Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert, play or make Blu-rays, 4K UHDs and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer is a high-speed video cutting tool focusing on MPEG video file formats. The product is designed so that you can cut videos with great speed and detail, and also incorporates the "Smart Rendering" function which makes super-fast output with practically no loss in quality. In addition to MPEG-1/2 and H.264/AVC, this version newly supports H.265/HEVC - a new format for the 4K and 8K generation. With an aim on increased Smart Rendering support, this tool takes a "back to basics" approach, focusing on faster and smoother video editing. It not only reconsiders the internal processing but also pursues to optimize elements other than programming such as the seeking procedure, the cutting order and other functions. One new feature, the Production Tool, is developed for your advanced preparation for editing, which allows you to perform the Commercial Candidate Detector and Indexing for Seeking functions automatically. Also including a Blu-ray BDAV authoring function, this new product can grant amazingly high-speed, high quality cut-editing and outputting.

Trialware $70
OS: Win
File size: 119MB
Version history
7.4/10
29 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

5.0.21.27 (July 18, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5.0.21.27  119MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $70)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 5.0.21.27 - July 18, 2019
Corrections Fixed: The chapters of a file which was outputted with the [Output Keyframes as Chapters] option did not work correctly on certain players.
Fixed: Occasionally the application did not launch correctly in specific Intel CPU environments.
Other corrections.

View full changelog




All features


Native Support for 64-bit Architecture.
This version is designed only for 64-bit architecture environments. Along with this enhancement, the application is capable of using an outstandingly large memory size. Therefore, editing operations that contain ultra HD editing, complex filtering, file importation, video rendering, clip copying, etc. become much easier and lighter to handle.
*This application does not support 32-bit OS environments.
Smart Rendering function - Implements ultra-fast and excellent picture quality output.


What makes it high quality? Exports losslessly other than Cut and Connected ranges.

How is high speed output possible? Unchanged video parts are not re-encoded.


TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 features the "Smart Rendering" output function. Smart rendering has the ability to analyze a video file and re-encode only the parts that have been changed, such as cut/split/join points and sections where transitions or other effects have been added. Parts of the video that have not changed are not re-encoded.
Besides taking a long time, re-encoding changes the video/audio data; this can cause differences in quality depending on the encoder and the output settings. Thus, it is typically a best practice to keep the original data unchanged as much as possible to maintain the original quality and avoid degradation.

Supported Formats - Now Supports H.265/HEVC
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 supports the smart-rendering of the MPEG-2 Video format which is used for DVD-Video, the H.264/AVC format which is for websites such as YouTube, devices such as smartphones, AVCHD camcorders, and the "H.265/HEVC" format which is newly supported and the successor to H.264/AVC and is the latest video compression standard. TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 is great for editing AVCHD or XAVC camcorder recoding videos, Blu-ray disc videos, web videos, and more.
MPEG-1/2
H.264/AVC
H.265/HEVC
* Some supported format files may not be smart-rendered depending on the video parameters, etc.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 does not have the functions for compressing whole video files, nor for changing the resolution. If you want those functions, please consider our multi video encoder, "TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 6".
Joins files "Smartly."
File Connecting - Ultra Fast and High Quality.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5's smart rendering function supports not only cut ranges but also where files are connected. This allows you to join multiple files which are recorded by a digital camcorder or smartphone into one file.

Rescue Clip Function - Encodes in High Quality
Even for Non-Smart Renderable Videos.
Simply put, no smart rendering problems will occur when importing files which were recorded by the same device since the video parameters are the same. However, importing multiple clips that have different parameters (such as resolution) from each other requires adopting the different parameters which cannot be smart rendered. In such cases, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 can analyze and reflect the files which have different parameters as a "Rescue Clip", and can join and output in high quality using the integrated high-definition encoder.

* Only supported MPEG formats can be input into TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 as a Rescue Clip.
At least one video file must be smart renderable per project.
Integrates Outstanding Encoding Engines Required For Smart Rendering.
For smart rendering output, the quality of the encoding engine is held as one of most important elements. If the quality is low, then the low quality encoded parts will stand out on video playback, thus reducing the whole quality of the video. That is why TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 integrates the best encoders which results in the best quality output video.
MPEG-1/2

Incorporates our original encoder used in the TMPGEnc series and is known the world over as one of the best MPEG-1/2 encoders.
H.264/AVC

Incorporates the world renowned x264 encoding engine. Widely adopted as the H.264 encoder of choice for sites such as Facebook and YouTube.
H.265/HEVC

