Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Media Player Classic Home Cinema(MPC-HC) is a free audio and video player for Windows. The new Media Player Classic Home Cinema has Anti tearing option, Subtitle synchronisation, Support Vista 64bits and more, Additional video decoders and in particular H.264 and VC-1 with DXVA support (see specific section for details), Better support for Windows 10, including a release for 64 bits platform, Support for EVR renderer, Bugs and vulnerability fixes.

9.2/10
103 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

MPC-HC screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


MPC-HC screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.8.8 (October 3, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download MPC-HC 1.8.8  14MB  Win

Download MPC-HC 1.8.8 64-bit  15MB  Win64




Download Portable and other versions

Download MPC-HC 1.8.8 Portable  19MB  Win  Portable

Download MPC-HC 1.8.8 Portable 64-bit  21MB  Win64  Portable




Download old versions


Download MPC-HC old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


1.8.8

Changes from 1.8.6 to 1.8.7:
Updates:

Updated LAV Filters to v0.74.1-24-g50b3a
Updated MediaInfo DLL to v19.09
Fixes:

Security fixes in PGS subtitle parser

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to MPC-HC


BSPlayer



GOM Encoder



Kantaris Media Player



KMPlayer



Light Alloy



Media Player Classic



MPC-BE



PotPlayer



SMPlayer



VLC media player







Guides and How to's


Accelerate x.264 1080p movies over the GPU Guide

- Read

Advanced MPC-HC Setup

- Read

MPC-HC video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

MPC-HC, MPC HC, MPCHC, MPC Home Cinema, Media Player Classic HomeCinema, MPC HomeCinema



Download MPC-HC Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




104 reviews, Showing 1 to 104 reviews


October 2019 - I use both MPC-HC and MPC-BE + LAV filters + madVR video renderer + Sanear audio renderer. Both players are mature, so they're stable, lightweight, reliable and fast, without bugs. No other players in my arsenal can collect so few crashes in all these years. Great code. On my system MPC-HC is a bit faster when dealing with files on hard-disk, but MPC-BE (with integrated youtube-dl) ,is faster when opening http url streaming videos.
p.s. mpv or PotPlayer both open http url streaming videos much faster than MPC-BE or MPC-HC (as for october 2019)


Review by Ziggy1978 on Oct 29, 2019 Version: MPC-HC 1.8.8 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by pesimista on Oct 21, 2019 Version: 1.8.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Score is reduced because(see below):-

Current version 18.8 has distorted audio when using internal splitter. Audio system has been check using all internal setups provided. Also check media file against other players to check its not a problem with the file - all play using other players.

Note:- Sounds all right when using external splitter/audio setup.

Suggest change is recent as it seemed to work OK with 18.7.


Review by ABrit on Oct 7, 2019 Version: 18.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Odilajd on Sep 23, 2019 Version: 1.8.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




IMHO MPC-HC remain the video player with the core code better written, stable, reliable, robust, no bloatware.
Together with LAV filters and madVR, the trio is the best way to play video files with high visual quality and respect to the standards. The Sanear (or the internal one, they're the same) audio renderer give a clear and articulate audio reproduction. Personally, with my B&W 805S speakers, for stereo playback of wave files with Audio Analogue pre + power amps, I prefer the sound quality of MPC-HC + internal wasapi audio renderer than JRiver Media Center.
If You want a minimalist and high quality audio and video player, go for it.


Review by Ziggy1978 on Aug 6, 2019 Version: 1.8.7 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




is that last stable version ? i love it amazing player ! thanks so much safe and portable

Review by ugur handsome on Jul 15, 2019 Version: media player classic OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by GeorgeH on Jun 16, 2019 Version: 1.8.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by sportx on Jun 9, 2019 Version: 1.8.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by zarnec on May 20, 2019 Version: 1.8.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




best overall with MadVar

Review by zq4u on Mar 17, 2019 Version: MPC-HC 1.8.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




wow don't know what caused the previous review. maybe the poster works on a different forK? mpc-hc has worked fine here for years....

