MTS or m2ts files from my camcorder, even though it states to be AVCHD compatible. Too bad cause we all could use a good AVCHD editor......:(

Review by schematic2 on Nov 1, 2012 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




I bought the TMPGEnc MPEG Editor because I wanted to make sure 5.1 surround sound was kept in the video. It takes """""less than one minute"""" to convert a 7-GB movie to an MPEG file using a Intel I7 920 base computer with 6 GB ram. To bad Divx is not the same way.

Review by macblob on Sep 24, 2009 Version: 3.0 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




To bad they insert vista effects and buttons to user interface,
making program slow to respond when editing,
previous version was much more faster to edit.


Review by roma_turok on Sep 27, 2007 Version: v2.2.8 Premium OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




I've been looking for a quick way of accurately editing Mpeg2 files from my Liteon 5006b DVD recorder and Leadtek Winfast PVR2000 TV card before putting them into Ulead's VideoStudio 9 to add the chapters & make menus etc. I've had all the usual problems with losing audio sync and reliably transferring from DVD-VR disks etc. I bought TMPGenc Xpress & the Dolby plugin (The DVD recorder records audio in 2 channel dolby) which does the editing and the DVD-VR stuff very well, just sloooooooowly!

I've found a combination of 3 other free utilities that will do the job quite quickly but it's a hassle and the editing isn't frame accurate.

TMPGenc MPeg Editor does what it says on the tin! It edits MPeg files accurately. It doesn't re-encode everything unless it has to, and it handles the transfer from DVD-VR fine (this is by far the longest part of the process so far!). I can only assume that those people who have given it poor reviews here either have mpg files with unusual properties which requires a re-encode to make it conform to whatever standards it should comply with, or they're expecting it to do too much. It's not an updated version of either TMPGenc or TMPGenc+!

My only gripes are a) the price for, basically, just trimmer and b) why the Smeg didn't they put these smart render routines in TMPGenc Xpress?!


Review by TimA-C on Jul 30, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a GREAT tool! Only yesterday I 'found' it and have tried it with big mpeg-file(s) that are DVD-compliant, over 4 GB in size - MPEG Editor accepts this really large file without problems - preview is really fast - cuts frame-accurate and since I do not need re-encoding, the file is just resampled/parsed... in almost no time! (about 15 min.)
I find the interface very easy to use, perhabs only real newbies would have to look around for things connected to cutting/editing, like frame(s), bitrate etc. ANYTHING else is self-explanatory!
I had tried to cut my files with mpeg-vcr and mpeg-wizard which both are indeed *very good*, but files this size they do not handle at all, both just froze on me.
I thought at first that I would have to accept this, but MPEG Editor is the solution!


Review by nbarzgar on Mar 2, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I contacted their sales staff before ordering and they indicate that the software can be transferred from one machine to another. To quote them:

It seems you have been misinformed, our validation system accepts without problem you transfer the software and its license serial number on another machine. When installing the software on the new machine the validation system will ask you to connect to our server in order to receive the validation key. Just be careful to keep a copy of your license serial number in case you have to perform a complete re-installation.


Review by Coruscant on Jan 17, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




This is a great tool. After going thru about 20 different programs this is the only one that could repair the gop length on large dvb mpegs I had that were over 4 gigs. The file that it output was superb and perfectly in sync all the way thru. I give it a 9 because there is no option to turn preview off , which would speed it up a little bit, even though it's plenty fast already.

Review by nick101181 on Jan 16, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Overall, I absolutely loved this tool (trial version) for the one task of editing MPG files with frame accuracy. It is certainly the best tool with the best user interface that I have seen for that specific task.

That said, I cannot justify spending $40 ($50 if you don't already own another Pegasys product) on a license for a product that will be useless in 6 months when I upgrade to a new computer and get rid of the old one. Beware ... the license and associated internet validation process used in this product is NOT transferrable to another computer under any circumstances (according to Pegasys support). Add to that the same restrictive license agreement and additional $29 for the AC3 plug-in, and you have spent $69 that you will have to spend again in 6 months ... and again in 2 more years, etc each time you get a new computer.

I have used TMPGEnc Plus for a long time and love it. However, with TMPGEnc MPEG Editor, it is a sad shame that they have destroyed this wonderful product with a prohibitive license that deters/prevents "reasonable and honest" people from purchasing it. Sorry Pegasys, I will go with the Womble products instead. At least that way I have software that I can use for the next 5 years, if I choose.


