Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Roxio MyDVD

38 reviews, Showing 1 to 38 reviews


I used to use Roxio Creator 2010 until a Windows 10 update made this program obsolete ... not bad for using the same software for 10 years! After all, I use this program to write downloaded TV programs to DVD-RW for viewing at my convenience. Since the 2010 MyDVD no long worked, I figured that upgrading to the latest Roxio MyDVD would keep me in "business". WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT. It appears that Corel has removed lots of functionality that used to exist with the 2010 version of MyDVD. One example, it appears that now I cannot create my own theme using a JPG that I had taken and save it for future use. Another example, it appears that I cannot truly edit TV program names (I typically include the Date aired followed by TV Show name followed by the Season & Episode number followed by the episode name (and, if it is the end of the season or series, I usually include a "Season Finale" or "Series Finale" comment as part of the filename) -- this string means that I used to put in a return character somewhere after the TV show name -- I have not figured out how to put this return character in to force the show description to be on two lines. It is very disappointing how Corel has forced Roxio to regress in their product.

Review by EMT_R on Sep 5, 2020 Version: 3.0.101.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 3/10




I used this version (Roxio Creator 2010) for years on a Windows 7 machine without a graphics card. It's gotten the job done, sometimes in a "I wonder if this will actually work" sort of way due to bugs. I gave up using it for video editing in favor of VideoReDo some time ago.

It was finally time to upgrade to Windows 10 on faster hardware with a graphics card. I installed this on Win 10 and was delighted when it rendered the video much faster, but every. single. attempt. has lead to long (10-15 min) delay while supposedly generating menus, followed by a crash. I can do some other things with this software, but it is now useless for producing DVDs and BluRays on my new hardware. The bugs and history make me seriously reluctant to throw money at Roxio for an updgrade.


Review by Rob Thurlow on Jun 7, 2020 Version: VideoWave/MyDVD 5.0.3491.7481 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




Since version 5.3, I have never had any problem with MyDVD. I only use it for authoring to DVD disc of pure AVI files, only. I use the highest quality encoding and the home movie comes out perfect, very vivid and plays in all stand-alone DVD players. Beautiful home movies/DVDs.... exceptional.

I use a video editor to make the movie to an AVI file.


Review by SATX on Oct 18, 2006 Version: 6.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




By far the worst DVD creation program ever developed by any company.
I can't believe anyone would actually say this is a good program.
I downloaded the Premier version last night and I'm trying to get a refund, hopefuly I'll get it. This program really is a WASTE OF MONEY, STAY AWAY!


Review by tmelo38 on Jun 28, 2006 Version: 8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just downloaded MyDVD 8 and within 3 hours I had a finished product. The DVD seems to test OK in my set-top. My old PC died and I replaced with a newer Presario...Windows XP (SP2) blows for video editing. I was forced to try 3 new capture devices, before finding one that would work. Also tried various capture/edit software...compatibility issues abound. Finally settled for the Adaptec VideOH! DVD Media Center for capturing (MPEG-2) and MyDVD 8 Premium ($69.00 @ Sonic) for authoring. This latest version of MyDVD is alot better than the bundled previous versions. It still has the same old "canned" menus, buttons, etc., but the ability to place chapter points in a timeline is invaluable when archiving old TV shows and VHS tapes.

PS.
RE: previous posts that have said Sonic's customer support sucks...they're right. It blows! I've had my compatibility posts on the help forum for 3 weeks now and there's still no reply from tech support.


Review by bengrimm99 on Mar 11, 2006 Version: MyDVD 8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Worst software I have ever used. Bought for my Tivo files (because it said that it works with them) well all it does is freeze and shutdown when working with the TiVo files. Went to Sonic support for help, it's been over a month and a half and no relpies, after several differnet attmepts, by computer. When and called, sat on hold for 20mins then got "disconnected" from them, on a land line, not a cell phone?

I would not recommend this software to anyone, it is way to expensive and doesn't work....


Review by Denvers Dawgs on Jan 8, 2006 Version: MyDVD6.` OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I have made about 10 DVDs, and it is quite to make e DVD, but it is not bug free. I have not managed to make the last DVD because after 3 hours with video conversion from DV (i.e. .avi) files to mpeg-2, it starts "planning video for movie." and hangs, using 100% CPU. The error is repeatable. I guess I will have to convert the video to another format and try again, but there is no garantee to succeed. The Sonic support website is hardly woking, so it is difficult to report errors.