Review by aedipuss on Feb 22, 2019 Version: 1.8.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Absolute complete garbage. Unable to parse subtitle directories, has over 200 hotkeys that must be cleared individually,. virtually non-existant support or even knowledge of the program amongst the support. Avoid at all costs.

Review by C8mY9 on Feb 22, 2019 Version: 1.8.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Pimpernel on Jan 19, 2019 Version: 1.8.4.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by trancer on Dec 23, 2018 Version: 1.8.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




wowwwww thank youuuu so much for keeping this one alive

i would kiss you

thank you for your time


Review by waltdisneypixar on Dec 21, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by George on Dec 11, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Quinn on Dec 3, 2018 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Ayo on Dec 3, 2018 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Grim on Dec 3, 2018 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by i.Plague on Nov 14, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I use this with LAV Filters and MadVR for excellent quality playback. Still one of the best media players available, even though it's not in full development anymore.

Also, my x64 installs all play back DVD video just fine. Sounds like a possible config issue for the previous reviewer.


Review by Poppa_Meth on Nov 13, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The 64 bit version doesn't play dvd authored files,just freezes,the 32 bit has no issues regarding this.

Review by johns0 on Nov 12, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Dreamer on Nov 2, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by George on Oct 18, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by acteur55 on Oct 9, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by sigma on Oct 8, 2018 Version: 1.8.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by myst47 on Sep 20, 2018 Version: 1.8.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




OK, looks like version 1.8.2 fixed "play Directory" bug. Will now install 1.8.2

Review by curious on Sep 17, 2018 Version: 1.8.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Always loved MPC-HC but latest version (1.8.1) may have a bug. Plays DVDs OK, but hangs if you select "File -> Directory..." and attempt to play VIDEO_TS folder. Had to regress to version 1.7.x. Will wait for next version.

Review by curious on Sep 16, 2018 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Trancer on Jun 19, 2018 Version: 1.7.16 x64 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Downloaded it, figured out (with some confusion) how to play a DVD (one which I've played on this exact drive many times). I get the message: "Invalid disc region". No information on what that means or how to fix it. On-line forums are gobbledy-gook. Will uninstall.

Review by Slade on Mar 31, 2018 Version: 1.7.3 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by ryks on Mar 30, 2018 Version: 1.7.14.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wakaku on Mar 11, 2018 Version: 1.7.15 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Using K-lite's last compatible XP build 13.8.0 you can safely use the special build 1.7.14.2 as it has been modified to work with XP!

Review by Wilson on Feb 16, 2018 Version: 1.7.14.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The last version is only a minor bug fix and ironically that build will not now work in XP despite fixing bugs which appeared in Win system versions. So stick with the 1.7.13 build. I haven't noticed any major faults with it. Here's hoping development continues and xp support continues. To be frank apart from Win7, Win8/8.1 and 10 are awful systems. XP is very stable and software runs easily on it. Half the planet is still using it in some commercial situation too and will do so up until 2019 or maybe even later as corporate security fixes/patches are still available.

Review by 7of9 on Aug 3, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




can't believe you dropped support for xp this is the only media player used for windows xp..

i think LAV filters also will drop for winxp :(

first dropped support for mpc-be now for mpc-hc :(


Review by DragonGlass on Aug 2, 2017 Version: 1.7.13.32 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Use this for XP support. Great media player. Only problem I had was it flashed up error box warning when I trying to play DVD, something about missing pins, whatever that means etc, so I used ol media player classic just for that instead to play dvds.

Review by Sid on Aug 2, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's not dead yet:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=174738


Review by Brazil on Jul 23, 2017 Version: 1.7.13.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10





Fantastic player!
Such a pity v1.7.13 is the very last version...

Wonder what would be happening if, for instance, v2 would be released as donation-ware
or at a small fee of -say- 5 dollar or so.
But then again, probably that option has been considered.

Anyway, it is sad news indeed.