Review by SenorDogoLoco on Dec 16, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Easy to use, interface works fast and smoothly like all TMPgenc software, and it is fast when saving back to an edited file. It also accepts 5.1 AC-3 audio as input but will only save in 2.0 channel with the plugin. This is okay for me, as I only need two channel AC-3. One nice thing is that it only re-encodes what it needs. It only recodes the parts, where you cut out sections, and it has to join two parts together. It won't re-encode the whole file, unless you tell it too! This makes it extremely quick and fast to re-encode.

The only thing it lacks, is to edit audio and apply filters such as noise reduction and remove pops/clicks. Tmpgenc 3.0 has all the audio AND video filters, and I would like this program to use them too. Maybe in future versions they will add the filters. It does have some audio filters, like fade in/out, normalize, time tone reduction, and audio gap correction.


Review by Wile_E on Oct 23, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




TMPGEnc MPEG Editor has a definite advantage over Womble MPEG-VCR in that you can choose to output LPCM as it is or encode to AC3 using the Plug-in that comes with TDA. I prefer to capture MPEG with LPCM audio and edit before correcting the audio and then encoding, while MPEG-VCR still insist on reencoding LPCM to MP2 in spite of their promise to lift the restriction. While having some transition effect might be a good addition, the Editor already does its required task quickly and reliably with a very friendly interface. The mouse operated fast forward and the ability to see sound wave are very convenient too. Sound filters can be handy for simple fade ins or outs or normalizations.

Review by DreamCapturer on Oct 22, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




As a test I took a straight forward and simple 1600MB MPEG-2 (captured with Snazzi)and cut it in half with TMPGEnc MPEG Editor. I attempted to duplicate the result of 3+ hours.

1st attempt- 3 minutes and 4 seconds
2nd attempt- 3 minutes and 5 seconds

On the 3rd attempt I unplugged the computer for 2 hours and 56 minutes, then restarted and completed the edit. Using this method I managed to duplicate the 3+ hour result.


Review by bobk on Oct 6, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




As a test I took a straight forward and simple 1600MB MPEG-2 made with TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 and cut it in half with Womble, DVTools, TMPGEnc MPEG Editor and the MPEG Tools built into TMPGEnc Plus 2.5. The results were:

Womble: 3 minutes to do it
DVTools: about 2 minutes though the second segment had no sound :-(
MPEG Tools: 5 minutes
TMPGEnc MPEG Editor: 3+ hours

With the exception of the DVTools cut one (which they're still working on admittedly) all played perfectly and the cut point was at exactly the same point in all of them as determined by Womble using the frame count. All played fine. The Womble cut was slightly bigger because it adds a bit more padding for full MPEG compliance whereas TMPGEnc don't seem to care about 100% compliance. The biggest drama though was the 3 hours it took TMPGEnc MPEG Editor to re-encode the whole thing again. Who the hell has got that much time to wait around just to cut an MPEG into segments for burning?

I only use it for muxing/demuxing while TMPGEnc Plus is busy encoding the next video. That's all it's good for - and even in that respect it's no better than MPEG Tools in TMPGEnc Plus. The startup time is a pain too - probably caused by the registration checking. Save your money and get Womble instead.



Review by DRP on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I agree - the product does what it claims, and does it well. It does not do a lot of other things but it does not claim to do other things.

I have both the Xpress encoder and the MPEG editor. As far as I can tell, the MPEG editor does a better job of setting a key frame and an I frame at an exact point for a cut, so that you have better control over chapter points when burning a DVD. That is what I wanted, and I am happy with how it works.

The MPEG editor is also a LOT faster than the Xpress encoder, since it does not recode unchange video. Typical comparison is 5 minutes vs 8 hours! That is only to be expected - the two products are doing something very different.

Not sure why people are trashing this product - it works as advertised.


Review by rfielder on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I'm at a loss to understand the bad reviews posted here based on the fact that it doesn't do things that it never claimed it could do, and the fact that it's not as good as Womble even though it cost only a 1/3 as much as Womble.

I haven't read seen anything in the product description that claims it can do anything other than cut and join Mpeg files. That's all it's supposed to do and (IMHO) it does it well.

It's true that it does nothing that you can't do with the tools in TMPGEnc Plus. It's not true that it re-encodes the whole thing again any more than the mpeg tools do.