Incorporates the "x265" which is constantly evolving as an open source product. Its quality and encoding speed are also commended worldwide.
AAC Audio

AAC audio is used in a number of video formats such as MPEG-2 TS and MP4. Incorporates the high-quality AAC audio encoding engine by Fraunhofer IIS for all AAC encoding during output, which is known particularly for sound quality. There is no compromise for the audio quality as well as the video quality.
Diverse Container Support.
MXF container is now supported.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 supports popular containers which contain the supporting video formats (MPEG-1/2, H.264/AVC and H.265/HEVC) for input and output. This version further supports importing MXF containers, which widens the possibities of editing even further.
Supported Input Containers

MP4 (H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC)
TS Container (MPEG-2, H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC)
m2ts (Blu-ray, AVCHD)
mts (e.g.AVCHD)
ts (e.g. Broadcast Data)
m2t (HDV)
MXF (MPEG-2, H.264/AVC)
FLV (H.264/AVC, e.g.Web Contents)
MOV (H.264/AVC, e.g.Digital Cameras)
MKV (MPEG-2, H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC)
MPEG (MPEG-1/2)
Supported Output Containers

MP4 (H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC)
TS Container (MPEG-2, H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC)
m2ts (Blu-ray, AVCHD)
mts (e.g.AVCHD)
ts (e.g. Broadcast Data)
m2t (HDV)
MKV (MPEG-2, H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC)
MPEG (MPEG-1/2)
* Selectable container is restricted depending on the imported video format and container type.
* Some files cannot be imported depending on the container construction.
Output Conforming to the Standards Such as Blu-ray and AVCHD.
If an imported file has the video format and parameters meeting the standards or the regulations, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 can output the file conforming to the Blu-ray (BDMV/BDAV) or AVCHD standards. Use the output files as materials in separate authoring software such as our TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5. As a plus, you can verify possible output targets based on the clip's parameters in the Target Indicator function in the Clip Properties.

XAVC S Output Support.
Supports importing and outputting using the high quality video 4K/HD video format "XAVC S" which is advocated by Sony and capable of storing high resolution and high bitrate videos compared to the AVCHD standard. The output file can be played on XAVC S playback supported devices.

* Requires an imported video format which conforms to the XAVC S standard.
* Some devices may not play the output file which was created by external software. Please refer to your device's user manual or contact the device maker before use.
* There is no authoring function other than Blu-ray (BDAV) in TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5. Blu-ray (BDMV) or AVCHD authoring requires separate authoring software such as our TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5.
Blu-ray (BDAV) Authoring Support.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 is capable of authoring the edited video files to the Blu-ray in BDAV format*1, and allows you to burn it to disk. Furthermore, it features an append function that appends the output to an already recorded BD-R or BD-RE media. Not only great for watching your video, it can also help to reduce your hard disk used space, or you can use it for material archives and other uses.

* When using the Blu-ray authoring function, the imported file is required to conformed to the Blu-ray (BDAV) standard.
*1 The "BDAV" Blu-ray standard does not support menus. If you want to create a Blu-ray with menus (BDMV) standard, please consider to use our TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 application.
As a Special Tool for Cutting and Smart Rendering,
We've Polished the Editing Function and the Interface.
Implement the Shortest Editing Workflow.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 reduces complicated processes and procedures, and provides an incredible interface which is capable of cutting, editing and reaching the output in the quickest time by adhering to the simple workflow of Import, Edit, Settings and Output.


Clip Input Becomes More Convenient and Comfortable.
Title/Multi Stream Analyzer - Post-application supported.
This function analyzes a file at importation and allows you to select a specific import title clip within a Blu-ray, AVCHD file, etc. Regarding a MPEG-2 TS or MXF file, the function analyzes and lets you choose a multi-structured video file (containing several video and audio streams) or video where the resolution changes mid-flow. TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 allows you to use the analyzer for a file even if you did not choose to analyze it when importing.

* Encrypted or copy-protected files cannot be imported
* Subtitles cannot be imported other than ISDB standard subtitles.
ISO File Direct Import and Editing Support.
Supports directly importing ISO Files, allowing you to import an ISO file without mounting it. Just drag and drop or use the import wizard!
* The Windows 7 environment requires ImDisk Virtual Disk Driver which is packaged with the application.
* Only supports DVD-video, Blu-ray, and AVCHD authoring data. A general MPEG file is not supported.
ImDisk Virtual Disk Driver: Copyright © 2004-2015 Olof Lagerkvist. http://www.ltr-data.se
10-bit 4:4:4 H.264/AVC Input and Output Support.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 is capable of importing the H.264/AVC High Intra 4:4:4 profile and output using smart-rendering. This allows you to output in high quality and not be affected by the limitations of the profile.
Quick Properties
The software newly features the "Quick Properties" panel in the clip setting window, which allows you to verify the video and audio overview of a selected clip without launching the clip editing window. Also, you can change the aspect ratio and the channel mode.