-
v1.7.13 is released and farewell
https://mpc-hc.org/2017/07/16/1.7.13-released-and-farewell/


Review by Mike on Jul 23, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Who needs a codec pack when you have this baby? Still the best and works in XP unlike others.

Review by Callum on Jul 18, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This excellent media player does indeed have a notice on the developer website that this is the last version due to a lack of developers. However, it seems new developer are stepping in to continue development. Don't count it dead just yet.

Review by Poppa_Meth on Jul 18, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




unfortunately this is the last update and it's EOL for this software. it's been a nice ride, but it's over....

Review by aedipuss on Jul 17, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using this essential app from the beginning days of the original Media Player Classic. In my opinion, it's the very best of all media players. It's FREE, it's lightweight, and it's POWERFUL!

A+ across the board!


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Jul 17, 2017 Version: 1.7.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by i on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 1.7.11 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by aa on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 1.7.11 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by m on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 1.7.11 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Still best player out there IMO. I use it alongside with potplayer, which has some additional/more advanced/more unnecessary ;) features concerning subtitles, capturing etc.

Huge advantage towards PP: MPC-HC comes with great default settings while PP (still) employs some filtering/ settings by default, which might help with low / unstable source PQ (-> yt clips, streaming). Not recommended for untouched PQ.
PP improved it's defaults over last years though, AFAICS.

@ vhwul62: right, no exclusive forum but apart from avsforum.com and pavilufs tutorial, there's a MPC-HC thread located @ doom9.org:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166689

There's also a LAV (built-in filters employed in MPC-HC), and madVR thread ,

the devs delivering all this great stuff active there as well (big thanks! )



Review by tuco76 on Sep 10, 2015 Version: 1.7.9.145 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It can be hard to configure MPC-HC with madVR, ffdshow or Avisynth so I made a very complete guide to setup MPC-HC with these softs.

http://www.ezoden.com/htpc/4/how-to-setup-htpc-introduction


Review by paviluf on Apr 13, 2015 Version: 1.7.8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Cannot but grant 10's to this product. Over the last few days I have tried KMPlayer, Potplayer and sofar have been using VLC Player. I had some issues with VLC Player, reason for me to check out alternatives. KMPlayer and Potplayer crashed regularly (grey window: 'not responding', or simply doing nothing at all, unable to close, except for stopping the process via the taskmanager). Uninstalled/re-installed, still the same.

I tried out MPC-HC and it performed well. Actually I could not get it to crash. Played Blu Ray, DVD, MP4, wmv immediately after each other, i.e. when MPC started with one movie/video I dropped another into it.
MPC Instantly switched to the new one. No delays, like with KMPlayer/Potplayer.
VLC one way or the other could not play .wmv files very well: starting off garbled and after a couple of seconds the video was displayed well. MPC: no issues.

Regret they do not have a decent forum, like most other players. Haven't discovered a snapshot functionality (camera). Think there is a way to create thumbnails, but a single shot snapshot would be great.

Except for that: perfect program!


Review by vhwul62 on Jan 4, 2015 Version: 1.7.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best player. Many important fixes in latest Nightly 1.7.5.164 after I reported the bugs to the developers :)

Review by flashandpan007 on Jun 11, 2014 Version: 1.7.5.164 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great program! I only use it to watch hd movies in better quality.

@Doomsday.a it's only because you are playing a 5.1 audio on your 2.0 speakers. You have to use a mixer (ffdshow audio decoder can do that)
Tuto part 1 & 2: see attached link

tips: add the volume filter to increase the sound when you playing a 5.1
screen: http://i.imgur.com/6lHJyB2.png


Review by HelpVid on Apr 16, 2014 Version: 1.7.3.226 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




this player io one of the best ones out there ....
its raly simple . quality is great
i just have one problem with it
when i play a film with it the background sound or the music sound is louder than when they speak .
how do i fix that?
thanks


Review by Doomsday.a on Mar 3, 2014 Version: 1.7.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




MPC-HC v1.7.0
"Bitrate" field (Ctrl+4) not working during playback, this field is always empty. In previous 1.6.x versions all works good.