Review by aage gulbrandsen on Jan 6, 2006 Version: 6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 4/10




MyDVD LE 5 came with my Iomega one-touch combo capture and DVD burner. The first thing I noticed is that the install script on the CD crashed. That's the way things went.

I manually installed the product by running setup from the appropriate directory on the CD. The advertised one-touch push button capture didn't work. Video capture and conversion to MPEG-2 works fine. Menu creation works fine. Actually burning a DVD is nearly impossible. 4 out of 5 times, MyDVD crashes halfway through the process, creating a toaster. The Sonic web site had an entry for the error message I am seeing, and suggested creating new directories in the root directory. I did that. No help.

I am pretty sure the hardware is not at fault. The Iomega Hotburn Pro software has no trouble copying DVDs. Not a single coaster yet.

Since I registered my copy, I have received a dozen offers to upgrade from Sonic. I frankly wouldn't pay a nickel for this POS software package. I'm looking for another video capture package that will talk to my Iomega drive.


Review by Larry Caldwell on Nov 2, 2005 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




Here's my (cleaned up a little) email requesting a refund...

1. My machine blue-screened after install, even booting safe-mode. Had to use Recovery Console to copy original versions of my registry into c:\windows\system32\config to allow my machine to boot - whiping out all changes made to this machine since it arrived two weeks ago from Dell (it's a Precision 380).

(Failed to mention that I found a good article & was able to get the machine back to pre-install ->> Blue Screen state...)

2. Got my machine running again, uninstalled previous OEM Sonic versions completely, rebooting when asked, then started install again. Error during setup.exe - missing shortcut????? 3 Options - Delete, Fix, Repair. Delete was the only option that let the install proceed.

3. My only reason for buying this software was to allow Burning of Tivo programs to DVD.

4. 5 Attempts to burn Tivo programs to DVD have failed - MyDVD crashes every time.

5. A little research on the web...

http://www.videohelp.com/tools?tool=342

let me know that a) this software is sh*t, always has been & always will be, b) support is non-existent and c) there is little hope for any kind of a fix - it's just sh*t...

Any questions??


Thanks Video Help (and those that took the time to post their problems with this software) - I won't waste any more time.

Franko


Review by fcbrants on Jul 30, 2005 Version: 6.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




What a huge piece of crap this software package is. Whoever said it is EASY to use is a complete idiot. Tech support is almost non-existent; even today (4-17-2005) I am unable to get thru to their automated tech support site. All I get is "general server error." Pretty cool, huh? None of the this software functions in any aspect. It is WORTHLESS, and you should take it back to the store and get your money returned.

Review by enewbold on Apr 17, 2005 Version: 5.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I started with Pinnacle 8 which rarely managed to do a full author without crashing, moved to Ulead VideoStudio 8 with all the plug ins which worked for about 200 DVD then refused to start and even after reinstalls, registry edits (to clean out all instances) etc will still not start, finally moved to Sonic MyDVD which came with my writer.

Upgraded to v6 and have been transferring video to DVD now (about 40 so far) with no problems. The editing is basic, the templates are very basic but the program works and most importantly seem to be stable.


Review by AndyMM on Feb 7, 2005 Version: 6 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




This was my first DVD authoring program and I found it easy to use and intuitive, however, the program hung while dealing with some of my projects. I switched to Sony DVD Architect and the program burned my projects without hanging.

Review by joshua b on Nov 12, 2004 Version: 6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




When I posted my last review of this product I informed the Level 2 support person that I would be happy to update it if he decided to take the time to try to provide a real solution to my problem. Since he has spent some additional time on this, I am now making good on my promise.

He informed me that I left out a very critical part of the reason I was having the problem. That reason, according to him, was that Canopus uses a proprietary codec to put out DV to the firewire card. In his opinion, the fact that the codec is proprietary also means the DV output is in a proprietary format, and that is why Sonic MyDVD can't deal with it. He couldn't explain to me why every other program I tried had no problem reading this supposedly proprietary DV format, so the extent of his expert help was to refer me to the definition of proprietary in a dictionary.

