Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Daemon Tools Lite

18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews


Tried to update to latest version. I have a paid lifetime license, but rather than update it doesn't give the update option, but rather asks if I want free or paid, when I select paid it opens a web page to buy a license. Once I close the web page it goes to an "install" option but errors out with an unable to open for writing VDriveLib.dll.

Review by mail2tom on Jul 3, 2017 Version: 10.6.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Latest update still does not have the same functionality of their version 4, which is to dock to the tray. In addition, when I went to their web site, the web site appears broken when trying to go from one area to another.

Review by mail2tom on Jun 20, 2015 Version: 10.1.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




I used this product on all of my home PCs for years.

Then one day it couldn't be installed requiring a manual uninstall, then a clean install. This bug never got fixed to the day I quit using this tool.

Went back to see if there was a later version and found that they had changed their business model to a Pay or suffer unavoidable malware".

This was one tool I considered going pro on because we had been using without problems, but once the problems surfaced AND they changed to the malware model, that was it for us. Will never touch this product again.

We now use WinCDEmu 3.6. Good thing about that tool is that it doesn't permanently take a drive letter, only when you want to mount images.

Is Daemon tools worth the $3.99? Not with the bugs it's not. If the product was stable on Windows 7, maybe, if you ignore the companies malware policies.


Review by Yanta on May 23, 2015 Version: 4.49.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 5/10




Appears they have gone to a new "BUSINESS MODEL" from the previous "free" version to a "personal use" adware-free version for #3.99 lifetime.

Review by mail2tom on May 22, 2015 Version: 10 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Didn't see a way to opt-out of the "snap.do" malware that is bundled with the latest version. Tried to install twice but you can either accept of reject the eula. If you don't accept the installation aborts.

Review by mail2tom on Nov 2, 2013 Version: 4.48.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Biggest POS in the world. Tried this over Virtual CloneDrive at the behest of some regulars on here. Takes forever to install and throws up all kinds of errors. And it costs money. What a joke.

Don't get this. You'll regret it immediately. Get Virtual CloneDrive instead.


Review by MindController on Apr 8, 2013 Version: 4.47.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Daemon Tools scores high on my list of utilities,but................ that was when I had XP. I've now switched to Windows 7 and although it states for this version (4.35.5) that it has full W7 support, W7 tells me there are known compatibility issues.
Now what do I do?
Christiaan


Review by bolandpc on Nov 24, 2009 Version: 4.35.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




To the moron below...Of course it doesn't open folders of vobs, the program never claimed to do so.To any other morons that don't understand, this program only mounts iso's,images & etc. Not folders full of vobs.

Review by Four Fifth on Oct 5, 2009 Version: 3.47 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool mounts only ISO images, but it can't mount the directory with VOB files. Useless in 50% cases.

Review by violetta on Apr 9, 2009 Version: 4.30.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 4/10




HOW to fix USB removable memory not accessible, after installing daemon tools ...

http://www.softwaretipsandtricks.com/forum/window ... etter.html

I had the same problem and looked around the internet for a solution, but nothing solved my problem. All the answers suggested testing the usb stick on another computer or using the disk management to assign a new drive letter, but these procedures didn't solve my problem.

I had Daemon tools (virtual CD) previously installed on my system, and the installation was corrupted. I think it was after i repaired windows using the repair procedure from the original CD, which actually installs windows again over the existing one. After that Daemon Tools stopped working, disappeared from the "add/remove programs" list, but somehow stayed on the system and caused trouble...

I think what was causing the problem is not Daemon tools itself (i used ver 4.0.3), but the ScsiPassThrough-driver (SPTD) that is installed with it (ver 1.25). Someohow it confuses windows with the drive letters. (according to daemon tools "SPTD is also used in some proprietary security, antivirus and monitoring applications...") so maybe you could have the same problem even if you don't have daemon tools installed. Anyway, you may want to try these steps anyway, they might solve your problem.

i couldn't re-install daemon tools, since i got error when installing the sptd driver.

How to fix the problem:

1. download the stand-alone sptd driver from here:
http://www.duplexsecure.com/download...t-v135-x86.exe
or here for 64bit:
http://www.duplexsecure.com/download...t-v135-x64.exe
do not run the installation, but save it to the hard drive.

2. start the computer in safe mode.

3. click start->run... browse and select the installer from where you saved it, and add the word remove at the end of the line (so you will have something like (in my case i placed the installer on the desktop):
"C:\Documents and Settings\User01\Desktop\sptdinst_x86.exe" remove
and click ok.

restart the computer normally.
After i did this, i plugged in the usb stick and VIOLA! it works!

You should be able to reinstall daemon tools if you wish to. If you still have problems with installing it, restart the computer again to safe mode and do the following:

4. repeat step 3 but change the word "remove" to "add" like this:
"C:\Documents and Settings\User01\Desktop\sptdinst_x86.exe" add
and click ok.

5. restart again normally and install daemon tools.


I found this today and I hope I help others...


Review by ofbarea on Nov 14, 2006 Version: 4.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I also was a loyal fan (in Win2000) with an earlier version. All I can say is that the install on a relatively new WinXP Pro totally stuffed up. It took me hours to get back up and running again. Beware!

Review by 201flyer on Nov 12, 2006 Version: 4.0.6x64 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




4.0.3 includes Adware called the "WhenU SaveNow" searchbar. This is very invasive Adware. Even though there is an option to skip it, I've noticed on some installs, the installer messes up and still installs the adware.

I suggest using a different media mounting tool, like Nero Drive mounter, that is totally free and adware/spyware free. Daemon Tools have lost a loyal fan, by the inclusion of bugridden adware packaged with their installer.


Review by Wile_E on Jul 23, 2006 Version: 4.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 6/10




Mirrors >

http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/daemon_tools.cfm
http://home.so-net.net.tw/vader/dtools/daemon400.exe


Review by deckard8 on Nov 15, 2005 Version: 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool rocks! It's amazing and is something I just couldn't exist without now.

It's really useful to help speed up games that still run from cd/dvd because I just create an ISO of the media and then mount that. Much quicker.


Review by waltzingandy on Nov 9, 2005 Version: 3.47 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is handy for mounting DVD ISO images and checking them with PowerDVD before burning with IMGBurn.
It supports many image formats.
Nice little tool!


Review by laspis59 on Nov 8, 2005 Version: 3.47 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This really works,

Dump several dvd-isos to your harddisk and take your laptop with ya. no hassle with disks if you got the space to play with. :-)


Review by krisu on Apr 17, 2004 Version: 3.44 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




In conjunction with ifoedit and imgtools it's a perfect test lab for creating DVDs.Never ever had a bad DVD or coaster after start using with this tool!

Review by dragonsf on Jul 6, 2003 Version: 3.29 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Got this tool about 2 months ago, been using it ever since, and when coupled w/ VideoLan, it's nearly impossible for me to burn a coaster.

btw, daemontools changed their homepage to http://www.daemon-tools.cc


Review by mysticgohan17 on Jul 6, 2003 Version: 3.33 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com