Share Clips Between Applications.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 allows you to share clips by dragging and dropping between applications. In case of progressing several projects all at once or other cases, which makes your work be speedily rather than that of old versions.

Newly Evolved Cut Editing Interface - Easier to Use, Presice and Quick.
.
When simply cutting a video, not displaying and cutting the correct position would turn your hard work into a waste of time. The Cut Edit window, which is the core of TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5, brings you presice results because of our developed skills and experience. We've reworked the internal processing of the editing window and it has been enhanced with functions to support 4K and 8K high-definition editing.

Source movie: © copyright 2008, Blender Foundation | www.bigbuckbunny.org

No Left-Over Parts. "Frame Level Editing".
A single frame is the smallest unit of a video. TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 can edit at the frame level, so the frames you cut are the exact frames that will be removed upon output. Other products cut at the GOP (Group of Pictures) level, so cuts in those products can actually remove more frames than you want. Frame level editing also helps minimize re-encoding during smart rendering output.


Clip Editing Functionality For High Speed Editing.
High Speed Thumbnail Display + Scene Detection = "Smart Scene Search"
You can search any scene quickly simply by clicking the right mouse button while viewing the quick-scrolling thumbnail strip. Clicking on the middle mouse button activates Smart Scene Search, which automatically moves the playhead to the closest scene change.

Faster Enhanced Drag Seeking.
Even Faster with Index for Seeking.
Drag seeking is one of most frequently used functions in cut editing. In this version, the drag seeking implements even faster seeking with an improved algorithm. Also, by using it together with "indexing for seeking," which creates position point data of an imported clip, it allows you to seek easier and faster compared to older versions.

* The indexing for seeking can be set to automatic or manual.
Clip Splitting - Evolved.
Now With Real-time Registering.
Adding to the Batch Cut function which allows you to cut many scenes at once by specifying arbitrary split points, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 further allows you to register an arbitrary split range as a clip in real time. You can also specify the clip splitting method in advance in this version, which can reduce the editing time even more.

Quick Cut Function - Instantly Cut at the Range Set.
When you cut in the previous versions of the TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer series, you had to set the Start and End points and then press the Cut button. We figured that if you already determined the End (or Start) point, the action of pressing the Cut button is superfluous. So in this version, we created a "Quick Cut" function that can cut the specified range immediately by being holding the [CTRL] key when clicking the End (or Start) point button.

source movie: © copyright 2008, Blender Foundation | www.bigbuckbunny.org
Flexible Preview Control Focused on the 8K Era.
The Preview panel of TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 allows you to zoom-in, zoom-out and even drag and reposition the preview image to your liking. This allows you to examine fine details in your video in real-time while playing.

source movie: © copyright 2008, Blender Foundation | www.bigbuckbunny.org
Displays Current Frame Information in Real-time.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 can display the current frame number and time in the preview area. The current frame picture type information (I / P / B frame) is also displayed, which is useful to verify and reduce the re-encoded ranges.

Cannot be displayed in the Title Edit window.
source movie: © copyright 2008, Blender Foundation | www.bigbuckbunny.org
Player Controller Undocking Support.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 supports undocking the player control panel, which allows you to place the panel anywhere you want. You can control the position and setting depending on your editing situation.

source movie: © copyright 2008, Blender Foundation | www.bigbuckbunny.org
Keyframe List Preset Support.
Setting the cut points repeatedly for video sources which have the same unwanted ranges such as commercials is a waste of your time. To resolve this, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 allows you to register the current keyframe list as a preset, allowing you to reuse the preset for other clips, thus reducing repetitive work.