This is one of the most idiotic snow job attempts I've ever received from a tech support person. Bottom line, if you don't know how to solve a problem, at least make an attempt to come up with a believable reason why it is happening. This was beyond stupid, and goes a long way towards demonstrating why there are so many negative posts on the internet regarding this product.


Review by davewadd on Jul 29, 2004 Version: 5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Version 4.5 of the MyDVD product shipped with my Sony burner so I gave it a try. I installed it, but every attempt I made at capturing video from my Canopus ADVC-50 hung when I stopped the capture. I emailed tech support and was told I could upgrade to 5.2 for free. I did that. I followed their instructions, and when I tried to rerun the program it couldn't see either of my DVD drives. I emailed tech support again and was told that there was a known problem with 5.2 clobbering registry entries for Sony burners. I patched that per their instructions, but the 5.2 software still would not work.

At that point I was escalated to level 2 support. They informed me that the software was not compatible with the ADVC-50. I thought that was more than a little weird since that device is only seen as a DV source via a firewire card and does not install any drivers or codecs on the host computer, but the tech guy was insistent that had to be my problem. So even though the capture saw the video source, it apparently was not compatible. Very strange indeed.

My advice would be not to waste your time with this program. I'm really amazed that Sony ships this software with their burners when the program trashes the registry entries for their product. I'm betting that might be part of the reason that an old version came with the burner instead of the 5.2 release. I've seen other posts that claim people couldn't even get support. I didn't have that problem, but once I got to level 2 I may as well have been cutoff for all the help I got that was worth anything.


Review by davewadd on Jul 26, 2004 Version: 5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Downloaded version 5.2 from http://sony.storagesupport.com/dvdrw/downloads.htm. This version allows users to choose PCM or AC3 (192 M bits/s) for audio, and it does not re-encode the MPG2 video when the imported MPG2 videoís bitrate

Review by xy on Apr 15, 2004 Version: 5.2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




I've struggled with the MyDVD part on the Sonic software for the last week or so and can share my experiences at least. This software came with my Sony DRU530A burner and so I decided to give it a try with some old video footage. It's the Sonic 5.2.0 LE software, build 96293. I captured about 3 Gig of motion video from a Hi8 camcorder to my PC via firewire and I was pleasantly suprised how easy this was. I proceeded to make a layout with thumbnails and a few submenus. I noticed the files was stored as AVI on the hard disk but when encoded and burned to DVD, they compressed down to about 1G total and thus only used about 25% of my DVD. I had one slideshow of still shots too - this was ok, but the images were jumpy on my TV when they were not on the PC preview. No big deal - the trancoding of audio, video and image files was successful (although much slower than I expected for my 2.1GHz processor), and I had a working DVD with grpahics and working sub-menus. Took one night. Next night I decided to make a better DVD and pack it full of video, audio and still images. It has been 4 solid nights of pure frustration. I'm a test engineer, so I like to believe the problem is usually my own and I approach it that way, but after about 10 hours of re-trying and re-building and re-installing, I'm sure its the software. When I finished my project the first night, I was very happy with the preview and I'm ready to burn. It builds the menus, encodes the audio, and starts cranking on the video pieces. It gets to like the 5th one and freezes - all night it's stuck. In the morning, I'm confused - ok, try again. Gets stuck on a different file this time. Hangs the app and has to be killed to terminate. So I recapture the AVIs - make sure the filenames are short and the files are not too big. Retry - same problem. I make sure there's plenty of disk space in the TEMP folder where it works. I rebuild the entire layout from scratch after deleting all files. Same problem - but a different AVI hangs each time. Based on info from Sonic support webpages, I delete all the session folders and rebuild everything, but still no luck. I'm very frustrated at this point. Left an incident request on their website but haven't got a response. Tried to download a patch to their 5.2 product, but their automated system emails you with a coupon to BUY more product WITHOUT giving you the patch. Then it says thank you for downloading the patch - unbelievable. Someone please tell me they figured this out because I'm stuck without the 5.2.2 patch. So I'm going to start downloading trial software for other products and see what I can do. If anyone has any suggestions, please send me a PM or an email. If not, I hope this massive effort for me can save you some time and aggravation.

