Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert, play or make Blu-rays, 4K UHDs and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Magix Movie Edit Pro

24 reviews, Showing 1 to 24 reviews


To me Magix Movie Edit Pro Premium is the easiest and best video editor out there. It has everything you need to create stunning videos and it's not too difficult to work out how to use it. It really is value for money as well and comes with extra downloads to add more effects and transitions ect. to the program. And not just that I got ProDAD ReSpeedr and Vasco da Gama 11 HD Essential and Hitfilm Superhero pack all included with it.

Review by Lukas80153 on Oct 13, 2018 Version: 18.0.1.209 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've downloaded the trial version of this software, looking for a replacement for Womble which has sprouted glitches running under Win10.

I only ever edit footage from a Sony camcorder, which saves files in mpg format.

In short, the trial version doesn't support mpeg2 import. This means it is totally useless to me, and I don't much feel like paying for a full licence so that I can see whether I like it. I could convert some clips, sure, but that would give me false results because it wouldn't be what I intend to use it for. And I'm not convinced that mpeg2 import works properly in the full version, either. How could I be?

Magix - sort out your mpeg2 codec licensing for trial versions, please.


Review by Hengist on Sep 2, 2016 Version: 2016 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




My comments are confined to trying out the online download version of version 16 in March 2010. The interface is elegant. The TV recording input works.

The big problem is that the download offered for North America (file name includes "us_uk") does not come equipped with MPEG-2 codecs. The codecs cost extra and seem to not install on the trial version. Therefor no trial for me as all my files are MPG cells from digital video and TV.

I emailed support and got an autoreply which referred me back to the FAQ. The install file I installed seems to be localized for the UK and European English users. There is a phone number I did not try.

Version 15 is for sale at Best Buy.

I would like to see a version of this which works.


Review by WhiteBird66 on Mar 29, 2010 Version: 16 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




I have been visiting this site for years, and today decided to join just to rate this program.
Have been "trying" to use it since version 10, but somehow there was always something not working correctly, and even though all programs might have annoying bugs, these just seemed to be in the places I use most.
So I used to fall back to Sony Vegas or Cyberlink Powerdirector. Yes, I often try other programs as well, Pinnacle, Ulead, Canopus, Serif, Adobe PE and Pro versions.

Movie Edit pro had the best interface for me, Sony Vegas had the best capability especially the ease of using key-frames. Powerdirector was my fallback if I had to do things quickly and author (especially stable version 4 for my old cam SD content).

I bought MEP-15 the day it became available on the shelves of Best-Buy. After trying to use it, that same day, I gave up, because of the sluggishness it handled Sanyo HD2000 1920x1080 60p (yes, 60 full frames per second) videos.

A week ago the update MEP 15 rev 8.6.1.0 became available, and finally .. finally I have something that does not crash on my work-flow, where Sony Vegas 9.0b does crash (adding too may clips, or if the clips are bigger than 2 Gig, or even large jpeg's on the timeline), and Powerdirector 8 crashes when using certain templates for DVD layout.

Yes I have read the Sony forums and the claims about unsupported AVC formats used by certain camera's, but every player I use, works fine on the videos, so Vegas should be ok too, at least playing it.
I still like Vegas because of it's capabilities, and using key-frames are a breeze, while I still have to figure out how to use them in Movie Edit Pro 15.

Anyway, I can finally recommend Movie Edit Pro 15 with update 8.6.1.0 , that is, at least on my setup ;-)
It's now stable, and the renders look well.
Note that I suggest to bump up the bitrate from the default when rendering to DVD, since there is a small bug, if you look at the advanced settings, you will see the bitrate is filled in as 300 kbit/s lower than what you selected.
Just click on the advanced settings button to configure the MC encoder manually.
This is for clips that come from the Sanyo VPC-HD2000 camera.

Happy editing, now I just need some imagination .. let's see, google "imagination: ...


Review by junktodevnull on Sep 11, 2009 Version: MEP15 rev 8.6.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




i really love this editing program its really close to the mac ones

Review by tmac18 on Feb 7, 2007 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have this program for almost 6 months. I was looking for an alternative to permiere 6.5 witch I also have but is not as friendly or intuitive as I would like. I the box had a lot of exelent features and costing under $60 did't seem such a bad idea to try. Wow, this program is exelent.... Don't get me wrong, it has a couple of things to improve and the book that comes with it lacks on deph. On the other side the help file and build in tutorials are exellent to get you by. Extremely easy to use.....