Review by AlexAAL on Nov 3, 2013 Version: 1.7.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply the best player of all time when using it with ffdshow. Thank you so much

Review by flashandpan007 on May 22, 2013 Version: 1.6.7 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've report a bug in the 1.67 portable version 32 and 64bits. Video H264/aac in an FLV bucket start green screen.

Problem was note in 1.65.. 32 bits which I have gone back to.

Suggest further testing of new version (1.67..) is required.


Review by ABBrittain on May 21, 2013 Version: 1.67 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Thanks for a awesome new release!

Review by rapunzel on Mar 18, 2013 Version: 1.6.6.6957 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hmmm... It's just curious. There is no x64 edition for MPC-HC version 1.6.6.6770

Review by V∑H∑User on Feb 12, 2013 Version: 1.6.6.6770 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




blue2,

You do ask a very good question that I would like the answer to too. I'm not a software coder and don't know how code and keyloggers would work. However your question pushed me to ask if there would be detection's from other AV's, So I downloaded the installer and scanned it with Virustotal. Results are below:

https://www.virustotal.com/file/1ba4a348c516f0e7d511b238b0fa191f797723ccaeb2126be0994ba8c30a8df5/analysis/1355827111/

It's reported as completely clean, even KAV. I suggest you submit your detection report to
MPC-HC developers or even Kaspersky. I know it's a lot of hassle and you could just avoid it and go on, but it might help the developers, and give you peace of mind.


Review by BlazeSeven on Dec 18, 2012 Version: 1.6.5 x86 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




BlazeSeven,

Thanks for that reply, which actually will help me to clarify what my hasty post left out.

I've been using MPCHC for years without issue until this install. Second, perhaps instead of installing the zip file this time, I used the installer file which did write to the registry.

It may be a heuristic detection, but the question remains what keystrokes would MPHC need to monitor when the program is initialized (clicked on), but isn't running? It isn't a "virus" detection, it is a detection that MPHC is monitoring keystrokes.


Review by blue2 on Dec 18, 2012 Version: 1.65 x86 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




blue2

I've been using Media Player Classic Home Cinema for years now and it has not been flagged by any
antivirus i've used. I'd trust MPC-HC and say it's a false positive detection. As an alternative you could download a portable zip version from MPC-HC website link below:

http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/downloads/

Zip versions should not write into the registry, so you might avoid getting flagged by KAV. Hope this helps.


Review by BlazeSeven on Dec 17, 2012 Version: 1.6.5 x86 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Installed Media Player Classic Home Cinema 1.6.5 x86 version last night.

When I opened it the first time, KAV flagged it as a "keylogger" with various entries being written into the registry.

Anyone else seeing this and is there something in the app's initialization that is causing this?



Review by blue2 on Dec 17, 2012 Version: 1.6.5 x86 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Still the most balanced offer between sharpness/stability/ease of use/low resources.

Review by Montmorency on Nov 22, 2012 Version: 1.6.4.6052 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Did anyone notice change in Options => Output tab in XhmikosR's builds !? Is MPC-HC getting " bells and whistles " ?
Or I'm just gettin' old...


Review by -t40- on Aug 10, 2012 Version: 1.6.3.5774 (20eb461) OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




[b]@banjo[/b]

here is latest DirectX (all version 9, 10, 11) update: [url]http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109[/url]



Review by somespirit on Jun 25, 2012 Version: 1.6.3.5200 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




This is microsoft fault, since they continue to update Dx 9 library yet foolishly doesn't include it to their Windows update, opting to ship with ancient Dx9 lib on their windows. Thing written with Dx9 usage is not compatible with Dx10 or 11, again, blame ms for that.

Review by epsilonalpha on Jun 23, 2012 Version: 1.6.3.5147 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I wasn't exactly complaining. It just seems strange that a product should apparently insist on an OLD version of DirectX.