DrD


Review by Dr_D on Apr 14, 2004 Version: 5.2.0, build 96293 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




This software came with my Sony DVD writer. My primary hope was to pull video off my DV camcorder through the firewire cable, and burn to DVD.

It is fairly easy to use and looks like it has potential to be a decent app to do simple DVD burning. BUT, after 8 hours of trying, I am unable to get it to burn a DVD video with the audio functioning! I initially pull the video from the camera and save to HD instead of DVD -- works great (but slow after capture is done while it saves stuff to HD)! Then, I can preview it and see the video and hear the audio, all without incident, proving that I did get the audio off the tape and to the HD. But, no matter what I try (which isn't much... nothing to configure on this app except to mess with the PC's sound control panel), the burned DVD doesn't have any audio. I tried the DVD with several different players in the PC, as well as my TV's player, and no audio! I don't get it. Anyway, this software is useless to me if it doesn't support audio. Could not find any help on Sonic's web site. So close to getting it to work, yet so far.

The software also just stopped capturing video a couple times, for no apparent reason (yes, the cable is good and connected well), but it was not consistently malfunctioning this way.

FYI, I'm running Win XP Pro on a 1-week-old computer with the fastest most up to date components in every category that are available today. And I know what I'm doing with computers.


Review by redsquirrel on Mar 27, 2004 Version: 5.2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




I don't know what the complaints are, really.

Either someone has no clue how to use this or...gee, I don't really know HOW someone can mess this up.

The software is simplistic and easy to use allowing for menu-building options with or without background audio and animated menu buttons.

It is NOT the software of choice for editing in my opinion, but it does a fairly good job of inserting chapters where you want them. It does a very good job at authoring and I have yet to toast any coasters.

As for file size, I read another post that claimed a DOUBLING of file size or something to that effect. Pure nonsense. I have been able to burn up to 1 hour 20 minutes of video with the Dolby Digital 2.0 AC-3 encoding that is part of the Sonic MyDVD 5.2.2 Plus version WITHOUT HAVING TO COMPRESS THE ORIGINAL VIDEO.

As for processing time, it depends on whether or not you created a DVD-compliant MPEG2 file in the first place. If you have, it takes little time at all. It helps to have a Pentium 2.6 GHz Hyper-Thread processor, though, and I can see how this software would be sluggish on older processors.

It's not the greatest software in the world, but it works and it's easy to use. That and the ability to transcode audio into Dolby Digital 2.0 (Plus version and above) is a bonus.


Review by maek on Mar 25, 2004 Version: 5.2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




Point 1: It's imbecile, not embicile. >>>Good point, should have used my dictionary
Point 2: This software rates as one of the biggest POS that I've ever seen. >>>You must not have ever tried Mandrake Linux
Point 3: This software is not free. >>>Was to me and the other 6 people who Bearshared it
Point 4: I wouldn't wish this software on my worst enemy. Stay away from it if you actually want to get something done. >>>You obviously know nothing about strategy, glad your not on my side
Point 5: Did I say that this software is bad? >>>Yeah you and about 5 other whiners, see my post below your post


Review by richhard on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Point 1: It's imbecile, not embicile.
Point 2: This software rates as one of the biggest POS that I've ever seen.
Point 3: This software is not free.
Point 4: I wouldn't wish this software on my worst enemy. Stay away from it if you actually want to get something done.
Point 5: Did I say that this software is bad?


Review by computerguy on Feb 10, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Lets see, embiciles, it has a very few shortcomings but overall I have captured about 16 DVD's of hardcore porn off the satellite without incident. One time, at band camp, it locked up after authoring a DVD so I skulled the files off the hard drive and burned it with Nero. It wasn't that hard. It is very easy to use but lacks some features but IT IS FREE! Quit griping. I get so tired of people who don't understand that what we are getting is the bleeding edge of some cool technology but they can't take the time to learn more about it and dedicate some time to get inside and make it right... the reward is definitely worth it. We are not at the point of Roxio wizards or M$ stealing the technology and integrating it into the OS. We are the trail cutters, not path followers. So lead, follow, or get the heck out of the way.

Go vent somewhere else and when you have useful advice that may help others to perfect this craft then come on back.