Review by A_51 on Dec 16, 2006 Version: 10+ US OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I started out using Pinnacle 7, then upgraded to 8 and 9. What a waste of money! Always hung up on rendering. Went on to Adobe Premiere 6.0. Powerful software if you can figure it out and enjoy clicking on ten pixel sized buttons. (To those of you who are adept at using Adobe Premiere, I tip my cap to ya.) After much dialogue with colleagues I was about to try Pinnacle 10 but read so much online bashing of their latest scam that I kept looking, when I stumbled across MMEP 11. I downloaded the lite version and it worked great. I took the plunge and bought the version 11 and have no complaints yet. Yeah, I've crashed it a couple of times, but it brings up a dialogue box allowing you to save everything before the crash. Save, clos and reopen. Takes about sixty seconds.

Drawbacks: I'm a hands on, play with it learner. If all else fails, read the manual. That said, there are a few functions I've experimented with that ended up taking a loooong (relatively) time to process. A warning would have been nice, but now I know. Another gripe I have is that after trying the "one click" movie making function to see how well it worked, I was left with one to three frame glitches interspersed through the movie, that I had to go through and remove. Annoying because you have to go through frame by frame to see them. I didn't notice them until I burned a DVD and saw the offending frames flashing, mostly around transitions. Another gripe is finding artifacts left on the assembler that appear to be less than a frame. They become apparent when dragging an object to join with another object. Zoom into single frame resolution and you can see a speck that then can be deleted.

I haven't tried their support yet. Their web site doesn't offer much. My feeling is that they provide a great product at a modest price, that doesn't seem to need much support. Pinnacle on the other hand provides plenty of support. Basically they tell you to dedicate your computer to running its software and it should run fine. Only in my case it never did, so what's the use of a responsive support department if they don't deliver a fix?

I've been using MMEP for about three weeks. I may live to regret this review, but I doubt it. My hope is that this software will catch on and become popular so that we can all start sharing tips, tricks and fixes as we discover them, and that Magix plows some of the money back into developement of the software based on user feedback. What a win-win situation. A prosperous company with happy users!


Review by dnluce on May 22, 2006 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I picked up a copy for cheap when they had rebate after reading some decent reviews. Previously I have used ULead 6, which I is quite limited and old.

It comes with own custom UI, so it takes a little getting used to. But once I got hang of it, I found it to be fairly easy to use with the features I need. The program is also fairly responsive on my AMD64 laptop. So far, I experienced one crash, but fortunately, it's not a regular occurance.

Some people are complaining about MPG2 output not being great. I guess I am not picky, but I had no problem with the output.

I didn't like its DVD menu building feature. It doesn't allow for much of customizing. I ended up using DVDStyler for this part of task because it was too limiting.

When it finishes generating MPEG2, it uses default external program to run it. I wish I could turn off that feature. This program has option to automatically turn off the PC when file generating is complete. I think PowerDVD on my machine that opens when the video file is done interfares with this. I found the PC waiting for a program to close when I found it in the morning after running a task.

Also, I wish it had a feature to batch generate files. It allows for more than one project to be opened at the same time, AND ability to shut down PC after the task. Why not have this feature?

But overall, I am happy with the software, especially considering the discount that I got.


Review by encrypted on May 12, 2006 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This would have gotten a 10 if the MPEG2/DVD output was a little better. I've compared a lot of these editor programs and this one is one of the best. Perhaps I have missed this feature but it doesn't appear that you can output without re-encoding which means that you are in for a long haul when you render! I love that ability with Tsunami and MPEG VIDEO WIZARD DVD and it would be nice to have that on editors like this too!

I would choose this over Pure Motion Edit Studio and PowerDirector... although each program has some nice points.

ILO-GUY


Review by ILO-GUY on May 7, 2006 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Note: It seems one of the earlier reviewers gave this a "1" but the comments sound like he/she liked it so likely just screwed up the rating system. Otherwise it would rate very high overall.

Review of Magix Movie Edit Pro 2004.
In my opinion, this is an excellent editing program! OK, I previously used Pinnacle Studio 8 so maybe ANYTHING else would seem great, but MEP 2004 truely is outstanding. It has 16 input streams in the timeline. Allows many video formats to be used. Full project from capture/edit/encode/author/burn. However, I use TDA for Author and Nero for burn so my comments are mostly limited to the edit functions. I'd say this is an excellent editing choice for beginner (expect a learning curve) to more advanced user, but not for the "almost pro".