It you want more capability to edit, make titles and do other things that Womble does (or does better) then spend the extra $80 and get Womble. If you just need to cut and join mpegs you can still spend the extra $80, but why?


Review by bobk on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




A very disappointing tool. I had high expectations, based on the declarations of Pegasys, and may I say, none of them is half true. The tool is very very limited. All you can do is cut pieces of MPEg files,and join them together. That's it. No overlaping, not even one simple editing capability.
The interface tries to be an "Expert", and is really not necessary, because it's not.
The preview output option, which is supposed to et you know which part of the video file is going to be re-encoded, simple takes forever. The program runs thougout the video to display the information, and it's realy a pain.
My advice: look somewhere else. Womble does a far better job.


Review by josh15 on Oct 3, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rubbish! Plain and simple. This is absolute garbage, just like Pegasus' new TMPGEnc 3.0 Xpress. It does nothing you can't do with the much simpler and easier to use tools in the standard TMPGEnc Plus 2.5. Even when you try to cut up an MPEG with it, it wants to re-encode the whole thing again, whereas the MPEG Tools in TMPGEnc Plus just cuts it and you're done.

You can really tell that Pegasus have gone from being a company run by enthusiasts and programmers to one run by marketing and sales graduates instead. This is a horrible little program which just puts a nice "friendly" face on the old tool and doesn't work anywhere near as well into the bargain.

Do yourself a massive favour and give this one a wide berth. Stick with the MPEG Tools in TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 and Womble when things gets tricky. Womble is a weapon and makes this thing look like a toy.


Review by DRP on Oct 2, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just a clarification on my note blow (2nd posting) about extracting 10 clips from one VOB - I need to extract this into 10 Seperate Files.

TMPG MPEG Editor does make it quite simple to cut everything but the 10 clips leaving a single file with the desired clips. I want to be able to use the clips individually in other projects. Having them encapsulated in one remaining file is more difficult to do with TMPG than with Womble MPEG Wizard (which has a batch Trim mode that creates seperate files from desired 'snippets'.


Review by markaardvark on Sep 20, 2004 Version: 1.01.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




After using the trial version for 4 days I bought the full version. Works great- very fast, flexible and easy to use.

On taking 10 small clips from one file, that's easily done. Set a start and end point at the 1st section you don't want and cut it. Find the next section and repeat. When you're done cutting out the parts you don't want you'll be left with the 10 (or however many) clips you do want in one file.

I tried Womble and had problems getting it to work- then had problems with the audio-sync after authoring the Womble created files. So far I haven't found had any problems of any type with TMPGEnc Editor.


Review by bobk on Sep 18, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




On the plus side the smooth cutting feature appears to be a plus.

On the other hand, the ease of use results in a tool that is very simplistic, and possibly limited in ability.

One thing I need to do is take a single large .VOB, and extract the 10 small clips that I'm interested in. The only way it appears I can do this with TMPG MPEG editor is to do this one at a time - that is load the file, find the first clip, cut everything not of interest, and save this as a batch job - then repeat this 9 more times. Tedious.

By Contrast Womble MPEG Wizard allows you to load the .VOB, mark the boundaries of the clip (In, Out), then add this to a batch trim list and scan forward to the next clip without the need to reload the file, etc. However - TMPG MPEG editor does load the chapter information whils Womble MPEG Wizard does not.

Both Womble and TMPG are in the same price range, but Womble does not appear to require network validation. What happened to the old 'use like a book' agreement that Borland had in its prime. I do want to buy one copy, and use it in one place at a time - either on my desktop or my laptop, which TMPG precludes with their new licensing approach (like the previous author - who can blame them given the rampant theft of their product..),


Review by markaardvark on Sep 18, 2004 Version: 1.01.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




On first try of the trial version, I am impressed on the speed with which it can cut the segments of the MPEG files needed and re-combine them to a new MPEG file.

It directly copies the MPEG stream to the output file re-encoding only the frames close to the cuts (where removed frames would cause corrupt streams). The quality of the encoding is similar to the Tmpgenc encoder but the speed is much faster.

If you capture to MPEG directly, this editor is a must and a time saver.

I HATE the online licence validation. But I can understand it since Tmpgenc products are second to CCE only in hacking.


Review by SaSi on Sep 16, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10


30 reviews, Showing 1 to 30 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com