Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
MPEG-VCR

NEW VERSION 3.14.7.7b

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
The Womble MPEG2VCR is a software video editor that performs all editing on MPEG data with frame accuracy. It supports all MPEG-1(VCD) and MPEG-2(SVCD,DVD) bit streams, including MPEG-2 Transport streams for HDTV. Frame accurate editing: step forward and backward through your video, frame-by-frame, to find exactly the scene you want, or to cut out the ones you don't.

Trialware $19
OS: Win
File size: 1.3MB
Version history
8.5/10
25 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

MPEG-VCR screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

3.14.7.7b (December 8, 2013)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download MPEG-VCR 3.14.7.7b  1.3MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $19)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


October 2010 Update Release (3.14.7.5)

1. (BUG) failure to start open file dialog on Unicode systems.
2. (NEW) deinterlace image selection in player's display menu.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to MPEG-VCR


Cuttermaran



Mpeg2Schnitt



Mpg2Cut2



TMPGEnc MPEG Smart Renderer



VideoReDo TVSuite







Guides and How to's


How to Cut/Join with Womble MPEGVCR

- Read

Removing commercials from MPEG files using TMPGenc or Womble MPEG2VCR

- Read

SVCD to DVD±R with DVD-Lab (directly from CD's)

- Read

MPEG-VCR video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

mpeg2vcr, mpeg2-vcr, womble mpeg-vcr, mpegvcr, mpeg vcr




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews


I love it!

Review by videodan on Sep 29, 2010 Version: 3.14.7.3 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Task: Taking the commercials out of an 2hour, 25min tv-broadcast, captured in 720x576 pal mpeg-2, with 48KHz LPCM audio. (single 6.5GB file). Saving video and audio separately, for later ac3 encoding of audio.

Neither the whole file, nor a smaller segment could be saved without a system crash. Could save the whole project if mpeg encoding of audio was chosen, but that was not what I wanted.

Seems silly, that one kan save the videostream separately, but not audio.

This is not worth your money.


Review by chh on Jul 18, 2005 Version: 3.14 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 5/10





It does what ever I want with MPEGs. It doesn't reencode anything it just renders edited file as is - so it takes minutes to complete your project. I love it!


Review by nick13 on Apr 11, 2005 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Indispensible tool. Use the latest version to get the best functionality. I was not impressed with an early version (audio sync problems) but the newer versions are amazing! You can edit program and TRANSPORT files with frame accuracy and no audio sync issues. Much easier to use than Project X for transport files.

Review by gilberto on Jan 15, 2005 Version: 12.24.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 10/10




This is one of those little programs that I can't imagine being without. I dump TV shows and movies from my Dish DVR to DVD-RW's using my set-top DVD recorder, and then use mpeg-vcr to edit out commercials etc. before burning to DVD's. This software is *way* faster and easier to use for this purpose than anything else I've tried. It's also frame-accurate and doesn't transcode the files. I do think mpeg-vcr is a bit over-priced and the GUI looks like something from Windows 95, but I find this program invaluable.

Review by Dave_W on Dec 25, 2004 Version: 3.14 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 9/10




Generated audio sync problems when processing files captured using my Hauppauge WinTV PVR 350. The more cuts made, the worse the problem. Video Redo generates flawless results and is cheaper.

Review by mlaviolette on Nov 16, 2004 Version: 3.14 build 09-24-2004 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Make sure you use the latest version. I editted some VCD streams which were in sync on disk but not after edit. Change to latest version and now fine. I think the latest version fixes something with VCD that USED to be fine and now is fine again.

But this is a GODSEND of a program. Necessary in any Vidiots collection!


Review by Deuteros on Jul 26, 2004 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




I found this program because I was looking for a way to remove commercials from my TV captures without authoring them to DVD or re-encording. This program does it extremely easily, and amazingly quick (about 2 minutes on my computer for a 1/2 hour show). It is better at removing commercials than TMPGenc DVD Author; with TMPGenc DA you can only cut on certain frames so your commercial cuts look sloppy, with this you can time it perfectly.

I also found it was easier to re-encode some of my poorly captured video with this than TMPGenc+.


My only complaint: I butchered my MPEG-1 captures. It processed them fine, and since I was doing a large batch I did not notice that it had destroyed the audio on all my MPEG-1s.

Overall, a great value.


Review by chongo on Jul 23, 2004 Version: 06/25/04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




If you think the Womble MPEG-VCR is good, you should give their MPEG Video Wizard a try. Fantastic!! The following is from their Website.
"The Womble MPEG Video Wizard is the latest, multi-dimensional MPEG editor. Whether you are a video professional or a new video enthusiast, we are confident that MVW will meet all of your MPEG editing needs.

The following is a list of some of the new features of MPEG Video Wizard, in addition to all the key features that its predecessor MPEG-VCR: frame accurate editing, fastest scrubbing of any MPEG editor, fastest frame stepping, and no re-encoding when editing DVD-compliant MPEG captures from the latest hardware boxes.