The references to "In order to run MPC-HC with no problems you must have at least Windows XP SP3 operating system, SSE capable CPU and the latest DirectX 9.0c runtime (June 2010). Install it regardless of the operating system, they all need it" are a bit misleading since the Microsoft install page linked above clearly says "Note that the DirectX Runtime (Direct3D, DirectInput, DirectSound) is not part of this package as it is included as part of the Windows operating system, and therefore cannot be installed or uninstalled. Updating the DirectX Runtime is achieved by installing the latest Service Pack or obtaining a newer version of Windows." If MPC-HC said, as Ai Haibara says, that you need to install a few older files for the product to work then that would make more sense than the suggestion that DirectX 9.0c is newer that DirectX 11.

Anyway. Update/downgrade (whatever) installed and MPC-HC is working. Thanks for the pointers.


Review by banjo on Jun 23, 2012 Version: 1.6.2.4902 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




banjo => always read the install note before complaining please !

Note

Supported Operating Systems:
Windows XP SP3, Vista, 7 32bit/64bit
System Requirements:
An SSE capable CPU The latest DirectX 9.0c runtime (June 2010). Install it regardless of the operating system, they all need it.


Review by OkeN on Jun 22, 2012 Version: 1.5.2.3456 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




banjo: Click on the "DirectX Runtime" (actually, the DirectX Web Updater), run it, and let it install whatever it believes you need. MPC-HC, as far as I know, generally looks for certain DirectX 9 components - which aren't included by default on Vista or higher; they only include a very basic set of DirectX 9 components. The DirectX Web Updater should install what you need.

Either that, or don't use the 'EVR' display/output modes in MPC-HC.



Review by Ai Haibara on Jun 22, 2012 Version: 1.6.3.5147 beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It seems to play most formats but it insists that I install "the latest version" of DirectX which it says is 9.04c. Doesn't seem to recognize DirectX 11 and give me a popup on every video startup and then plays it OK. Annoying. Probably delete it if I can't find a fix.

Review by banjo on Jun 22, 2012 Version: 1.6.2.4902 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




In my opinion MPC Home Cinema is imply the best video player for Windows! Combine MPC with the LAV Filters and madVR for the best video viewing experience available. I've been using it for many years and have no desire to use any other player.

HIGHLY recommended!


Review by se7six on Jun 9, 2012 Version: 1.6.3.5051 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




MPC and MPC-HC are my favourite media players.
Using them about 6 years i think!

But this player may not be good for newbies, as sometimes some settings should be changed for proper playback!

(Yes i use other players too... at home MPC-HC.)
(At work/college use/used VLC, KMP, GOM)


Review by kotuwa on May 26, 2012 Version: 1.6.2.4485 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




First comment I am using 1.6.1.4235 portable.
So far this player plays everything that I have tried even webm and M2TS files..
Nothing fancy about the player.. But it just works !!
But I have been only using for less than a month so I might change mind later.
I have several video players on my machine. Right now my two favorite players
are COWON Media Center Basic and Media Player Classic Home Cinema..
So if don't need anything fancy I recommend either one of these 2 players..

Have A Nice Day - Gary


Review by oboomer on May 20, 2012 Version: 1.6.1.4235 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Just wanna congratulate the work force behind the player wich is fully customizable best player out there thanks!!!

Review by rapunzel on Mar 6, 2012 Version: 1.6.1.4127 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had an old panasonic digital cam which creates .mov quicktime files and uses a certain mjpeg format for its video. I've been using MPC-HC for years but it could never open read the video, only the audio. Usually I will load up Windows Media Player or use AVIDemux to change the container format to AVI then it'll work. And everytime MPC-HC comes out with a beta, I'll scan the changelog for any changes that involves .mov or mjpeg so that I could play the video natively only to be disappointed over the years until now.

With latest beta version, I could play the .mov files natively! Probably thanks to the upgrade in libAV.