CUDA™ and Intel® Media SDK (QSV) Hardware Decoding Support.
Both NVIDIA® CUDA™ technology and the Intel® Media SDK are supported for hardware video decoding. CUDA technology uses the GPU's (graphic card CPU) multiple core parallel processing to solve complex problems in a short amount of time. By splitting many processes into multiple elements and parallelizing them, and using the GPU's massive processing power, programs can run more efficiently.
The Intel Media SDK utilizes the power of Intel Quick Sync Video included in the second generation Intel Core™ processors to assist the decoding process. In a compatible environment, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 supports H.265/HEVC hardware decoding of those functions.
* Acceleration cannot be guaranteed in all environments.
* Requires a compatible environment.
AMD Media SDK Hardware Decoder Support.
With TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 and a supported Advanced Micro Devices' graphics card environment, you can utilize its H.264/AVC hardware decoder functions. In the supported environment, it allows you to edit with faster and smoother video playback due to its high speed decoding.
* Acceleration cannot be guaranteed in all environments.
* Requires a compatible environment.
Multiple Title Addition Support.
This "Title" function is capable of adding a description or a title to your video where you can customize the layout and use any font on your computer. In TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5, it is possible to add titles to several ranges in a clip.

* Cannot be used as subtitles for DVD-Video or Blu-ray.
* Portions of the video with text overlays will be re-encoded.
Detect Commercials For Easy Editing.
TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 supports the "Commercial Candidates Detector" which analyzes several elements in a clip such as audio and scene change positions, and detects the most likely candidate positions of commercials. Utilizing this function together with the Batch Cut function further saves editing time. The "Pre-commercial Candidates Detection" function is also incorporated in this application, which can analyze multiple clips in the background without opening the clip editing window. Even if there are clips being analyzed, you can edit another clip normally, so you can use your time efficiently.

* The "Batch Cut function" allows you to cut color coded sections of clips (either blue or orange) all at once.
* While the pre-commercial detection function is running, you cannot edit transitions or move to the output settings screen.
Output Settings - No Special Knowledge Needed.
We've excluded as much unnecessary information as possible in the output settings and organized it into a simplified layout. You can see all of the streams in the selected clip including labels for streams that will be re-encoded or have filters applied to them, which makes it easy to see what will happen to each clip upon output.

Choose According to Your Purpose.
In TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5, the selectable output targets (MP4, MKV, AVCHD, etc.) and the related settings for clips are automatically set by detecting the properties of the Master or other clips. The first displayed setting is the most basic recommendation, so you can process the output even if you don't have special video knowledge. If unselectable targets are displayed, the reason why it's unselectable will be displayed so you can verify whether there is a problem in the imported video.

Simplified Video and Audio Settings.
Since the parameter settings (including most internal detailed settings) for video and audio are automatically optimized and processed by the application's engine, you can use the basic settings without any changes. Of course, if you want, you can adjust various video settings such as aspect ratio, rate control mode, quality (sets bitrate allocation relative to the original source's video data quantity), and performance levels (sets precision and output speed levels against the quality; H.265/HEVC: 9 Steps, H.264/AVC: 7 Steps, H.264/AVC: 4 Steps). For the audio settings, you can manually set the format, bitrate, channel mode, and more.

Input/Output Up To 8 Audio Streams.
Supports the importation of multi-stream audio/video files which contain up to eight audio streams. This function can be used for a wide range of creation such as a multi stream MKV file or a file for Blu-ray authoring.

Change Rotation Flag
Supports replacing the rotation flag for a MP4 file. Allows you to replace the current rotation setting of a video (such as those recorded by a smartphone or other device) without re-encoding. For example, you can change a vertically-shot video to a horizontal video..

* Since changes cannot be made to the actual video streams by the rotation flag, the players supporting such files are limited (QuickTime Player, etc.).
* The imported clip formats which allow changing the rotation flag are limited to MP4, MOV and MKV files (containers). Only MP4 files can apply the rotation flag when exporting.
The New "Production Tool."
Automatically Assists With Advanced Preparation for Editing.
The all-new "Production Tool" automatically assists with the production of your video editing process, reducing your workload. The Production Tool has the monitoring folder function, which always monitors the specified folders and adds clips automatically when detected. These added clips will automatically have the Commercial Candidates Detection and Indexing for Seeking functions applied to them. With those steps out of the way, you can start your editing immediately. Since the Production Tool works independently of the main application, you do not have to worry about the operating load while editing.

Folder Monitoring Function.
The Production Tool allows you to monitor the specified folders at all times by checking them at the specified intervals and automatically adds the detected clips. These newly imported video files in your monitored folders will appear as stand-bys in the clip list of the Production Tool, ready for editing.