Very intuitive and easy-to-use User Interface (UI), with a flexible yet powerful multi-track timeline based editing.

Comprehensive edit project and content management, batch job processing, and project package tool.

Flexible title editor for both text and graphics generation. You can create attractive titles directly with MVW.

An extensive transition library with simple controls. Most common transitions can be added using only the mouse.

Multiple editing windows, with flexible window configuration and layout, and many more features.


Review by lennyt on May 11, 2004 Version: 2003 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I only recommend 4 programs and this is one of them. Womble Mpeg2Vcr has done the charm. So much so my 2nd recommended program TMPGEnc DVD Author I have yet to use the cut feature. If it aint broke don't fix it! I capture with WinDVD Recorder, Edit Comercials with Womble, Author with TMPGEnc DVD Author! Add TMPGEnc Plus program for cleaning up VCR video captures and I have found my programs, and I won't be searching and trying other junk because like I said my method for me ain't broke!

Review by Crush on May 10, 2004 Version: mpeg2vcr OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




I would like to echo some of the positive comments about this product. Like many others I was pulling my hair out trying to find a decent MPEG-2 editor to cut commercials out of the off-air recordings from a Hauppauge WinTV PVR (USB2). The nanoEdit product supplied with the Hauppauge is, in a word, CRAP ! It is tediously slow for a "cuts" editor and constantly picks up junk from either side of the edit markers.

Womble MPEG-VCR was a light at the end of a six month journey through hell. I started with Adobe Premier. This is a seriously fantastic product for professional MPEG editing but very ill suited to the task of simply removing commercials from PVR or CAMcorder MPEG files because it insists on re-rendering every project.

I tried various Pinnacle products, Ulead products and just about every piece of trial-ware and share-ware on the planet until I stumbled onto this one. It is blistering fast and frame accurate with no sync problems whatsoever. About the only fault is that it is not very intuitive - it takes some effort to figure out how all of the features work but once you do the product won't let you down. I highly recommend it.

If you are REALLY SERIOUS about MPEG editing you should get the Womble MPEG Video Wizard 2003. OK it costs $120 but, trust me, it is worth every penny if you edit 20 or more MPEG files a week and value your time and the quality of the video output. Like a lot of things in life you get what you pay for and this is certainly the case when it comes to MPEG editors.

It is easy to use and does what it claims. I have used this editor to clean up over 50 MPEG files in the past couple of days. It was totally reliable on my XP Pro machine and very, very, fast.

BTW – Did I mention that the Womble Products are FAAAAAST !

Now all I need is a decent transcoder to render my DVD library to MPEG that works as well and I will be a happy bunny.


Review by CyberWerx on Apr 24, 2004 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Look, bottom line is this program doesn’t re-encode the whole file and it will not cause audio sync problems. Nuff said. It's a miracle program. I just bought a dvd burner and a tv capture card and was puling my hair out using the included Ulead DVD MovieFactory editing and authoring program. No audio sync problems with this one but it was so slow it took hours to edit and author a dvd and it turned the video quality into total crap by re-encoding. Now I use mpgvcr and burn to edit and burn on sonic my dvd with outstanding results. Bottom line is that if you are interested in editing video for dvd output you need this program. Oh and BTW this program is faaaaassst!!! Life is sweet with this program.

Review by allstar720 on Apr 11, 2004 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is good because it is fast and doesn't lag or get stuck on frames like some editing programs use. It's perfect for cutting out commercials really fast.

The only problems I have with it are the fact that the VCD output quality could be better, and the interface is a bit odd. For instance to export a video you've editing, you don't press the save button at the top but the one in the editing window.


Review by justified on Feb 5, 2004 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




i'd love to rate this program better but i can't. everytime i try to cut out commercials i end up receiving maco-blocks that were not there before. very frustrating. the idea of this program is great though

Review by doctor robert on Dec 25, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Heads up for those people having trouble, especially with saving. check this out:

1. click the save button
2. on the save window, pick your file name
3. check the "Estimated Output (MB)" box--if it says "0.000", you'll crash the program 'cause you're trying to save nothing (0.0000).
4. under the "save Range" heading, press the "All" button. you'll see the Estimated Output(MB) number change to 650.000 (for example)
5. now you can save!

this took me quite a while to figure out....hope this saves time + frustration for some of you!

a great program other than this weird "0.000" default.


Review by sidearms on Dec 25, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Very fast and easy to use. The cost is the only down side. I will never use another cutter/joiner again.

Review by FT Shark on Dec 22, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




I truly agree with LordSmurf ... this is the best mpeg editor.

I have not found a better mpeg editor for removing commercials.