Review by Yoroshiku on Jan 12, 2012 Version: 1.5.3.3961 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have had a lot of issues with MPC-HC in the past...especially with high bitrate mkv's. Yesterday I decided to try this out with a retail Blu Ray title not expecting any better results and low and behold...MPC-HC plays Blu Ray's without any issues. It doesn't show the menu but it scans the disc and finds the main movie title and voila!!!!...Blu Ray function works fine. Didn't have any issues. I didn't even set up the filters or codec packs. I just installed the latest ffdshow and LAV Filters and nothing else...Blu Ray works fine right out of the box for me. Yippie!!!!!

My guess is that it's using ffdshow but I'm not sure...don't care either...all I know is that it works fine.

Give this one or PotPlayer a go for Blu Ray playback...both will work without having to pay a dime for Blu Ray software.


Review by moontrash on Jan 10, 2012 Version: 1.5.3.3954 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've found an issue. On playback of an webM video file the video freeze after 1 to 2minutes. Audio continues.

Review by RoterFux on Dec 27, 2011 Version: 1.5.3.3917 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Regression Alert! Use caution.

It's a bit sad to see this project run into the ditch.

Version 1.5.3.3734 works.


Review by luigi2000 on Dec 23, 2011 Version: 3909Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Unfortunately MPC-HC doesn't work with some standard streaming feeds:

http://www.npr.org/streams/mp3/nprlive24.pls
http://voxsc1.somafm.com:2026/listen.pls
http://somafm.com/missioncontrol64.pls

https://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/mpc-hc/ticket/1889
https://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/mpc-hc/ticket/432
https://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/mpc-hc/ticket/1830


Review by bxbbxb on Dec 8, 2011 Version: 1.5.3.3887 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Taking a brake maybe, but you can get updates here too: http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/

Review by thymej on Nov 12, 2011 Version: 1.5.3.3469 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




So this has stopped being updated, or they just take a month off every now and again??

Review by IntelliMoo on Nov 11, 2011 Version: 0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Still the best free player for video files

Review by rapunzel on Jul 22, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3456 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i am not entering into the argument of who is fool or not?
i hv use and liked MPC-HC in the past....past...past.....
MPC-HC based on MPlayer and Mencoder libraries which inturn ffmpeg is back-boned.
1) How come professional programmers encodes the video clip interlaced and sets the flag progressive?
2) How come professional programmer(s) do not stick to or follow the standard practice for ac-3 encoding and sets the audio stream id 11111111_111111..... instead of 189 (0xBD) or 128 (0x80), due to which stream fails to be decoded.

i leave answers to the so called professional programmers.


Review by Bonie81 on Jul 10, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3338 beta OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Totally agree with the two last comments, I use MPC and MPC-HC since many years too and won't change for another player. MPC-HC which has its built-in filters can compete or even beat VLC, PowerDVD, etc.. In addition it is a light-weight soft and with ffdshow filter : perfect team !
Just put 9 overall score because it changes sometimes my custom icons and I had to create a *reg file to get my icons back.


Review by titigrom on Jul 10, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3338 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




scorpinok is a foul-mouthed idiot. I've used dozens of players over the years including VLC, GOM, WMP, Splashlite, PowerDVD etc. and I pretty much use MPCHC exclusively now. Plays all my DVDs & Blurays including AVCHD bluray backups, flawlessly. Also, they continually update the player. Right now this is the best free player and is better than most of the payfer players.

Review by ricoman on Jul 10, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3114 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




scorpinok has no idea what he's talking about and apparently doesn't know how to speak Englush clearly. MPC-HC has been driven thus far by a competent and responsible team of developers; only people who know how to familiarize themselves with a program before writing a half-conceived rant will get anything out of MPC-HC. It requires DirectX for hardware acceleration, and if it uses all your CPU, you have a garbage PC. MPC-HC can't fix a messed-up Directahow environment created by previously installed codec packs or broken filters, which are almost certainly present on the PC of the whiner immediately below.

Review by Inspector.Gadget on Jul 9, 2011 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Past few releases takes too long (not instantly) to load video because of MPC-HC tries to access DR0 and access memory as compared to VLC or other mplayer derivatives like SMPlayer,MPUI-HCB and so on...