Automatic Commercial Detection.
Once files has been registered in the Production Tool, they will automatically be analyzed by the Commercial Candidates Detection function. After the detection completes, it shows where possible commercials may appear in the clip and are color-coded according to the confidence that is actually a commercial. Similarly, it allows you to create an index file for seeking which accelerates the seeking speed with automatic operation.

* Protected or copyrighted/encrypted files cannot be added.
Linking with Main Application.
Since editing from the Production Tool directly opens the clip editing window of TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5, you can edit the clip immediately without wasting your time. Of course it is capable of sharing clips to TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 by drag/drop and copy/paste methods, and conversely, you can add clips to the Production Tool from the main TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 application.

Other Features
Besides the following functions, even more features have been implemented in TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5. Try it for yourself!
TMPGEnc Smart Tap Controller Support.
Supports "TMPGEnc Smart Tap Controller" which is an auxiliary controller that can control the cut-editing operations of TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer 5 from your iPhone or iPad. In combination with a keyboard, a mouse or other peripherals, this controller allows more choices for user operation based on the user's preferences and makes editing smarter than ever.

Output Continuously with the Batch Tool.
You can pre-register multiple projects in the Batch Tool, allowing you to output multiple projects at once. Some projects may require a lot of time to output because of complex HD video, or video that has many ranges to be re-encoded, or, perhaps your PC isn't that powerful. The Batch Tool lets you work on multiple projects, and then output them one after the other while you work on other things.
Transition Effects
Apply transition effects, including 3D transition effects, to add a three-dimensional effect between clips or scenes. There are over 170 transition effects to choose from, ensuring that you can add your own unique touch to your videos.




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer


Cuttermaran



MPEG-VCR



Mpeg2Schnitt



Mpg2Cut2



VideoReDo TVSuite







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

TMSR, TMPGEnc MPEG Editor, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer, TMPGEnc Smart Renderer, TMPGEnc MPEG2 Smart Renderer




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




29 reviews, Showing 1 to 29 reviews


It's ok. Does a good job of smart rendering video but it is a bit clumsy to use (lots of dialogues to do a simple task). My major gripe is that I wanted to use it to edit TV recordings but it strips out subtitles which I need (unlike Videoredo). When I contacted them to ask about this, I got a very dismissive response so I can't recommend their support. Clearly they don't give a toss about people with hearing problems.

Review by Matt on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 5.0.21.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




It does everything described and does it well. It has just one failing. It does not process any embeded Subtitle Text. If you have just one subtitle text or for several languages, they all get dropped from the output. As long as you do not need Subtitles, I can highly recommend this program. But if you need subtitles, look elsewhere.

Review by NaPurHab on Apr 19, 2019 Version: 5.0.20.26 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Easy to use and nice user interface, unfortunately the core functionality is fundamental lacking.
The Split Point Function lacks of "split left of" and "split right of" the chosen frame and always splits left of, which means the chosen frame lands into the wrong clip 50% of the time. Further the tool lacks of an convenient add start-end range to batch list function, like for example Smartcutter offers. Those two issues makes cutting and splitting big videos into clips for joining them very bothersome and because those issues are in the core function, the tool is not worth the price for me till has been fixed.


Review by Nirantali on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 5.0.17.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Nirantali on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 5.0.17.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




Admittedly, the previous v4 version was a bit sluggish. This new Smart Renderer has been completely overhauled internally and it a pleasure to use. Beware, it's only for 64-bit versions of Windows.

I totally recommend this - it now supports a lot of new file types (including 10-bit H264). The only drawback is that it still does not support DVD/BD subtitles.

They have removed the "Add title" limit functionality and we can now add as many as we want into a title/project. Let's hope the next version (couple of years I guess) full subtitle import is added. As it stands, is is a superb Smart Rendering application.


Review by Greathelp on Jun 8, 2016 Version: 5.0.5.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




For me this product would have been great and would deserve a '10' on its overall score if it would have supported subtitles on BD and DVD. Lack of subtitle-support is really a major omission.

Review by vhwul62 on Sep 21, 2014 Version: 4.2.3.67 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I had problems with the 4.1.2.57 update. Previously, TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer had performed well, but the latest update wouldn't open without an error message. I had to go back to the last update that I had downloaded, 4.0.15.50, to get the program to run.

Review by Mike48 on Jun 16, 2013 Version: 4.1.2.57 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer can add pin point chapter marks to mkv video the only prog that can do this. well worth the money

Review by dessieclive on Feb 26, 2013 Version: 40 13 42 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Smart Renderer 4 works exactly as advertised, and it works flawlessly. It's not an encoder, nor an editing application. For simple video cutting/splitting/joining without extra reencoding, it's ideal. There are plenty of transitions, which can be added in between clips or cuts. Worked fine on my .mts files. Highly recommended, just make sure it's what you are looking for.