Strengths: FAST on-the-go editing. It's usually immediately ready for the next edit. Doesn't crash easily - I did crash it once, but I later found out I imported too large a DV file. Easy transitions; nice easy video/audio filters; More complicated audio and video effects for more advanced users; Can get on eBay for around $25 now that newer versions are out.

Weaknesses: Encode to mpeg2 is weak (one-pass, mediocre quality) so for hiher quality use a seperate encoder; Outputs AVI files as "type 1" so may need to convert to "type 2" with other app.


Review by tmh on Apr 13, 2006 Version: 2004 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a great program. VERY easy to learn, huge amount of features, vast improvements (in the 10 plus) version. You can
only get it from Europe (I got mine from e-bay, a U.K. vendor)
Yes, the support sucks. I don't like the Gomotion encoder, but
you can export files in a ton of formats and use a different encoder. Now has a shut-down feature when it's done encoding! Yes!


Review by crudux-cruo on Dec 29, 2005 Version: 10 plus OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




This is really amazing. I just got this tool (german e-version, called Video deLuxe 2005/2006), took me only a few tries to get the hang of it. What I love is the wealth of features and the FAST response! Did not encounter any other editing/authoring app w/ as many features and yet reacting so fast! Capturing w/ my ATI Radeon 8500LE VIVO works sharp and clean, especially in their customary format .MVD. You have to encode to mpeg afterwards, than author and burn. It is also possible to capture mpeg directly, but I would have to tweak the configuration so as not to drop too many frames. Have to try the encoding engine yet, but the captured material looks fine.

Only small drawback: only a small number of templates for authoring DVDs, but there are some possibilities to customize a given project. EDIT: more downloadable!


Review by nbarzgar on Jul 26, 2005 Version: 5.0.4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




it's a nice little complete program, only i had wished the surroundsound-editor would give me surroundsoundmovies.i only get MPEG and PCM despite the surroundlabel in the audiotrack

Review by jeebee on Jul 11, 2005 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




I have tried them all from free to $2000 and when i found the first version of this program (then called Video Deluxe in North America) i found the program that i would be using for the last 5 years. Now using Movie Edit Pro 10 i still still love the program.

Company support does suck as stated in other reviews but the program is verry easy to use. I currently use Movie Edit Pro 10 in combination Adobe After Effects 5 and it is the most powerfull combination i have ever used.


Review by boycalgary on May 31, 2005 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This tool is awesome. I have used Pinnacle Studio Delux (EXTREMELY UNSTABLE on my machine), Ulead VideoStudio (SLOWWWW and unresponsive), and Adobe Premiere (EXTREMELY COMPLICATED and EXPENSIVE). Every gripe that I list above is the exact opposite with MAGIX Movie Edit Pro 10. It is stable (with a few minor bugs that I got used to quickly), lightning fast, and simple/intuitive to use and very inexpensive. My few gripes include:

1. It only recognizes some of my DV videos as 16:9 (still testing this issue). This could become a significant issue for me, but there is a lot of promise that I can get it to work.

2. It claims support for "Dolby Digital Multi-Channel Sound Support", but it has yet to allow me to import an AC-3 file. I highly doubt that this software can deliver on the Multi-Channel support as page 15 of the manual states: "All you require to automatically convert the multi-channel sound to a conventional stereo signal is a compatible AC-3 codec as pre-installed on PCs by many software DVD players and available for download on the Internet." - This statement is the only reference in the manual regarding AC-3. Again, I am still experimenting with this issue.

3. I have not yet been successful employing the new "Smart-Rendering" function. I think that this is my lack of experience though and not a fault of the software.

4. Somewhat less than stellar web-based support. Their forums are pretty weak and their FAQs are also weak. This would be a major problem if it were as unstable as Pinnacle, but since it is not I can live with the weak online pressence. I don't know about the telephone support.

Despite these gripes I whole-heartedly recommend trying Movie Edit Pro 10. It beats several other software packages and at a mere $60. Good Luck.

-Smells_Like_Feet


Review by Smells_Like_Feet on Mar 14, 2005 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Magix Movie Edit Pro 2004 is a great product for it affordablity, but the company tech support and their web forum sucks! I have tried for weeks to get someone to listen to my concerns about a particular i have with their product. I have trying e-mailing their tech support about it no one responsed. I tried to post my concerns on their web forum to get help from other users but I can't even post a new topic to voice my concerns. I regristered mulitiple times and their forum wasn't letting me to get help. I get daily e-mails from their members posting new topics but can't get my posted. This is real sucks that you took the time to purchase their product they would decent people that would response in a decent manor through e-mail or phone.