Review by Bonie81 on Jul 7, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3338 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a revision of an earlier comment.

Tried to load a .sub file with MPCHC. It wouldn't do it. Life's too short.

Downloaded a couple of other freeware players.

KMPlayer is junky ... never trust freeware that's prettified too much. Interface stinks too.

VLC works fine. Plus the interface is better. It's too easy to hit the wrong button in MPC.


Review by Hoser Rob on Jul 7, 2011 Version: 1.5.0.2827 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 1/10




Media Player Classic HomeCinema - BE Mod could also be announced I guess...


Review by -t40- on Jun 24, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3262 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This new version is much, much better.

The (pretty recent) one I was using before certainly has the functionality and wide format support that WMP lacks, but I didn't use it unless necessary because it was a bit clunky. I don't have much patience for clunky software, free or not.

This one does very much the same but it works seamlessly. It's now my default player.


Review by Hoser Rob on Apr 23, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3043 beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Long time listener first time caller he he. Just wanted to add my experience to the mix.Im an A+ certified Tech and I was stumped. This shows there is always new stuff to learn. Firstly my system specs are well within acceptable limits to play video. Infact Iíve been doing it for a few years. But lately a problem reared its ugly head. Every few minutes the video would stutter or judder if you will. No matter what I DID nothing changed. I researched and researched. Finally It seemed that it was the frame rate of the new codecs being used for encoding that where the problem. My lcd tv was not syncing up. And it was by accident I came across this info. MPCHC to the rescue. It is able through tech voodoo to make the frame rate of the video source sync to my lcd !!!!. Outstanding. I was a devoted mplayer for windows fan but I have switched. I have been using MPCHC for a while now smooth playback on all video sources. Before I became an MPC convert I tried other players vlc etc to fix the problem and of course all the system updates upgrades diagnostics blah blah no joy. Now I am a true believer. Happy video watching.

Review by maxxknight on Apr 12, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.3011 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you have more than 5000 video files, you DEFINITELY need this player!

My take is if you have less than 1000 video files, VLC and the built in WMP will do, if you have more than 2000 video files, you'll also need SMPlayer and if you have have more than 5000 video files, you definitely need MPC HC!

MPC HC is the mother of all players, it will play non properly indexed, no indexed, no metas files (especially incomplete LIVE streamed FLV files) and files other player couldn't even open...BUT on the other side of this powerful player, there is a dark side, this is the ONLY player I know of that can bring down Windows (blue screens).

I have VLC and SMPlayer as my default players and MPC HC as standby cause sometimes you need to play the same video file in different players just to test!

One bug about MPC HC with WMV files is that if you drag and enlarge the WMV video file and then use the slider to seek/fast forward/backward, the screen would automatically return to it's original size! (this is happening with MPC HC x64 in Windows 7 x64).



Review by tigerb on Apr 4, 2011 Version: 1.5.2.2987 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




The easiest, lightest, most reliable and altogether finest piece of playback software you can find! Plays practically everything you throw at it and opens lightning fast! On slow systems as well! I rate it above VLC, which is also quite good, but lacks a number of features.
A very small drawback perhaps in MPC-HC is the cursor staying visible during playback, if it is not in full-screen mode. I imagine some people like that, but I would love an option to change that behaviour. But not important...

Thumbs up! Keep up the good work and thanks so much for this free app!!


Review by nbarzgar on Mar 22, 2011 Version: 1.5.1.2903 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




one of the greatest free video player out there.

Review by meshal on Feb 28, 2011 Version: 1.4.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Is the nvidia geforce 8800GT *not* supported by mpc-hc for gpu acceleration?
but the 8800GT is dxva2 compliant...

dx10 comes bundled with vista. have I to install dx9 too for mpc only? can dx9 and 10 life happy on the same OS?

thanks a lot!


Review by martl13 on Feb 4, 2011 Version: mpc-hc OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a fantastic media player that is light on system resources and can handle most media formats. You can also use ffdshow with it if there are a few formats that you cannot play with MPC-HC's built-in codecs.