Review by Greathelp on Feb 25, 2013 Version: 0.86.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It won't import MTS or m2ts files from my camcorder, even though it states to be AVCHD compatible. Too bad cause we all could use a good AVCHD editor......:(

Review by schematic2 on Nov 1, 2012 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




I bought the TMPGEnc MPEG Editor because I wanted to make sure 5.1 surround sound was kept in the video. It takes """""less than one minute"""" to convert a 7-GB movie to an MPEG file using a Intel I7 920 base computer with 6 GB ram. To bad Divx is not the same way.

Review by macblob on Sep 24, 2009 Version: 3.0 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




To bad they insert vista effects and buttons to user interface,
making program slow to respond when editing,
previous version was much more faster to edit.


Review by roma_turok on Sep 27, 2007 Version: v2.2.8 Premium OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




I've been looking for a quick way of accurately editing Mpeg2 files from my Liteon 5006b DVD recorder and Leadtek Winfast PVR2000 TV card before putting them into Ulead's VideoStudio 9 to add the chapters & make menus etc. I've had all the usual problems with losing audio sync and reliably transferring from DVD-VR disks etc. I bought TMPGenc Xpress & the Dolby plugin (The DVD recorder records audio in 2 channel dolby) which does the editing and the DVD-VR stuff very well, just sloooooooowly!

I've found a combination of 3 other free utilities that will do the job quite quickly but it's a hassle and the editing isn't frame accurate.

TMPGenc MPeg Editor does what it says on the tin! It edits MPeg files accurately. It doesn't re-encode everything unless it has to, and it handles the transfer from DVD-VR fine (this is by far the longest part of the process so far!). I can only assume that those people who have given it poor reviews here either have mpg files with unusual properties which requires a re-encode to make it conform to whatever standards it should comply with, or they're expecting it to do too much. It's not an updated version of either TMPGenc or TMPGenc+!

My only gripes are a) the price for, basically, just trimmer and b) why the Smeg didn't they put these smart render routines in TMPGenc Xpress?!


Review by TimA-C on Jul 30, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a GREAT tool! Only yesterday I 'found' it and have tried it with big mpeg-file(s) that are DVD-compliant, over 4 GB in size - MPEG Editor accepts this really large file without problems - preview is really fast - cuts frame-accurate and since I do not need re-encoding, the file is just resampled/parsed... in almost no time! (about 15 min.)
I find the interface very easy to use, perhabs only real newbies would have to look around for things connected to cutting/editing, like frame(s), bitrate etc. ANYTHING else is self-explanatory!
I had tried to cut my files with mpeg-vcr and mpeg-wizard which both are indeed *very good*, but files this size they do not handle at all, both just froze on me.
I thought at first that I would have to accept this, but MPEG Editor is the solution!


Review by nbarzgar on Mar 2, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I contacted their sales staff before ordering and they indicate that the software can be transferred from one machine to another. To quote them:

It seems you have been misinformed, our validation system accepts without problem you transfer the software and its license serial number on another machine. When installing the software on the new machine the validation system will ask you to connect to our server in order to receive the validation key. Just be careful to keep a copy of your license serial number in case you have to perform a complete re-installation.


Review by Coruscant on Jan 17, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




This is a great tool. After going thru about 20 different programs this is the only one that could repair the gop length on large dvb mpegs I had that were over 4 gigs. The file that it output was superb and perfectly in sync all the way thru. I give it a 9 because there is no option to turn preview off , which would speed it up a little bit, even though it's plenty fast already.

Review by nick101181 on Jan 16, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Overall, I absolutely loved this tool (trial version) for the one task of editing MPG files with frame accuracy. It is certainly the best tool with the best user interface that I have seen for that specific task.

That said, I cannot justify spending $40 ($50 if you don't already own another Pegasys product) on a license for a product that will be useless in 6 months when I upgrade to a new computer and get rid of the old one. Beware ... the license and associated internet validation process used in this product is NOT transferrable to another computer under any circumstances (according to Pegasys support). Add to that the same restrictive license agreement and additional $29 for the AC3 plug-in, and you have spent $69 that you will have to spend again in 6 months ... and again in 2 more years, etc each time you get a new computer.