Thanks, love ya, mean it... whiners,
Richard Hard


Review by richhard on Feb 10, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This pretty poor piece of buggy software came for free with my new PC.

I've experienced most of the problems outlined so far in this forum including the rendering engine locking up/crashing out, the burning engine locking up/crashing and the horrific amount of cpu time it takes to do virtually anything useful with it.

This is not a tool for novices when things start to go wrong (which is generally pretty often), as it takes an expert to thrash through all the hurdles/bugs it throws up and to find ways to bypass them all, to eventually get that DVD burned.

Even when things do go right there's not all that much to do anyway as its so basic in its overall authoring functionality.

If it comes for free with your system, then uninstall it immediately and get something better that actually works. I've spent many, many hours trying to jump all the hurdles that this software keeps throwing up, but bar the most trivial of menus and movies, its always been an uphill struggle with anything involving sub-menus with movies and next/previous type page links.


Review by kardinal_ximinez on Feb 10, 2004 Version: 5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 2/10




I've not tried to use MyDVD to burn downloaded or backed-up movies, so I can't comment on it's ability to do this.
I do use it to create DVD's of the stuff I've taped using my camcorder however.
Fair enough, it's not as flexible as something like TMPGenc dvd author, but it is excellent if you just want to dump what you've filmed onto a disc, create a menu and give it to someone.
It even does a pretty good job of creating vcd's in the same way, and you can burn straight to disc (but I've not tried this).
It's not meant to be an all singing, all dancing program, if you want that you need Sonic DVDit or Scenearist.


Review by clanger on Feb 7, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




Being new to the DVD format, the Sonic failures put the software into questions. The problems I have are the picture and sound not in sync. Sonic says you have 2 hour and 26 min. of time but I can only find 1 hour and 49min. Processs time/ copy to disk time takes forever. It came free with a Sony DRU-510A. Overall for a small project, it's might be fine but I now looking for something better.

Review by campennui on Feb 5, 2004 Version: 4.5.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




In my opinion this has to be one of the worst pieces of software I have ever installed on my machine. It takes perfectly good dvd-compliant mpg files and turns them into junk on the DVD, doubling their size in some cases, messing up the audio, and taking a really long time to do it. It completely takes over the machine so you can't use another window while it is rendering, it causes my machine to run slow even when it is not actually creating a dvd and to top it off it doesn't even uninstall cleanly.

Review by infotech on Feb 1, 2004 Version: 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I must be doing something wrong ... for me MyDVD 4.x has worked perfectly with my Adaptec VideoH-DVD (AVC-2200) with which it came bundled. I've produced literally dozens of DVDs from VHS tapes (and live, off-air) with a few mouse clicks.

It is simple to use (if you are a real Guru it's probably not for you)and for me has been trouble free.

Main complaints are:

1. I agree with the comments about menus. It forces you to use a menu in the first place (why, if I have recorded only one item, don't I have the choice of bypassing the menu entirely and going direct to the video?). Also the fixed button layout must be the most aesthetically brain-dead arrangement ever.

Fortunately you can improve this by creating a "no-button" button (i.e. one that is 2 x 1 pixel and essentially invisible).

2. The minimal video editing built in (really just trimming the beginning and end) is OK but oh what poor resolution on the jog buttons ... makes it quite tedious.

3. With my system (Adaptec VideoH + MyDDVD 4) I can only get something (quite a bit) less than 2 hours video per CD. It's not clear to me whether this is the fault of the VideoH or the MyDVD software but other discussions have suggested that MyDVD doesn't compress the sound very well. I wouldn't know, but I *would* like to be able to get 2 hours of video.

4. MyDVD 5 is out which may well address some of these concerns. Unfortunately, in there wisdom, Sonic have elected to release it for Windows XP only (I have Win2K and I'm not changing just to suit Sonic). No word on whether/when a release for other Windows versions will come and whether there will be a version suitable for my VideoH (the version 4 I get with it was OEM).

I tried several times to find out from Sonic but unfortunately (and this is the most serious criticism of all by far) Sonic seems to have chosen the route of a growing number of software (and hardware) vendors and simply ignore questions directed at their sales/support departments. This is unforgivable to me and a reason in itself not to buy their sofware. In fact, these days, before purchasing any software, I send an email enquiry to the company concerned, just to see if they respond. No response = no purchase.