There is one thing that sort of puts me off this player and that is when adding multiple audio/video files using the "Play All" option under "Music Tasks" on Windows XP, often MPC-HC will start opening the files and drop/forget some of the files, leaving only a couple left on the playlist e.g open 20 mp3's, forgets the first 15 and only plays the last 5??? Even Windows Media Player DOES NOT do this, the media populates the playlist almost instantly.

This problem DOESN'T occur if I select a folder containing media, right-click and select "Add to MPC-HC Playlist". Using this method the playlist is populated instantly and the first file is played, which is what I would like to see happen when clicking "Play All" under "Music Tasks" on Windows XP, because I am so used to opening media in this way.

I set MPC-HC to be the default player for all media formats, I would really love it if MPC could alter the registry in some way so that the "Play all" music task defaults to "Add to MPC-HC Playlist" for all media in that particular folder, hence loading ALL media fast without dropping/forgetting files.

Hope you take my suggestion into consideration. Thankyou for continuing to develop a superb media player.


Review by laspis59 on Feb 2, 2011 Version: 1.5.0.2827 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I appreciate work authors are doing! I would like to thank all contributors, whose efforts make this software.

Review by adsew on Nov 30, 2010 Version: 1.4.2689.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




This is overall the best media player. It is also integrated to work with windows 7. So far no problems with it. Although it may be a bit difficult to change settings from individual codecs but nothing super hard. Overall the program is excellent.

Review by BTNH Fan on Nov 28, 2010 Version: 1.3.2189 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been using MPC HC ever since I heard about it back in 2008, and I don't plan on ever using another media player :).

Review by Baby Naruto on Mar 21, 2010 Version: 1.3.1249.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Media Player Classic Home Cinema is the best, free and smallest all-in-one player. Use it with ffdshow and be happy. Thank You

Review by flashandpan007 on Feb 8, 2010 Version: 1.3.1249.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




With regard to Blu-ray movies: MPCHC player is terrific, I can play an .iso file of a ripped (with anydvdHD) blu-ray movie or the .m2ts file of a blu-ray movie. The .iso file must first be mounted into a virtual dvd drive, I use Daemon tools lite. MPC lacks some controls on blu-ray movies, like chapter changing, but it certainly beats paying big bucks for PowerDVD Ultra or Nero 9 Ultra, and takes up less hard drive space. I can skip ahead if I pause first then move the slider, then hit play. I can even play an original blu-ray movie disk in my blu-ray (burner) drive, after anydvdHD first scans the disk. Unless I just haven't found it yet, a Pop-up menu to change chapters during Blu-ray movies would make a nice future enhancement. Kudos to the author.

Review by wjmeyer on Dec 25, 2009 Version: 1.3.1249 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




best video player for a 64 bit system period!

the reasons i couldn't give it a 10 in functionality are because:
1) playlist sucks
2) no skins, which it desperately need especially if you're using the playlist.

what else i'd really love to see on mpchc would be a function to enqueue files into it through explorer with a right mouse click.

none the less, it's amazing because you don't need any extras even on a 64 bit system, it just plays everything. even files that praised softwares such as vlc failed to (vlc sucks on a 64 system by the way).


Review by JayLovesKasesSky on Oct 15, 2009 Version: 1.3.1249 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




very smooth playback for AVCHD files! I really like this little app!

Review by uzi on Jun 17, 2009 Version: latest OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Single 6.5MB portable .EXE that does not need any horrific codec packs. Favorite video player especially for full on-screen navigation of DVD-Video that has been ripped to HDD including an information panel that shows current Title #, Chapter #, Resolution, etc. and accurate time display [if using the "VIDEO_TS.IFO" file]. Others tested, and ordered by preference, include: VLC, MPC, BS, SM, KM, GOM, Kantaris, Zoom, n., FF

Review by citanool on Mar 28, 2009 Version: 1.2.908 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


104 reviews, Showing 1 to 104 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com