I have used TMPGEnc Plus for a long time and love it. However, with TMPGEnc MPEG Editor, it is a sad shame that they have destroyed this wonderful product with a prohibitive license that deters/prevents "reasonable and honest" people from purchasing it. Sorry Pegasys, I will go with the Womble products instead. At least that way I have software that I can use for the next 5 years, if I choose.


Review by SenorDogoLoco on Dec 16, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Easy to use, interface works fast and smoothly like all TMPgenc software, and it is fast when saving back to an edited file. It also accepts 5.1 AC-3 audio as input but will only save in 2.0 channel with the plugin. This is okay for me, as I only need two channel AC-3. One nice thing is that it only re-encodes what it needs. It only recodes the parts, where you cut out sections, and it has to join two parts together. It won't re-encode the whole file, unless you tell it too! This makes it extremely quick and fast to re-encode.

The only thing it lacks, is to edit audio and apply filters such as noise reduction and remove pops/clicks. Tmpgenc 3.0 has all the audio AND video filters, and I would like this program to use them too. Maybe in future versions they will add the filters. It does have some audio filters, like fade in/out, normalize, time tone reduction, and audio gap correction.


Review by Wile_E on Oct 23, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




TMPGEnc MPEG Editor has a definite advantage over Womble MPEG-VCR in that you can choose to output LPCM as it is or encode to AC3 using the Plug-in that comes with TDA. I prefer to capture MPEG with LPCM audio and edit before correcting the audio and then encoding, while MPEG-VCR still insist on reencoding LPCM to MP2 in spite of their promise to lift the restriction. While having some transition effect might be a good addition, the Editor already does its required task quickly and reliably with a very friendly interface. The mouse operated fast forward and the ability to see sound wave are very convenient too. Sound filters can be handy for simple fade ins or outs or normalizations.

Review by DreamCapturer on Oct 22, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




As a test I took a straight forward and simple 1600MB MPEG-2 (captured with Snazzi)and cut it in half with TMPGEnc MPEG Editor. I attempted to duplicate the result of 3+ hours.

1st attempt- 3 minutes and 4 seconds
2nd attempt- 3 minutes and 5 seconds

On the 3rd attempt I unplugged the computer for 2 hours and 56 minutes, then restarted and completed the edit. Using this method I managed to duplicate the 3+ hour result.


Review by bobk on Oct 6, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




As a test I took a straight forward and simple 1600MB MPEG-2 made with TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 and cut it in half with Womble, DVTools, TMPGEnc MPEG Editor and the MPEG Tools built into TMPGEnc Plus 2.5. The results were:

Womble: 3 minutes to do it
DVTools: about 2 minutes though the second segment had no sound :-(
MPEG Tools: 5 minutes
TMPGEnc MPEG Editor: 3+ hours

With the exception of the DVTools cut one (which they're still working on admittedly) all played perfectly and the cut point was at exactly the same point in all of them as determined by Womble using the frame count. All played fine. The Womble cut was slightly bigger because it adds a bit more padding for full MPEG compliance whereas TMPGEnc don't seem to care about 100% compliance. The biggest drama though was the 3 hours it took TMPGEnc MPEG Editor to re-encode the whole thing again. Who the hell has got that much time to wait around just to cut an MPEG into segments for burning?

I only use it for muxing/demuxing while TMPGEnc Plus is busy encoding the next video. That's all it's good for - and even in that respect it's no better than MPEG Tools in TMPGEnc Plus. The startup time is a pain too - probably caused by the registration checking. Save your money and get Womble instead.



Review by DRP on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I agree - the product does what it claims, and does it well. It does not do a lot of other things but it does not claim to do other things.

I have both the Xpress encoder and the MPEG editor. As far as I can tell, the MPEG editor does a better job of setting a key frame and an I frame at an exact point for a cut, so that you have better control over chapter points when burning a DVD. That is what I wanted, and I am happy with how it works.

The MPEG editor is also a LOT faster than the Xpress encoder, since it does not recode unchange video. Typical comparison is 5 minutes vs 8 hours! That is only to be expected - the two products are doing something very different.

Not sure why people are trashing this product - it works as advertised.


Review by rfielder on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I'm at a loss to understand the bad reviews posted here based on the fact that it doesn't do things that it never claimed it could do, and the fact that it's not as good as Womble even though it cost only a 1/3 as much as Womble.

I haven't read seen anything in the product description that claims it can do anything other than cut and join Mpeg files. That's all it's supposed to do and (IMHO) it does it well.