Review by toerag on Jan 30, 2004 Version: 4 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




The problems that some users experienced with version 4.5 (and before) seem to have been ironed out.

Teamed with TMPGENC 2.521 (bought separately), Sonic MYDVD now transcodes into Dolby Digital 2.0 which creates even more space.

Overall, it's great software if you're looking for a fairly nice way to do your home movies. I edit my movies with Roxio, but I re-encode using TMPGENC in order to fit 2 hours onto a DVD with hardly any noticeable artifacts...the additional room provided by the Dolby Digital transcode helps lessen the need to compress the video further.


Review by maek on Jan 26, 2004 Version: 5.2? OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I would have given it a ZERO if it was possible..
I can not belive that Liteon even bundeled this with their drive!!
This software comes off with a nice cutesy set up / installer
pretty easy totaly automated..
thats it!, nothing else is good about it..
I wasted about 8 hours working with it setting up menu's dragging and dropping file clips into it, and it acted all
happy and ready to go untill it came to time to make the first test dvd....
INVALID POINTER 32768
plain and simple, no "CAUSED BY AND OR MABEY THIS OR THAT. Just that error on building menu's and not even complex menu's

IF ANYONE WITH A NEW BURNER GETS THIS SOFTWARE BEFORE YOU WASTE HOURS LIKE I DID, GET ANOTHER AUTHORING SOFTWARE!!

Also crashed and said "unknown reason"!!
WHAT IT DIDNT EVEN KNOW WHY?!? JUST UNKNOWN ERROR?!

I really cant belive liteon released with with their drives and even more so CAN NOT BELIVE SONIC let this go to probly millions of people like this!!

POOEY!


Review by simplyme on Jan 26, 2004 Version: 4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I got this package bundled for free with my Sony DRU-510A and what a mistake THAT was. First of all, MyDVD doesn't like the 510A on it's HCL but I assumed it would work with this drive due to the bundling. It didn't. In fact, tons of other software packages for authoring DVDs worked just fine with this drive, but MyDVD didn't. Any DVD you put in the drive it just said it wasn't blank. I upgraded the firmware on the drive, the build on version 4.5.2 - nada. The software is crap and I can't imagine somebody actually paying for it outside of a free bundle. Sad. It appeared to connect to my capture card, yet crashed repeatedly, locking Windows everytime I tried to alter any capture properties. The HCL for capture cards at Sonic's website was also HIGHLY lacking.

Review by teshia on Nov 26, 2003 Version: 4.5.2 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




I got this software with my Philips DVD burner.
Someone has posted against Ulead VideoStudio 7 in the tools section that this programs menu creation is better.

They have got to be kidding! - the features in this software are practically a total travesty in comparison.
The burning engine crashes, the rendering is awful and the software is so basic in function that any results produced are out of sheer determination and not from anything that the software offers.

I knew I was on a loser when I was confronted with a bloke in a green shirt holding up a DVD disc with a big grin on his face.

This software is for complete novices, but it will leave you hungry for something better.

I tried to look for an update on Sonic's web site, but they actually want money for it.
I don't mind paying for anything , but this software is appalling. It should never have been released.
An upgrade is something that should be given as a form of apology from the company that produced it.

I had to give it 7 for value for money, but that is because it came free with my burner.

If you are new to this DVD producing hobby, then I would suggest looking around dvdrhelp.com and getting something better.
If you must use this software, then I wish you luck, but don't convince yourself that this software is the pinnacle of the DVD production technology available. May I suggest that you try http://www.ulead.co.uk as a starting point.


Review by Airedale1 on Oct 22, 2003 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 3/10




I am new to DVD authoring so having elaborate menus is not high on my list of priorities. It's a great tool for someone that wants a "no-brains" way to create DVDs. Like the reviews said you do not need any creativity, but that may be a negative for an artistic amateur. It came with the burner so itís the tool for now. I have a ton of DVD-Spec MPEG-2 files on my hard disk. I prefer to capture and edit .AVis and then feed them into my Ligos 3.5 Encoder (via V-Dub). I do this to save disk space since most of the files were sourced from analog video and time. I thought this would save time, but with My DVD it does not. I hate waiting two to three hours for the finished product. It will be getting replaced soon!