I trimmed all the commercials out of the mini-series BattleStar Galactica Pt 1 and 2 ... very very precise. Handles AC-3 audio too. And will edit DVD-RAM ... VRO mpeg videos made with my Panasonic DMR-E50 DVD Recorder. This is a 5-Star program. Everybody should have it if they are wanting to remove commercials from their mpeg videos.


Review by lacywest on Dec 21, 2003 Version: Womble MPEG-VCR 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used this on two more systems since my initial review. Still flawless.

I also wanted to comment on another person's review:
"Won't save = useless." = Use the right SAVE command.
"Will exit without warning you to save = dangerous." = Learn to save your stuff before you close out.
"Preview display = ugly." = Change the color depth in the options.
"Keyboard mapping screws up moust functionality = buggy." = This is ridiculous too. Check your mouse.
Everybody is entitled to their own opinion, but this is an obvious example of what happens when a person doesn't read the manual or look at help files.

Now installed on THREE different systems and performance is excellent in all cases, everything I ever wanted in an MPEG editor.


Review by lordsmurf on Dec 21, 2003 Version: 3.14 (07/2003) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just purchased Womble. Great product. Cuts, merges, ect.
Appears very fast.
Highly pleased.


Review by grossjamesh on Oct 28, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I purchased Mpeg2vcr to edit MPEG2 movies. I have not had good luck with this program. The program takes a long time to load MPEG2 files. Once the files where loaded and edited I was unable to save the finished editing session as a new Mpeg2 file.I spent hours with this program. Tech support was very nice and attempted to assist me,but could not come up with a solution. I have decided not to waste any more time with this program and move on.I did not mind the my time investment, but the wasted 110 bucks is a little annoying.

Review by alk555 on Oct 9, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




This TOOL is very handy ..No one mentionted the TOOLS section and I use the MUX for making compliant MPG's for import into AUTHORING from any errant types with the MUX TOOL..(also DEMUX's)

Still a few AUDIO problems with this beast.. Sometimes...
do it again works better the second time..Also has a learning curve..Still haven't mastered the AUDIO EDITING part that works on audio only files..
But truly a capable program that preserves everything in a VOB
in the edited down file except chapter stops
(anotherwords, It keeps 5.1 and 2.0 and DTS If you save to the same format)
Unfortunately its not the greatest for converting to VCD or MPEG-1 from MPEG-2 (ALTHOUGH IT WILL DO THIS AND FOR SHORT LENGTH JOBS..NOT BAD)
Its CUTTING and JOING exactly alike sgements, this product EXCELLS


Review by dcsos on Sep 27, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




I've been using this editor for over a year and although I paid twice the current price it has been well worth it. I tried going the cheap way with freeware and then purchasing several other commercial video editing programs but they were all time wasters.

MPEG-VCR has saved me literally hundreds of hours. The program is frame acurate and EASY to use. Just learn what the icons do and go to it.


Review by whirly on Sep 25, 2003 Version: 3.14 (8/03) OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




I couldn't survive without this tool. It can splice MPEG footage, even if the muxed audio is AC3! I use this for all my splicing needs. Excellent time-line feel to the interface. Even works well with VBR!

Just be aware that earlier versions are known to cause sync errors and have other random issues. So get the newest one. I use 7/2003 build of v3.14.


Review by lordsmurf on Sep 25, 2003 Version: 3.14 (07/2003) OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just purchased this tool about a week ago after attaining nothing but headaches, messed up files, etc etc. Tried MPEG2VCR on whim, as I had nowhere else to go. My nightmares are over!!!! Now my MPEG2 cuts are precise and FAST!!!! Did I mention FAST!!!! Also a excellent MPEG joiner also, but I need/use primarily for cutting my MPEG2 TV captures. I gave the price a 9 out of 10, only because I am cheap and wish it were cheaper ($120 US), but no more TMPG, Ulead, etc , etc tools for my cutting needs. My sleepness nights are a thing of the past.

Also works great on Win98Se, 500 MHz machine. EXCELLENT TOOL!!!!


Review by dvwannab on Sep 15, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




I couldn't believe my luck when I stumbled across this little gem. Until I found this program, I had resigned myself to thinking that editing and joining MPEG-2 video files was completely impossible. It joins, cuts and so on perfectly with no video/audio sync problems and the speed of editing is super fast and a breeze to use.

Any video software collection that has Virtual Dub, TMPGEnc etc is not complete without Womble MPEG-VCR MPEG-2!


Review by Ego_Shredder on Jun 13, 2003 Version: v3.14 MPEG2 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




With v3.14 - it's finally able to reliably join and cut mpeg2 SVCD video without causing audio sync problems.

Cut-style editing (where you take a video and cut out bunches of scenes) will crash the program, but so far almost everything else works.

I has a demuxer, muxer and a GOP fixer that will fix timestamp problems and also fix issues with GOP sizes for DVD.

It's also got a new low price ($120 - used to be like $250).


Review by VidGuy on Jun 11, 2003 Version: 3.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10


26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com