It's true that it does nothing that you can't do with the tools in TMPGEnc Plus. It's not true that it re-encodes the whole thing again any more than the mpeg tools do.

It you want more capability to edit, make titles and do other things that Womble does (or does better) then spend the extra $80 and get Womble. If you just need to cut and join mpegs you can still spend the extra $80, but why?


Review by bobk on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




A very disappointing tool. I had high expectations, based on the declarations of Pegasys, and may I say, none of them is half true. The tool is very very limited. All you can do is cut pieces of MPEg files,and join them together. That's it. No overlaping, not even one simple editing capability.
The interface tries to be an "Expert", and is really not necessary, because it's not.
The preview output option, which is supposed to et you know which part of the video file is going to be re-encoded, simple takes forever. The program runs thougout the video to display the information, and it's realy a pain.
My advice: look somewhere else. Womble does a far better job.


Review by josh15 on Oct 3, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rubbish! Plain and simple. This is absolute garbage, just like Pegasus' new TMPGEnc 3.0 Xpress. It does nothing you can't do with the much simpler and easier to use tools in the standard TMPGEnc Plus 2.5. Even when you try to cut up an MPEG with it, it wants to re-encode the whole thing again, whereas the MPEG Tools in TMPGEnc Plus just cuts it and you're done.

You can really tell that Pegasus have gone from being a company run by enthusiasts and programmers to one run by marketing and sales graduates instead. This is a horrible little program which just puts a nice "friendly" face on the old tool and doesn't work anywhere near as well into the bargain.

Do yourself a massive favour and give this one a wide berth. Stick with the MPEG Tools in TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 and Womble when things gets tricky. Womble is a weapon and makes this thing look like a toy.


Review by DRP on Oct 2, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just a clarification on my note blow (2nd posting) about extracting 10 clips from one VOB - I need to extract this into 10 Seperate Files.

TMPG MPEG Editor does make it quite simple to cut everything but the 10 clips leaving a single file with the desired clips. I want to be able to use the clips individually in other projects. Having them encapsulated in one remaining file is more difficult to do with TMPG than with Womble MPEG Wizard (which has a batch Trim mode that creates seperate files from desired 'snippets'.


Review by markaardvark on Sep 20, 2004 Version: 1.01.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




After using the trial version for 4 days I bought the full version. Works great- very fast, flexible and easy to use.

On taking 10 small clips from one file, that's easily done. Set a start and end point at the 1st section you don't want and cut it. Find the next section and repeat. When you're done cutting out the parts you don't want you'll be left with the 10 (or however many) clips you do want in one file.

I tried Womble and had problems getting it to work- then had problems with the audio-sync after authoring the Womble created files. So far I haven't found had any problems of any type with TMPGEnc Editor.


Review by bobk on Sep 18, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




On the plus side the smooth cutting feature appears to be a plus.

On the other hand, the ease of use results in a tool that is very simplistic, and possibly limited in ability.

One thing I need to do is take a single large .VOB, and extract the 10 small clips that I'm interested in. The only way it appears I can do this with TMPG MPEG editor is to do this one at a time - that is load the file, find the first clip, cut everything not of interest, and save this as a batch job - then repeat this 9 more times. Tedious.

By Contrast Womble MPEG Wizard allows you to load the .VOB, mark the boundaries of the clip (In, Out), then add this to a batch trim list and scan forward to the next clip without the need to reload the file, etc. However - TMPG MPEG editor does load the chapter information whils Womble MPEG Wizard does not.

Both Womble and TMPG are in the same price range, but Womble does not appear to require network validation. What happened to the old 'use like a book' agreement that Borland had in its prime. I do want to buy one copy, and use it in one place at a time - either on my desktop or my laptop, which TMPG precludes with their new licensing approach (like the previous author - who can blame them given the rampant theft of their product..),


Review by markaardvark on Sep 18, 2004 Version: 1.01.59 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




On first try of the trial version, I am impressed on the speed with which it can cut the segments of the MPEG files needed and re-combine them to a new MPEG file.

It directly copies the MPEG stream to the output file re-encoding only the frames close to the cuts (where removed frames would cause corrupt streams). The quality of the encoding is similar to the Tmpgenc encoder but the speed is much faster.

If you capture to MPEG directly, this editor is a must and a time saver.

I HATE the online licence validation. But I can understand it since Tmpgenc products are second to CCE only in hacking.


Review by SaSi on Sep 16, 2004 Version: 1.0.1.59 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10


29 reviews, Showing 1 to 29 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com