Forum Archive Home -> Video Conversion -> xvid 1.357 final? there's a such a NEW version?
| xvid 1.357 final? there's a such a NEW version? |
| puzzledman posted 2008 Sep 03 22:47 |
| I was trying to play a video file named with a ".avi" extension but Windows Media Player (WMP) complained that it was not really an AVI file. From an error message of AVS Video Converter, I reckon it's really an ASF file. Anyway, WMP then said it needed to download a codec which it referred to as XVID 1.357 Final. It opened up webpage with the following URL h t t p : / / softforme2008.com/software/Update%20is%20Required%20to%20play%20this%20file-XviD%201.357%20Final/1357/6/ (and the rendered image is attached in case you didn't feel like visiting that URL which might be harmful). And the said webpage further directed me to download the codec from h t t p : / / softwareforme-08.com/download2/502/1357/6/ ... Now, for all I know, the latest version of XVID is 1.1.3 and so I got suspicious and didn't persuit the download further (I actually did, but used a perl command line tool to get the file so that it wouldn't be interpreted in anyway. The file appears to be an executable. I will attached the file in the next message of this thread for anyone who are kind enough to take a look.)
I think you might have guessed my question now. But, here it is: what's the latest version of the XVID codec? I shouldn't be fooled by that link, right? ![]() |
| puzzledman posted 2008 Sep 03 22:49 |
| Attached with this message is the file I fetched off the said potentially bogus link.
Please don't post direct links to a possible virus/trojan Moderator redwudz |
| minidv2dvd posted 2008 Sep 03 22:59 |
| that's a bogus video with a script to lead you to the nasty installer. xvid.org is the only place you want to get anything related to xvid from and they have never had a "final" version. |
| minidv2dvd posted 2008 Sep 03 23:12 |
| how unusual it's a russian site. hard to trace but here it is.
Domain Name: SOFTWAREFORME-08.COM Registrant: Petrenko Nikolay (info@softwareforme2008.com) Moscow Moscow Moskovskaya oblast,173633 RU Tel. +7.4958394534 Fax. +7.4958394534 Creation Date: 19-Aug-2008 Expiration Date: 19-Aug-2009 |
| puzzledman posted 2008 Sep 05 03:09 |
| I am sorry for posting the potentially harmful URL... thankfully the moderator has done something to protect you. And thanks to guys who investigated. I guess the answer is surely I should play safe. |
| Placio74 posted 2008 Sep 05 15:34 |
| Uh... under download it's TrojanDownloader:Win32/Zlob.gen!BS |
| onionringlets posted 2008 Oct 02 08:10 |
| what should i do if i opened the executable file. nothing seems to be happening, but i also didn't get to watch my vid |
| 45tripp posted 2008 Oct 02 09:32 |
| you're infected now!!
run anti-virus, anti-spyware, anti trojan... try and find specific instructions to the infection, placio names the infection above. print out instructions. disconnect from the internet as soon as you're ready to start cleaning. |
| cobalt posted 2008 Oct 03 04:24 |
| Always the same thing with those communists. |
Login/Register to our forum to be able to post here.