Review by ireynolds on Jan 11, 2005 Version: 2004 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




True that this app has tons of features but.......many keyboard shortcuts don't work. I called magix 's support and the tech told me that the manual is innacurate due to poor translation and that I will have to play with the keys myself and find out what they do??????? What kind of crap is this? First pinnacle selling junk on the US market and now Magix coming out with this nonsense.......software companies are so uptight about people copying their software......no wonder. If they would work properly.......

Review by ccseic on Jan 3, 2005 Version: 2004 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Excellent program, wasted plenty of money before I bought Movie edit Pro 2004. The user interface is not as friendly as some other's to start with, but dont give up learning to use it as you can do some fantastic things with it. Magix Forum good place to look if you get stuck. MEP 2005 out now with 16:9 widescreen and surround sound for 35. Shop around.

Review by isbarnes on Oct 6, 2004 Version: 3.0.3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To the person who asked for an automated tool for cutting and then moving all the later clips to the left, that is exactly what the 1st mouse mode does for you. It selects everything to the right and allows you to drag them all at once where you want to. This is a great program and I've tried pretty much everything out there. This is the only one I'll use and I have Premiere, Vegas, VideoStudio, Pinnacle etc. The new 2005 version due out this month adds awesome new faetures - see http://site.magix.net/index.php?id=14127&no_cache=1

Review by trock on Sep 22, 2004 Version: 2004 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simply the best out there after having spent a lot of time evaluating all the known video editors available for under $100.00. You do have to make sure you have all the correct Microsoft codecs installed for it to work properly. The software comes with a great manual and the Magix American office in Florida has great customer service for purchase and any questions about their products. Magix.com has a wonderful website with a forum where you can get most of your questions answered and also order trial versions, boxed versions, etc. I would recommend buying their boxed version because the electronic version is a little more stipped down. Many of their products have free electronic trial versions but unfortunately Movie Edit Pro does not. Check out what others are saying (see the evaluations on Amazon.com also) and go for it. You will be glad you did.

Review by bmk on Sep 21, 2004 Version: Movie Edit Pro 2004 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I needed a tool to take my captured analog home video and edit to make fun videos to keep and to share with the family. I wanted a product that would allow me to output the product to VHS, SVCD, and eventually to DVD. I tried several products including freebies such as movie maker, ULEAD, and Pinnacle. Movie Edit Pro 2004 is the most stable and feature rich, is relatiely fast at rendering and comes with a decent quality MPEG2 encoder. It's harder to use than some products but that's the trade off in getting a richer feature set. I wish it did some things better. For example, when you delete a clip in the time line, you have to group all the clips later in the time line(to the right of the deleted clip), shift them to the left, and ungroup them. I wish they could automate this process. But that is relatively minor compared to it's many advantages. After months of investigating and trying, I settled on Movie Edit Pro and it was definitely the right decision.

P.S. I think consulting who posted in January made an error in his/her rating. Consulting provided a very positive comment but gave it 1 out of 10 across the board. I wish he/she would correct this so ME Pro 2000 gets the rating it deserves. Thanks.


Review by rosh400 on Sep 2, 2004 Version: 2004 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I looked through af number of different tools in the max 100$ class, and found that this (Magix MovieEdit 2004) has a lot of interesting features that most other "easy-to-use" programs didn't have. For instance it has an 8+ track view that is a tremendous help in creating interesting movies.
It is quite easy to use and has a lot of potential. One place, though, were it lacks somewhat, is in its DVD menu creator. It works through templates, where I would like to have had a free way of creating those menus. Hopefully it will come in the future.


Review by rune_tach on Jul 21, 2004 Version: 2004 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This application is mostly underestimated.
The learning curve shall be high... - but, really, for the same editing steps it is not higher than the curve with Studio 8 of Pinnacle.

You get at least 16 all-purpose-tracks. Purchasing the PLUS version means getting 32 tracks. Tons of effects, video and sound FX, PIP. Really many import and export formats.

Video Deluxe (aka Movie Edit Pro in the US) is based only on a proper standrad Windows system. No handcuffs like thos by Pinnacle. No registering needed.
MAGIX is really fair.


Review by consulting on Jan 21, 2004 Version: 3.xx OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




This tool is great. I do all of my video editing and DVD creation through this software. It is very easy to use but has some quirks as you will see if you go to the Magix support forum for this software. It is because of these quirks that I can't give it the highest marks. It is still the best software that I have tried thus far and I have tried several diffent one varying in price from free to $500+

Review by dngrktty on Jan 20, 2004 Version: 1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


24 reviews, Showing 1 to 24 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com