Review by cifcap on Oct 6, 2003 Version: 4.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




OEM version of MyDVD comes with the Adaptec DVD Media Center, which along with the OEM version of WinDVR 3, are the ONLY apps that the Adaptec will capture from (non-WDM drivers). MyDVD is OK at best for authoring, I can get it to do what I want by capturing directly to MPEG, then editing and rendering it with Ulead VideoStudio 7. This enables me to do true clip editing (easy to edit out commercials or junk sections) and converts the audio to MP3 during rendering. Believe it or not, having the audio captured as LPCM instead of MP3 is probably an advantage for the product, as it likely reduces the chance of A/V de-synchronization due to compression overhead. Regardless, MyDVD is a minimal solution at best. If you're not stuck (like I am, with the Adaptec) with MyDVD, I'd suggest using Ulead VideoStudio 7 for capture, edit, rendering, and burning.

Review by pbanders on Sep 4, 2003 Version: 4.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I am still searching for that perfect slide show program, and this is close, but not quite there. Came with my Sony DRU 510A DVD writer. This is one of three programs (besides NeroVision and Pinnacle Instant CD/DVD/Expression) that I can get the audio portion of the burned dvd to play on my dvd player (Toshiba 4800 with Harman/Kardan AVR 525 receiver). Program could use more transitions, and the one problem I have - When each picture shows in the slideshow, about a second of the picture the pixels on the screen seem to "pop" into place, sort of like a flicker, then after second or so the picture is fine. Audio pays fine. Programs that do not play audio on my system are ULEAD PictureShow 2.0, Magix Picture to CD/DVD. Have no idea why. Any ideas welcomed.

Review by Mtnsummit on Aug 25, 2003 Version: 4.5.2 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Came with my burner, thank goodness I didn't voluntarily pay for it.
Simple to use, would suit total beginner. Pressing 'install' from the autorun installer results in a whole load of junk being installed along with the product, which bugs me. Save function doesn't work for me, haven't bothered to work out why as I think it would be a waste of my time to bother.
Pros: pretty, simple
Cons: Amateur quality product that even some amateurs will find sub-par.


Review by terrahwk on Aug 25, 2003 Version: 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




Easy to use and menu driven. No creativity allowed or needed. Very basic DVD authoring. The big question is why PCM audio? This is rediculous and takes way too much space on a disk. Use this ONLY IF you have no other choice.

Review by dvwannab on Aug 4, 2003 Version: 3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




Came with Video Explosion Deluxe (don't ask!)

Seems pretty functional. Be aware that it WONT do mpeg audio on NTSC disks. The official line is that it's not in the standard so they won't let you do it. Audio is converted to PCM on burn so don't expect much space left for the video.


Review by torisdad on Aug 3, 2003 Version: 3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




HHHE i cant download it

Review by Dj_Rainaldo on Aug 3, 2003 Version: 2.5 OS: MacOS9 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Very easy to use. Just drag and drop your assets. I've found some problems tho'. The preview of motion menus is kinda buggy. Got the ol' error detected have to shut down send to M$ a couple of times. The bad bug I found and Sonic Support verifed it's a bug is that you can't make more than one copy at a time; unless you want to corrupt perfectly good media you insert for the second copy. Sonic acknowledged this bug and said they were actively working to correct the problem in the next build. How bad this bug is is open to interpretation. If you don't know about it you can destroy good media before you figure it out. Me, it took two discs because I thought the first time was a bad disc. But after the second time I was suspicious. BTW, the discs are trashed; can't be used and Windows can't recognize the data; thinks it's an unknown format or corrutpted disc.

I entered an incident report on their website and they responded within 8 hours.

Overall, I'm very pleased with this product. It came with a new PC. I've burned several +R and +RW discs with slideshows and video all together on 10 motion menus. Five on the main screen and five on a sub menu. The background is also a motion background. Comes built into the product with several selections available; and there is support on their website for making your own background styles as well as swapping with others.


Review by obiron on Aug 3, 2003 Version: 4.5.0 build 68058 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10


38 reviews, Showing 1 to 38 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com